Rent Forza Motorsport 5 for Xbox One
view large frontback

Forza Motorsport 5

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

GF Rating
7.6

1161 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Microtransactions Suck! - Game Rocks

posted by MightyGStar (EDMOND, OK) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics, game, and play are very well done.

The fact that I'm asked at every turn to spend real money on cars and "tune up" upgrades is a major FAIL!

$60 for the game, $50 for car pass, $20 for VIP (highly recommend to level up faster) Then you want $10 - $100 for "tokens" forget it.

I will "Grind" my way through the game to get the cars I want.. But man, its a grind.

Otherwise, great game.. Sorry they are such greedy fooks..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but gets extremely repetitive

posted by swfan1963 (LA GRANGE PARK, IL) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game if you enjoy racing and/or cars. The graphics and sound are amazing, and driving "feel" is decent. But with only 14 tracks, things get repetitive really quickly. Also, just getting the game itself gets you a limited set of cars. I got the Day One edition for $80, which came with some car packs, a gifted E21 Lotus (cool!), tokens, etc., but if you want to own a variety of cars in the game, it'll costs some pretty serious $$$, tokens or in-game "credits". You can drive any car in the game, though, by "renting" (which is free) it in the Free Play feature, so there's that. Do I wish it cost less? Yes. Am I still enjoying it a lot? Yes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely worth playing

posted by nflhomeboy86 (POTOMAC, MD) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is visually stunning and contains the most realistic physics than any other racing game. The car's detail is pinpointed down to every last drop of paint. There are some drawbacks though that makes it not worth buying. There are much fewer tracks than in Forza 4 which can make the game lose replay value. Also, you have to pay for all the cars with xp you rack up, even in free play. I wouldn't have minded having to earn money, but when it comes to freeplay, you can't be serious to not let us use all the cars. As a result, I highly recommend renting the game, but you probably won't want to buy it given it's low replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alright Game

posted by Lord_Tonjin (OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rated this game low because of the drivatar feature within the game. I would much rather race an AI I can beat. I am terrible at racing games. I am far better at FPS.

So when I rented this game to blow off some steam and a change of pace. I felt I was penalized for not being a good racing game player. I was pit up against my friends drivatars who were all but impossible for me to race against. It made me more frustrated when I was trying to win races when I always had drivatars that were all better then me racing against me.

Other then that, the game looked really good and the controls felt smooth. I just wish the drivatar was more forgiving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good graphics

posted by BlueToxicNitro (NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL) Jan 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics on this game has to be the best of any racing game. The thing is, the physics are horrible. I feel like I can't control my car without using the 3rd-person view. All of the good cars from Forza Horizon are DLC and there are on 14 tracks. Would I recommend this game? To rent, yes. To buy, no.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Nice!

posted by rcameron81 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wonderful game! amazing graphics! This game really takes advantage of the new trigger vibration.
Only reason I don't give it a 10 is because it eventually gets repetitive. Now it might change when the store goes live and they add on some more things to do but as of right now its almost perfect. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FORZA 5

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Graphics look great.
Some tracks look amazing.
Cars sound great.
Only 14 tracks with a total of 42 variants. Although I've heard some old tracks are going to be DLC in the spring.
Only 200 cars, with 60 more as DLC.
No car club.
No total time leaderboard.

6GB update to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awesome, but stupid also!

posted by Themayo (RAYMOND, WA) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan of the Forza series, this game hurt my gaming soul. The new "drivatar" system is pretty cool. But either there are some major setup and ai balancing bugs, or the game is just poorly thought out. There are a few setup issues that are easily worked around once you figure out what is going on. But what... Grinds my gears... Is that, in any racing game, you upgrade and tune your car so you can be faster and win more. Not this game. The more you upgrade your car, the more it scales up the other cars to always be faster than you, and increasingly more aggressive, and being passed by cars traveling unrealistic speeds around corners and from off the track. Even when you turn down the difficulty to the lowest, it's winnable, but still total bs. At first, when your car is stock, the playing field seems even, then you start upgrading and all he!! breaks loose on the track. Not the least fun game out there, but one of the most disappointing. But like I said, maybe it's just bugs that will be fixed. These days all we do is test these games so they can maybe patch them later, so who knows...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worse then mario cart

posted by Enterra (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is the worst racing game i ever played. for what they say it is. they claim its a tribute to all things racing but brand new race cars on modern tires and modern race track should not be going sideways at 20 miles an hour in the daytime. we all gave it an hour. and no one in the family would play it anymore. its worth about 1.99.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Forza

posted by Cheeriox99 (BERLIN, CT) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good Graphics, but i found it very boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bottom line..this game sucks

posted by mbk336 (HACKLEBURG, AL) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok to start off I like the career mode of this game. If the only reason you got this game is because of the story then yes you should get it, it's the only reason I gave it a 3. Off to the main reason this game sucks. The online racing is awful. Of course you will have those people that will attack you and knock you off the track thats not the problem. My first problem is the mechanics and physics of the game. How often have you got in your car turned the ignition and start doing doughnuts because you lightly pressed the gas? Well dont worry forza has that covered because in this game you will...Second reason in what world does a 1960 mini cooper beat a lamborghini? Ever! Well if you race against someone in this game with a 6.0 speed and you have a 10.0 speed expect to be beat...bottom line this game really sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Forza died at 4...5 made sure of it...

posted by satanschil (PORTLAND, PA) Jan 16, 2014

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Own all the Forza games except horizon. 5 really killed the game, pay real money for cars and tuning parts, took away the best tracks and make the price of cars stupid, even when you buy with in game credits. And then you have the tokens you can buy with real money. They should call it Forza 5: pay more for less. Xbox really fumbled when it comes to the Xbox One. Greed has set in. I don't think ill buy another Xbox one game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Didn't Work

posted by AirrickDan (DALLAS, TX) Mar 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rented with high hopes but it didnt even work i uninstalled and re-installed still didnt work and when it finally loaded got to only play 3 races before the game crashed game sucks and looked online lots issues with the game it looks amazing but doesnt work so dont be suckered in with graphics cause they dont mean #$@! if the game wont even play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Forza 5 is not good!

posted by Jeffsreviews79 (YAKIMA, WA) Feb 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is buy far the worst forza ever 14 tracks, and they want you to buy all the best cars for cash. The driving is also very bad drifting is terrible spin city! Also no selling or buying cars online I give it a 1 out of 10! Cars look nice that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you love cars, this is your game!

posted by TooOldToGame (WYLIE, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a fan of watching racing (live or on tv) but I am a fan of racing games. Forza 5 takes the term "racing game" to a new level. They offer a very large selection of cars, and each one has stats mimicking the real world vehicle.

I have as much fun painting and tuning my cars as I do racing them. It's a lot of fun, and every race is a bit different. I enjoy both multiplayer and career mode. It is also fun to race against the "Drivatar" of your friends when they are offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by bobby2741 (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Dec 12, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I knew I wanted to buy this game from the moment I heard the music at the title screen so I bought the limited edition version. Will be playing this off and on for a very long time. There definitely are not enough tracks which I'm sure they will address with DLC, which is also another way for them to make more money. Also I don't want to wait forever to be able to race the top of the line cars by earning enough currency from races but it's a must have launch title. I'm more impressed with this than Battlefield 4 and Call of Duty: Ghosts and the shooter genre is my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing game.....but.....

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I waited a bit to write this review because I wanted to get more play time in beforehand. New console, new installment of an amazing racing franchise, here we go!

First off, I have to say, I've loved the Forza games since the very first one, and this one is no different. Except for one thing: I can't help but to feel a little let down by it because compared to Forza 4, there aren't nearly enough cars or tracks. Granted, Turn 10 will give more cars and tracks through DLC, but I can't help but to be a little offended by that after how many were included from the start with FM4, and even Horizon. Other than that though, the game is amazing. The sounds, the looks, it has it all and shows off what the Xbox One can really do.
Anyway, long story short:

The Good:
- Graphics are stunning and really show the attention to detail, not only with the cars, but the tracks as well
- The sounds are perfectly done, engine, exhaust, tires, they all sound close to real
- The racing (as always) is challenging, but fun
- The new AI system brings more of a human element to it, as you are racing other "Drivatars" (representation of XB Live friends driving style)
- The Top Gear voices are back to talk to you
- More detail in how to paint and customize your cars

The Meh:
- Menu setup is a bit of a downgrade from Forza 4
- Autovista is not as involved as it used to be (not important to some, but I enjoyed the feature)

The Bad:
- Lack of cars and tracks (compared to Forza 4)

SO, if you are a fan of the series, definitely play this game, you will still love it. If you are new to the series, the assists can be customized to help you get used to it, and you will also love it. Just keep in mind it is a simulation style racing game, don't expect to take turns at 150mph with the handbrake.

Overall 8.5/10 (would have probably been a 10 if not for the lack of cars and tracks)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning

posted by Slothyjames (LA MESA, CA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Wow. Engine and exhaust sounds are phenomenal! Graphics are the best of any Launch game for xbox1 or ps4. If you want to show off your new 1080p big screen and surround sound this will make your friends jaw drop! My son is only 17 months old but when Forza5 is turned on he knows its Vroom Vroom time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forza = Racing Perfection

posted by Giantsfanj (PLUMAS LAKE, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a must own if you have a Xbox One. I love Forza and the controls let you customize to your skill level. You can even adjust the Driveatar settings to change the competition as needed. I have played this game for a day straight and have still not unlocked all the races. During the 50% car sale that Turn 10 put on I was able to earn the 700k credits to get a McClaren P1 like on the cover of this game. This is a must own car and the spoiler.....worth every hour I played to get it. The track selection is limited but they are all perfection. This game is everything I hoped it would be. Just go buy it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Forza Motorsport 5

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game really exceeded my expectations in a lot of ways. I always liked Forza Motorsport but this game took my love for Simulation racers to a whole new level. First off, the visuals are incredible from every view possible. The in-car view amazes me as well as the behind the car view. There is an abundance of cars to choose from. However, Turn 10 only makes some cars available to you if you purchase them which kind of stinks but oh well. I primarily play Call of Duty when I am doing online gaming, but Forza has opened up a totally new door for me. There is a big, friendly community (for the most part) just waiting to compete with you on several different race tracks. There will be the occasional jerk who slams into you intentionally every now and then but for the most part, the community shows good sportsmanship all around. This is why I love playing this game online. There are always people there to challenge you in several different ways. I can seriously spend all day just racing in one particular car class. You can also use designs for your car that were created by the Forza community which is pretty cool. It's fun to see all the cool cars racing around with sweet decals. You really just have to experience this game firsthand. I am having a hard time just putting it into words! At least give it a rent. There is just so much replay value that you will feel like you have to buy it! Enjoy the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forza Motorsport 5

posted by littletick (PARAGOULD, AR) Nov 28, 2013

Member since May 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I love this game I have the day 1 xboxone and day one of the game xbox one all the way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sublime!

posted by JomelS (CARSON, CA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The graphics, the handling, the impulse triggers....wow! My only little problem with the game is the very limited car and track selection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont Buy Just Rent

posted by Spotword202 (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jul 5, 2014

Member since May 2013

All i can say is its a good game for the first 10 races maybe but then it gets real boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Won't play

posted by istefakneebychz (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

For one reason or another I cannot get this game to play on my profile, And JUST my profile. It will play on everyone else's, but not mine. I do not get it. The game itself is OK, but I hate the steering on the game though. I like how you can get the cars and upgrade and all that, but as far as the driving goes, it is a pain. You cannot smoothly drive and steer and turn. You either cannot turn enough or it turns too much and too sharp. On top of that, I had an awesome car all supped up as far as I could upgrade it, and raced another car that was the exact same car, but I could not catch up to it, and it would just zoom past me like I was not even moving. How is that? I love racing games, but this one kind of sucked. Plus I never got any of the credit because IT WOULDN'T PLAY ON MY PROFILE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Looking

posted by joehomie31 (MESA, AZ) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Would be 10/10 if they didn't try to force feed you all the dlc. Stuff is purposely a little too expensive. Lots of cars were "dlc" before the game even came out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse