Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

4209 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it really

posted by Katora (TULSA, OK) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A summary of this game:
Walk with bad camera angles
Have a boring conversation
Walk some more
Read a cutscene
Kill a few things while dealing with bad camera angles
Walk more
Boring conversation
Read a cutscene
Walk
Etc.

It's just boring. Visually, it's very pretty and whimsical, and it seems like maybe there is a good story there, but the gameplay itself is just too boring for me to even care to find out. Just 'meh'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A decently enjoyable game

posted by Average_Joe (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I won't go real deep with my review as others have. It's not bad for an early PS3 game. There was effort put into it, as the art design is one of the best features of the game. The use of the six-axis controller is nice, but it does start to get tedious sometimes when you just want to capture the folk (monster) fast.

The story does hold your interest, but it's pretty standard murder/mystery fare. The two-sided viewpoint I think is both the strongest and weakest part of the game. You play as two different characters to get two different viewpoints on the events of the game. It's an interesting idea, but what really hurts it is the fact that to get to the cutscenes and see the alternate viewpoints you have to play as both characters. You have to fight your way through the same areas, fight the same bad guys, get the same powers (with minor deviations) and use the same power combinations to defeat the same bosses. It gets very tedious after a few hours of game play. You must play as both characters just to finish the game.

I'd say it's worth looking out and playing for a few hours. I wouldn't advise buying it though. I just don't think it's worth even the twenty bucks it goes for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Esperwolf (NEWARK, OH) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Folklore is an imaginative and amazing. It keeps you guessing who the killer is making you want to know more and more. The Faery's are unique and each have a role to play. The cut-screens are also unusual in the fact they read like a comic. The only bad thing is the fact that when switching between characters the layout of the land does not change. Also when you react the end and the killer is right there but you have to play the other character up to that point as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad game mechanics ruins beautiful scenery.

posted by dragynfox (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game itself looks very nice, though a bit outdated, understandable for a older game. The ability to switch back and forth between characters is interesting.

But the game mechanics are awful no matter what way you slice it. The cut scenes, of which there are many, are presented in a format that is jarring and disturbs the flow of the game. There is almost no voice acting, which really takes away from what should be a very atmospheric game. The controls are awkward in many places, or not well-thought out, and the special move that is required to gain experience is especially bothersome. Also the environments, while beautiful to look at, aren't very interesting to play in because there is no interaction. You can't talk to NPCs, read books, anything.

The plot is sort of interesting, but seems lacking in explanation, and if you play the male character, motivation to continue. All in all, I was pretty disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Great Play!

posted by Solbady (FOREST HILLS, NY) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Folklore is a game where you play as two characters named Ellen and Keats. They are located in the area of Dollen in Ireland there they enter the Netherworld where they find mysterious creatures! The game is by far really, really well made. The story is very clear and to the point and the characters are very well designed for a game created five years ago, the only minor con is the fact that when you are in a very crowded area be aware of sharp FPS (Frames Per Second) Spikes, which won't make the game unplayable but will create quite some lag. All in all, this game is great for anybody that likes games that are very long, seeing as this game can go for 40+ hours. The combat is really well displayed from the variety of attacks, the environmental atmosphere is very well displayed, and the voice acting is superb! This game is great for people that enjoy the JRPG, or RPG franchise, and adventure games alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wast of time

posted by reap999 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this has to be one of the worst games ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK but with many flaws

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game has a cool environment and cool abilities but once you have played about an hour it gets very repetitive and the battle system has some flaws but different enough for a quick rental but could have been better if given some more treatment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for gamers who care for the Story

posted by Ngo (DALLAS, TX) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I'm not gonna lie, you HAVE to like books to like the game
because your going to be doing A LOT of reading, Folklore has a good story full of twists and surprises but most people won't play this for the story (which is lovely)
but rather play just for the art direction which is worth it alone
The art direction is one of the best I've ever seen. each folk is treated beautifully and uniquely and each folk looks like they belong in the realms they inhabit
The Netherealms are in one word Flawless
once you enter you just want the world to go on and on and never end

the only problem is the side quest, they feel EXTREMELY repetitive and useless (unless you want the rare folks) but other then that the game is beautiful and that alone is worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

controls

posted by aceofemo (BEAUFORT, SC) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

hey i like the way it looked very nice but i quite play for like a week and forgot the controls and now have no idea how to kill or suck the soul out of anyone. its like wow i looked for the controls in the menu but nothing. if you start playing this i would right the controls down lol . and dont stop for the chances of forgeting is high. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh not the best

posted by blackgata (SWAMPSCOTT, MA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I sent the game back after two days of having it, kind of a kiddish game and i didn't like the movie type scenes...
not worth the rent, but then again that's just my opinon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool concept....gets very boring

posted by RomanK (NORWALK, CT) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Great visuals, excellent idea. It was fun the first 2 chapters, and than it just became rather boring and frustrating because action was so...well...dull. Boss fights revolved around swapping folks until you found the right one, so you died and came back, died and came back...very linear as well...good potential and I lasted until 3rd chapter simply because of music, concept and visuals....but would not recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What was up with the comic book thing

posted by Dale8888 (SAINT PARIS, OH) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i don't knnow if they didn't have the funds for voices but it would have been better if they had pulled random people off the street and had them read the lines. this game would be slightly cool if i was 12 but hay if you like comic books go for it. The rest of the game was ok but a little to easy for me and not that many choices you could make for yourself it was pretty laid out the way they wanted you to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let Down

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

Pros
-unique combat system
-interesting world and foes

Cons
-bad story
-no difficulty option
-redundant linear levels
-save points are too far apart
-boring investigating into a bland story just to get back to the action
-i died a lot

Bottom Line
I just can't help the feeling that this game could have been so much better and I want to like it more, but its faults kept rearing there ugly heads. I would recommend to just go ahead and PASS on this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underated!!

posted by KittyBangOuch (CORALVILLE, IA) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is a gem that is often overlooked. It is a third person rpg. In the beginning you are a young woman in your mother's hometown, who is now deceased. You are trying to find out about her life and why she moved the two of you away when you were a young child. In the midst of your investigation you discover that at night the local tavern is filled with supernatural beings that few people can see. They offer to help you find your mother and the battle in the other world begins.
It doesn't have a card system or anything, but you collect the monsters that you defeat and use them as weapons. It takes a bit of wit for this game because it also has a mystery and puzzle angle to it and you have to solve riddles to figure out what monsters to use against other ones.
Compelling story line, has two characters you must play through to complete the game and each one has a different story. Also has many other interesting side characters to meet.
Upping the replay value is the fact that new dlc and missions are released for free on Playstation Network. Definitely a game you must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why?????

posted by slimer120 (GRANBY, CT) Jul 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

i wanted this cause its an rpg and i cant get eough of them. i gave it a chance because of all the great reviews..... but i just wanna ask if they played to same game as me because this one was absolutely horrible. running around the same world over and over with different characters lame. half the cut scenes are coold the graphics top notch. the other half way to unbearable to keep reading the comic book style. dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fokelore is a joke!

posted by Juno722 (CORONA, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I rented this game because I enjoy adventure and puzzle games, but this was ridiculous! You walk then see a cartoon cut scene, then walk again and same thing over and over. Then you start to fight lame littl creatures and then back to the cut scene! Do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not what I expected

posted by Zeldafan7 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

Well this game was pretty good. It definitely doesnt have much replay value but the storyline and the way it flows is unique.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could not get into it.

posted by BAH315 (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

99% of the time I will stick with a game until the end. This time I just couldn't get into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strange...

posted by Lyric23 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

This game has awesome graphics. The story is a little bizarre but, tends to get good after awhile. The only thing that made me not want to complete this game is the fact of how it doesn't change in fighting and the story does seem to progress in the same way. It's like it was made for kids which would make sense in a way. So if I were to rate this out of 10, I would give it a 5 cause they do have something good going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastical Story & Unique Game Itself!

posted by adamsfam10 (LEICESTER, NC) Dec 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

It's come to my attention to write this review of Folklore. I've played it before. No punt intended to rhyme :). The minds behind SCE have head-first sucked me into this particular game title. For instance, the storyline. A young woman, named Ellen, !!SPOILER!! finds herself at the Cliffs of Doolin Village, where she beleives she's met her long-lost mother. The woman is staring out over the cliff and then jumps. Ellen is a wreck and in a state of shock and aw! She runs down to the beach to find the woman, was NOT her mother. Yet, another womans' mother. The scene then cuts off there. The story reminds me of straight-storyboard art creation, as it was made straight from the drawing board and then casted a comic-feel. The storyline & plot are solid. However, if your going to play it, your going to need patience. The story doesn't unfold piece by piece, like I thought it would. There's also a sense of You determining what could happen. Giving the sense and element of mystery and surprise. The story is in my opinion, it's best attribute!

Now, onto the gameplay. At first I wasn't sure what the "Cloak" would represent, which gives you, Ellen, your power to fight Folklore. With your magicial attacks, absorbed by collecting Folklore ID's. You become stronger and more effective with every Folklore you absolve. There's a level of mature thematic elements and isn't for kids of all ages. There's wizardry, crime-drama elements, death, and it is an emotional gameplay throughout. However, for mature adults, it's a great experience! The brilliance here, I beleive, is how you go about obtaining the Folklore ID's. You'll absolve them, yes. BUT! You'll have to shake your controller and become part of the game in order to make it successful EVERY time! It puts YOU at the heart of the action!

The sound effects, music are all top notch! I have nothing negative to say.

The length of the game is quite long! For a 1 disc game, I'd give it over 40+ hours easily.

10 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting but difficult

posted by aznmike123 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I played the demo for this game when it was released and I was immediately interested in the game. The whole art direction and theme for the game was really cool. It is still that way for me now. Games just aren't like this still.

The main idea for the battle system is interesting. Summoning monsters to attack is really cool. They are varied enough to justify having so many and it inspires a bit of pokemania. This is also an issue because bosses are only weak against a specific attack. So, they end up being super trial and error puzzles. If you can stomach that, the game could be really interesting to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Try it.

posted by WoshJills (WICHITA, KS) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Folklore is a game with original artistic direction, sound design, gameplay, and an interesting story with a long beginning.

Unfortunately, original gameplay does not guarantee quality gameplay for everyone.
Try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I enjoyed it

posted by Burnit (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I actually enjoyed this game and the combat system. The comicbook story was entertaining and the fantasy worlds were wonderfully detailed. The story can take a while to get into though, but that is not always a bad thing. Unfortunately, this is a more casual game for me, I just can't bring myself to play for more than a few hours a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantasy

posted by MichaelMMX (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i own this game and i love it! the way you have to use the motion sensor on the controller is way awesome and the costumes rock! and well i cant think of anything more at say about this game...no negitves just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

unexpected

posted by nswisher (CLARKSBURG, WV) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

After playing the game for about 30 mins, it seemed like it could be a fun game and had an original quality to it. But it's just not what I was expecting. It seemed to take a lot for me to get into the game, the story line, although interesting, was still rather dull. The game play was okay, but made it difficult, when you didn't know what you needed to kill what. I'm not big on strategy guides, and it says it gives you hints, but all you get is a book with writing that you can't understand cause its not in english and a few pictures. The main characters make comments as to what to do or how to do things, but only after to stumble around for a bit. I also personally didn't like that you have to do the exact same story twice! Once for her and once for him, although I'm sure many people enjoy that, I didn't. I want to make my way through a story, not feel like I'm working backwards to get somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse