Rent Freddi Fish: Kelp Seed Mystery for Wii
view large frontback

Freddi Fish: Kelp Seed Mystery

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.9

153 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

This "Mystery"'s too simple, too short.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Freddie Fish: Kelp Seed Mystery is from the same guys that gave you Spy Fox: Dry Cereal - only much less content.
Okay, I admit that the characters in Freddie Fish are more appealing for young kids than the plain Spy Fox, but the mystery of the Kelp Seed is too simple for most players.
All of the obstacles in this game are object based. To which I mean, each obstacle can be cleared by finding the right item and placing the item on top of the obstacle.
Bingo. The problem is solved, and you go on to the next part of the game.
To make matters worse, this game is on the short side - I've got a gut feeling most kids will finish this game in two hours (or less). Once the game's over, there's no reason to give it another go.
Besides, there is a lot of wasted characters here. First, there's the Squidfather, some sort of crime lord who you never meet. Then, there's two dumb sharks that talk with you for a short scene near the end of the game.
In fact, each of the characters Freddie and his pal meet show up for only a short period of time; there's no real character development and no real flow of plot. You go from one obstacle to the next until you find the kelp seed and end the game.
That's too bad; given half a chance, these characters could be great, and Freddie and his friend make a great pair of heroes.
And there's a really good shooting game where you feed a bunch of fish. That's a real shame.
If you're a kid hungry for some point and click adventure, go for Spy Fox: Dry Cereal and skip this half hearted title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An entertaining game that is really, really short.

posted by empathy4u (STEVENS POINT, WI) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an adult, I knew a young kids game like this wouldn't take long for me to play though, but I was surprised at just how quick it was. It only took 30 minutes and that included watching the cutscenes. I've played other Freddi Fish and similar games on PC and while they are always easy, this one seemed to be easier than the rest.

The real test came when my six year old played the game. He played a bit when the rental disc came and finished it the next day. He didn't need any help while playing. The total time was just over an hour.

Nothing changes or varies within the storyline, so there is no replay value. Definitely a fun game for a little kid to rent, but not something a parent would want to buy for keeps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nothing going for it

posted by meltdown33 (BOTHELL, WA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My four year old was disappointed to find out that this is EXACTLY the same as the PC version. No variation whatsoever. Extremely disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kids

posted by Cooyan (NEW IBERIA, LA) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is for ages 5-9. It is exactly like the PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

under 10 need apply

posted by Lapis16 (TROY, AL) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

Great for little kids. Not so great for someone older than (I wanna say) 10. Played a demo of this game when I was little and wanted to play the full version. I'm 21 and was able to finish the game in 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dud

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I played this game as a kid on the PC. I thought there was going to be more pz-azz on this one. Nope. Wasted rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for the active 5-year-old gamer

posted by kidsajk (GONZALES, LA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I rented this game primarily for my youngest who just turned 5. He found the mini-games boring and repetitive and beat the game in less than an hour. That didn't bother him until he realized that the game doesn't change when you continue. Within 2 hours of receiving the game, he was ready to return it. I gave the game a "4" because the characters are very appealing and the concept of the game was intriguing for him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smart move for the people that made this game.

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This is one great way to get your kids to learn and how to teach them to think. It is hard to get a kid(s) to sit down and learn. But with this it will get them to do just that. My 6 and 4 year old loves the game and I had to just get it for them. It not only has a story mode for them but it is really simple for them to play it. It really teaches them hand-eye coordination but it does it within Mini-games. Our kids played this game for hours (3 hours). I had to make them outside because the game was driving me crazy. But if you want your kid(s) to learn get this game for them and get it here at Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very cute for kids, but too short

posted by gmhickok (SCHERTZ, TX) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I thought this game was adorable, my kids loved it. I do think it was way too short though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by aj2008 (TOOELE, UT) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

this game was so boring my 4 year old would not play it it is a very basic game not real fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »