Rent Fortune Street for Wii
view large frontback

Fortune Street

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

916 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Making the Most of Mario and Monopoly

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Woo-hoo. It’s Mario and his friends taking a journey from their lands to the Monopoly boards in Fortune Street.
But instead of building houses and hotels, these games have players putting money into the properties they own or stocks (each set of properties is a stock option).
When players build up a property, the stock that the property is part of goes up as well (and it also increases rent for the property.) The value of each property also goes up if the player gets two or more of the set.
Along the way, players gather up suits (spade, heart, diamond, club). If the player gets all four suits and gets back to the start, they get a large cash bonus (depending on how many properties they own)
The way to win? Gather up a set number of net value (it’s different for each board) or be the player with the most net value when another player declares bankruptcy.
This is a great game for multiplayer play (Monopoly is a classic game after all), and the inclusion of simple mini games just adds to the fun.
But just like Monopoly, this game isn’t as much fun to play single player mode. Having to sit through the other players moves can get annoying. And the prize for winning the game isn’t great. You get to change your player’s outfit or how he rolls the die or moves along the board.
Fortune Street is one game that will thrill Monopoly fans, but it won’t win over anyone with the bland single player mode. It’s one game that is a definite rent- and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game with a few problems

posted by YoshiFanUltra (MARYSVILLE, WA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of good and bad parts. Some of the music is good while a bit of it is not. The computer players (including my favorite characters) are set to an automatic difficulty (which, sadly, can't be adjusted) and even the easiest CPU's can make you mad. The stages are well-designed and to be honest, can be very complex and difficult to navigate through. Playing the game is fun, but you would need a lot of practice. Even if you're a pro at this, any CPU can still beat you in this. Often, it can get irritating, but it's still fun for anyone (especially for those who are Mario fans, Dragon Quest fans, or are just interested in the stock market).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better Direction Than Where Monopoly Went

posted by CasualGamerWii (LARGO, FL) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Still needs improving; but worth a rental if you have about 8-10 hours to kill collecting $10K to get to the bank. The presentation is very awesome and the music is sweet. The downsides are the AI is brutal and the boards designs make it where it takes forever to collect and raise your net worth. Some boards has a section that moves; which makes it even longer. This should have been worked on a little longer and would have made a sweet WiiU launch title (I am not getting the system or any other).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by kjfenimore (PATASKALA, OH) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for older children. Younger ones will have trouble understanding. It makes the most of counting money and learning how to figure out whether you have enough. Makes monopoly fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Suprisingly Good Time

posted by BirdFlyBearDont (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Most times I hear about another Monopoly clone coming out, I ignore it and move on. With the games history in japan and the integration of mario and dragon quest characters I thought I would give it a rent. This game takes the tried and true monopoly formula and adds tweaks like an end game and an interesting stock system. It is definitely made to be played with friends, but I had fun playing solo. I'll definitely be picking this one up. Don't ignore this monopoly style game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mostly Enjoyable

posted by DegoFever (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Having messed around with the game for a while, I'm glad that something like this came out. If you ask someone if they want to play Monopoly, there's always 'Yeah but"s. The game's too long, too boring, we're out of beer... but Fortune Street adds a new twist, with the ability to invest in other players' districts

As for the single player, it's a Nintendo title, and that means one thing: Rubber Band AI, and they're not subtle. Still, some people will rant that the game "Cheats". Let's be real. You bought/rented a Nintendo game, you should know what's up by now.

The Good: Absolutely ridiculous costumes, accessories, and animations to give your Mii a little more flavor.

The Bad: Some of the levels are downright rude, and it's a pain in the neck to actually quit a game. You have to wait till the start of your turn, and if you roll the die, you have to wait another cycle of turns. It's easier to reset the game from the Wii Menu

The Verdict: Certainly worth a rent until the price drops. Starts at 50 bucks, will likely be thirty by the time the snow melts, about the price of an actual board game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely better with friends.

posted by marsupial311 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fortune Street is basically Monopoly with some more complex forms of economics added in. The goal is to go around the board and collect properties in "districts" while simultaneously collected the four "suits" scattered across the board. The more of a district you own, the more your properties are worth. In addition, you can invest in your properties to increase the fee opponents play and buy stocks to increase the value of a district. Add in "Venture Cards" for random effects and you have a solid board game.

The single player mode is the way to unlock new characters but can get incredibly bland at times. This game was not designed to be played alone so if you don't have a few friends that are also interested in the game, it's probably not worth the time. Once you play the multiplayer, the strategy increases and diplomacy comes into play. Much like any other board game, your ability to convince your friends to help you is a major skill and leads to longer lasting replay value.

Unfortunately, Nintendo continues to shoot itself in the foot with the online capabilities of the Wii. For a game that is a blast with other people, the online portion is still frustrating when playing against random people who will frequently drop out of games long before they are finished. I would not recommend online play unless you have friends to play with.

Fortune Street is definitely an "easy to learn, difficult to master" style of board game. The concepts are fairly easy to pick up (I didn't use the tutorial, which may have some sweet tips I'm missing out on) but putting them into action effectively takes a bit of practice. If you're expecting Mario Party or a lot of action packed mini-games, you won't find them in this game. Fortune Street is a pretty good multiplayer board game experience on the Wii. If you're looking for a game that involves a slower pace and a lot of strategy, Fortune Street is definitely worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very boring!!

posted by MarkAndBB (CLOVER, SC) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Worse game ever.. Put me to sleep. We played the same game for 2 hours and it wasn't close to being over. It would have been much better if they added some mini games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty great

posted by bcpinoy (UNION, WV) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a fun and great game after you get the hang of it. Was kind of a little hard at first but you get the hang of it the more you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid Cheating Game

posted by NinjaSithLord (SHINER, TX) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

No computer AI setting. Computer somehow always rolls high numbers and somehow always bypasses your shops. Very annoying music as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

in the end its a good game

posted by grnlntrn17 (ELYRIA, OH) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2008

pros:
fun with friends
hostile takeovers
ability to play as mii's

cons:
games can take a long time
boring single player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

rigged dice?

posted by wingnut (NORCROSS, GA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

I wanted to rate this game higher and started out being a lot of fun for a board game style, but after about 30 minutes of playing my character would only roll a 1,2, or 3 on the dice which made it impossible to win. I started over four times and each time the same result. The fun quickly turned to frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It isn't Mario Party, but it's really good!

posted by opalpika13 (EVERGREEN PARK, IL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

People probably expected this to be another Mario Party, but it is nothing like it. Fortune Street is basically like Monopoly. Players play on a board based on either Dragon Quest or Mario and try to be the 1st to meet the maximum amount of money and to reach the bank once that happens. You can expand your shops and raise prices to make it hard for the other players to keep their money. Players can also go bankrupt and also be forced to sell one of their shops. Note that getting through a whole game will take longer than 10-30 mins, so be ready to sit for a while on this game. Saving progress with quick save definitely works if you are a bit tired and bored after a while, as well as using the Out to Lunch feature, where the computer takes over for you. As for mini games, the closest you'd get to them are the ones in the Arcade in Mario Stadium, not sure if any of the Dragon Quest boards have an equivalent to this, as I haven't played any of the Dragon Quest boards yet. All in all, this was pretty fun to me, for I chose to keep this rental for $20. If you aren't expecting anything like Mario Party and like board games like Monopoly, go ahead and try this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Highly Under rated!

posted by jralpaca (GREENSBORO, NC) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Better than Monopoly! Games may be long, but more exciting than Monopoly. Of all the games for Wii that I've rented so far... this is the best. Lego Batman 2 would now come in as my number 2 . Monopoly is mundane, you can't really get the game going until you collect a collection of 2 or 3 pieces of land. Monopoly also is very simple and basic. It doesn't take much strategy. This game, if played right, is like Risk meets Monopoly. understand how buying/selling stock works, and you have new strategic moves you can use to either boost yourself up or knock players down. Really play your stocks correctly, and you can trap a player from over taking you in a situation of "if they make money, you make even more money." So many strategies you can use, and that is what makes Fortune Street the best board game for the Nintendo Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Caught me off guard!

posted by zakluv_145 (LIBERTY, MO) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game caught me off guard when I first got it. I thought it was confusing and hard to figure out, but once I learned the rules, it became one of the top 5 Wii games on my favorites list! The strategy you have to use in buying out districts, investing stock, etc...is pure genius!! Though I don't understand why they used Mario and Dragon Quest Characters, I'm not complaining, because the experience is fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN GAME!

posted by thaiit (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

If you can dominate in Monopoly then you should have no problem understanding how to dominate this game. You buy property and invest stocks in districts. This game is way better than monopoly. This game is not for everyone and if you suck at Monopoly don't try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fun

posted by steven23 (RIDGEFIELD, NJ) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Not a fun game for being a Mario game. Plus its complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was ok

posted by sj1980 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game was ok. I was expecting more from it and was disappointed. It got monotonous after a while. I don't really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT GOOD

posted by PS3KIDD (HARTFORD, CT) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I DID NOT LIKE IT @ ALL IS BORING AND MY KIDS WANED TO STOP PLAYING AFTER 10 MIN IN NOT A FAMILY GAME NOT @ ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it

posted by Jorgeangle (LANSING, MI) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

I rented this game because I thought the concept sounded cool. But I was mistaken. The game play is confusing at best. The levels take forever to play through. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great Concept: Horrible Game

posted by CactusJohn5 (PLYMOUTH, NH) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I'll make it short and sweet, this game is horrible. The AI is WAY to intelligent, and the game is just not any fun. Average game takes 2-3 hours and you are going to lose! Not even worth it to rent in my opinion. I gave this game a good try; played 5 times, and it just left a horrible taste in my mouth!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by matt33 (DUBUQUE, IA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Its like Mario monopoly which is not my favorite

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fortune Street

posted by planetravler (NOTTINGHAM, PA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

We found the game to be very boring. All you did in the game was move in circles.

This is why we have game fly, We are glad that we did not spend the money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by BoiKing (PATERSON, NJ) Jun 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game really wasn't at all what i thought it was gonna be... it blew chunks...i wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as great as I thought

posted by my2hbos (KENNETT, MO) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

Not as great as I thought. You get bored before the game is over and it's instructions aren't as clear cut as they should be. Found it very repetitive and boring. Mario Party8 was way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse