Rent Fracture for PS3
view large frontback

Fracture

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.2

1362 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Feb 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game got some low reviews but overall it is a lot of fun. The ground manipulation tool adds an extra weapon thats unique and fun to play with. Don't expect too much from this game, its basically a shooter with a unique concept and a prettty weak story to back it up. Other weaknesses were the short campaign length. Graphics were average and what little voice acting there was, was average.

Definately worth a rental, don't expect too much and you might actually enjoy this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than The Average

posted by GuyInCTown (CLINTON, NC) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am about half way through the campaign and I don't know why this game has such a low overall rating. The negatives that I can see are (1) some lag on cinematic sequences on PS3, (2) not as smooth as Halo or as good looking as Gears of War. The positives are (1) this is a great shooter with cool weapons and the terraine altering functions are awesome. I can see how this game could get repeatative and not get as good a review as a major title (cliche genre), but give FRACTURE a rent for a good time on a Saturday afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game. The graphics are very nice, the controls are easy, the cut scenes are minimal, and there is not a lot of adult language, which is important with small kids around. The ability to alter the terrain adds a whole new dimension to the game that makes it a lot of fun. You can alter the terrain to provide cover, access other areas, etc. There were only a few small things I didnt like. First, sometimes when you have a task to perform, you have to also kill a certain amount of enemies. Even if you peform the task, you cant continue until you kill those enemies. The second thing I didnt like, was that you can only carry two weapons at any time, which means that you really need to be careful about which ones you have at any point in time. If you run out of ammo, you have to backtrack to try and find discarded weapons to pick up or take ammo from. But the thing that I disliked the most was the final battle, which is so much harder than the game itself, that it is just plain rediculous, and totally frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

okay but repetitive

posted by michael77 (STOUGHTON, MA) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Personally, I would say that this has a great storyline, however it is very repetitive. it gives you the same weapons that basically do the same thing.all you do is shoot pacificans (your enemy) with what shoots like a regular hand gun, and you get a blaster that either puts small indentations in the ground, or small hills. its boring after the first 5 minutes. i suggest not renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rent this game!!!!

posted by Prizzem (RANDOLPH, NJ) Oct 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

yes it is true the single player is lacking but the online play makes this game fantastic. and yes there are not many players right now. Probably because the game came out 3 days ago. i would still reccommend a rent to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not enough of a distraction....

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

its not that this game is bad or anything like that. there is plenty of attractive features to this title. there is a good range of weaponry to play with, along with the ground manipulation. i honestly didnt play the online (i dont really get into online games unless its MMORPG). plus, i didnt play this game but for about 2 hours.
with all the new ideas floating around out there, this should have been received as at least interesting, but alas, there are lots of problems. first and foremost, the acting, very wooden and hard to really let yourself get into the story, cuz your paying attention to the bad voice over work. the game is very repetitious, point A to point B, kill a bunch of braindead enemies, raise this part here, lower that part there, kill more braindead enemies. which brings me to the AI.....i dont think there is any. its probably the worst AI ive seen in recent games, the enemies just run out in your line of site, find a spot to post up, then wait for you to kill them. theres no tactics to their fighting.
after 2 hours of running through the first couple of levels, i was bored. it just didnt grab my interest. there are so many other games coming out int the next couple of months that i am highly anticipating, sadly this game never made that list. so, maybe this game is better then i realized, but it was definately not a good enough of a distraction for me to play until something better comes out.

definately rent this before you buy it, but its still not that bad of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, not bad...

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) May 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I saw this game, the first thing I did was look at the user ratings. Most thought the game was crummy, and a few thought it was great. I'm kind of in the middle. I wasn't expecting much when I got it, but after I played it for a while, I found it wasn't a bad game at all. Extremely awesome weapons, a decent storyline, and a pretty cool online mode make this a good game.

The only downside is:

Jet Brody: Superdork!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A disgrace to video games around the world

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I will admit that when I first saw it, I thought "oh cool!'' but after a while when I saw the story line and how stupid the whole thing was, I thought screw this. but then I figured that the rest of the game could not be that bad. I was wrong. So bottom line is, THIS GAME IS REDICULOUS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fracture

posted by ENIGAME (ROSWELL, GA) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, even though i had read the mediocre reviews i thought i would still try it out for myself. Well to sum it up, Still mediocre. The game itself is laggy during the cinematics and although the guns are cool it's still lacking in many areas. I will continue to play to see if my opinion changes but it doesn't seem that it will from the looks of the game. The online portion i haven't played so can't comment on that yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting concept. Below average game.

posted by MDC314 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked the simplicity of the interface and the concept of the terra forming guns. However, the gameplay suffers from ps2 graphics and little difference in types of weapons and enemies. Not that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Do it!

posted by bubba08 (TEMPE, AZ) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Don't rent this game! It is not worth it. The only fun part of this game is online and not many people are playing online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Close to Perfect

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had everything needed to be a shooter. A good story, a special type of weapon, and challenging enemies. It had all of those. Even though the graphics were down right pathetic, it was still a good game. Even the weapon practice was pretty cool. But, the reason Im giving it a 9 is because it was pretty hard to actually killing some enemies and finding your way around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

There was a game called fracture

posted by gballer05 (GRAPEVINE, AR) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the game had a good concept and all with the futuristic touch. Im not a real big fan on first person shooters but this would have been better as a first person game then a third person. Good concept tho guys keep it comin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Campaign no replay value

posted by Apoclyspe (MOUNTAIN, WI) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a solid fun Campaign. Many different weapons all with different style of play. The augmentations make you feel like a superhero.

Major complaint is no one ever on multiplayer which destroys reply factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rent First

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Oct 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with huge expectations, this game is a pretty good game, but I was disappointed with it. I was Expecting a whole heck of a lot more. I thought the whole terrain deformation thing was pretty cool, and all the different weapons were pretty cool. Don't get me wrong, this game has potential, but you need the right kind of gamer to truly enjoy it. It reminded me of Halo, but yet, it was different. I also found myself dying a lot because there isn't a cover system like there should be. Some of the puzzles are to easy to find out what to do, but really hard to actually do them. This game has really good graphics, and weapons, but the storyline is kinda shaky and the voiceovers aren't great. I enjoy this game, but just wish it could've been what I was hoping for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fracture is horriable

posted by affliction (HILLIARD, OH) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

well i must say that there was alot of hype for this game but it didn't live up to it.The graphics aren't very good and the gameplay and storyline is boring.The only thing good about the game is the weapons but even then im still not impressed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by kc5674 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

its a pretty good game i love the weapons good storyline i played the demo it was pretty good and its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

inversion

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

inversion is pretty much this game with a different story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A solid attempt at creating a groundbreaking game.

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The year is 2161 and America has become torn apart. The Atlantic side is devoted to developing new technologies, with the Pacific side is experimenting on human evolution. The two sides become so at odds war is declared, and Jet Brody sets out to capture the leader of the Pacific war machine.

I'll give credit for a bit of creativity. The name of the game itself leads both to the terrain manipulation aspect of the game as well as the state of our country itself. Then they had to go and give our hero the lame title of Jet Brody. But the story itself is interesting enough to carry the game, it's just a shame they didn't look deeper in the moral and ethical issues driving our country's divide.

One thing I loved about the game was the variation in the levels. From beautiful rolling hills, to creepy caverns, to crumbled remains of cities, the game always takes you to different ares. The character design and graphics in general were fine as well. The guns were well done, as many of them felt very futuristic, something that it should be given the year the game takes place.

The biggest missed opportunity (and main point of the game) is the terraforming. While the idea of creating a hole under you enemies to get a higher vantage point or crushing your enemies in a cramped area by raising the ground are great, it's never really utilized to any full extent. It's just a neat trick, and only necessary for a few puzzles.

The driving mechanics are weak, making those missions annoying. And those who complain it's repetitive do have a point. It does become an "advance to point A - kill everything in site - advance to point B - repeat" type of game I generally dislike myself. But I never really got bored here.

Fracture fails to do what it set out to do, and that was create a whole new type of gameplay. Instead it dissolves into just another third-person shooter. But I'll be honest I had fun playing it, and sometimes that's all that matters.

7 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The most average game EVER.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This is a game in which morphing your terrain is supposed to be awesome. Well, it's not. At times this game throws a situation at you when you have to use your powers, but otherwise, you really don't. I didn't have multiplayer 2 years ago when I played this game so I don't know what it's like. The weapons are O.K., replayability is limited, and the puzzles are average. This game is very adequate, and pretty much that's it. Peace out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good but very flawed

posted by camman12 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) May 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the good side to this game is basically the detail in the level design now abot the bad stuff theyseemed to have copyed a halo universe except your on earth and it is 3rd person controls are hard to get the hang of and the combat system completely out of whack and the story line the worst part of the game so if you want to spend a little free time rent it dont buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

the hole moving the ground consept sounded asome untill i played it. FRACTURE does have a good story (I dont know i only played the first two missions) and asome weapons but the ground movement started to become a real wast of time. like your being shot at and you eliminate all the enemies in the room and then move the ground and more come, like you had to destroy a piller to drop a bridge, i killed everybody on the ground and then i go neer the piller shoot it once and the armor guys come out of nowhere with a berodge of bullits, so i thought "make a shield with the grownd" it shot me into the air and from everybody shooting me at once i died instantly. i tryed this section at least 5 times and couldnt get past it so i said screw this game. it may sound like i didnt give this game enough time but thats just an opinion,if i find a flaw or just dont like the way a consept i though would be asome actually sucks then i seal them. i would not recomend this game, even my brother who actually has the game says he doesnt like it but he's not trading in a $60 game for like $5-$10. i do not recomend this game and others have told me not to get it but i took the risk, at least i rented it though. 3/10 because it had a good story and the weapons were cool along with the concept, but a 3 isnt anything special and niether is this game. RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty fun

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

This game is a pretty goood game. It delivers action, sci fi, and a good story mode. Fracture is in 3rd person shooter and is sci fi and action adventure anyone who likes shooting, sci fi, and action adventure should try it out it is pretty good actuatly i found myself amused with the story and concept. The game pits you against enemies while using ground shaping abillites to move up or down dirt area on the ground this feature is not in alot of games and this one pulls it off well. The guns are cool too and there are a variety of them. There are some cons like glitches and sometimes your ground shaping abillites don't work correctly but that doesn't veer away from a great experience I would recommend this game to any sci fi, action adventure lover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good at all..

posted by seamart54 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i eneded up only playing about an hour of the game and got sick of it. The idea of raising and lowering the terrain is a great game idea..however the game that it was included was horrible. The interface was terrible...couldnt set manual button configuration, and the gameplay reminded me too much of Halo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fracture:My review

posted by Dragon4 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The games graphic's were good and the guns were AWSOME but the gameplay was short and there weren't any Big Bosses. That's why I rated it 4 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse