Rent Formula 1: Championship Edition for PS3
view large frontback

Formula 1: Championship Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

1433 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Michael Schumacher would be proud!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Not since the day Formula One for the original playstation (produced by Psygnosis) was released have I played an F1 game that truly captures the essence and realism of the sport. Everything's here... The drivers, tracks, point system, and that awesome english announcer calling the action with real emotion. You begin with a trial run in a car to earn a spot on a team then work your way through a full schedule. Each race takes you through a real time format of tweaking your car and qualifying to try to gain the pole position. Online play is great with seamless speed and little or no slowdown. Graphically the cars and drivers are amazing but the backgrounds could have used more texture. All in all if your a fan or not this is the definitive F1 game for the next generation of gaming. Michael Schumacher would be proud!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST Playstation 3 Game Ever.

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

28 out of 36 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

WOW. Just purchased this game and I have got to say this has got to be the BEST racing game I've ever played. This is a MUST FOR ALL TECHNICAL RACING FANS.

Graphics: This field gets a 10/10. It's just superb how unpredictable the game gets. I'm serious, you can't tell when it's going to get cloudy, there are early indications that tell you this and this might happen but even that can be wrong at times. So depending on that you have to figure out the right strategy and solution to win the race. The Graphics section is amazing, everything looks so real, I've NEVER played anything this good in my life before.

Controls: This can be fun with the Six Axis. Since this is the first game that the Six Axis is used so much, you might feel a little too sensitive and might not get the right grip while playing. However, if you choose to use your standard controls, I would say it's fantastic again. Controls can be comfortable but again it depends on what type of car set up you have.

Gameplay: Ahhh my favorite part! 10/10/10/10!!!!
The game offers a variety to die hard formula 1 fans like myself and to new gamers who are new to the series. For die hard fans, it's recommended to choose the career mode because it acts all real time with you having an agent trying to get you into good teams and you performing and practicing the most out of your car. And for the new guys, Championship mode will let you get in an existing driver's car and play through a season.

Then there's online mode =) Online mode is GREAT. You basically have 11 human players and other players are formed up by the AI. The FPS is rock solid and the online is fantastic, just like Resistance, no glitches what so ever. It works fine.

In Conclusion, I can go on and on about how much this game rocks but you would have to rent (or BUY it) to really understand the true potential. Thank God I bought a PS3 because this is what I have anticipated for and that's what was delivered.

MUST RENT OR MUST BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Lap Parade

posted by Senninha (EL PASO, TX) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Formula One Championship Edition for the PS3 is virtually the same game that was released a couple of years back for the PS2 and Xbox. This game, however, does improve the career mode considerably and the overall experience of Formula One. This is an above average racer, but don't expect to be blown away by it if you're not a Formula One fan or if your definition of racing is about going 200 laps in an oval. This game requires plenty of patience, practice, and has a somewhat steep learning curve. The graphics are great, but far from what the PS3 is really capable of; although not bad for a launch title. (The game was finished by the time the PS3 was launched, but wasn't released until all translations were made from Japanese to English; it was a launch title for the Japanese PS3.) Formula One Championship Edition is catered to the Formula One aficionado as it's mostly up to date with the FIA rules, but based the 2006 championship; so don't expect to see the top drivers in the current top teams, like McLaren and Ferrari. Overall, this is very good game with lots of replay value for anyone who is interested in Formula One. That said, this is also a difficult game, but with plenty of options to make it accessible to new comes to the series. Score: 80.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game! Best F1 Sim Ever!

posted by Ashish (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The best awesome F1 sim I have ever played. If you like F1 racing, you will love this.

Graphics are really cool. Everything looks extremely real 10/10 for the graphics

Gameplay is absolutely awesome as well - 10/10 there. The uncertainties of weather that impact the real thing, come out so well in this game. Within the session, the weather can change - while you are on the track, it can suddenly start raining, and then stop on its own. Adds so much depth to the strategy. One other cool feature is that if you want to play a 6 lap race, you can make it simulate the real 60 lap degradation on your tires and fuel - so even if you want to play a quick 10 min race, you can have all the pit strategy come into play.

The only place where its lacking is in having a split screen option for multi-player play on same console. If this had been there, i would have given it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Far from great. Has potential. No wow

posted by jcca77 (GLEN ROCK, PA) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I like racing games as much as anybody. This has a lot to offer the guy that like simulation racers but I just couldn't keep going with it.

My kids did not want to go near it for whatever that tells you. We have motorstorm and I know it is a different game but it is hard to stay with this game after all the action of a game like motorstorm.

Using the controller instead of a wheel for this kind of game may have something to do with it. I played GTR 2 for months with the wheel on the computer and that held my attention a lot more.

Again if you LOVE simulators don't need a lot of action than this game has a lot of potential... you can tune car with the AI help... a lot of things you can do in GTR2 you can do here. Graphic are OK game is OK. While I am on the subject of racers DON'T get the game Ridge Racer for PS3 is was terrible out of the box and got worse by the minute.
Hope this helps someone.
Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glad I didnt Buy

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like racing games. Unfortunately, this reminded me of Cart Fury. Graphics are pretty good, still someways to go to make them look better. Just takes too long to get to the actual races.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average racer

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As far as racers go there are 3 things that are a go/no-go for me. Here is my opinion of F1

CARS/DRIVING
If you're a big customizing freak forget it, you get a cart and are told to go tune it and race it, whether its better or worse than your oponents cars (who knows), this game focuses more on driving and pit strategies than building a beast that will leave the closest openent a lap behind. Car graphics are average and rather cartoonish on 3rd person view. Looks like you're driving the old Pole Position game in the arcades as a kid, best view is the angle slightly above the drivers head. Anything else is cartoonish or you can barely see the road.

TRACKS
The track scenery is nice, not as boring as Forza 2, but not as distracting (nice looking that is) as PGR-2, they are pretty much alive with the crowd and 25 cars on the track at one time.

ACTUAL RACING (physics, damage. etc.)
As said before, this game focuses more on driving and pit strategies. Scewing this up will have go from 1st place through most of the race (20+ lapses) to barely finishing in the top 4. Did i meantion races are long? 20+ laps, plus qualifying races (3) gets pretty boring after a while driving in infinite circles. Unless you are skilled with cart games, expect to lose control of your car alot unless you have computer assistance which then makes the game pretty boring cause all you're doing steering and keeping your finger smashed on the accelerator. The A.I will make mistakes and opportunities exist to overtake them on turns or hear the funny commentary of one of them getting caught in an "incident" (i.e, their car is trashed), but if you are way behind in the closing lapses expect to lose the race.

OVERALL
If you are a die hard racer, have the patience for driving hours on one track alone, and know jack shhhht about tuning carts then go for it. If you are a casual racer who likes to paint, tune, and customize you may want to skip this and try the NFS series or Forza 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This was an impressive game

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has it all. Graphics, great game play, very realistic, plenty of ways to view ur car, and really cool pit-in scenarios. The only thing that the game needs is some kind of background music to keep u interested. The tracks are long so without the music u kind of lose yourself in the game.

The online portion i wasn't a fan of. It is cool to race other people but if u choose to do things on a realistic level you can hit the wall and then just respawn. If you are racing and you respawn, everyone just rams eachother. not cool.

All in all, a big fan of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hardcore Racer

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is for the hardcore racing fan. This game is unforgiving and evil when it comes down to realistic racing. It looks good and the feel is spot on. It doesn't surpass GTHD or Motorstorm in visuals, but it is still pretty enough for the PS3. If you are expecting Need for Speed when you pick this up, you are in for a rude awakening because this game is for pro racers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointed

posted by GazzaF1 (HELENA, MT) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a F1 fan for over 20 years and was hoping to find a great game but I just could not find it.

The graphics are typical with sounds that just did not snap. Controls were a bit off. As long as you keep to left/right you are OK but if you push a little up then the steering goes all wrong. It seems like on odd mistake that should not of been over looked.

The pit stops are to forced and for some reason the lines leading into the pits seemed to be missing. Also if you come in before scheduled stop you will just drive back out, what waste of time.

Hopefully the next F1 release is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Get to the ACTION

posted by StPredator (MCGREGOR, MN) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If what you are looking for is LOT's of pre race action and setup then this is the game for you. Awesome graphics and realistic driving action are this games ONLY plus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game For Sim Players

posted by FensterBos (WAYLAND, MA) May 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing and the driving experience is phenomenal. Thing is, I went from Need For Speed to this game, which was a HUGE change. If you like the NFS games, I do not recommend this as much; however, if you like ALL types of driving games, this is definitely worth a rent/buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by ERLynx (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed my time with this game. My only complaint would be the sharp change in difficulty between the settings. Easy and Normal are worlds apart, and Hard is impossible. But I guess that adds to the fun, if you are literally fighting to shave hundreths of a second off your lap time. But with Gamefly now, I don't really have that kind of patience, and after winning season championships on Easy, there was really no desire to subject myself to the torture of Normal. The replay value, after you dominate with team Ferarri, is basically nil. On the other hand, the graphics are sweet, the sound is great, and the game is loads of fun of you play with forgiving settings. Worth a rental and a week of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good middle of the road game

posted by billys202 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing really stands out about this game, then again nothing was really bad. The graphics were good but not what I expected for the PS3, seen better in Ridge Racer. Driving is tight and responsive like you would expect from an F1 car. There are many options of game play. Career mode is fun but tends to be a little long with the car tuning and the qualifying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow this is one of the best ps3 games yet its right up there with resistance ... Graphics are very crisp and smooth and the sixaxis controls make this 10x more exciting (its hard to play with the sixaxis controls at first but after a while it becomes easier then the analog) ... a must rent (ull prolly end up buying it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by dakevman (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best racing games I've put my hands on. The graphics are great! I'm a pretty big fan of F1 racing so now I've made a good choice in getting this game. Highly recommended for race fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PEEEEEEERFECT!!!

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

By far the BEST Playstation Game out there and it happens to be an international racing game. Great graphics, great presentation and great sound. Online is awesome with rankings and the ability to race with up to 11 people online. No offline multiplayer which stinks but online is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would get higher but

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Ok, this is supposed to be a racing sim right? Then how come there is no damage? If you are making any racing sims you better have damage or it falls short. Here is hoping that Sony wakes up on the damage department, but I doubt it, every racing game they make doesn't have it.

Other then that the game is pretty good, would have been a little better to have most of the help options turned off by default. The auto breaking is lame to turn on for real race fans who want a sim type game.

It does look pretty good, for a release title, but there are some old school problems with it. For one grass doesn't look right when drove on, etc. Seems like an upgraded graphics version of the older game with less new additions to show off what NEXT GEN IS SUPPOSED TO BE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best f1 racing game I have ever played

posted by ps3guy (KATY, TX) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is the best. I love the stunning graphics and the fun rces. This game is a must have for all you ps3 owners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by daguez (WESTON, FL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

exellent game for people who like f1 raicing...the only thing is that u need a lot of time to complete...very realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shumacer will be proud of this masterpiece

posted by jal117 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Amazing game Glad that michel shumacher was in it one thing every race even if u are not alonso and you come in first it will always say alonso did the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A really good game

posted by agamer23 (MANITO, IL) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game is awesome i didn't think this game would be as good as it is. The career mode is great. Even on easy the game is pretty challenging. I'm a nascar fan so i didn't really think it would be that great, but once i got it i was surprised. All the tracks have great graphics along with the cars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good, but lack of features hurts

posted by SumpPump (PALATINE, IL) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

As some has said this is a pure SIM. Even GT5 is more user accessible. Start driving with ALL the assists on. I know you will think it is lame, but the games physics are very sharp and take getting used to.

Now getting into the game. Once you get the turning, brake, acceleration feel the physics are spot on. When the car is in grip and you are driving the perfect line, the game really comes to life. Sure if you lose it, the skid is not terrific and the slide isn't too realistic, but it's the driving that matters. Realistic lap times and full race teams/ circuits are a plus.

Online was added later and is sub par at best. There is no voice chat, and it is very laggy with some timing and scoring issues. That being said I am in a league for this and there isn't anything else for a console better out there for live F1 racing. There are full pit stops and whatnot to get more into the realism.

If you are a big F1 fan this game is a must. Casual racers stay away, even GT5 fans if you don't like F1. In F1 driving there is very little coasting and quick accel/ decel changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Room for Improvement

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is a great way to show off your PS3. People keep complaining about the technical nature of this game, but, what did you think you were getting with F1? This ain't NASCAR people. You have to have ACTUAL racing skills to drive these cars. It amazes me how the gaming press reviewed this game. IGN basically reviewed the game as GREAT, but gave it a score in the seven's for it 'being F1 and boring'??? Say WHAT! The reviewer must have been a nascar fan.

Anyway, if you have REAL RACING TALENT, then pick this game up. My biggest gripe with this game is the announcer repeats too much, and most of the other gripes can be fixed by simply bringing out a more polished update. I am positive this game could be made ALOT better with some of the technical experience PS3 programmers have now with a few years under their belt. Audio is GREAT. The sounds of the cars are spot on. Could use custom soundtracks. The graphics are what you should expect of a game like this.

If a game can be this good with first generation programming knowledge and techniques, think of what a sequel would be like with the experience those programmers have now ;) Anyone at Sony listening? :)

And PLEASE do your homework, and know what you are talking about before you nascar fans start giving opinion's about stuff you know nothing about? This is a great game that racing fans with the right stuff should pick up. And if you nascar clowns would like something REALLY exciting to watch, go se a MotoGP or F1 event. Now THOSE are some really talented racers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

come on!!!

posted by srtdude (PEARL, MS) Aug 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

Someone dropped the ball letting this be a PS3 game its PS1 maybe PS2 quality..... Very Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse