Rent Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked for Wii
view large frontback

Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

634 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Seriously? That's it?

posted by Ravenna (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I like cooking games. I was looking forward to this one, especially as I can't cook in real life, and it was supposed to teach a few things. Where to start? The gameplay is just ok. Mainly, it's just way too easy and way too SHORT. The controls are unpredictable, especially when pouring liquids, but in many of the tasks you can just shake the wiimote and nunchuk as fast as possible at the same time and get a perfect score, no matter if you should be chopping, slicing, peeling, scrubbing, grating, turning, etc. Glad I didn't buy this one. There are only 12 meals total you can make. I kept thinking more would be unlocked, but no, just 12. I went ahead and got a gold medal on every single meal to see if that would do anything. Besides getting a short congratulatory message, that was it. Didn't feel like I learned much, which was supposedly one of the selling points of this game. There is some good information, but not presented in a way that will make you remember any of it. The recipes don't have the measurements (i.e. 1 tsp, etc), so you can't accurately recreate them in real life. Very one dimensional, beat it in a few hours. I suggest the game Order Up! if you want a fun, multitasking, more controller creative cooking game. It's short as well, but you don't end up with that empty "are you serious? That's it?" feeling that you do with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FoodNetwork Cook or be cooked

posted by dgunter07 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Its a great game, once you get use to the tools and know how, its fun, me and the family enjoy it, you challange your self in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cook or be cooked

posted by popgirl (BATESVILLE, MS) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

ok for 8-12 year olds but boring for those wo want to really want to learn to cook through a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gameQ management.

posted by wwefan12345 (WICHITA, KS) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

i did not want this game i thought that wwe 12 was me next video game and in my gameQ it said that cook or be cooked was 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but hard

posted by sj1980 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I enjoyed playing this game. The controls could be funky at times though which drove me crazy. Overall though a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but Lacking

posted by lrcssmith (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I generally enjoy cooking games, but there were just some aspects of this game that I couldn't get over.

I have to say that out of all of the cooking games I have played, these have to be the most annoying hosts. After working up a sweat trying to chop an onion and hear her say "Well.....Almost" is very frustrating. And then after completing the complicated recipe they say "Well, it's alright." I did earn a gold medal on all of the recipes and I believe the difficulty and game mechanics were alright (not the best, but definitely not the worst), but their comments were aggravating.

The other complaint I had about this game is that there just aren't many recipes. And if you are playing it to learn how to cook, instead of for fun, just forget it. This would not be a good learning utensil. As far as game to real life cooking, it just wasn't realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cook or be Cooked

posted by kimber31 (OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I enjoyed this game. I thought the graphics were good and this game isn't as hard to figure out as some cooking games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cook or be cooked game

posted by melissab817 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

the game was great an it was a learning experience, how to cook certain foods an got a hold of great reciepes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So Fun!

posted by disneydogs (MOUNT PLEASANT, TX) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I love this game SOOOOOOO much! it is so fun and i know how to make a quesadilla and the recipe was on the game and on the game it said to put butter on it so i tried that and it tasted even better. this is So fun! you should try it too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Cooking Game!

posted by pinkwerewolf (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This has to be one of the best cooking games for wii next to "order up!" and the cooking mama series. The controls are pretty spot on, and the gameplay is actually really fun! The game it'self is short and makes you want more, however the game is REALLY fun when playing against a friend in a competitive mode! I never thought I would see all of my friends being so hardcore intense crazy over a cooking game! O_O I think we spent days playing against each other and I never would have figured.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Food Network Cook or be Cooked

posted by wildfirelady (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Very good game concept but the actions are repetitive. So not worht what it would cost to buy this very low replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as fun as it looks

posted by naomi704 (charlotte, nc) May 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i finished this game in one day...i was not as fun as it looks tust me....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but not long lasting.

posted by LaTete (IRMO, SC) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

It's an overall fun game, but there's very few levels and meals to cook. It's fun for about a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but too short

posted by dshedd (BOAZ, AL) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

My wife loves this game,but it was waaaaaay too short!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by HDForLife (KATY, TX) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

The interaction between you and the game is just amazing. I love this because it also helps you to learn how to cook those meals and its way more realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's ok but...

posted by FaithAnn29 (STATESVILLE, NC) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game itself is ok if you like cooking but it's a VERY short game. You can move through the game in less than an hour. Yes you can go back through the game and try to beat your score, but you play the same game over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the best cooking games!

posted by kristy8403 (HAZLETON, PA) May 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I loved the graphics on the game! Easy to use but also easy to mess up. Game took me about 2 days to complete - I thought there were more than just 12 challenges! I only had to go back and re-do 3 that I didn't get gold metals on 1st time through. All in all it was fun but glad I didn't buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

short and fun

posted by linkisking (Saint Petersburg, FL) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I gave this a 10 out of 10 because it is short fun and to the point of these 12 recipies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Worth It

posted by sarahstar (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is way too short - only 12 food items to cook. I seriously beat it in about two hours. It is pretty realistic and detailed, but it just needed more recipies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked

posted by Grim29 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is ok. It is a pain in the butt at times but all in all it is an all out good game. As you play it also teaches you how to cook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was ok

posted by bbutler (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It was fun in the beginning but it got boring after a while...You wait a long time to make dishes....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cook or be Cooked?

posted by Jerreck (PRESCOTT, AZ) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is a two part review as I got this game for my wife.

She said she really liked it, a great game. Just too short- needs more challenges

I played it, and I do have a handicap- i really cant control my right hand. So on all WII games I have to play like i'm left handed though on most games you can not switcvh the hands. That being said, this game was relatively easy to learn how to play, excxiting top do and quite fun to watch.

So I agree with my wife, this game is just too short. Only 20 recipes? any cookbook would have 10 times that amount.

But tthis game is really fun, and the difficulty is progressive- it gets harder the further you go.

~Jerreck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great game but not long enough

posted by fioapf (GARYSBURG, NC) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Overall great game but very short. finshed the game in one day. Not much of a challenge but it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game....but needs more

posted by smyers10 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is a very entertaining and well-made game. I enjoyed it very much. However, it is far too short of a game. There are only 12 recipes to do and I beat the whole game within a few hours of playing. I'm glad I rent the games from Gamefly because it would have been a waste of $40 to buy a new one just to beat it the same night. I would have also liked for them to put the amounts of the ingredients (tsp, cup, etc) so we can make the recipes in our real kitchen. So, overall, fun game...just be prepared to be done with it very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cook or be Cooked HOAX

posted by zik4321 (WINTER PARK, FL) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This was not a memorble time for me playing this game. i played with my family and...... well it was not a good game. Please take my review into consideration that it is not a family game. There is alchohal reference in this game also! ( i know this because i beat the game myself)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »