Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

4217 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best graphics, hard maps

posted by Hishiyama (BOSTON, MA) May 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

the best graphics that ps3 has to offer up to date besides MGS4, but the game is very confusing and hard .... gives u a headache after 2 hours of playing. but the graphics the bestttttttttttt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

slow but beautiful, combat is hack & slash

posted by tchalvak (CANANDAIGUA, NY) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The "story", while interesting, is hard to get through 'cause it's presented in panels that you have to click through every 5 words.

that'd be ok, but the other side of the coin, the combat, is visually flashy and mechanically just like you're hitting enemies with sticks, again and again.

Plus apparently to get to the end of the game you have to play through each chapter twice, once for each of the two characters, but the variations are just not interesting enough to make that fun.

Visually beautiful.
Mechanically button-mashy.
Slow but detailed story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by shi8778 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If you want a quick play, this game is good for that - good story line, although sometimes it drags on a bit, easy controls, lots of action. However, if you want a game that takes awhile, this is a good game also because it takes time to really build up the characters. It doesn't get old though, even though anyone watching would be bored after 5 minutes. It's challenging enough to keep you entertained, but not so hard that you get so frustrated you don't want to play for awhile. My fiance and I have really enjoyed playing this game, and trying out the two different main characters who follow the same story line, but run into different creatures. Our only complaint is that the game could use more side-quests for building up the creatures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better

posted by evev187 (LAREDO, TX) Mar 20, 2009

Member since May 2006

This game could have been a lot better the story is ok. After a few hrs. I just could not keep playing no matter how hard I tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its okay, nothing special though.

posted by whygrill (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

nothing special, but its okay. worth renting, not so much worth buying. origional story, characters, and pretty good graphics. but it never really pulled me into the experience. gameplay was fun and challenging in combat but outside of cambat the long comic book style dialog sequences drag out too much and might make you bored. the music is a great point of the game however, although often just ambient, the music really adds to the atmosphere. at times i foudn myself just closing my eyes and listening to the beautiful melodys.
your able to replay from a second perspective as there are 2 selectable characters who both experience the game differently, however you may not even want to by the time you finish the game once, for a different perspective is interesting but ultimately its still the same game, so only those who deeply enjoyed playing the game the first time will really care to play it again as the other character. overall ill give this game a 7. its good, but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated Mystery, RPG, action/adventure game.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

When I checked my game queue and saw that they shipped Folklore and not Mirrors Edge or something, I wasn't super excited. Man was I wrong! As soon as I started a game, I was awestruck by the characters and incredible story!! The graphics are superb, voice acting really struck me as amazing. The story caught me by surprise though, I was expecting a cool hardcore action RPG but got an extremely deep mystery instead. That's a good thing if you were wondering. Although, some people will find it boring, the Prologue is really fun, and then you might want to send it back after you start level 1, but give it another try, even though it's confusing finding out where to go because of a useless map, if you take a few takes at it, you'll get it and find yourself having fun again.

Pros: Incredibly deep story, deep intriguing characters, awesome voice acting, truly imaginative creatures, really nice graphics, game play is good, level design is okay.

Cons: Annoying music, completely useless map, checkpoint placement is bad.

I would totally recommend this game to adventurers, RPGers, and someone looking for a deep mystery adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not worth a rent

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

I only played this game for about twenty minutes so do not take my review to seriously. I just couldn't find anything compelling to make me want to play. With other great games out there, there just isn't time for a sub-par game. Graphics were fine, the little bit of game-play I experienced was ok. The game just wasn't interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Completely Breathtaking Graphics and Gameplay

posted by Jodocus (CENTRALIA, IL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is simply the best game of its class. I have never played a game where you absorb the powers of creatures and use them to defeat mega bosses. This game kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time and even has a challenge to it! It took strategy and careful gameplay to defeat the bosses later in the game.

This is defiantly a must have for anyone's RPG collection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much work?

posted by gamermomo (AMARILLO, TX) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Excellent RPG game if you like to read alot. Very confusing, very slow getting into. Not enough action in the begining to get my attention. Graphic are very good in parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Caution: Folklore May Cause Minor Irritation

posted by GrizzMagoo (Astoria, NY) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

You know what? I was going to write an elaborate review about why this game annoys me, but I don't want to waste my time any more than I already have. The game has an uncanny ability to irritate me, and when I stop playing it is only because I am tired of playing. Here's why:

Folklore is filled with lengthy cutscenes. You spend just as much time reading as you do playing. It's not my thing. The reading doesn't end with the cutscenes. To find the right ability for your foe, you'll spend lots of time in your creature-pedia until you manage to memorize more than 20 different creatures.

Ellen, one of two main characters, has no backbone. She's a whiny young-adult with no stomach for combat. Ellen drives me crazy. The bosses are really hard. You die a lot. Enemies don't stop coming. You die a lot. Save points don't happen often. You die a lot.

The End

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game.

posted by Median (LOS ALAMOS, NM) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I like this game, and I am pretty much done with it. You have the option of playing either main character. The bad thing is that you have to play them both to completely beat the game. I found that very annoying. I feel I am doing the same thing twice. But all in all it's a great play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique, beautiful, and fun.

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Most underrated game ever? Yes I think so.

First off lets start with the bad.

The boss battles leave a little to be desired simply because they require certain folks to beat them, some of which you may not get with a normal play through. That and the tactics needed to beat the bosses are a bit cheesy.

Other then that the game is perfect.

The graphics are amazing. They are not a realistic amazing but are stunning none the less. The overall artistic style and colors that are used will blow you away.

The characters are very likable and you get attached to them and their story.

You actually play through the game twice, once with each main character revealing more story and different powers and such.

The combat is unique and fun.

The music and sounds in game are top notch.

There is a lot of story to this game and a lot of reading, very little actual voice work, but what voice acting is in game is done extremely well.

This game does have replay value so I would say it is a must buy for gamers that like a story driven and different game.

Also there is a fair amount of DLC out for this game which adds more quest and costumes.

The only reason this did not score perfect for me was because of the cheesy boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by loki51 (LANCASTER, PA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

Worst game I've ever played. I played about 5 minutes before I had to turn it off. It's not even a game. It's more like a movie that you click buttons to ff, rew, play etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1 week gaming

posted by twinz0i0 (LONGVIEW, WA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

i gave this game an 8 for overall game play but it has made my top 10 favorite games because it is one game that i have not beat. my top 10 is the first 10 games i cant beat in one week. happy gaming=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was.....

posted by Autausaga (WEST JORDAN, UT) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

My first impression of this game in stores was, hey!this looks like a cool game to play. When i rented this game, the very day it arrived i popped it into my PS3,the layout was not what i had expected, it reminded me of Enchanted Arms which i thought was a terrible game!.I wish the intro to the game wasn't so corny, the action however is alright a lot of six axis usage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lost Kingdoms + Different Company

posted by KewlImp (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This game is Lost Kingdoms for Gamecube remade for the PS3. There are only minor changes from what I remember of the game. One thing is clearly changed however, everything in the game SLOWER. I don;t claim to be an expert on any level, but as a gamer who enjoys what I do, I couldn't make it past the second stage for one character.

The game breaks up to story lines, one about the girl and one about the investigative reporter. I only played the prologue and "Chapter One" of the reporters storyline. That alone took about 2 hours because of the slow gameplay outside of battle. If you played Lost Kingdoms, you know the basics of gameplay. Instead in Folklore, you absorb the creature in place of having cards to control them, but they are played on a face button of the controller. Also, you don't have a limited number times of use, or a deck which you can run out cards with.

As far as the music, it was horrible. It was a little memorable but sitting here writing this, I can't remember anything about the music specifically. Which I guess is both good and bad, because I overhear a few video game scores in a phone call and know the game and even sometimes tell you where you are in the game.

The graphics on par with the other PS3 games I have played in the past. The thing I really did not like about the graphics is the cut scenes. In my opinion, unless you are a comic book game, you don't need to have comic book style cut scenes, period. Its not an "Art Style" to utilize because you are cheap and don't want to take the time to create real scenes.

The story I may have got into if it wasn't for the gameplay. It has a cliche set up, but the randomness of the beginning just leaves too much desired to get me hooked on a game.

IF you liked Lost Kingdoms but wanted more story and a slower pace, this game is for you. Casual gamers however should avoid it. You will get the package, play the game for a few minutes and take it right back out to the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dropping the ball

posted by templarkin (new york, NY) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

I loved the fact that there was a game created
with an intelligent source, that told the story
of the Fae Folk. The actor's voices were on spot.
The story very addictive. Buuutttt? The game loses
me when it drags on for the additional 7th chapter
and you are forced to fight foe as well as friend
to beat the game. By the end of chapter 6 the game
is over, not to mention they drag you into the
other character for the extent of the game, when
your right at the end of the game.

Still it is a good game, filled with some pretty
awesome powers, foes, and views.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow Going

posted by stashnet (ALTOONA, WI) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Personally, I'm a big RPG fan but this game moved at such a slow pace for me that I didn't even finish it. You play for 2 hours to move the story ahead by 10 minutes. It was too frusterating. The gameplay was great but the storyline wasn't there to fill in the gaps so my score is right in the middle of the road at 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining

posted by MIBL95 (SOLON, IA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Although sort of easy, this game was very entertaining. It reminded me a lot of XBOX360's KAMEO...which I loved. I could do without the many cut-scenes, but would recommend this game. The animations, characters, monsters, and game-play is stunning!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but repetitive

posted by imynwulf (ROGERS, AR) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

The game started out good. However, after playing one chapter of Keats and running through the exact same level as Ellen just a few minutes before made me realize that the only difference was the point of view. From that point on, I only used Ellen. I felt on several occasions that I was missing vital points of the plot by only playing one of the two characters.

The gameplay was also great at first. Hit the folk with the right one, then suck up the id once you've dealt it enough damage. However, thats about as far as the gameplay got. After the second realm, the game began to stop being entertaining and started to inch over to repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but..

posted by Augustum (ST LOUIS, MO) Sep 19, 2008

Member since May 2004

This game is a good if you like pressing the X button every time someone says a line in the animated cut scenes... the game play got lost with toooooo much story in between.

Great graphics and sets, 3D is top notch.. it would have been a lot more fun if the cut scenes weren't so drawn out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much story, not enough game

posted by BundisDito (PARKER, CO) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

There's so much potential in Folklore: the story, the style, the overall design. It's just executed in a clunky fashion that disrupts the flow and lessens enjoyment of the game. I wanted to like it, I tried hard to get into it, but couldn't.

It's pretty, it's unique, but it's just not all that much - you know - fun. The combat sequences are mildly interesting (choosing the correct monster), but endless and repetitive. If you leave a scene by mistake - the horrid camera makes this far too commonplace - you have to re-fight the monsters. It feels very awkward and last-gen in its design. The PS3 has the ability to tell an amazing interactive story, but that horsepower really isn't on display here.

I'm glad I rented it through GameFly. I really wanted to like this, but had I spent the money to purchase it, I think I would have been pretty disappointed. I'm scoring it a 6/10 for its unique approach, but it's still flawed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so awesome

posted by IRBMAN (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game seemed like it could have been an awesome game. The theme was one that I hadn't seen done before. A game based on folklore. I decided to ignore the less-than-spectacular ratings and try it out.

I wish I could say I disagreed with the raters. Unfortunately, this game stuck to the assembly-line game formula very closely. There was an attmpt at a mystery plot, but it was so convoluted and slow-moving that I pretty much lost interest. I usually have a pretty good attention span, but less than halfway through the game I found that I was playing just for the sake of getting to the end.

It was an intriguing twist to try and tell the story from two different playable points of view. It's too bad that this concept was overshadowed by a relatively boring game. The controls are clunky, especially the frustrating camera controls and odd angles. I'm unsure of why it occurs, but there is a depth perception problem probably caused by poor camera controls. It's very difficult to tell how close you are to many objects, which can create issues. I also found it frustrating when trying to used ranged weapons, and even melee ones, that I could never quite predict where my shots would land. There really is no way to aim other than to point your character in the enemies general direction and hope for the best. This becomes infuriating on long boss battles.

When it comes down to it, this game seems like just a generic game with different scenery. Very underwhelming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Entertaining!

posted by rpabon (RESEDA, CA) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game is definitely unique and fun

interesting story and cool characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you're not patient,dont bother..

posted by tank017 (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

If you are patient,then you will be rewarded with a very unique,one of a kind game.

It has a good storyline,superb graphics,and the combat system is innovative and unique..

Enjoying it thus far,definitely deserves better than a 6.5,thats for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse