Rent Front Mission Evolved for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Front Mission Evolved

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.0

1352 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not bad.

posted by Razacross (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A good rent. I severely doubt anyone will want to keep it.

I didn't have any issue with the graphics, and found them fairly decent. No slowdown that i noticed and the animations and explosions are pretty good. The voice acting is hit and miss....Amy's voice is WAY too high pitched for me.

As for some gripes, there is a HUGE difficulty spike about 3/4 the way through with a certain boss. The game seemed way too easy to me on Normal until i got to the fight and then i had issues advancing. It takes time and memorization, i wouldn't have minded a few more extra difficult fights, but alas most of the game is a cakewalk. Also, the story goes from decent in the beginning to kinda cheesy by the end. Very predictable.

It's a good game all in all and if you dig 3rd person action shooters, you'll like this one. The customization is not super deep but welcome nonetheless. Finally...Square-Enix...why did we get this 5-7 game and NOT Front Mission 5? Seriously? It's a fun rent but i can't see anyone plunking down 60 bucks for less than 10 hours of gameplay. So, if you like the series or just like mech games, give it a try. It's not a bad way to waste a night or two.

PS. Double Helix made this game so don't expect it to "feel" like Square made it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

uhhhh fun but that time is limited

posted by tmoney15 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really fun game from the start but missions are way to similar. good customization user friendly controls. Graphics are good but after playing the missons kinda gets old, at the start of the game you can never kill a boss only make them run away and knowing you will have to fight them all agian later (stupid i think) every set up for fighting a boss is the same... really trying to make myself finish the game so i didnt get this game for nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Yes and No

posted by Adam78 (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love mech fighting games, I really like the scale of this game. I also like that you don't fly around like a mig jet!!!

The customization sucks compared to armored core, and the layout is plain stupid. But I like the what you can do, just not menu system.

The game is good minus the boss battles. Also some boss battles restrict what you have to use which really sucks.

The acting...is....dramatic....maybe...a bit...too.......much. long pauses where laughable.

My suggestion is play on easy, or switch to easy (main menu when you are not In the game) for boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Deviation from the series, and a bad one

posted by dutchman (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the previous entries in the series were all turn based strategic games and this is a FPS, I had hoped that some of the feel or strategic element would persist. I was wrong.

This is Call of Duty: Giant Robot Warfare.

This game requires quick twitch reflexes and a lot of button mashing. Even the wanzers are ridiculously fast. You never get the sense that you are in a large steel machine. One part of the enjoyment in the previous titles was the ability to control whole squads with different roles. In this, your AI teammates are universally useless. You are the only useful member and you are unable to really specialize in a role. You need to be equipped to handle long range, close range, and melee combat because your teammates can't be counted on to provide any of those roles.

Even as a shooter goes it is pretty mediocre.

I can't recommend this to anyone.

It doesn't play like a strategic RTS. It doesn't play like a giant robot "mechwarrior" style game. It does play like a poor version of Halo. If you are looking for something like that, just go play Halo or one of the good FPS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Armored Cor... I mean Front Mission Evolved

posted by ninsalvati (MARIETTA, GA) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game as a whole is ok... My biggest gripe is that they made it an action game instead of leaving it a Strategy game. If I wanted an action mecha game, I'd play Armored Core. Which this basically is, only it has missions where you have to get out of your Wanzer.

If you're a Die Hard Front Mission fan and don't care that it's not a strategy game, or if you just like any game involving giant robots, you'll probably enjoy this game. I personally feel that making it an Action/Adventure game detracted from what made the game awesome in the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Front Mission

posted by Hays21 (STREATOR, IL) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Definately not like the other Front Mission games. The campaign is fun and there are a lot of customizable options. The online could be cool if you had the game when it first came out. When i tried to play the online, the people i played with were all high levels and had better weapons, armor, and equipment. I had a hard time killing anybody and in some cases my guns were too weak to even hurt other peoples mechs. Overall Good game to rent for the single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HARD

posted by unknown117 (FAIRFIELD, OH) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i play alot of games so i know what im talking about when i get games like this there just for fun and when i went to play this game on easy i got one hit killed by the boss over and over again its not fun when stuff like this happens. if you get this game make sure its something you want to spend sometime on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by Hudini (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Typical silly Japanese story. Not a very good mech or 3rd person shooter (has both). It's a definite rental, not a buy. The Cornelious boss fight is stupid hard even on EASY. This will make you throw your controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should Have Stayed a True RPG

posted by Kemc22 (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seems Square tried something new, but didn't take it serious. The first person fighting seemed bland. Nothing new here really. The customization seems like it could be promising but then you realize there really aren't any real choices. You always pick the better suit with the strongest weapon. For some reason the game forces you to play through 2 levels with quad legs for NO REASON.

As soon as the game starts, It's over. The cinematics were pretty cool though. The whole time I couldn't help but wish the game was back to its RPG roots that I loved. Would have been great had SE put more time and effort into it.

This game is EPIC FAIL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So close to being great

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Oct 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't help but feel that they tried to do too much with the latest Front Mission title. The departure from the usual turn-based strategy to third-person shooter was a big enough change, but adding on-foot missions (that feel a little like a watered-down Lost Planet mini game) as well as online multi-player seems to have stretched their efforts too thin.

The single player campaign is enjoyable, with the classic Wanzer customizing and upgrading between missions now paired to real-time, over-the-shoulder action. The "skate" system allows your mech to move quickly, avoiding the irritation of having to cover long distances at a slow walk's pace.

But from there, the problems crop up. The graphics are colorful, but not detailed, and left me wishing they'd gone with a more washed-out palatte - as much as its becoming cliche, it may have been better suited here. The voice acting ranges from decent to awful, and while the overall plot is solid, there are several events that server as nothing but scripted cheese to move you forward.

The missions where you're on foot are passable, but nothing to get excited over. And the online multiplayer is a hot, broken mess - only 4 game types (two of which are deathmatch,) lobbies sometimes take several minutes to fill with all 8 players, and you only have the worst mech parts when you start out - you gain experience and unlock better equipment, a la Modern Warfare. Unfortunately, unlike FPS games where skill can overcome a lesser weapon loadout, the bottom-line wanzer parts and weapons make you little more than fodder for anyone who's a higher level than you.

As much as games "need" online multiplayer to be competitive these days, it seems like they may have been better off just concentrating on the campaign to make it a little more solid. Adding the on foot missions and online play simply gives you a mediocre game with three mediocre ways to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is front mission?

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm old enough to remember the older Front Mission games, and I was a little disappointed that the game had no Strategy/RPG elements, since that's what it originally was. Instead, it's a run of the mill mech shooter, and it was fairly good, just not what I expected. Unfortunately, the story was a little hokey, and the text was really small on some screens (a problem for those of us without big screen TVs). All in all, it was alright, but nothing earth shattering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I actually give it a 8...

posted by Crowbot (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I actually give it a 8... but seeing how so many people are giving this game terrible reviews because it's not a turn based strategy game like the other Front Missions were, i'm clicking 10.

Play it for more than 10 minutes and you'll get some great cut scenes, and relatively good third person shooter action. Also, for some reason the first level is graphically inferior to all of the following levels... I think a lot of these bad reviews were from people who picked it up expecting a traditional Front Mission title, played it for 5 minutes and disliked the graphics and then gave up.

The enemy AI is actually pretty good on Hard.

Totally worth a rent if you like third person shooters, mechs, and customizing mechs. I havent tried multiplayer yet but with all the customization options i'd imagine it has some potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

And one Engineer to bind them

posted by Olorun (LEMONT, PA) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Front Mission Evolved is a departure from the tactical rpg the series has been known for over the decades. A purely FPS affair with a high level of customization however, has enabled SquareEnix to hold true to a few of the old stalwarts. Heavy in the politics and philosophy, Front Missions' storyline is both about the soldiers who find one day that an enemy has become a friend as it is about the struggles of nations to decide the course of the future.

The game play is smooth and never feels out of sync. Your customization is entirely your choice, except for a few key missions. It is based on a power vs weight system that provides a nice balance and prevents overpowered/over armored mechs. If you want to equip four light machine guns, and die in an unlamented blaze of glory so be it. The Homing Missiles are a little overpowered but because of their innate cost in cash resources and weight requirements they cannot be overused. Front Mission won't hold your hand though. Their are objectives within each of the five Acts that when cleared gain you special abilities and cash.

As a purely single player affair Front Mission doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it does make a pretty good tire. It won't wow you with high class visuals or graphics and yet the storyline, voice acting, and music provides for a highly enjoyable odyssey.

Addendum: At this time the multi-player portion of the game seems dearth with opponents. Whether this is a long term crisis or merely the calm before the storm of new players is unknown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best mech game, but not the worst.

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game can be summed up in one word: meh.

Aside from the OK story line, the gameplay can best be described as a dumbed-down Armored Core. The choices you can make when building your mech are much less than AC, but more accessible and easier to grasp. This plays a huge role in both single and multiplayer game modes, which means the time you spend learning the building process is actually worth it. Weapons are pretty balanced and almost all have a use.

The control was very irritating, but thinking back to my time with Armored Core, perhaps this game sought a balance. Unlike Mech Warrior, mechs in this game "skate" around, moving quickly over landscape with jet packs and such. In Armored Core you can pretty much skate forever, even taking to the skies, but in this game your skate ability is limited, meaning when you are not skating you are moving at a painfully slow rate. With that said, I suppose that is the balance, as it's much harder to hit targets in Armored Core. This aspect of the game annoyed me, though, and I think it's going to effect every player differently, whether they like it or not.

One small point: you actually get out of the mech at various points and it becomes a low level 3rd person shooter. In no way will the game be known for this gameplay, but it was an interesting change to the formula.

To be honest, I didn't play the multiplayer nearly as much as I did the single player, and as a huge multiplayer fan that should tell you something. Overall multiplayer was, once again, meh, and though there were a few different modes to keep you busy, why would I bother with this over Reach, Blur, Transformers, and any other solid multiplayer title out right now?

The good:

1) Pretty good customization system.
2) Balanced weapons.
3) Decent control scheme.
4) Decent storyline.
5) OK multiplayer.

The bad points:

1) Skating system a bit irritating.
2) Multiplayer is just OK.
3) Not a ton of replay value.

This is a renter, do not buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Surprising Disappointment?

posted by Irish13 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I'm going to start off saying that this is nothing like the Front Missions that I remember. However, it does hold some of the flavor of the original games.

Let's take it from the top. The graphics are a bit disappointing considering the game is only a year old. The controls are mapped a bit wonky and I find myself pressing down on the wrong button, or mashing down on the wrong joystick. The voice acting is terrible. The emotion is usually off, when someone's upset or happy, it just doesn't seem accurate.

Also, the old turn based strategy of the game is gone. It's a first/third person shooter. Good luck hitting anything without getting killed by your enemies.

The difficulty of the game varies from incredibly easy, to unreasonably hard (especially concerning some of the boss fights). The game tries to ramp up the difficulty by demanding you have certain load-outs, but if you want to change these load outs it's all by luck as to where you have to go to accomplished said loading out.

Now I gave this game an average review. The reason is because despite all of the negative aspects of the game, it's very addicting almost to the point of frustration. It makes you want to keep playing. If you're a fan of the previous games, you'll likely be disappointed, but if you've never played the games before, this one allows you to take it from a relatively new standing.

This is a rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a definate must rent

posted by Scythekain (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Felt compelled to write this review due to the low average score on this game.

Here's what I look for in a game:

1) Controls. Are they tight and precise or sloppy and loose? The controls in this game are spot on. The turbo strafing works incredibly well, and the aiming is spot on. If you miss it's because your a lousy player, not because the game is bad.

2) Graphics. There are some spots that are brilliant, there are others that are average. Nothing that deserves a 6.1 though. The macross like missile effects are a must see, especially in the cinematics.

3) Sound. Average voice acting, that doesn't make up for the games one shortcoming. The mech sound effects are spot on.

4) Story. The story in this game is like the story in most video games. There because the developer felt like he was a certified shakespeare and had to put it in there. Let's face it MOST video game story lines are completely trite and silly. This is no different.

5) Bottom line. Is the game fun to play? definately yes. I would've pressed that "keep me" button if it was currently sitting ~30 - 35 dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid action/ mech game

posted by johnthell (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Front Mission: Evoloved is a new take on a solid genre. Previous versions of Front Mission are all turned based strategy games with a lot of customizable aspects for the mechs. But this new take has a lot of third person shooting action that is faced pace and the controls are easy to pick up. Customization is still there but for the campaign story it makes it irrelevant for mission needs narrow you options. Front mission takes anotther leap fighting with the characters outsidee of the cockpit. Weapons are limited to rifle or shotgun with a back up of the rocket launcher used mainly to take out enemy mecha but just as satisfying against people. Solid game overall, but if you want customization and more mecha play I suggest the Armored Core series would be a better fit. though this is deffinately worth renting and trying out. But I would wait to purchase the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Front Mission Evolved

posted by josemike (BLOOMINGTON, TX) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not a bad game, it has some decent graphic in the game play (it's not eye popping graphics, the cut scenes do have some really good graphics for a cartoon game. Graphic aren't like MOD or COD. The game play is basically just shooting other robots and taking out the bosses. It needs more games play and less bosses, it seemed like every time you turned around you were fighting a boss of some sort.
Just play it for yourself, I guess it just depends on the type of games you like. I gave this one a 6 out of 10, if you are looking for a robot shooter here it is. Almost like playing Supreme Commander.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This isnt front mission.....

posted by Junkie22 (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

its a mech game with the name stamped on it.

Pros
-good controles
-easy to pick up

Cons
-generic story
-dated graphics
-repetative chaotic mindless shoot em action

Conclusion: If u played the Armored Core series and The Zone of Enders this game brings nothing new to Mech action games. In fact it actually dumbs down all the qualites that made those games great a few notches. In terms of the strategic turned based strategy the previous front Mission games offered it doesnt exist here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Front Mission, not terribly fun

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

Graphically it's not bad, not that you can do a whole lot with giant mechs running around shooting up everything. The different machines don't really stand out, graphics were not a high demand item for this game development.

Story wise, if you have ever played a Front Mission game before you know the story. More or les the same story as any other third person shooter. You are doing something then bad guys appear and you run around trying to save the day, don't save the day and vow to save it eventually.

Controls are not a bad design, move and look around with the sticks. Shoot up to four different weapons with the triggers and shoulder buttons move faster with B jump with A. Falls into the same pattern of every other shooter on the 360, put the aim in a certain spot and strafe.

Multiplayer might be fun, probably not but well perhaps.

There is a problem however, the gameplay doesn't really live up to Front Mission, it's not hard and you can do it. It's more along the lines of easy enough until you get to certain parts where they toss logic and intelligence out the window and you can't do it. Not a matter of not a style you like or not, more a factor of you can't do it. You get quickly to a section of a mission where you have you against three or more one down there with you that won't die, and two or more higher up that don't really ever miss. You die in around thirty seconds, not fun, not a good design. Not worth a rental, definitely not worth buying, maybe if your a diehard have to have it fan and get paid to own it otherwise don't touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mission Front Eww

posted by crydoom (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I was disapointed, it was'nt the game I loved and enjoyed before. I wished they wolud have keeped the old format. i'm realy not into third person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game

posted by xTHETRAINx (SCHERTZ, TX) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game

posted by HpGBLUR (JENNINGS, LA) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i already shiped it back waiting for new game to come in

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent game for Mecha Lovers

posted by gamingpool (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

If you are into Mecha and Robots, this game is for you.
when I first played this game I got hooked..
+boss fights were good.
+Gameplay is tens and engaging
+customize is great
+Turn music off and play your own rock music and the experience will be great
-meh story

I give it 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What to get into mech games? This is a good start.

posted by thedragon232 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I am an Armored Core fan, who in my opinion has mastered the art of mech games. So naturally I compared the two as I played and my thoughts of this game is that it is "simple" which is not a bad thing. When creating a mech the only important spec is keeping your energy level below the level created by your core. And while in combat you need to watch your health and energy (I disregarded ammo because there is plenty of it drop). A important note: the mechs in this game have sluggish moment leaning them toward walking tanks unlike the agile war machines of AC.

If you have played AC you be disappointed by the radical differences in Front Mission but if you are new to mech games or you found AC to be complicated give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse