Rent Forza Motorsport 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Forza Motorsport 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

6471 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Im not a fan of racers, and I loved this game!

posted by omegak (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Jun 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

35 out of 36 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Forza motorsport 2 is really a quality packed title with tons of replay value fueled by that special quality in special games that just makes you not want to stop playing.

I am admittedly not very good at racers, but yet ive been able to scale up the single player in FM2 and make 250k credits, and have 20+ cars. Career mode, the heart of the game, is set up perfectly. If racing isn't your thing, dont worry, you can still play! FM2's difficulty system is advanced and fully customizable at all times. Feel like you could do OK vs medium AI but still want your ABS on? No prob. What makes Forza so special is that it opens up the once daunting racing sim genre to the general masses, and if you are a die hard racer fan, crank up the difficulty, turn on the telemetry and do your thing, (and make more cash).

The online features in this game are groundbreaking. You can buy/trade any car at the auction house, which is further enhanced by the incredible(and hard to master) graphical editor included with the game. Design an appealing car and make more cash. There are people online who spent more time in the graphical editor then they do racing. The ability to snap a pic of your car and sent it to the forza website for viewing is a forumites dream. No longer do you need a capture card or high-res digital camera to show your car off. And of course you can race using a car from your garage, or you can use any car in the game if you would like when you race competitively online

All in all, the only flaw I could find in this game is that the tracks get very repetitive after 15+ times. Remember, I don't like racers and really rented this by accident, but trust me, give it a try, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beats all others.

posted by chsmadden (SAN CARLOS, CA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game beats all other racing games, hands down. GRID, Gran Turismo 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, and any other existing games. It's career mode is lots of fun with monstrous rewards when you win. It's arcade mode is also very enjoyable with exhibition, time trial, and free run. My favorite is the free run because you can choose any of the unlocked cars and try for the best overall time on any track. Single player is absolutely perfect but the Live play is a bit flawed and difficult to understand. I haven't yet figured out how to join AND race in an online game.
The only thing that makes this game better is it's compatibility with the Xbox 360 Wireless racing wheel. This is so much more fun than wiggling a joystick. Be that as it may, the force feedback is much heavier than that of a normal car at speed. Compared to Test Drive unlimited, where the steering is very light, you have to almost force the wheel to turn. Be that as it may, it gives you a perfect feel of what the car's doing.
I rate this game 10/10 for it's entertaining and rewarding(understatement) career mode. Although the Live is a tidbit flawed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best racer on 360 so far

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) May 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

79 out of 93 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

My favorite thing about Forza is the realistic damage modeling. I'm sick of "realistic" racing games that let you slam into a wall at 200 mph and not even scratch the paint. While the realism could take away some of the fun for some people, like the people that enjoy arcadey racers like Need For Speed, I think it makes it more rewarding to nail a sharp set of turns without spinning or smashing into something.

The graphics are also stellar. The cars look great and have real-time reflections. It runs really smooth, and I haven't experienced any slowdown yet.

As far as gameplay, there's a career mode that has you selecting a region (North America, Asia, etc.). This makes the cars in your region cheaper compared to other cars that you have to "import". You can trade cars with people that chose a different region to make things cheaper, so it kinda promotes interaction with other people other than just racing against them. Kinda cool. You can also race online with 7 other people. I've played quite a few games online and haven't experienced any lag yet.

The biggest draw for Forza though is the the cars. There's 300 cars from 50 manufacturers (or so I've read). You can customize them out the wazoo and create custom paint jobs. It's pretty neat. There's also a mini-game when you upgrade stuff to keep you from upgrading to the next car class, something I wish they had in Test Drive Unlimited. Overall, it's a fun game with a lot of substance and great graphics. If that sounds like your kind of game, then go ahead and check out this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gran Turismo for 360

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always assumed no racing game could compare to Gran Turismo. I thought the last place to find a good legitimate simulation racer would be the 360. I can't believe how wrong I was. I bought this game by accident with Marvel Ultimate Alliance for 12 measly bucks. I figured I'd give it a try since it came with. But this not only matches my previously favorite racer Gran Turismo 4, it improves all its faults! Finally car damage! Customizable paneling that actually affects the cars performance depending on wind drag! So many options I haven't yet been able to explore! Common sense! I'll probably come back and give this a 10 when I am more experienced and know how everything works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More Driving simulator than racing game

posted by maawdawg (BALTIC, CT) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like Forza 2 for what it is, a great driving simulator. This is the most realistic racing game I have ever played. It is realistic in every way. The driving physics are spot on, the tuning is accurate, the crashes have actual damage, and the driving turns out to be a lot more tactical because of it. Basically if you liked the Gran Turismo series this is the next step in the line. It is a driving game with great graphics and great realism.

That said, this isn't a racing game that everyone will go crazy over. If you are a Need 4 Speed or Burnout fan you may find this game slow or possibly even frustrating. This isn't a fast paced "use the walls to turn" racing game. If you are used to "hold down gas, turn a little bit, win" as your way to win races then you will have some issues winning races here. Forza 2 is the chess to Need 4 Speed's checkers.

If you liked the Gran Turismo games then definitely give this one a look, you won't be disappointed. If you want fast paced racing with a forgiving crash system you may want to look elsewhere in the driving game section.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best racing game ever!

posted by 1993RX7 (BOTHELL, WA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i've always been a huge fan of racing games but found most of them to be really cheesy where you HAVE to have the Most expensive car if you want to win the race, or you can be doing 150 through a 90 degree turn. but not with forza. this game has an amazing customization setup and you can even tune your car to have just about any setup

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you haven't tried this, time to update the Q

posted by BYOBKenobi (RAHWAY, NJ) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The goal of the game is to win races(obviously). When you win races, you earn "credits" (money) that you can use to buy new cars or build up the cars you own. The credits also go towards building up your driver. Achieving higher driver ranks gives you bonuses. Some levels unlock races, cars, discounts, etc.

In the beginning winning is easy because you can build your car far beyond the competition and have plenty of room for error. This is when the game got boring for me. I almost sent it right back, but then I unlocked a later "series" of races that is restricted by class. Class basically means how "good" your car performs. As you improve your car, its Performance Index goes up. When the races are restricted by class, you have to pick and choose your upgrades to stay within the class. This is where the game got intense.

As you progress into the later races you are in tighter and tighter competition that only gets faster and faster.

The complaints I have are minor.

First, over Xbox Live the hit detection and timing among racers is terrible. I gave it a try with a friend of mine from the next town over and it looked like he was bouncing everywhere. I'd clip his bumper and spin out and he would swear it didn't happen and that I was making things up. I've only raced online with him so far, so I may have to give this game another point later if the latency issues are minimal over time.

Secondly, when you accidentally go off the track you start accumulating "penalty" time. That penalty time goes against your time, and from what I can tell, lets the computer catch up/pass you worth that amount of time. When you take a turn too tight to take the lead with a straight shot to the finish and the computer passes you at a speed his car could not possibly go you will want to snap the game in half.

All in all the game is a tight racing game with plenty of details for the gear heads and plenty of playability for everyone else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

forza rocks

posted by fmlmcd (BEDFORD, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

forza is awesome and so realistic and so addicting and its so fun. once i played it for seven hours straight its awesome

its a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Worthy Addition to the Racing Sim Series

posted by BlueBird (CLEMMONS, NC) Jun 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The original Forza Motorsport, released for the Xbox in 2005 and developed by Turn10, met critical acclaim when it first hit store shelves. Praised for its convincing driving model and profound gameplay options, most simulation racers promptly heralded the game to their racing libraries. Two years later Turn10 delivers another robust driving experience that will satisfy anyone with a remote interest in either racing or automobiles.

The most salient feature of Forza 2 is its incredible driving model. Unlike typical arcade racers, cars in Forza 2 handle just as you would expect them to. If you're thinking about giving Forza a spin, be forewarned that the game can be a little daunting initially if you aren't used to sim racers. Although there are some helpful driving assists that help lessen the learning curves, this most certainly isn't a Need for Speed or Burnout clone. Just like racing in real life, you will have to slow down significantly before approaching a turn, consider physical limitations such as traction and aerodynamics, and drive with caution. While quick reflexes will certainly help, Forza 2 is less about twitch-timing and more about driving skill.

The presentation is similarly impressive from a technical perspective. The menus are well organized and have a slick sheen. The actual tracks themselves look fairly good, although a few feel a bit barren with environmentally detail sparsely spread. Also, a couple of the textures look a little muddy up close. However, if you're playing the game correctly, you'll be far too busy zipping by the tracks to notice these subtle flaws. Fortunately, the game retains a solid 60 frames per second. The car models themselves are really the stars of the show, as they are finely detailed and exhibit plenty of sophisticated reflections. My biggest gripe with the presentation is that there is no in-car view to speak of.

Forza 2 also boasts a bevy of game modes, including a career mode, online play, and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An outstanding triumph, a must for any sim fan!

posted by TornadoTN (TELFORD, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Let me be clear: this is not a casual, pick-me-up type of racing game. It is very unforgiving and you can't magically expect to be the champion as soon as you jump behind the wheel.

That being said, this game is a beauty and wonderfully well-done for any sim racing fan. If you like to tune, customize, and test your cars (much like the trumpeted Gran Turismo series) this game is a must have! You have over 300 different vehicles to choose from assuring you that many common, every day vehicles are available for you to tinker with and fix up into a full-fledged racing machine. Then take them onto the track and see how well you can master your vehicle through a series of challenges & races that test your skill as a driver and your prowess as a mechanic - because each change you make to your car, just like the real world, will certainly affect its performance for better or worse. The game play is outstanding and the AI is stellar and unforgiving. The car physics are unrivaled in any game thus far and the damage physics are outstanding. One little bump may send you spinning and perhaps into a wall - where the damage will affect your performance on the track, whether it be a tiny dent on your bumper or a full-fledged tear-off - it will be recreated closely.

The graphics are very good - not stellar like many had hoped, but very good and passable. The track graphics are standard racing fare - it's obvious the dev team spent more time on the gameplay than the settings, which is fine by anyone who loves racing. It's not that they are bad, it's just that they are sparse and lacking of a real identity.

A definite must rent for most any X360 owner and a must own for any racing SIM fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Racing Sim

posted by Kitler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible. The graphics are fantastic. This is as real as it gets for a racing sim. But for you more used to Need for Speed you can adjust the difficulty to ease you into a more sim game. Game has more than 300 cars from 50 different manufacturers. Can buy upgraded parts and trick it out they way you want it. Another great aspect of the game is online. The online play is great. You even have the option to build an ultimate car and gift it to a friend or sell it in auctions. Obviously you can buy cars as well. If I was going to say anthing negative about the game it would be there are not many tracks to race but when you race with different cars it creates a new challenge. Also there is no cockpit view like PR3. But overall this game is AWESOME! Highly recommend this game. This is a definite purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Forza perfetto

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) May 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fantastic game, I have been playing for 7 hours already today and i am not sick of it yet.

For those who played the original it is more of the same. It will be very familiar to you in the menus and the controls. Those of you who did not play the original you will find the menus are very easy to navigate.

The graphics are next gen for sure and the load times are not too long. The physics are running at 360 fps and it shows. The cars actually have some weight to them. Add a more powerful turbo, guess what, you can actually see and feel what your upgrade does this time around, no generic upgrade system like in the original.

No money glitch in this game guys, you are gonna have to earn your money the old fashioned way....WIN. It is gonna take stategy and alot of winning to get the cars you want.

Those of you looking for a story or PGR 3 type game physics. This game is NOT for you. This is a racing sim. You are able and encouragerd to mess with the cars settings to tune your ride. Everything from tire width to picking the right turbo boost. There is an arcade mode in the game. but why? what's the point.

This game is a must have. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definite Play!

posted by TroutCount (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am not usually a fan of race games at all but this one is set up for all levels of race fans. I am not a race game fan solely for the reason of stearing and the fact that I cant do it. This game came with my Xbox 360 Elite so I put it in with very little expectations. So here is my opinionated and limited race game experience view.

I put the difficulty level on easy and was amazed that I could actually steer the majority of the cars. It made the experience for me more enjoyable when I could actually compete in the races and not play catch up or try and wreck passing cars. I could race a legitimate race without cheating by bumping and cutting corners to fast and running into the other car in the turn to stop me (I have mastered that move). When I had built a sense of false confidence up thinking that I had now mastered the art of racing games, I then set the difficulty higher and was quickly humbled in the first race. Needless to say the level was lowered.

My point is that all gamer experience levels can play this and enjoy once your level of difficulty is found. I recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Racing Game, but not a Perfect 10

posted by RKip455 (SOMERVILLE, AL) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, the game is the best racing game I've played on the 360.... and I have all the driving/racing games for the 360/PS3!

Pros/Done Right:
Graphics are Great! Car Physics are Fantastic as well... you can truly feel the difference in each car's handling, power, and braking characteristics!

Tracks, though few, are super detailed and true to life (at least the ones I'm familiar with) Road Atlanta, Laguna Seca, etc!

Damage.... is another feature the designers got right. Also, being able to change the difficulty in the game as you progress... in career mode is a great feature!

Cons/Let Downs:
What, "NO COCKPIT" view! How could they leave this out! I keep thinking it's there and I just can't find it...LOL!

Some Bonnet/Hood views on some cars… many actually, have no hood view at all! What is that about! I hate racing a car from a Bumper cam… put me in the car or at least on the hood!

What... "NO WEATHER CHANGES" how about a little rain!

What... "NO NIGHT RACING" no 24 hr races.

And finally... What... "NO 24 Hours of Le Mans (24 Heures du Mans)” how could that be... unless it's a hidden track and I've not unlocked it yet. The most famous sports car endurance race ever!!!!

Bottom line though... this game is a must have for any racing fan and anyone who likes driving games! It can be set to really easy for the casual driver/player… or set very difficult.

Hope this review helps some folks!
RK

BTW if you've ever played rFactor, or GTR2 you know what a Racing SIM should be. hopefully GTR2 gets picked up for the 360... how about it SimBin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is great, fantastic custimization, licensed cars, and gameplay. the maps are all too alike though they all seem the same till u get half way through the career, and thats the only negative thing i can say about the game. defentley worth the money to buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

missing things.

posted by gameon (CHARLESTON, WV) May 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am a very avid racing fan, is this a true to life racing sim? To some yes to others no, not having night racing or weather is a big let down, because if a racing game is going to be a sim then it should have these 2 elements because in real life you drive in all types of weather and you drive at night. If you like in game music then another disappointment there isn't any at least not when your racing, the music that plays in the menus is quite good would been nice if able to play while driving I guess this makes use of the custome playlist feature of the 360 . The good points of the game, such as excellent car physics customization a wide variety of cars should keep many entertained for hours. Forza 2 is not a bad game it is quite good just missing a few things that a true racing sim should have, but being a racing game fan and a car enthusiast as well as others like me should defiantly pick this game up .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest Racer of all time!!!

posted by REV1EWER (WINCHESTER, KY) May 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Gameplay = True simulator, I've played all the Gran Turismos, Forza 1, & other racers & this is truly the most realistic. Controls & customizing is very easy to learn.
Graphics = Not the best for the next gen but very good. 60 frames per second meaning the smoothest visuals you have to see to believe. Tracks look nice, some tend to have bad detail in areas but most leave you staring more at the track then car.
Sound = Every car sounds true to life, each little part you add changes the minor engine/tire/ sounds. Music in the menu is very pleasing & won't disappoint.
Value = Over 50 track options, over 300 cars, thousands of customizing options - what more do you want.
Online = Career races earn you money, or race with your friends. Auction house is a way to sell your cars for more value or buy what you want. Plenty of other online options will keep you hooked.
Replay Value = high (I cant put my controller down)

If your not a racing fan then this is the game that will make you one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sent my Xbox in for repairs

posted by bkotler752 (FREDERICK, MD) Sep 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I made it through one race, but it froze before the results came up. Afterwards, half my game discs were unreadable. I went three weeks without my Xbox and got a different one back that has much longer load times. Not worth the risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FORZA WAS TERRIBLE!

posted by hansbrix (SIERRAVILLE, CA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 25 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing but flashy cars and over the top graphics. I own an X-Box 360 racing wheel, and the cars were nearly impossible to control. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone. I believe it is way overrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by halo3pimp (SEBRING, FL) May 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is really really good compared to Forza #1 it has almost double the amount of cars and the graphics are about 75 times better if i was you this game would be #1 on my Game Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

difficult to jump right in and play

posted by drechao (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

if your new to this type of game you will have a hard time learning how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by ajakajokst (HOUSTON, TX) May 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

ver y average i would rent again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Realistic

posted by iLOVEmy360 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 41 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. It is a simulator and I like that, it is one of my favorite racing games. I loved the detail in the cars and the realism in physics and race tracks. I say RENT IT, if you like it THAN BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty boring if you ask me

posted by Chappell007 (MCCONNELLS, SC) Jul 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

While I enjoy racing games, there's something about Forza Motorsport 2. It's not a good game, nor is it a bad game. It's graphics are superb, but I had difficulty with the controls. Also, the gameplay can be quite dull. I give this 5/10 because its average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ups and downs just like all racers.

posted by TheReviewer (EAGLE CREEK, OR) May 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Overal i'm happy with this game but like all games and expecially racing games this gets old.

The graphics are great for a 2007 game.
Customization is great as well, change bumpers, stickers, engine parts, etc.
Lots of races and maps.

2 things that bothered me about this game is :

Endurance racing, basically a 30 minute race ( 100 laps ) only problem is with "realistic" races like that is when your on lap 99 and doze off and slam into a wall and total your car. you finish the race (hopefully first if you lapped the AI) to find out that the payments for the damages to the car equal to the prize money.

Cars vs. Supercars, After advancing to about lvl 25 i had a fairlady 350z and a pagani zonda. after both cars were tuned to the best parts, i found that the pagani barely made it to 180mph as to which the 350z made it to 230 as easy as 1 2 3. i later found out that the 350z is the fastest car in the game - even faster than f1 cars. THIS MAKES SENSE?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse