Rent Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon for Wii
view large frontback

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

753 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing game, but not for everyone

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Imagine what you'd get if you made a Zelda game, but set it in the world of Fallout, and mixed it with elements of Resident Evil. Hard to imagine? This game is equally hard to describe. It contains elements of action/adventure, RPG, survival/horror, and even a dash of point-and-click adventure, all cast against an artistic, philosophical, and emotional backdrop.

The game's strength is definitely mood. This game does an incredible job capturing the mood of its subject matter: a survivor in a post-apocalyptic world trying to find meaning in his life, and trying to find another human being to share it with. The game is sad and lonely as well as philosophical and even almost nihilistic at times.

It is a great game as long as you are willing to accept it for what it is. It may make you emotional. It may make you lonely. It may make you appreciate how lucky we all are to have loved ones to share our lives with. But I doubt you will describe playing this game as "a good time," and it is not a traditional video game, which is probably why it has a low average rating.

My only real complaint is that the ending was cliche and a letdown in spite of the fact that the rest of the story was so unique and un-cliche.

In summary, I highly recommend this game to anyone who's ready for a mature and artistic story, but keep a loved one nearby because you might need a hug to get you through it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the time

posted by PGRhydderc (NORTH ADAMS, MA) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I do not believe this is perfect by any stretch of the imagination. The combat is shallow and clunky, inventory management is frustrating and often much too limited, and there is a lack of replay value in the standard sense. That being said, the story, environments, and atmosphere make up for it.

The story is compelling and presents what an actual post-apocalyptic setting would be like. The environments are breathtaking, even if they aren't as graphically beautiful as stuff on other systems. The atmosphere is perfect; it captures what it's like to truly be alone, grabbing you by the reigns and steering you in the direction of any sort of contact, human or not. The story I'd rank up there as the saddest/most touching story in a game, it honestly made me cry. I'd wholeheartedly recommend renting it, buying if you believe that games are art. This is a perfect example of such; it's delivering a serious message and immersing the player into Seto's role, successfully making one feel the loneliness that Seto feels. I feel like despite the clunky combat, this game is still fun; a serious story surrounded by a shallow game structure can still be a lot of fun.

If you're looking at this from a pure gameplay standpoint, avoid this at all costs, because you will be disappointed. If you are willing to overlook gameplay flaws for one of the best stories in video games, step right up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You want creepy? I'll give you creepy.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon, besides being a very wordy title, is a very odd experience.
Oh sure, things start out well enough: your avatar is all alone in the world, staring out of his observatory, wondering what lies beyond. You get a very unsettling sense that you're alone in the world. And then, you see a silver-haired girl who can sing (kind of) and runs away the second she sees you. Your response, of course, is to pursue her into a dark, abandoned subway station.
From here, things get really creepy. This is more survival horror than an RPG, with enemies who can only be seen with a flashlight, weapons that break easily, dark hallways, ominous music and limited inventory space. Because of the anime-inspired look and the age of the characters, you might assume this was made for kids, but the snarling attack dogs, hands reaching out from windows and disembodied legs giggling "you can't catch me" in a little girl's voice suggest otherwise.
You are helped on this journey by a very confused personal assistant computer thing who seems unsure if it's seen this mystery girl or if it knows what you should be doing. And yes, this is your advisor.
But let's talk about gameplay. You wander down halls, running into enemies that must be thwacked with a handy weapon. Aiming said weapons is a lost cause, because the controls are so rigid. And you can apparently only swing a sword from a stationary position.
Not much about this game works. Accept for some of the presentation elements and the originality of the concept, there's really nothing here for the average gamer. I had hoped the game would focus on simply surviving in a desolate world, but they had to throw in wacky computers, a merchant wearing a giant chicken head and tortured souls into the mix. Oh well...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting and fun

posted by Foxboy (HOUSTON, TX) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is not a game for everyone, but it does have a story and atmosphere that pulls you in. At times the controls seemed a bit awkward and the battles seemed a bit too easy, but this game is more like a story you play along with.

This doesn't mean that it isn't fun. I found it quite enjoyable. While I liked it, I'm not sure it's meant for everyone. If you're looking for a game that will toss you into the action and you'll be beating off baddies with both hands while trying to avoid getting killed by a third or something, then move along to another game. If you love a good story, good atmosphere and beautiful graphics, then try this one out.

This game lacks in some of the gameplay as the fights can be kind of easy. Every so often you might run into one that's a little bit of a challenge, but for the most part they are easy. The fighting system is not super-impressive since there's no real dodge system, but then again, you're not playing a super-hero.

In a sense, they went kind of in a Silent Hill direction. They emphasized the story and graphics, but relaxed on the controls. But it makes sense to do that. You're playing as an ordinary 15 year old boy who got tossed into a crazy post-apocalyptic world where there's practically no other living humans around. He wasn't trained for years to do this; he was just tossed into it.

Over all, I'd say give this a try if you like a good story-atmosphere based game. Otherwise, move along to something else, friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh...

posted by Rajin84 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a challenge this is not the game for you. This game is ideal for kids with it's simple controls but the storyline can be a little morbid and sometimes boring.

You are either going to like this game or hate it. If you are a fan of Japanese culture then you should like this game for it's appearance and cultural references. The music is also very beautiful and goes great with the mood. But if your an average Joe then you're just gonna be confused and find it a little creepy.

From my own point of view I find that while playing you are doing one of two things: exploring or attacking. This game has decent graphics and environments are creative, but it gets tiring running around and backtracking.

I still don't know why a hint in a room told me an item was not there and yet it was there after you killed all the enemies. I, of course, chose to bypass the annoying enemies and go searching elsewhere for the item. This led to confusing backtracking all the way to the beginning of the game until I just decided to kill everything in sight out of rage.

Combat fells like a choice instead of a part of the game. Enemies can be downright frustrating and half the time you can just run pass them. You have four weapon types to choose from, but each has a different chance of braking and becoming useless. After what you could call the first two boss fights, the rest of the boss fights rely on long ranged weapons. Which sucks for you if you don't have one in your inventory. Good thing save points are everywhere...

But as I said before, I feel that some people will love it and others will hate it. I, myself, do not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing Story

posted by Rpgplayer1 (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Like other reviews I will say that the combat in the game was fairly easy and there was little challenge. Although I must say that the combat along with the camera use were the only things stopping me from rating this title a 9. Now with that said, this is one of the most unique and engrossing RPG titles I have ever played. The story literally blew my mind, it wasn't the post-apocalyptic aspect as more of how you as Seto are the last human as you know it on earth and the story leading up to the realizations of how and why you are thus. The music was beautiful and the voice acting was very well done. Again this game is fairly simplistic in game play however if you are really into a good story like my personal favorites Final Fantasy VI or Chrono Trigger I would daresay story wise this is up there among them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fragile Game

posted by nattonline (NORCROSS, GA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only complaint I really have is that the gameplay is slower than what I prefer and Wii control is a bit annoying at time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is horrible.

posted by jermil80 (CHICAGO, IL) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

You'll realize quickly how bad when the character comes upon the first staircase and the screen goes black with the character reappearing upstairs. Seriously? Isn't this level design 101? I tried to play more and it's just a rancid game. The only redemption is its beautiful style, but the form definitely outweighs the function.

Just skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont recommend

posted by DuskHound (PUYALLUP, WA) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Not a pleasant experience at all. The main thing for me was the cliche' anime personalities that were uninteresting and a little annoying at times. I realized a short ways into the game I was just skipping through every conversation.

That said, some of the music and background sounds were good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Hi - this is an unremarkable adventure game. It has some elements of Silent Hill & Zelda, but nowhere near the quality of franchises. Story is far-fetched, graphics are nothing special, combat is clunky. No real interesting or creative puzzles to speak of. Very little secret goodies to find & no weapon upgrading is available. Doesn't leave much left for anything good to do - does it? It is playable - but barely. This is real bottom of the queue stuff - move it down as low as possible! My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Average Thriller Game

posted by MarioDS01 (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I played this game for a few hours and it's not really that interesting. Personally I was hoping for more in this game, and what is going on is VERY vague with the whole plot.

The game is sort of a mixture of Point and Click Adventure games and an Action RPG. The Adventure part is OK, but wish it would be more interesting. The RPG part sucks, you can only stand and attack at one place and you can't run and attack. It also sucks you can't target enemies at all and they can overcome you if you are not careful. You also can't so far use magic or special skills with the about 3 hours I played into the game.

It was a fairly interesting concept of the aftermath of the end of the world, but just did not flesh out. Personally it would of been good if the silver-haired girl would of been your partner throughout the game, might of made it interesting and still figure out what to do in the game.

I suggest just to rent this game. I'll returning the game in the morning and hopefully get a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

creepy and very dark

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i played this game once didn't care for it after that it's better to play it during the daytime game i played this in place of the long waiting game trace memory 2 for the wii don't know when it'll come out though i hope soon anyway the controls are weak and very dark that you can't see what's in front of you and the enemies are creepy i give fragile dreams 2 fighting jellyfish out of 5 i repeat not buyable rent it only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is for certified gamers

posted by lilree77 (TARZANA, CA) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I did not like this game at all... I am a very big fan of Resident Evil, and I thought that this game would be close to it, but it was nothing like it. I was stuck in the dome for an hour. I know a lot of certified gamers love this game, but if you are not a gamer this game is not for you.... Love you Gamefly for giving me a chance to try a game before buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Touching Story with Sub-Par Gameplay

posted by mrkatamari (HYNDMAN, PA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

Fragile Dreams is the kind of game that makes it difficult to score or review by conventional means. By most standards the game's structure, control, camera angles, and combat are beyond mediocre.

But, strange as it sounds, gameplay isn't what Fragile is really about. Fragile is a haunting game with ambient music and settings, with a certain loneliness to it. It's world is very realized, and although little back story is given--you still feel drawn into the world and invested in the story.

It's an emotional game, where and its so special in that aspect that one can almost forget its lack luster gameplay. Almost.

The clunky camera and combat controls, as well as fetching missions and a very linear path that involves retracing your own steps, are all pretty hard to ignore.

Basically, for the people who can overlook the dated gameplay, Fragile has a very touching world for you to explore. Had the gameplay measured up to the story and atmosphere of the game, this would be a no brainer to recommend to any gamer. As it stands, however, I still think there are a good many gamers who can enjoy Fragile for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the best game i played so far

posted by una_ongaku (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is a excellent game. They way how they start it of the storyline everything. I also love it cause it is a very scary game I recommend this game is you love horror movie. This game may seem confusing but then that what google for to help you out at the rough part in the game mostly the beginning But i still love this game it is fun scary monster and the voice actor seem like they are the characters to me and traveling is easy on the game to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fraglie Dreams indeed...

posted by Miss_Lissy (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

First, I'd like to say that this game wasn't as bad as I was expecting. I had read other reviews online about this game, and was thinking the game was going to be hard to play, simply for the bad fighting mechanics. Not so. It is a bit hard to go around fighting enemies when you can only stand in one place and swing at them, but it did not take away from the game as a whole, in my opinion. The storyline really was beautiful. It was also really depressing. There's a happy ending, but it has just a hint of poignant sadness that left me wanting more. Another thing that made me really enjoy this game was the characters. They are all pretty entertaining, if not always believable. All in all, I'd say this game is an interesting look at a post-apocalypse world, peopled sparingly with over the top characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Scary, combat clumsy.

posted by RickToo (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is a very good game, but it has some story-line issues. The basic storyline is that the quest to find the silver-haired girl in post apocalyptic Japan. There are memory items that let you hear the last thoughts of the last person who last touched it. Some of them seem to know that they will die soon. Some people seem to have vanished in a matter of seconds while other people died sleeping. Once you find a person, your character does not ask him the question he should ask: How did the world end?

Tutorials pop up when you get access to a new weapon type or when there is a new activity. They are very helpful, but you cannot make them come back up a second time.

The combat system was clumsy. Bosses and minor monsters often inflict the same amount of damage. Camera control was sometimes an issue.

Warning: this is not a game for little kids. There are some disturbing elements: hands reaching out of walls, creepy monsters, people wishing they could die and the setting itself.

Advice:Do not use the ranged weapons except in daylight, you are unable to use a flashlight when doing so. When you are underground without a flashlight it is hard to see. It is easy to take a ton of damage during combat, but most fights can be avoided.

Overall, I liked the story and the game was fun. It has no replay value, however. I'm hoping for a sequel. There were some repeated story elements that I want to see resolved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most touching, and a bit creepy

posted by Undeadangel (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I was suggested this game via gamefly from one of the thousands it offers me (which for my RPG tastes, it usually offers me the same washed up, poor voice acted and simply boring games) And i had added it to my game Q. Sat on my list for a long time. Big mistake on my part. This heart-felt game threw me into a world all alone and scared. Unexpected turns and creepy ghosts at every bend. Characters that i will not soon forget, and moments when I wanted to reach into the game and hold poor little Seto and cry with him.

Although some of the ghosts are a bit tough to beat, the game is pretty easy to get threw. The wii i think was the most efficient to make you feel like you were in Seto's shoes but I think if it had been put on the Xbox or Playstation would have fixed a few of the glitches and made the art style pop more. None the less the Art style was beautiful and portrayed most elegantly. The organizing of the inventory was a bit of a nuisance but look at Resident Evil 4 and tell me that wasn't a great game.

Overall the game play seems childish but it is a story line fit of an anime movie. I suggest this to any anime lover, Rpg fanatic, or someone with a soft spot in there heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by Blodhgarm (WALLER, TX) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

The game Fragile Dreams : Farewell Ruins of the Moon is a great game, a little repetitive in some instances, the controls are a little sketchy, but otherwise a great game. The art work is great, the the storyline is interesting, and slightly emotional. A great piece of art.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Depressing

posted by SheilaC (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I couldnt get through this, started off interesting and then just got more and more depressing to me - fighting dogs for old noodles just pushed me over the edge. and then there's the limit to what you can carry - i hated that. Some people might find this fun, just wasnt for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fragile Dreams

posted by abygale (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I really enjoyed this game a lot. The story, and the characters as well, are likeable and interesting. I have been a fan of Japanese Animation for over 10 years thanks to my son. This game allows a lot of interacting for the player and what is even better is that the story lines are quick allowing you just enough info to progress on your own. The only negative thing is that it wasn't longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Astounding!!!

posted by Poozmuffin (INDIAN TRAIL, NC) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is an excellent game that I highly recommend! It really gave me a feeling of a post apocolyptic world, and while some aspects like the camera angles, the confusing areas, and the easy enemies might ruin your view of the game the storyline and graphics more than make up for it. I did think that some parts were a bit unnessecary and would have taken hours to get through without a walkthrough since you get no clues on it, it was still an amazing game:D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to Control

posted by Stenzel (GARDEN CITY, MN) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect when I rented this game, but it had fairly good reviews so I thought I would try it. The game is a little choppy, and hard to control due to having to use the joystick as well as the motion sensor to turn and move in the game. It also takes forever to get into the actual game, lots of tutorials and pauses in the game for conversations. For not knowing what to expect, I wasn't that impressed with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nice concept, rotten gameplay

posted by turnstep (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since May 2009

I kept wanting to like this game. The concept is great, good use of the Wii controllers, the artwork, the storyline, and the characters are well done - everything except for the gameplay. Lots of linear find-the-key then backtrack to the door, uninspiring and easy to defeat enemies, and an annoying item control system. All of which makes the game very, very annoying and tedious. This is only nominally a RPG - while you can level up, there is no real point to doing so other than giving you more hitpoints and thus harder to kill. Which generally is not an issue anyway, as the monsters are repetitive and easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game

posted by Russman286 (SURPRISE, AZ) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I found this game to be really fun and enjoyable. The only down side is that I powered through it in three and a half days. It is really confusing until the end. They story doesn't make sense until you find out what happened to humanity. Not what I expected at all, but I am looking forward to more games like this. Take my advice and try this game out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse