Rent Front Mission Evolved for PS3
view large frontback

Front Mission Evolved

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

908 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a weekend

posted by AutoMcFix (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This review is for the online only:

So this game is fun if you like mech shooters but the customization sucks when compared to AC. They try to put in skills like in the turn based version but they don't really do much but add damage randomly. In the turn based version you get a ton of cool skills like rough up and eject punch. Oh well I had fun for a little while using dual shotguns and dual 5 shot burst dumb fire rockets in which if you press all of your triggers and shoulder buttons you can shoot everything at once. The premade mechs are much better for a while and lots of time you can hold your own but someone with much more kills will run away with the most kills without trying much. It looks and feels like a ps2 game and it is super unpolished. Just a renter folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHY square why?

posted by avenger73 (CASSELBERRY, FL) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is truely sad. taking the series that was once so amazing and making this weak game. it's just a bad armored core spin off in all acounts. multiplayer is unbalanced as anyone with more levels will out gear other players into little explosions and the story mode is too easy. if you use anything but shoulder weapons your wasting time. i'm sorry for true fans out there cause they screwed the pooch. it's not unplayable but for what it came from to what it is it's hard to believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sci-fi Marvel

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm new to the Front Mission Evolved Series... The game originally started out as a strategy/RPG game and turned into a shooter. The game is very fun to play and still holds a fastened grasp to a strategic orientation of game play. If you liked Transformers: the war for cybertron -- You would enjoy this title... With moderate language and basic destruction the game is suitable for any age.

You assume the role of a Wanzer System Engineer, named Dylan Ramsey [A wanzer is a large, Biped robot that you control]. The Year is 2171. Testing a prototype model, the engineer notices an explosion in the distance--fearing the safety of a family member--Dylan Ramsey investigates... Coming to find a massive Assault is occurring in future New York. The simple, System engineer now endeavours into battle with his prototype Wanzer.

I only wish -- this game was in first person. The game sound is very clear and acute. The controls are very fluent and the Wanzer's mobility animates very well. Graphics are very crisp -- giving the feeling of being in control of a giant Robot.
You will find yourself challenged by crafting your wanzer to your specific style. That is the interesting aspect of the game, it is very balanced. You can craft your wanzer to be heavily armored packing heavy fire power or you can create a light and agile wanzer that is very quick stepped. Getting your balance just right to ensure you do not get slaughtered and you do the slaughtering, beautifully. Beautifully, as you are able to set how your Wanzer appears, being able to set the color, designs, and gloss values of the massive Wanzer. You can have a high-gloss/shine value on your pristine wanzer or you can set a mild color ratio, to blend in with your surroundings.
Deathmatch & Team Deathmatch, with a few capture and control game modes.

This game conducts out as a very quick paced shooter, using very tactical strategy. If you like Sci-fi and quick pace shooters this title should be interesting for you...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Blank stare-

posted by kittysara (BRANDON, FL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

So.... this seems like just another game to prove the once great square soft" has died..... and its zombie like replacement square enix" wants to bring ruin and "bluah" to my world -.-

Online play is..... one sided for anyone just starting-

Basic controls are........ well.. they just do NOT flow....... (goes through a number of obscene words while recalling gameplay)

Story line is....... less than compelling, in fact... rather than grabbing my attention it annoyed me that i wasn't able to skip it fast enough~

The only good thing about this game is that you can edit your mech.... and even then............ that worked 'MUCH' better in the strategy version!....

!!!!!!!FOR NO REASON SHOULD ANYONE BUY THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TO BAD

posted by SACTOWN (WICHITA, KS) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS A LOT BETTER AS A TURN BASED GAME THAN A THIRD PERSON SHOOTER...WITH ALL THE GAMES OUT THERE SUCH AS GEARS OF WAR AND UNCHARTED...THIS GAME LACKS ANY OF THE DEPTH AND GAME PLAY AS THOSE TITLES...THE GAME IS BEARABLE WITH THE ABILITY TO CUSTOMIZE YOUR RIDE AND UPGRADE...BUT IT DOESN'T COMMIT TO THE THIRD PERSON EXPERIENCE IF THAT IS THE DIRECTION THIS TITLE INTENDED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DISSAPOINTED

posted by noangelbh (CAMPBELL, CA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

They should have stuck with turnbased instead of making this senseless third person shooter type. I like the old version of Front Mission cause it makes me think instead of just run around shooting everything you see without knowing why. Theres no story line what so ever and the game is super short. First Final Fantasy and now this. Squarenix, you are losing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rest in pieces...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 31, 2013

Member since May 2010

ENIX really knows how to kill a game series! They are NOT Square, because ENIX bought Square so, Square is officially dead.... They destroyed this series in ONE game! I encountered a glitch where my game started to make a perpetual machine gun noise while playing this game! The game literally began to layer my WANZER's machinegun sound effect over and over and over again! Other people had encountered doors that won't open also due to glitches.. They took all the unlimited WANZER customizations and basically made them irrelevant by literally forcing you to use what load outs you can use...
TAKING CHOICE AWAY FROM THE GAMERS IS UNFORGIVABLE! By forcing what load outs you can you they made some sections even more unplayable, boring, and repetitive than it otherwise had to be!!!
The game has good graphics which is countered by ugly environments which makes the graphics enhancement's wasted... This game series was SUPPOSED to be based on MECH combat, but they threw in some third party human action game play sequences, which at those points make the game into a gears of war clone... Voice acting and story elements are what this company is SUPPOSED to be known for, but you won't find that here!! But then again I am glad I rented this and didn't purchase it... Thank you, GAMEFLY(get your spell checker fixed it is a little too unyielding, and needs a broader definition of terms)! TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh.

posted by MasterKBates (TEMPLE, TX) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

I wanted old Front Mission and got this. Not bad but as soon as i was out of the mech the game became unsatisfying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dear friend

posted by 0_pos (UTICA, MS) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Front mission....you used to be such a good friend ...we would sit in front of the t.v. for hours, BUT! you've changed your not the same , and you've really let me down...no no not quite an "epic fail" but mos def "weak sauce", you left your roots in RPG for this new place: weak 3rd person shooter. I can't even read your dialogue or instructions: I would need a 75 inch HD screen for that.

Your Former friend
O pos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

try it out.

posted by happyfun (ALPINE, CA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

if you are into big robots shooting at each other in a 3rd person setting and being able to customize your giant shooting robot then this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

This game had pretty models and graphics. The mechwarriors and the buildings and even the swarms of missiles are very well modeled and animated. The problem is in the gameplay. The levels are all very linear, and the battles are extremely repetitive. Shoot a bunch of guys, move forward, shoot a bunch of guys, sit through a 10 minute cutscene, repeat ad nauseum. It gets very boring very quickly, especially the boss fights. I would recommend you pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Armor core ripe off

posted by Axaiver (OREGON CITY, OR) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game has almost everything that deals with the Core seires, Customized the mech and all its parts CHECK, a weapon on each hand and shoulder CHECK, Gliding CHECK, only thing that is not ripe is the story and not very good, and the few human base missions.

Sorry do not recommend , the sentivity on the aim is too flighty, get confuse real quickly in battle and feels very, quirky, in certian parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NEXT GEN SCREWED THIS ONE UP

posted by SirTucker (DALLAS, TX) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

I'm a fan of the franchise, and this is an ABOMINATION. I was lookin forward to the stratergy of Front Mission 3, but this was just another Mech game. . .the kind I AVOID AT ALL COSTS. The A.I support characters we little more than cannon fodder. The boss battles were predictable, at best; and uneven and too long, at worse. Then the customization, depending on the scenario was limited. Occassionally forcing you into a mech type, and weapons, you wouldn't otherwise use. To put it simply, this game was HORRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a masterpiece, but not a bad egg

posted by ARK1993 (HERMON, ME) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

I didn't terribly like the turn based gameplay of the original games. Don't get me wrong I like playing strategy games but I think that if your playing a game that has giant mecha with a large arsenal of weapons you should be able to fly around the map and blow everything up without giving the other guy a chance to hit you first. So I thought that this would be a moderately fun game. Although it was fun I think it fell rather short than my expectations. The voice actors didn't really play their parts well and i felt that at times the characters came off as rather comical than serious with their dialogue. If they had put it a survival mode for single players that would have been fun. Also the plot was convoluted. It was like they just threw you into the plot without knowing any back story. But all in all the game is alright. I'll give it a 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best, but still worth a go.

posted by Helion_Gann (TACOMA, WA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Without spoiling anything, I will warn you that the beginning of this game is... taxing. The game does a good job of pushing you directly into the action, but it does so at the expense of true character development. Another critical miss for this title, it does a bad job of explaining ANYTHING. There are long spoken tutorials which will teach you very little, and take up a lot of time. All that being said, I still enjoy the varied Mech on Mech combat. The variability of all the different chassis combinations allows you to replay missions in a different manner than your first play through.

All in all, solid without breaking much ground.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unfair Reviews (in my opinion)

posted by DethIzBlis (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I understand where people who are Armored Core fans would be angered by this games attempt to knock off the game; however, I feel that if you discount Armored Core, the game in and of itself is pretty good. Yes it is short, only worth a weekend, but that weekend will be pretty fun. It's fast paced (it can be with the right mech), it's fun, and I like how you also fight outside of your mech as well. There are only two downsides to this game that I have, 1 the plot, and 2 the boss battles. For the most part the game and the boss battles are pretty easy. However when fighting the Acolytes (Always 2-4 on 1), it can sometimes seem bleak, due to the fact that they have so much armor it takes forever to finish them off. All in all, I give this game a 8.5 out of 10. It was short and sweet, kept my attention, and I never got bored with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How many boss fights does it take to..oh nevermind

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

What can I say about Front Mission Evolved? Well, not a whole lot that is good anyway. The game can be summed up in one word...boring! I felt like I was playing an old PS2 arcade game with some enhanced graphics. The developers seemed to realize this too, because at the end of almost every mission was a long and tedious boss fight. It either took a 1/2 hour to defeat the boss or you would simply just get killed over and over again unless you customized your mech with the right loadout (which of course was hit or miss). This game is not fun. I completed the entire game in one day. You may ask why I finished it then. Well, because it was pretty short and basically just a mindless way to blow stuff up. Therefore, it wasn't completely worthless but certainly lacked substance. You may want to give this one a rent but I would even caution you in doing that. Good luck and may you find FME more enjoyable than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Front Mission Evolved Best ps3 game I have played

posted by Flacodious (JENKINS, KY) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

It is very reminecent of mech warrior. Easy to learn intuitive controls. I just might buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could have been better

posted by PDizzle (BRONX, NY) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

i dunno what all the fuss is about i enjoy the high speed mobility of the wanzers, The online is busted hardly any one plays, I can say for a fact only about 2 people my self include was waiting in the supreme match room and nothing, nada. The graphic are nice, they story could have been less cliche but as a fan of robotics and a fan of front mission i like the game, Kinda sad since i can platinum it because of the online trophys and the unbalance of the online world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than Expected

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

Graphics 7, Controls 7, Story 4, Sound 6, Overall 6.5

This game is highly underrated, and I should have given it slightly higher overall marks but the story didn't really deserve it. I really liked this game, aside from a mindless story and clunky controls, this is a rather fun shooter. I thought other reviews were overly critical, however, the story is really bad and I actually skipped most of it because it was so bad. The third person human controls had much room for improvement and running out of ammo was a big problem.

Customizing the Wanzer is cool and obviously the best part about the game, I may have spent more time doing that than actually playing the game. Certain weapons were over powered, my killer combo was 2 gattling guns, a shotgun/or assault rifle, and the best shield money could buy. Once you have those guns the game is almost a breeze. The boss fights were hard, and really the only true challenge in this game.

The graphics could have been a little better, though certain levels looked more polished than others. The cut scene cinematics were bad, this seems to be the pivotal focus of why the game was ill received, they are a total bore and instantly make you loose interest (hence why I skipped them). The controls were simple, you pretty much just hold down L1, L2, R1 and R2 the whole game. This made me realize the PS3 controller is made for kids, it's too small for my man-hands. The multiplayer adds immensely to the game and is pretty cool, although good luck finding a game.

Worth renting, and I would definitely buy this game if I saw it under $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good If you like Armor Core

posted by Shendow (GARDEN CITY, KS) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game makes you think of Armor Core, it plays good and looks good. Best to rent it if you don't know if you will like it or not.

But if you are a fan of the Front Mission games or Armor Core, well you should love this game an have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Nov 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

Worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a fan

posted by Lyshian (SUGARLOAF, PA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I mean I used to be a fan of front mission, but the developers remedied that.
Anyway, the game is easy and straight forward. Your in a wanzer and you fight other wanzers in 3rd person style.

Game play isn't the worst I've seen, but coupled with a poor story, and no real challenge, this is a very bad game.

Bottom line is if you want 3rd person giant robot fighting, you play Armored Core. Any of them do a better job than this game.

If you want grid based tactical giant robot combat with a great story line, you play Front Mission 1, 2, or 3.

In the end, all I can say is, "Square Enix, you have failed us."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A perfect 7

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Front Mission Evo was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. The combat isn't spectacular, but it still provides some fun thrills and feels great. The mechs feel exactly like they should for an action game like this - it's almost like a 3D version of Cybernator, which is excellent.

The problem is, there's nothing - absolutely nothing - here that elevates the experience. The story? Totally...okay. Not bad, not good. Lacking the bad dialogue and Shojo-esque melodrama that most of Square-Enix's games are stuffed full of, but at the same time, it lacks the artistry of Square's games. All the characters are just "generic guy no.1" and "generic gal no.3" - THIS is why realistic games are stupid and boring. These people are about as memorable as Call of Duty's heroes; i.e. they're not. They're just soldiers. It's all so...bland. Inoffensive, but unremarkable.

And the mech customization? Eh. Not too complicated, but really not that necessary either.

I'm sure this is exactly what Square wanted from Double Helix, and they made a totally functional, oftentimes fun, game. It looks perfectly fine too (although the lack of destructable environments BLOWS). But never does it become anything greater than an okay shooter that happens to star giant, awesome robots.

I'm sure there are hardcore fans who are PO'ed that they didn't make another turn based game, and all 5 of those guys can complain about it forever. They really needed to move Front Mission into a more ...active genre. But clearly, when Square Enix designed this game, they never looked at stuff like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter or Brothers in Arms. Y'know - games that blend great action with squad combat, tactical map views, multiple units, etc. Here's hoping the NEXT Front Mission is more along those lines. As it stands - I can't stress this enough - Front Mission Evo is a perfectly fine, forgettable action game starring giant robots.

I suppose that makes it a perfect Gamefly rental, then

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Movie with limited User Control

posted by MobyRanger (SARASOTA, FL) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game is fun, although not excellent. Basic concept is simple. Right a good script and allow the player limited control on the outcome. This game reminds me very much of the old Wing Commander games in that you basically play the missions in order to view the cutscenes. There is enough customization to make the fans of the old "hex" style Front mission games happy, but enough live action as a first person to shooter to keep the Halo crowd engaged. I guess the bottom line is I had a great time playing it and it was a great rental, although I wouldn't buy it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse