Rent Forza Motorsport 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Forza Motorsport 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

4934 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

43 out of 46 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

When I first saw that Forza 4 was coming out, I was excited, but I didn't know what they could have added to make it better. When I got F4, I was amazed. They completely redid the menus, the leveling (both car and driver) and the storefront. All for the better.
The driving is the same you would expect from the Forza series, great simulation feel, specially when you turn the assists off to make it more realistic. But I'll get down to it

THE GOOD:
The driving
The menu system
The leveling (both cars and driver level)
The graphics on the cars
The world tour gives you more choices for how you want to complete each season.
There are more than 50 driver levels.
The levels for cars are based off of make instead of model

THE BAD
Not as much need to upgrade your cars for each event
Not enough hours in the day to play

If you are a fan of the Forza series, this game is definitely worth the buy. If you are new to the Forza series, but like simulation racing games, this game is worth the buy. (Even more so since there are more assists you can have to help you get used to it)
Definitely a 10 out of 10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Is Racing Simulation

posted by BlueBerryBlunts (PALM BAY, FL) Oct 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

32 out of 41 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Honestly this is what kids should play with before they get there licenses.

The Realism is astonishing I cant get over the difference from 3 to 4
3 kinda had a lack of grip in the front tires but 4 is much more realistic if you have a force feedback racing wheel its a much better experience i refuse to play this game without it, but in 4za4 your char steers much much much more responsive no more granny steering.

pros
-the sheer detail in every car you can turn the h.u.d off and easily read the gauges and see every little detail.

-you can showroom view your super cars like youve always wanted to.

-in race music unless you like it pure (its actually quite nice)

-rivals section so you can make beating you friends a goal and push each other higher up the leaderboards

-the sounds of the cars are like usual much better from the last the exaust resinates more like a real race car and not like a oem.

-the handling is much more refined it isnt so guess if im getting grip or not in the front wheels

-when you drift in forza 4 your car gets that snapping feel down when your transitioning from on turn to another and your car gets a little vibration when its sliding on poor quality roads which is sick,

-you can race 12 ppl at a time instead of 8.

CONS

- still no rally or offroad racing i understand dirt 3 will feed my need but forza is much more realistic.

- no real city style courses like in test drive unlimited and need for speed so you can have some freedom and creativity.

-would liike to make engine and transmision swaps possible for every car not restricted to just manufactuer.

-its a long shot but who doesnt want to see their car fall apart in a friendly demo derby online could you possibly have that in the next one.

all in all thats about it.

FOR ALL CAR ENTHUSIEST THIS IS A MUST RENT/BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Racing Game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Oct 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This is one of the Best Racing Games out there for the 360. The Graphics are great the Cars are great the Upgrading is Good. I just have one thing to say that might be considered bad and that is That the AI cars are Racing Line Hogs,they do not like it when they are not right on the racing line and will do just about anything they can to get back on it, that Includes running over your car. I actually Preordered the game so I am Glad it is fun to play. If Your Looking for a Good Racing game for the 360 This would be it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forza Motorsport 4 Dazzling

posted by KGForever (NEWARK, CA) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Most people take for granted the complex process the goes into making some of the best videos games such as call of duty and battlefield or even halo. But with this game its impossible to overlook the hundred's of overs turn 10 must of put in to make this game all though racing may not be the most played genre on video game circuit this game redefines this from the stunning graphics to great online community or the vast improvement on racing mechanics and the cars themselves in my opinion its gonna be hard to top with forza 5 comes out eventually and gran turismo and need for speed dont got anything on this game c u guys online good like youll need it :-P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by SVPERM4N (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Forza 4 is an awesome game. It was nice to see some cars that are considered obsolete in this game. For instance, BMW's 3.0 CSI. I think I've seen this car in like one or two other race car games but its on of my favorites! =) I am not reviewing only cause it had my favorite car but as in the past Forza did a great job with making the mechanics of the game great. When you tune your car you can feel the difference when playing the game. (I know this is like a "duh" comment but lately I have played many car games with not so great mechanics). Also the marketplace is brilliant, my single most favorite part is gifting a car to a friend. I know this is relatively simplistic but I think it's super cool!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

insane

posted by baseruner (HAMDEN, CT) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

if you dont have an hd tv to play this game on your committing a sin.. this game is beautiful(and thats an understatement)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just...wow

posted by Drummechanic (LEESBURG, VA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

honestly..the grapichs in this game sell itself..at least for xbox this is the best game grapich wise ive seen on the console.
not to mention that its the most realistic driving simulation ive ever played..this is the closest to the real thing. the car sounds are spot on,the physics of each car is different and feels so real ( i drive a 04 STi in real life and in the game it feels/sounds and handles just like when i first got it off the lot!) and also if your a true petrol head then AutoVista mode will keep you entertained for hours..its stunning!
i went out and just got the game it came out and it has surpassed anything i thought this game was gonna be.Instant Buy..no need to rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Sweet game.

posted by Pandabear1 (BEVERLY HILLS, FL) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought that Forza 1-3 were really great games. The Graphics never really turned me down and the game play always was getting better. Now Forza 4 stepped it up with awesome graphics and great game play and I have to say that this time the cars look real. They have so many cars, for example I wanted to find a Deloreon and what did I find? That car, plus I looked for a Camino and they had them to. It's a game worth checking out. You also get to choose to play with the Kinect or the Controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I luv this game!!!!

posted by rumic03 (HORNELL, NY) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one sentence -> Gran Tursimo 5 Eat your heart out. This Game is perfect in every way! I recommend the limited edition verison

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb!

posted by Oxendoobie (LAINGSBURG, MI) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Forza series has stepped it up with Forza 4, and they're ready to tackle Gran Turismo with they're advanced driving sim. If you like racing games. Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Again, raising the bar even higher for racing

posted by sundalo117 (PITTSBURG, CA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Racing fans behold, the new king of racing sims is here! well actually the series should have already been crowned as king of racers since forza 3 in my opinion. Sure no video game is perfect but with the right video game studio like "Turn 10" behind it. It's a 10 in my book! the game is just total top notch. Must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome/ Exciting/ Realistic/ LETS GO RACING!

posted by dstefanek (BUENA PARK, CA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm really disappointed with EA, because EA blocks Porsche from Forza 4. I really wanted Porsche in Forza 4 I'm a big fan with Porsche.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forza 4

posted by l8rdaze (GOLDEN VALLEY, AZ) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Forza 4 (or 4'za) is so realistic and well done by Turn 10 that you can almost smell the leather interior of the Ferrari. An absolute masterpiece if I've ever seen one. Definitely more than I expected from this generation of consoles...just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More amazing each time

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 15, 2012

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Granted the tracks and most of the cars get repeated from sequel to sequel, but that is the nature of classic or exotic cars and licensed, real world tracks. It's always going to be fundamentally similar to the last version, with better graphics and physics being the draw.
The lack of dirt tracks or open wheel cars is a good thing, as most games that try to cram in too many styles of racing tend to fail at all of them, usually by being very arcade-like.
This is a game for those that enjoy the tiniest level of detail, be it tuning set ups or designing awesome graphics for 'sale' in game- the actual driving is only part of the draw for the Forza series, and as many hours are spent in the garage as on the track.
The replay function fits perfectly for hardcore racing sims like Forza, where it may be realistic to invest an hour or more into a race, only to throw it away on the last lap- but that's not much 'fun' for a video game.
The number of assists make it accessible to drive for the non-racing game fan, but the sheer repetition and lack of goal beyond collecting ever more cars and turning ever faster lap times, makes it very niche in it's appeal.
Much like shooter fans that memorize every nook and cranny of a map and know the exact reload times of their favorite gun- those that don't put that kind of attention into Forza are unlikely to find it more than endless laps in very similar cars. But those that find it rewarding to be able to perfectly navigate Laguna Seca's famous Corkscrew, lap after lap, it's just hard to beat Forza.
My chief complaint is the AI. Better than before but often after using a rewind the AI will careen out of control or otherwise freak out. AI drivers still rarely make mistakes, simply going slower on easier difficulty rather than acting less skilled.
Forza 4 is worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by bangbang24 (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game captures everything a car game should.... the feel of the power of a car with 500+ Horse Power..... the only thing they could have done better was maybe more damage physics other than that this game is the BEST!!!! simulation racer game on the market

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by bluemarlinslaye (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To start off i would like to point off that this game contains everything a racing game has to offer. Great graphics, huge vareity of amazing expensive cars, and realisticness beyond what any gamer could imagine. The thought of racing cars that are more than $250,000 sounds good to any gamer. But this game cuts the cake. The sound is amazing, the graphics kill all other games, and the hundreds of race tracks sends chills down everyone's backs. The game can easily be compared to Forza 3, yet i still think that the fourth game is tons more fun than the third. It has many more things to offer, and also lets not forget the graphics ugraded tremendously. The addition to kinect also is quite interesting and sometimes doesn't work for me, i dont know if it is just me. This game is worth buying if you are a gamer that likes racing. Let me not forget the option to upgrade cars and turn them into super cars. I can transform a $10,000 car into a car that may be worth $150,000 and runs like a super. The split screen feature is a BIG plus in my mind because there is nothing better than chilling with my bro's playing some Forza 4 together. Pros: Great graphics Many cars and tracks Realistic Kinect to walk around Upgradable cars Split Screen Cons: Sometimes the kinect doesn't work Kind of like Forza 4 In conclusion, this game is worth the buy, there are many more pros than cons, and the pros out-do the cons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

customization?

posted by dallas7370 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

im a big fan of need for speed, because of its customization, but i have been let down very much by the recent games the nfs series has put out. i have only read the reveiws and watched the videos for this game, but none of them say anything about customization. dont get me wrong, this looks like an amazing game i look forward to buying, but im one of those people who love to slap all those amazing body kits on a car and fling it around in a realistic game, but so far the closest ive been able to get to this is midnight club la the complete edition, but even that game was very poor when it came to game play.

all in all this game looks amazing and i look forward to spending days at a time playing this while my dad mutters about video games being horrible in the corner... until he sees the amazing graphics... this is a game you cannot miss...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Garet Game

posted by wazzuuuuup (WEBSTER, NY) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is great the only down fall is that itis not as intense as shift so it has a diiferent type of fan which rathers the feeling and visuals of cars over the intensity

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Missing some key features

posted by Zombehunter (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game falls short of racing games from the old XBox.  The career mode only allows playing the games in one order.  The early races are very simple and it is almost boring to play though them to get the cars you need for the higher levels.  The feel of the cars performance and the ability to upgrade individual components is one of the best parts about the game.  There is a 2 player mode but when you play online you are then limited to 1 player again but you can play against 16 other racers online.  The courses are well-designed and the damage you get adds a level of reality that most other games don't have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Race, Race, Race, Purchase Car, Repeat

posted by metalmaniac1980 (HEBRON, IN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and selection of vehicles plus added Kinect is fun. Game allows for all types of difficulties and the cars handle and reflect their actual life counterparts. For example I have a 2002 Pontiac Trans Am, I know what the car is capable of and is actually reflected very well. However the disappointment lies with having to purchase car packs, lack of variance in the races and circuits. I have yet to find a drag-circuit thrown in, so overall this game graphically, sound, and playablility is great, but its repetitious to the point of no return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

reccomend xbox live.

posted by cooool (SEVERN, MD) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the only reason why people gave this game a bad rating is because they dont have xbox live. someone without xbox live will get bored quicker. get xbox live and this game will offer many game modes such as tag, soccer, cat and mouse, and any racing style u can think of. u play these game modes with as many as 16 other players. you also can start a car club or racing team. there is a storefront and an auction house. when having xbox live u have access to car packs and track packs. there is also rivals mode. this game is 10 times better with xbox live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

omg....wow...i felt like i was really driving.

posted by maxieman1093 (CHINO HILLS, CA) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I tryed the demo at target at right when i took the wheel i felt that this is the real deal. It made me want to play more i was at the store for 1 1/2 hours.of course I had to go and get it but my mom said no. so i got it from gamefly and im playing right now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest racing sim to date

posted by TA_REXX (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Being a forza fan back to the original, I was jumping with excitement when this game came in the mail. The graphics are beyond my expectations. The choice in cars blew my mind to the wall, and then through it when I started looking at the Autovista mode. For those that haven't heard, autovista is a new mode that lets you walk around the car learn interesting facts about it, get a little insight from Jeremy Clarkson, and if that wasn't cool enough, you can open the doors and get in. With the updated graphics, wide variety of cars, and amazing driving controls that we've all come to love from the Forza series, this is a must try game for any race fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by ciisco (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

forza 4 is THE best racing game...no, simulation game of all time ...omg graphics? check? tons of cars ? check walkiin around em ? check realism? check. perfect 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse