Rent Forza Motorsport 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Forza Motorsport 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

8631 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Polished Beautiful

posted by ImKharn (COLLEYVILLE, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

73 out of 81 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First thing for you a white clear polished screen with a reflective logo (very apple like) and a Comforting voice welcoming you to Forza motorsport 3. Get used to this voice as it will guide you through a chunk of the game. And you are in.

Every step of the game is smooth, polished, simple, easy. As if Apple designed the game. With as little steps and lots of options you are in a race and committed to hours of fun before you realize it. As beautiful Age of conan/ COD4 landscapes 3D sweep past cars that you cant find a single edge on the car (10 times the polygons are used here than in 2), its just amazing, except you expected this right? Lets move on.

Graphics are 9/10 .... 10 being you playing the game in 3d undistinguishable from real life.

Learning curve of the game also couldnt be more perfected either, as you can set it up so a 2 year old could work his way up from just hitting gas and break when the game tells you to all the way to shifting manually with a clutch and all setup to be as hard going to the track in RL and making twice as much money as a bonus. 10/10

Auction house has fixed the selling 1 billion credits for a few bucks issue with: reporting, a harder hack, and employees who watch auctions to make sure people are not ruining the game by making a million credits worth 10 cents. Big win. You can also now sell designs and tuneups separately. Also no sniping, bidding keeps going til someone gives up.

You get to race in the car, and your head moves around in the car as you break and gas and turn. Every car shows you its actual 3d inside that you can look around during the race.

Hit other AI drivers they hit you back, I just had my car totaled by another car who i pessed off after i tried to run them off the track. And no, i didn't hit the rewind button to undo his revenge, i finished last, and smiled about it.

Other than even more cars and 3d glasses, it seems impossible to improve the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BUY IT ASAP

posted by bseballkid (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

65 out of 74 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I didnt risk not being able to receive the game from game fly.. i went out and got it straight from best buy. I didn't think any game could top Forza 2 but this game does. From the graphics to the online multi player. I also LOVE how easy it is to use the paint booth. I wasn't very good at it in Forza 2 but they made it alot easier to use. I'm rating it a 10/10.. GET THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

simple racing is bliss

posted by baxtercat (ELKHART, IN) May 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

really liked the simplicity of this game for as advanced as it is you can do quick upgrades during the season races which makes it easier for the less mechanically inclined while still being able to go in and buy things the quick upgrade may have missed... the market place was a genius idea for the game its like eBay of forza great game had a blast with it would seriously consider buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok i guess

posted by Runthrough81 (READING, PA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game right after finishing up forza 2. WOW its the same game with a few different cars and tracks. The graphics were great the customization was great but this game is identical to forza 2 to me so i never finished it. Just wish i didn't spend 60 dollars on it. I guess this is a english made game cause the music and gameplay is as fun as the english tv shows. I fell asleep at the wheel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOOO much better than 1 and 2

posted by kruetz57 (ROCKFORD, IL) Oct 30, 2009

Member since May 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

ok right off the bat i love the forza series, and ive noticed that when i first got number 1, i pretty much instantly knew this was not a game for 12 year olds (which is how old i was at the time) but the newers ones are way more kid freindly and i have to say this one has one of the biggest game improvements ive ever seen, the music may not be better but everything else is, the cars are awesome, the tracks rule, driving is incredibly realistic, and i love these new additions 1. driving is about 5x more actiony then in 1 and 2 2. they FINALLY added a cockpit veiw 3. you can now customize ALL the cars where as in 1 and 2, you could not do ANYTHING to the R3 and up cars. and i also like the change of winning cars, in 1 and 2 you won a car every event and before you even got 1/4 through you were up to your neck in cars that you could only sell for 100, now you win a car every time you level up, in 1 and 2 you unlocked a car every 5 levels and i like this new change, overall i think the game absolutely rules and i would reccomend it to ANY and ALL racing game fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racing Simulator

posted by Catfish25 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For those who think this game is boring I should remind you that this is not Need for Speed. This is a real racing simulator that does not need a story line. If thats what you need to keep you interested then this is not a game for you.

The graphics are perfect. The number of cars available are amazing and flawless. The feel of the car you chose is very different from the next. The detail of this game is extreme. When your car pulls off the track you can feel your car getting pulled by the grass since the tires on the track are going to be spinning faster than the tires off the track. You can tune and manipulate your upgrades to make the car ride exactly how you prefer whether its understeer or oversteer that complements your driving skills.

The feel of each corner and the power ripping out of the turn into a straight-a-way is great, very very fun. It is definitley a must play if you are a fan of real racing games. This beats the pants off of Gran Turismo.

The online storefront is cool. You can put your cars up for auction with other Forza players, purchase other car designs and even purchase car tunes from other creators. You can post pictures of your creations and show videos of your race if you really want.

I did not like how you can rewind your mistakes during races. Also on a minor issue, when you try to put decals or paint on your car the shapes or decals you chose are not able to be flipped. So if I put a design on the passenger side and I want it mirrored on the driver side it's almost impossible. Unless I dont know what im doing which is a possibility. Regardless this has nothing to do with the actual racing aspect of the game.

I think the racing season could have been presented differently but still its all about the actual racing, when you are behind the wheel, that this game really shows how amazing it is and really kills any other racing simulator.

Hands down the best racing simulator on any platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Racing Game...

posted by FOXHunk (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

All I can say is this game is amazing...details realistic...just a beautiful game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quite simply the best racing game ever made

posted by erod550 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The Forza franchise has been dominating the racing genre since the first Forza on Xbox. No other game provides the realism that Forza provides, including Gran Turismo. Gran Turismo has pretty environments and tons of cars, all of which look fantastic, but it doesn't provide realistic physics, including damage modeling on the cars.

This game has one of the most in-depth systems for designing graphics for all of your cars. These designs can be saved as whole car designs or just as a vinyl group that can be placed on any car. Like its predecssor, there is also an Auction House for buying and selling cars, vinyl designs, and tuning setups online. You can also race online with completely customizable restrictions on the tracks, cars, and car classes available for each race.

Forza 3 provides excellent graphics, an extremely wide selection of cars, and the realistic physics for which the series is known. If you get a couple tires off in the grass, rather than just slowing you down a bit, it actually "grabs" the car and tries to pull it off the road, because the tires in the grass will be moving slower than the tires still on the pavement. You can actually feel the wheels spinning in both front-wheel and rear-wheel drive cars when you give it a little too much gas. Cockpit view is actually usable without feeling like too much of your view is obstructed, and all of the cars' interiors are modeled perfectly. Add in even more tracks than in Forza 2 and you have a near perfect racing simulator. My one complaint is that in cockpit view, the driver never takes his hands off the steering wheel to shift, but this is a minor detail. All in all, Forza 3 is the best racing game yet on any console. If you like realistic racing games, you will love Forza 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by chuckm46 (CHARLEROI, PA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

FM3 i believe is one the better racing games that i have most recently played. If you are a gamer who likes destructing you vehical and practically fighting your way to the finish line this is not a game for you. FM3 is a more realistic type of racing game. The only thing i did not enjoy was the free cars i were recieving at the start of the game. I mean yes i love free cars but these cars just absolutly sucked and i couldnt even sell them at a good price to upgrade my garage but after you win more races your able to purchase better cars. Overall i would reccomend this game for your future gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Buy

posted by jfillia (MARRERO, LA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i wouldnt have any way better to put this game..
for starters i would like to say the cars and details that went into this game is by far one of the best i'v seen so far..
as you start off the game you jump into a audi v8
and as the game progresses you can update your parts and you get new cars as well.. not to mention the great bidding you can do vs people around the world.
the races arent hard with assist, there is no such thang as cars passing you up on the last lap to win the race unless you make a stupid mistake.
you can get your dream car or your home garage cars.. the cok pit view is awsome makes you feel that you are in the game.
also the shifting is easy the turning is great this game
all though time to time it can get old doin some of the race's and it does have a few flaws on how your car has to much speed and upgrades to compete in some of the race's.

great cok pit view
great feel for the game
great shifting
great assist if you need them "on / off"
great graphic's.

bad fan graphics.
bad racing gets old every now and then.
bad arcade feel for time to time.

and theres just so much i;v got to say but ill leav it at this.. if you like racing get it asap
and to be anost i didnt like racing games as much and first game iv gave a 10 on game fly.

a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This does circles around other games!

posted by garrett51 (SPRING GROVE, PA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is all that forza 2 was, plus new cars, plus new tracks, plus new decals, and plus new parts! It's alsome! The graphics are sweet too! Get ASAP racing game fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a must have title to your 360 library

posted by imkain (MANCHESTER, NH) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I received the Collector's Edition for xmas from my fiancee and do not regret receiving it at all. This game is everything I could have ever hoped for and so much more. The racing is intense, and only on occasion do I have to rewind the action (most of the time is because I misjudged a turn, or more over than not, starting falling asleep due to it being the wee hours of the morning and my body is telling me to stop playing).

The graphics and framerate is truly amazing. At 60 FPS solid, with absolutely no drift from that, you really enjoy the sensation of speed and racing. The AI does a really nice job of making it believable that you are racing against people than robots, by the way they make the occasional mistake. I watched an AI driver take a corner too hard and bounce off of the guardrail, only to take out another competitor off of the rebound and missing my vehicle within inches.

The customizations and easy upgrade option definitely won me over more so than not. I love the fact that you can take a E or F class car and modify it to be an S class or even an R class. The easy upgrade option I mentioned is a nice addition if you want to take that recently modified C class car, that is now an R class, back down to a C class since the game will automatically downgrade your vehicle (and add some upgrades it deems fit) to make the car allowable to race in that class race. This option does not work if the car started above the class race (i.e. A class trying to enter an E class race).

Above all, getting the Collector's Edition netted me a VIP rank and some added cars and tracks, plus going out and getting the holiday pack was a bonus too. You would have to be crazy not to get this racer. Hands down a really nice addition to the Forza Franchise and your gaming library. Try it and you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i have been a Forza fan since its inception on the xbox. this is by far the best racing game ever. i like that they added trucks & suv's to the car line up. this is a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racing Sim on the market

posted by Balthier21 (LANSING, MI) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gorgeous tracks and photo-realism mixed with an RPG like progression make Forza Motorsport 3 tough to beat in the crowded racing sim market.

I love the Forza marketplace too, where you can buy and sell cars, tuning setups and vinyl packages with other players via Xbox Live.

My only gripe with the game would be the load times in between races.

Other than that it's the bees knees.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Gameee !

posted by xCrAz3 (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Best Racing gamee ever !
Amazing graphics and legit cars, with decent speeds.
I love it, and if you like racing games then I recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Watch out GT5

posted by slifox (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I recently played the time trial demo of gt5 after playing forza 3, and I have to say that forza was way more fun to play and the controls were more solid. we'll see though when gt5 comes out, but forza 3 is a solid racing game that's addicting, rewarding, and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best of the best here

posted by mbrandon36 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start off saying that I don't really like race car games. So bad that I didn't play them until I picked up forza 2, I was never a fan of the unrealistic play of them and the boring tracks that you raced on. But like forza 2, forza 3(which I had on pre-order from gamestop for the LE) is the even better, the tracks are set in beautiful locals and the cars are a work of art.

I have had this game since it came out and have already buzzed through the 50 driver levels that are in the game and still have only completed 19% of the game. There is so much content... This game will keep you on the edge of seat from the time you start playing. The AI is competetive and will do just as much as you to win the race if you set your difficultly to higher than beginner. The wrecks in the game are also very realistic from rolling your car to killing the engine.

The progression of the season play is great taking you from the lower class races all the way up to R1 racing classes and the aggression levels increase just as the money for races do.

If you are a graphic artist or like tuning your car for top perfomance this is so for you, now with the new editor that gives you a complete screen canvas you can create vinyl layouts for your cars that are unseen anywhere then you can sell your designs on the marketplace to a limited few or to everyone that wants it, you get to decide. Same goes with the tunings.

And lets not forget 1 other really fun fact about this game, yes the Audi is the featured car but if you want to drive a Bugatti its here and only here in all its roaring beauty.

This game has it all from start to finish, if you like realistic car racing sims then you need look no further than forza 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gods gift to Racing gamers

posted by DJRipple (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nothing more then that.

You've got almost total skills in all parts of the game....

from the 400 cars and being to tune them without limits.

100 tracks to burn all your rubber.

In all You have to play/buy this,its endless with loads to do its like almost a RPG racing game to where you can always try something diffrent.

Get it or rent it just play it and youll be hooked

Graphics~10+/10
Sound~10+/10
Playtime~10+/10
Multiplayer~10+/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game is better than the first. great smooth graphics and such realistic tracks. cars show off beauty and design. this game has such slick controls and not to easy or hard to play. this game is more than a rent, its a buy. online experience has been increased with new options and modes. also with a great selection of cars. this is a great game and best racing game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST RACING GAME EVER MADE

posted by INIQUITY6 (GREENVILLE, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

BYFAR THE BEST RACING GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED NO ONE SHOULD MISS THIS ONE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Racer Ledgend

posted by Varatex (FULLERTON, CA) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't like raceing games, but I liked this one. I even bought it. It's the first racer in 10 years I've enjoyed playing. So that must say something. The cars are interesting, the races are challenging, the dynamics and controls just make it so much better. I gave this game an 8 because its the best racing game I've ever played, and I recommend it to anyone. Get it for your kid; yourself, anybody. It could even be a family game for Christs sake. The cars are cool, the races are fun, and its challenging at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but monotonous at the same time

posted by Sjetware (WYLIE, TX) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is beautiful and fun to play. However, unless you are very hardcore, the game will quickly become old. The 'campaign' (season play) is ridiculously long for no reason at all it seems. Unless you install to the hard drive, you will be sitting looking at loading screens for a LONG time - both before and after matches.

I found it fun, but I doubt it will keep you entertained for long; I finally realized that I was working (not having fun) playing the game because I was just trying to complete enough races for money to buy specific cars. Once you get into the R3-R2 level, you've probably played about 100 races or so. You get pretty much burnt out at that point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game if you don't get bored easily

posted by ClearlyOP (CLERMONT, IA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I received Forza 3 I was pretty excited having not played a racing game in almost a year. Popped it in expecting to jump in, and was hit with the "Your gameplay will be junk if you don't install the obscene amount of extra bells from disc 2" message. Figured alright, cool more sweet rides. Problem is I never got to them in season mode because it was so BORING. But the game is worth a rent so Ill break it down for ya:

Controls: Wonderful, very natural and responsive I liked the different levels of difficulty too, I played on medium since I use a standard controller and have no complaints here: 10/10

Graphics: On cars? 9/10 9 since the collision damage was kinda boring. On the menus/paint etc? 9/10 coulda used a bit more of a tutorial for tuning but thats meant for gearheads anyways. On the tracks? Nothing new the people on the sidelines looked like cardboard sometimes, and the scenery was so boring i felt like i was on the same 3 tracks over and over, but the recurring tire tracks and such was semi-fun. 5/10.

Audio: 9/10 The music was very acceptable imo. Much of it was new to me and it wasnt overbearing or too obscure had a nice clean feel to it.

Now youre saying why a 6 with these high ratings? Because the single player season play made me want to drink window cleaner.

Gameplay: 3/10 it started off nice first race then welcome to forza and you get to pick your car obviously a junker and away you go racing to riches and glory right? Kinda, you start off with trash and obtain some really nice credit and by the end of the first season you have plenty of cash(if youre 1st and using higher difficulty to boost earnings)to bump your favorite car up to Class A and drive like a madman. Thing is they dont let you use the money. They restrict all the events to low classes like F E D C. which would be fine if I didnt have 2349823 credit to spend. the courses repeated the AI wasnt challenging and Rewind was easy mode.

10 hours in and still class C events? No thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little too easy

posted by Stevenflow (LOOGOOTEE, IN) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a big fan of the GT series since the first one came out on the PS1, and since Sony doesn't seem to hurried to put out GT5, I thought I'd give this game a try. There is a lot to be liked, the variations on the tracks, good environments, tons of customization options for how your car looks, solid physics and car setups. The only real complaints I have is that the game is too easy. It gives you all kinds of cars just for leveling up, and the auction house breaks the whole buy/sell part of the game completely. You can buy 600k cars for less than 10k easily. Some of the tracks have really good textures on the pavement, and others it's just plain grey with some tire tracks on it. And where the heck is the rally racing? All-in-all Forza is a good racing sim, worth playing 'till GT5 comes out anyway (or if you're not a PS3 owner).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved the great FUN

posted by baconlover (SPRING HILL, TN) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was so much fun and so easy to pick up and get used too. The great thing about this game was when you got good at it and wanted to take your skills and your new cars online, it was very simple to do. Not to mention the many different types of gametypes such as my favorite, "drift", which the motive is to go around the same tracks that your used too and gaining points by drifting around the turns! In all the game is great and very fun i would say that my family and me had the most fun time on xbox live and just playing together in private races.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse