Rent Forza: Horizon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Forza: Horizon

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

1718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Should be called Dirt: Street Edition

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This isn't Forza its Dirt....the cars all act the same just like in Dirt, the tracks are floaty just like in Dirt...absolutely no difference in surfaces you can go just as fast on dirt as on pavement that isnt Forza...lame stereotypes to race against just like Dirt....Menus are Dirt....only things that are Forza are the skins and the upgrades...the skins look good but the upgrades dont really do anything I can slide around just as good on normal tires then I can with off road ones...AWD cars should dominate off road but I can win with a Ferrari just as easy...that isnt Forza!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

horizon

posted by erokrips (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to similar to nfs hot pursuit ........fun though great rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Probably going to buy this one

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Before you know anything else about this game, you must know that this is not Forza as you have come to know it. This is the love-child of a Forza/Dirt romance, and personally I absolutely love it. By that, I mean that Horizon has more of an arcade feel to it than you have known through the rest of the Forza series, but it's not in a bad way at all, it fits the game style perfectly.
Anyway, here we go....

The Good:
- The cars still look and sound just as amazing as they do in Forza 4
- The open world exploring is a lot of fun in incredibly fast cars
- Both dirt and road races
- Street racing, not in a cheesy way though

The Meh:
- Instead of menus, you drive to the different shops to customize your car, not a bad thing, but more time consuming

The Bad:
- The only thing that keeps this game from a full 10 for me is that there are not as many cars in Horizon. DLC will probably fix this, but there should still be more

Long Story Short:
If you are a fan of Forza or a fan of DiRT, then you will love this game. It is what Need For Speed should have become, and I will most likely end up owning this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the Forza I've grown accustomed to.

posted by Mikew7458 (DENVER, CO) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The reviews pitting this as a "Forza/Burnout Hybrid" are pretty accurate as Horizon introduces a point system to your driving that gives it a very arcade-y feel. The new feel can definitely be fun, but it honestly took away from the racing for me as I found myself too often focusing on the points rather than how well I was racing. As always, the game is beautiful (maybe more-so than Forza 3 or 4 with of the extra open world scenery), vehicle customization is extensive, and the driving mechanics are spot-on.

What made this game a 5 for me is the lack of content. The open world driving is entertaining, and there is a TON of space there, but the event racing is severely lacking. You progress too quick through the different wristband colors (which is how you unlock harder/faster races) and for some odd reason the uncompleted races count toward your next wristband. Even the last wristband takes only about 10 short races to get to and you can be in the "Horizon Championship" (the final race) in what feels like no time at all. This doesn't have to do with what difficulty you play on ( I did everything on 75% bonus with hard opponent difficulty) but with the lack of content.

What I've grown accustomed to since I was 10 years old playing Gran Turismo on PS (Forza has since become my Gran Turismo since I switched to XBOX) is a massive game, that will take a LONG time to beat, and includes races of at least 20-30 laps (and some races with 100s of laps!). In contrast, Horizon's longest races top out at 5 or 6 laps and there are only a handful of R1, R2, and R3 races. Maybe the worst part of all is that I built up cash so fast in this game that I could buy any car I wanted within a couple hours of playing, only to use that car in possibly 2 races.

Overall, this game is a fine rent and you might appreciate the change of pace from previous Forza games for a little bit, but if you enjoy the parts that I do from Forza 3 or 4, you'll be sending this one back within a few day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An adolescent spin off to a great franchise

posted by ThatGamerCraig (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Forza: Midnight Club Colorado Edition!!
so i get the feeling that every time I play Horizon I'm playing Midnight Club Los Angeles, except its in Colorado. The game play and actions in the game are similar if not identical to the themes in Midnight Club and Need 4 Speed. I want more originality.
That being said, Horizon is a lot of fun being able to free roam, challenge other drivers on the fly, and haul balls through the open roads. Still, I'm not that impressed.. besides the variety of all of the cars in Horizon, this game feels like a PG version of the GTA games. Although the online game play is pretty fun, just not enough gamers online..

THE BAD
-NO SPLIT SCREEN?!?!?!.. I keep hearing that this game doesn't need split screen because its free world. Bullhonky! Horizon could of totally made a split screen mode with all of the races.. very grimey. Half of my Forza play time goes into split screen.

-There is an annoying chick that tells you where to go and who to race. I'd rather listen to Jeremy Blum's fat a(ss) then take orders about driving from a woman.

-cant fine tune your car... totally ridiculous.

-theres always grimey DLC.. of course Forza will make you pay for it.

-cant view all of the different physics of the car like the old Forzas... why offer something in one game then remove it from the next?

-the mini map... Playground Games really f''ed it here.

The game itself feels very childish; from what your driver wears (some baby blue watch (that you cant even customize..!?!) to the speedometer on the screen, everything feels like it was geared for a 12 year old who has never once driven a car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm Not Into $200 Games. Sorry.

posted by Kirk_Tuminaro (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I'm a brand new member of Gamefly. Forza Horizon was one of the first two games I was sent. I was really anticipating getting to play this, because it had this kind of sandbox feel to it which I loved in the 2009 game from Codemasters called FUEL. Watching a few gameplay videos on YouTube further led me to believe that some of my very limited income was going to be spent on this game. Well, let's just say I'm very glad I rented it first.

The gameplay itself is extremely well done. The cars all have very distinct handling, and the difficulty can be customized in a number of areas, so that players of all skill levels can have a fun, challenging and enjoyable experience.

My love affair with the game was short-lived, however. It pretty much soured as soon as I checked out the "Marketplace", only to find that there is a huge amount of DLC available in the game which, if one were to purchase the options with the most bang for the buck (a "Season Pass" including all available cars and races, plus a "Token Pack" of 75 Tokens), it would turn a $60 premium game title into a roughly $200 investment.

I'm sorry, but if I buy a game at the full premium title price of $60, then somehow I expect that the game is going to be mostly complete. I understand that developers release DLC for most games now, but when the cost of that DLC could potentially triple the amount paid up front, I consider that to be patently greedy and unfair.

This Forza is a great racing game, but please understand up front that if you are a completist who wants all of the available content, you will be shelling out far more than $60. And that is something which on a limited fixed income, I simply cannot justify. Sorry, Microsoft, but you have turned me from a renter with full intent to buy, into simply a highly dissatisfied renter of your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like Forza, but a little more arcade like.

posted by jtmartin313 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Short and simple..
-It's very similar to Forza 4 except its open roads and storyline.
-You can upgrade vehicles but can't tune.
-You'll get rich quick - there's not much waiting before you can get into whatever ride you choose.
-Races can be a bit repetitive.. but what racing game isn't like that?

I loved Forza 4 and I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Forza 4 - Great Graphics

posted by MightyGStar (EDMOND, OK) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really like the Forza franchise. This was the only one I didnt like.. Reminded me of the older arcade racing games.. Played the demo, was pretty cool, but something was lost in the actual game. It wasnt any better than the demo.. Would be a whole lot better with more crash physics, less - slam that wall at 120mph, just "wrinkles" paint job and pops out the glass.. Not as much fun as the forza series, but some others may like that. To each their own, I wanted a better dynamic racing game (even if its on the road)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

From a non gearhead

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I've never been into racing games much. I do own Forza 2,3 and 4. I play them for a few races and get kinda bored to just race and race. I think Forza went out of their comfort zone and tried something new and I like it! It's the first racing game that I will probably play all night. I don't like the DLC expensive stuff but hey, I guess it does cost money to develop the DLC so that's ok. I think where Horizon keeps getting bad reviews on tuning and the racing aspect is they spent alot of time on a story line, voices, maps and other things to make it an arcade game. It's also nice for old folks like me to enjoy what Forza can do with graphics but then be able to just drive around if I want to without having to worry about tweaking my car. I just buy it. It was a nice break between Forza games and caters to a different crowd. Well done. I read a review that someone compared this to TDU and complaining about the true open world where you can drive around America site seeing. I guess I'll have to rent that now. I just like everything that Horizon is for now. They made it almost like a car party for the lazy that get tired of intense all the time . And that's ok by me. They should have put in more radio stations and a bigger variety of music but I guess you can plug in your own music. And my only other complaint is that since they added a GPS Nagivator, she should talk more and have a volume control. Sometimes she helps, sometimes she plows me into the wall and sometimes she didn't warn me about the sharp curve at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its good in someways but not alot (Forza:Horizon)

posted by Cell9000 (JOELTON, TN) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game thinkng that it was going to be amazing with the open world and what not but what i found was that one of the things forza is well known for isnt even in the game. THE AMOUNT OF REAL CARS. Plus it has a feel of the old NFS: most wanted from a couple years ago
which was ok for back then but not now. I also found that although many cars were missing but not many cars were even in DLC which was a dissapoint to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Definition of mediocrity

posted by Lurfadur (REDMOND, OR) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What happens when you combine the racing of Dirt 2 with the open world of Burnout Paradise? Probably a great game. Forza Horizon is not this game.

Instead, take all of the bad parts of both of those games and put them together. Over stylized menus, annoying and demeaning characters, time filler, and arcade like controls. Those are the elements this game took from the others. Add in even more things the developers thought would be a good idea but turn out to be mistakes, and you can understand why I gave this a 5. At least it's not buggy, doesn't crash the system, and had sparse elements of fun that were only hinted at.

Good:
- Isn't buggy, didn't crash the system, solid technically.
- There is A LOT to do in the game and it'll take you a while.
- Race a Bugatti on dirt roads (?)
- Fun gameplay does exist at times.

Why?:
- Arcade-like handling on cars.
- No to little difference driving on dirt and paved roads.
- Race a Bugatti on dirt roads (?)
- 3 distinctly labeled radio stations with genres of music mixed between them. (when i want to listen to "rock" don't give me indy, indy station plays "rock" etc...)
- Possible low FOV from the first person perspective (?)
- Didn't care for the festival atmosphere.

NO!:
- Mid to poor quality textures on just about everything.
- Lights of oncoming cars during night sometimes don't turn on until it's too late to swerve out of their way. Lights act "weird" all around.
- Character voices are not intelligent (repeat same lines telling me how surprised they are that a new driver is doing so good, even though I'm 10+ hours in to the game), demeaning, come across as pandering.

I could go on but I've only got 300 characters remaining. To sum it up; It's probably better than some racing games, but not better than most. Takes elements from 2 different games and is unable to cohesively put them together into 1 game.

If you absolutely loved Dirt 3 then you might like this. Otherwise just stay aw

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacking Forza

posted by naedj (POPLAR BLUFF, MO) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game lacks everything Forza; no simulation feel, and no incentive to manually upgrade your cars. Not a bad game in general, but it shouldn/t carry the Forza name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so fast

posted by maverick213 (CARY, IL) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I have read many reviews praising this game like its the greatest ever and while to me its a good game it certainly is not great and I will tell you why. First off the car selection is very small even with its day1 dlc which I had to purchase even though I bought the game there was no code. sorry my $ stops flowing right there. Second if you think you and your friends are going to jump into some rides and drive all over the country side BUZZ wrong you cant. This is not a true open world racer like TDU2. All of the reviews so far have failed mention that. Third even though you and your buddies join a club and "share" your rides you cant do anything but test drive them not race them. Forth if you are a gearhead and enjoy tuning look elsewhere there is no tuning, only upgrading of parts. This game suffers from a major identity crsis. No where near the bells and whistles of a true open world racer like TDU2 and nearly enough technical stuff to be a true sim racer like Forza4. Yes this game looks amazing and the framerate is awesome. Driving feels just like any Forza game to date. I cant but think what this game COULD have been. Like I said a good game not a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I am Disappoint.

posted by GameFR3AK (HOPE MILLS, NC) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off, let me just say that if your a veteran forza player this probably i'snt the game the game for you. It's fun and all and I love the open world racing but it's no forza motorsport. It's way too casual and the car selection is minimal, maybe a quarter of what forza motorsport 4 had. Also if tuning cars was your thing in the previous games it's a thing of the past now. The only storefront option is for car designs which was a big upset for me. If your thinking about buying this game I would think twice. The game is short in comparison to the others. Don't get me wrong, I may have described a lot of downsides to the game but if you can get past all that then by all means get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Forza Horizon

posted by Qonscience (WINCHESTER, VA) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Forza Horizon has definitely not failed to impress me. In fact, it went beyond my expectations. It kind of strays away from the other Forza Motorsport games. This isn't a game where you just pick a race, pick a car, then go race and get credits. Cars, racing, and credits are still very much involved, but at a different level and fashion. Forza Horizon is an open world racing game based in Colorado. You drive to different destinations to enter into races. No matter how far the destination is, you have to drive. Unless of course, you teleport to an outpost. But teleporting will cost you credits. You can reduce this charge by completing events at that outpost. Complete every outpost challene and it is free to teleport to that location. But I don't mind driving. Especially with all the other drivers on the road that you can challenge to races to a random destination. But lets talk about the cars. There are not as many cars in Horizon as there are in previous Forza Motorsport installments. But there is still a good amount. You can also find vintage cars in barns scattered across Horizon. If you find it, you get to keep it. There are also showcase races where you get to race a plane, a helicopter, or even a hot air balloon. If you win these races, you get to keep the car that you were racing in. Customization is also pretty good, basically the same as Forza Motorsport 4. I will let you find the rest of the story out for yourself though. It will be cool to see who wins the open world racing competion during these next couple of weeks. Forza Horizon, or Need for Speed: Most Wanted. Regardless of how well Need for Speed: Most Wanted does. Forza Horizon is worth your money. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Made for idiots

posted by S4mWitch (WILLOWICK, OH) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game is a complete contradiction of itself. They chose to include the Forza name, but none of the game. The presentation of this game is a complete mockery of everything Forza stands for. Here's what you have to look forward to.. Some painfully bad voice actors holding your hand,guiding you from event to event like a mother dragging their kid along shopping.
Whoever thought this style of presentation for a "forza" game was a good idea should be hit very hard in the face, preferably multiple times. It didn't work in the "Dirt" series, and it certainly seems dated and redundant in its nature. For an open world game, it feels rather linear and enclosed.
The name Forza should have never been attached to this game.. It would be impossible to create this type of game with the forza 4 engine because of technical limitations, so, I'm willing to take what I can get with Horizon, but the handholding, and lack of tuning are a huge turn off for actual racing game fans..
What you have here is actually a really well put together engine, with a shiny coating of american pop nonsense music, and some terrible voice actor constantly reminding you that they won't go away.
Thanks Turn 10... Alienate almost every fan of your series... Not a well thought out plan.. Will not be buying this, can't wait to finish Forza 4...
Turn 10, do us a solid and give us a REAL Forza open world game next generation..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skip NFS get this

posted by bscluber (MADISON, WI) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, applying a good physics engine to a road environment has made this game a keeper

Good:
Graphics
Sound
Environment
Overall feel

Bad:
Turn 10 reaping our wallets for DLC that should be in the game ($60 for the game and $50 for the next 6 months of DLC)

Ugly:
The soundtrack is TERRIBLE but you can turn it off so only -1 for that

Why do forza games always have such bad soundtracks?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sim Meets the open road

posted by InfamousLion (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

In a surprising mashup, we have the sim style of Forza applied to the open road format with all past entries of Forza restricted to closed tracks or road courses. This major shift is even bigger since new comer Playground games built this ride instead of series founder and mainstay Turn 10. The results speak for themselves though, since this is one of the most exilerating series entries yet. Dodging traffic at 150 miles an hour, actually honest to goodness racing at night finally, a well thought out music library, and absolutely succulent visuals compliment the excellent festival atmosphere this title conveys. The only real downers I can see is the upgrades you make are automatic with no real tweaks you can make which will sadden gearheads, and occassionally the handeling is abit squirelly for my taste like they weren't 100 % sure how they should balance between arcade and sim style but overall a great follow up to an excellent racing franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by yashar106 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

this game is a amazing the world and the cars I never played A racing game like this this is the new future of racing this is where cars belong the cars are super cool the open world is amazing this is so coollllll

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by natalie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game is definitely one of the best if not the best racing game i've ever played the controllers are super precise and the grafics are by far the best i have ever seen sound like all microsoft games is nice specialy if you have a home theater, in game music a choice of Rock and other two radio stations but if these in game music is not cool enough for you just put some mp3 in a flash drive and voila your own music in game over all a solid 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my wife loved it

posted by dwg2003 (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

rented this game and my wife beat it within a few days she absolutely loved it and so didn't I. GREAT GAME just like all forza games!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Forza Horizon

posted by Rigo_Z (FREMONT, NE) Dec 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 to 10?

I would give it a 7, only because its not very realistic.
Still very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

meh

posted by negativeman (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

The racing was meh. I couldn't beat my rival even though im pretty sure the car had to be unmodified for the race? That aside, hot animated girls dont make a game good. Too many cars too fast, never got a feel for one car without being rushed into the next one. The idea of a crazy tournment with super hot babes and free cars on every corner just didnt work for me. The open world was interesting but couldnt tell where i was without looking at the map. Played for an hour because i wanted to like it. Meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I, hate it

posted by XlucVortex (DURHAM, NC) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I Hate this game it was never in my Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the best racing game ive ever played

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

let me tell you when i first started playing this game i was completely surprised by the whole thing. the location the cars the racing the design and paint your own car and stuff. plus with the challenges and going up against the pros is completely awesome. but their are a few drawbacks on this game. for example when you do the outpost check point missions they are frustrating. for instance when you need to break a speed record for a time limit at the very end of the run the brakes automatically brake for you which is completely annoying and ridiculous. i got so frustrated with those kind of objectives that i just stop doing those and do easier ones. plus another annoying thing about this game is that its only taken place in Colorado. now theirs nothing wrong with Colorado its just that if its going to called forza horizon the setting should at least take place all over the country and the world too not just Colorado like what they did in Forza 4 where you could travel all over the world and race that was awesome. another bad thing about this game is the bad driver camera when i switched to the driver view it was hard to drive becuz you have everything coming at you all at once. enough of that the best thing about this game are the cars the cars in the game are so much better to control and so much better looking it makes me want to go ask my parents and say mom dad i want a Ferrari hahaha. oh and one more bad this is the annoying radio. seriously the radio on the game plays the same songs over and over again its gets annoying plus the songs on the game completely suck and are horrible. but i still would give this game a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse