Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

4212 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Folklore is storytelling with a refreshing twist

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

Folklore is an interesting mix of games. It has a great storyline which you have the option of playing 2 character's separate storyline that intertwine this is an inventive game that has it all, puzzles, rpt elements, new weapons (fairy attacks) which you use trapped souls and their powers, its also action and adventure. the game is a top down view and open world so you can adventure all around as well as point and click interactions. The game starts out with a paranormal news writer and he relieves a call for help to a reportedly haunted village, which he ventures out to help. Also they show a female story of a girl who get a letter that from her mother asking to come to the same island. Apon arrival you can choose which character to play and the whole game you can play one or the other and see the story unfold from both ends. It makes the replay value high, and alot more fun. The graphics are colorful and fluid the character storyline is well done with cgi, real time cut scene and comic book style storyboards. You will meet the undead and dead alike, you can interact with almost everything and everyone and you will travel the world hunting faeries which all have different powers you can choose and use yourself after they are caught... its a great game and has something for everyone. i give it a 7/10 its a definite game to check out.. if you want the PSN has story add on's and make this game last along time... its worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by goethia (GROVERTOWN, IN) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

The story line for this game is amazing. I really like the way they twisted both characters into the semi-reality of the netherworld. The game play is a little repetitive, but overall fun to play. This is NOT a traditional role-playing game, in fact it's a bit of a stretch to even call it that, but definitely worth the time to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Potential but annoying in the details...

posted by Thrantor (HENRIETTA, NY) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I was hoping that this would be a good game to tide me over until another Square JRPG. But sadly, good isn't how I would describe Folklore.

It's two character system is a nice idea but part of the problem is that if you play one side further than the other you get spoilers for what will happen when you go through the game with the other character.

Not to mention, while the female protagonist is cute... She's annoying as all hades. I just had no interest to play her search for her mother.

Keats' plot was at least more interesting.

I'll probably rent it again later when I have more free time and don't have a fiance looking to try other games.

Worth a rent... just to see if you might like it. But not a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Concept but could use a little tweaking

posted by DsrtWillow (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

First off the game is beautiful. Some of the scenery is just gorgeous. I enjoyed the battle system a great deal, and honestly it doesn't matter how great a game's plot is, if the battle system is broken or boring then you will find little enjoyment of the game. I also enjoyed the plot and the small references to Ireland (being of Irish heritage myself) and the voice acting of both the main characters is great and pretty with their soft Irish accents.

The comic book style is different and I think I would have liked it more if it didn't seem to take the place of what could have been many cut scenes. Richard Coyle (of Coupling fame) I would have liked to have heard more from and just staring at the characters faces in fixed positions of shock gets a bit old after a bit. I think the comic book style could have been saved for just the normal dialog and had more cut scenes. This is a PS3 and they could have done more with the technology that was at their disposal.

While I like the pseudo Irish mythology, I swear to god I wanted to scream every time I walked into the pub and had to hear "Danny Boy" or "An Irish Lullaby." There is a lot of great Irish music out there that sounds Irish but are not clichéd and they could have used some simple traditional tunes but they go instead with American songs about Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Decent Game with flaws

posted by Cyntric (MARKED TREE, AR) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I don't know how else to start this review, except to say it could have been a good game, minus a few errors. I say errors but it boils down to personal preference. Myself being a huge final fantasy fan expected this game to be along those lines. But the story didn't' grip me from the very beginning and I found myself just trying to get to the game play. It has a decent story, but something about the game play didn't agree with my play style. This is a SLOW game, so don't expect to be thrown into action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1 of the Most Beautiful Games,tho Repetitive

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I first played this game, picked it up from my job. At first, I wasn't sure to make of it, soon enough the game grew on me after about an hour into the game. The cinematic audio, is one of my favorite features. I'm actually trying to see if there's a soundtrack to the game, it's haunting, soothing & comforting in that respect; even while playing a foe or boss in the game. The story is on a deeper scale, simple, tho very mysterious of who Keats truly is in the beginning of the game. Many puzzles to solve, plenty of foes to attack & earn their skills, by absorbing their IDS, on the plus side, the ones' you absorb, you learn their ability. It's a unique concept & the story is great once again. The only complaint I have is from time to time, the story tends to lag in between loads, could be due to length of the game, compressed too quickly, etc. Other than that, I can't complain. One of my favorite games on PS3. If you've never played it before, I recommend giving it a try! Happy reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wow

posted by DeathBNimb (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

What a story line. Maybe too much of one. Very interesting game play. It always kept you interested in going to the next world. Feels like your playing in a comicbook at times. The story is very involved and be prepared to read a novel. But dont fear, you dont have to read it to play the game so much...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Idea

posted by Dino46 (REVERE, MA) May 30, 2008

Member since May 2007

The game graphics and game play were actually good. Where it really lacked was a storyline. It was very slow moving. I got to the point to just skip over it all to just beat the game. The game can get long if you want to collect all the folklore's and max them out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better

posted by fenrael230 (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The gameplay is fine and the game makes good use of the SIXAXIS controller. However, the game plays out more like a storybook than it does a movie. This means you will be reading. ALOT. I recall one cutscene at the beginning that actually had voice acting. The rest is reading subtitles to really bad music. That has to be my biggest complaint.

The game otherwise is kinda neat. I do have to say that the boss fights are really fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Folklore

posted by dearthwing (VISTA, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

What can I say about this game? Boring! The music is put you to sleep. Which I did several times during the game. The storyline is boring! It's about how 2 unrelated characters get manipulated into entering the Netherworld. The video was good, when there was video, otherwise it was like reading a cartoon in the Sunday paper. If I wanted that, I would read the Sunday comics. The characters lacked dimension other than the main characters, and that was limited also. The battle system was very simple and it was the only time you had camera control of your character. The challenging things about the game, are the puzzles and deciding which 4 attacks will help you proceed through certain sections. I would not recommend this game, unless you are into elevator music and Sunday morning paper comics. This game was built up when it was first introduced, and is nothing compared to it's advertisements. I recommend "Don't Bother!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Folklore

posted by Wildwheels (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This is my first time to write a review so please stay with me. When I played Folklore there were a few things that stood out. One was really good graphics. You actually thought you were in a ghost town. The storyline for the game was very bizzare. You begin the game as a news reporter down on his luck named Keats. You get a phone call from someone who should be dead. This is when the game get's bizzare. You wind up having to travel between two worlds. The living and the netherworld. Finding clues to rhe mysterious phone call. Play control is fairly simple. You walk from point to point investigating everything. Certain items you find take you to the netherworld where you fight creatures, and obsorb there energy. I felt the combat system is where the game falls short. The battles are too short. The point that makes my review so low is the map. Thing's are very limited. I think the
game would have been better if it was a open world type game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but could have been better

posted by Artanas (PORT JERVIS, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2002

Folklore is the kind of game that you'll like, but technical issues will stop you from loving the game.

While I like the colorful graphics and interesting creatures that you meet up with, the story of the main characters themselves are not that interesting. The combat system is fun, but get repetitive quickly. The cut scenes are pretty good, but when they are replaced at times by that "storybook" scenario, it leaves me cold.

Now, for my main gripe, the backtracking. Having to go over the same missions with another character is annoying and a bad game play decision. You can remedy this by using more than one save. All in all, a good game, but not a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty graphics, bad everything else.

posted by kchan1321 (DALLAS, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game seemed so promising with it's story line and great graphics. Once I started playing it, it seemed like it would deliver. But the battle system was the worst I had ever seen. I couldn't even get past the first level because I hated the battle system. Needless to say, I would not play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

if iwanted to read a book i would buy one, poor.

posted by madeline (SUTTON, WV) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

no gameing in site and i have been playing for two days.if you like wasting 12 hours reading through comic books you'll like it. very slow. we need adrenaline rushes from our games. if ps3 keeps up the trend i have been seeing then the gamers will suffer, while sony gets rich.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interestingly styled RPG for the PS3

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

The style of Folklore is what makes it either charming or ugly. I personally was not fond of it, but others may be.

The story is typically told through cutscenes that are quite stationary. Their style reminds me of a series of comic book pages, really. It can be cool to be quirky like this but I wasn't personally a fan.

The combat is more or less an action-RPG style, in which you press a button to attack. However, you use attacks based upon creatures in the world that you capture by shaking the PS3 controller appropriately. I enjoy the inclusion of the motion control in this limited capacity, as it is neither overused or left out altogether. It does become repetitive but since it is only done after weakening enemies, it isn't as bad. Each creature has unique abilities which you can use by "equipping" them for attacks.

The style is nice, but overall it's not my favorite game in the world. It's a little too slow-paced for me, and the story didn't draw me in fully. There are two different characters to play as, which theoretically would increase the replay value, but I would not take advantage of it.

I would say that if you are a fan of a good action-RPG, and you don't mind the slow pacing, it's worth at least trying. You could have a much better experience than I did. But if you are like me and prefer a slightly faster storyline (I've played through Final Fantasy games and have no problem with those, for a frame of reference) then you might not be striking gold with this pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not my thing

posted by cheeky (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

The makers of this game seem overly obsessed with their graphics which I didn't think were all that great. Their time would have been better spent on the actual game play. The comic-like dialogue boxes are difficult and tedious to read and the actual game play is beyond childish. It felt sort of like I was watching Pokemon....NOT playing WATCHING! I wanted to like this game but it seemed just a sadly sophmoric attempt at a classic RPG game. It is slow to play and the so called action is boring. I suppose this game could be good for younger players that have a parent monitoring what they watch and play but I want ACTION. Playing this game was like playing on-line puzzle games...fine if you've nothing better to do but otherwise HIGHLY forgettable. I LOVE a good RPG but this just isn’t one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yawnable...

posted by Ferryloper (NORTH BABYLON, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I have a strong affinity for folk-tales and fables, so naturally I thought this would be a solid title. Of course I was 'dead' wrong (pardon the pun). The story moves along at the pace of an injured slug. By the time you've figured out what's going on you're already too bored too care. Game-play is sort of okay. The concept of killing foes and stealing their "ids" (aka souls) by yanking the 6-axis like you're reeling in a fish is pretty cool. Combat is tiresome and gets nauseating after only a few battles. What's more the background carnival-like music that plays over and over again like a bad horror flick, gets so irritating, that it makes you want to eject the title and send it back to GF -- wait -- that's exactly what I did. Wrap-up:

Graphics: B-
Gameplay: B
Story: D-
Concept: C+
Replay Value: D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty, enjoyable, addicting

posted by itaru4 (OMAHA, NE) Mar 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

Basically this game is about unfolding a mythology based story from the aspect of different playable characters. You collect different creatures (folks) to help you.

I've played this about a week now and plan to buy it. It has elements that remind me of Myst, RPGs, and Pokemon. The action isn't so fast paced, but it isn't dull. There is a lot to do; also, the downloadable quests and content make for a lot of addicting potential. Basically it is easygoing entertainment with cartoony action that makes it a nice alternative to a lot of the violent ps3 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alice in wonderland meets RPG

posted by Strieby (BILOXI, MS) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game was great. From the graphics to the voice work. The button scheme ran smoothly. Even thought of a way to throw the six-axis in there. i strongly suggest to give it a try. the way the story is told is brilliant. Something different for a change.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING!

posted by austin71 (SEAFORD, NY) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

The game has some great visuals -- especially in the opening cut scene. Just look at the detail of the main guy's hair. (I forgot his name) But, good graphics don't make up for a boring storyline and so-so repetitive combat. And for a next-gen title, shouldn't there be actual voice acting in the dialog rather than having to read comic book panels?
This may have been an OK game for the PS2, but I think PS3 owners deserve a little bit more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing story / Average Play

posted by SirHeedIII (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

9 - The storyline for this game is incredible. It keeps you guessing the entire time you play the game. It also was very unique to be able to play through the game seeing two completely different sides of the story.

7 - The game play on the other hand was ok, but nothing ground breaking. I am an OCD gamer (have to unlock and find everything), that being said it gets very tedious getting leveling up and acquiring everything. The fighting system fun, but lacked alot (ex. takes too long to cycle through your attacks, lots of guessing on what attack to use, ...) Lastly, the story was wonderful seeing it from 2 points of view, BUT playing through the same levels with close to the exact same attacks and enemies was very far from wonderful.

Overall if you are looking for a game with a wonderful story line that will keep your interest the entire time this is a good pick. If you are looking for a game that is really fun to play and don't care much about the storyline then i would look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great idea, great design, bad execution

posted by ogdred (JAMAICA, NY) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

It seems to me that the game had an exceptionally talented design and story staff, and didn't have enough programming support to execute the ideas well. Half the game has voice acting, the other half has speech balloons and barely animated still frames as if you were reading a comic book, and its constantly intercutting between the two, which is very jarring, especially since it always involves a character who was just talking, but now you have to read speech balloons and watch still frames instead.

On top of that, the camera during combat situations is horribly inconsistent and it's very easy to go off screen or for your target to go off screen. You can re-center the camera with a button push, but having to constantly recenter the camera every time you turn around slows down the gameplay considerably. The actual combat and the folk characters are amazingly cool though, and the design concepts are really top notch, with some visual moments being truly breathtaking. It's too bad they put aesthetics over accessible gameplay and story flow, as this could have been an amazing game had they spent more time perfecting the gameplay and continuity of how the story is told.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Neat!

posted by Buttons (SAN PEDRO, CA) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Folklore was an amazingly beautiful game. The sceneries, and monsters were so unique. I loved the art and visuals of it. The battle engine wasn't too bad either. Everything was awesome except for the storyline. A lot of it isn't really clear. Most of the time I was left confused...I was really hoping for everything to be cleared up. But even after beating the game....things still feel unclear. But that might just be me. Overall it was still a pretty good game. I'd recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by 12gauge (LA PORTE, IN) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I was a little skeptical when I played the demo of this game, I couldn't even play the demo all the way through, but I went ahead and rented it anyway. Then when I got it and started playing it I couldn't stop. Everything from the gameplay to the storyline is very original. With such a variety of enemies, you also get a large selection of attacks. Leveling up these attacks is fun as well. You also can play as 2 different characters. Which is a must if you want to get the most out of the storyline. Which is also very interesting and keeps you wanting more. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes RPG style games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, But...

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

This game is good, not great. The way the story was told and the cut scenes were amazing and groundbreaking. The way you absorb creatures to create weapons was also cool, and not done before. The action was a little tedious and at times you had absolutely no clue where you were going or which "weapon" to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse