Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

4212 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why?????

posted by slimer120 (GRANBY, CT) Jul 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

i wanted this cause its an rpg and i cant get eough of them. i gave it a chance because of all the great reviews..... but i just wanna ask if they played to same game as me because this one was absolutely horrible. running around the same world over and over with different characters lame. half the cut scenes are coold the graphics top notch. the other half way to unbearable to keep reading the comic book style. dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fokelore is a joke!

posted by Juno722 (CORONA, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I rented this game because I enjoy adventure and puzzle games, but this was ridiculous! You walk then see a cartoon cut scene, then walk again and same thing over and over. Then you start to fight lame littl creatures and then back to the cut scene! Do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not what I expected

posted by Zeldafan7 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

Well this game was pretty good. It definitely doesnt have much replay value but the storyline and the way it flows is unique.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could not get into it.

posted by BAH315 (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

99% of the time I will stick with a game until the end. This time I just couldn't get into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strange...

posted by Lyric23 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

This game has awesome graphics. The story is a little bizarre but, tends to get good after awhile. The only thing that made me not want to complete this game is the fact of how it doesn't change in fighting and the story does seem to progress in the same way. It's like it was made for kids which would make sense in a way. So if I were to rate this out of 10, I would give it a 5 cause they do have something good going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastical Story & Unique Game Itself!

posted by adamsfam10 (LEICESTER, NC) Dec 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

It's come to my attention to write this review of Folklore. I've played it before. No punt intended to rhyme :). The minds behind SCE have head-first sucked me into this particular game title. For instance, the storyline. A young woman, named Ellen, !!SPOILER!! finds herself at the Cliffs of Doolin Village, where she beleives she's met her long-lost mother. The woman is staring out over the cliff and then jumps. Ellen is a wreck and in a state of shock and aw! She runs down to the beach to find the woman, was NOT her mother. Yet, another womans' mother. The scene then cuts off there. The story reminds me of straight-storyboard art creation, as it was made straight from the drawing board and then casted a comic-feel. The storyline & plot are solid. However, if your going to play it, your going to need patience. The story doesn't unfold piece by piece, like I thought it would. There's also a sense of You determining what could happen. Giving the sense and element of mystery and surprise. The story is in my opinion, it's best attribute!

Now, onto the gameplay. At first I wasn't sure what the "Cloak" would represent, which gives you, Ellen, your power to fight Folklore. With your magicial attacks, absorbed by collecting Folklore ID's. You become stronger and more effective with every Folklore you absolve. There's a level of mature thematic elements and isn't for kids of all ages. There's wizardry, crime-drama elements, death, and it is an emotional gameplay throughout. However, for mature adults, it's a great experience! The brilliance here, I beleive, is how you go about obtaining the Folklore ID's. You'll absolve them, yes. BUT! You'll have to shake your controller and become part of the game in order to make it successful EVERY time! It puts YOU at the heart of the action!

The sound effects, music are all top notch! I have nothing negative to say.

The length of the game is quite long! For a 1 disc game, I'd give it over 40+ hours easily.

10 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting but difficult

posted by aznmike123 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I played the demo for this game when it was released and I was immediately interested in the game. The whole art direction and theme for the game was really cool. It is still that way for me now. Games just aren't like this still.

The main idea for the battle system is interesting. Summoning monsters to attack is really cool. They are varied enough to justify having so many and it inspires a bit of pokemania. This is also an issue because bosses are only weak against a specific attack. So, they end up being super trial and error puzzles. If you can stomach that, the game could be really interesting to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Try it.

posted by WoshJills (WICHITA, KS) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Folklore is a game with original artistic direction, sound design, gameplay, and an interesting story with a long beginning.

Unfortunately, original gameplay does not guarantee quality gameplay for everyone.
Try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I enjoyed it

posted by Burnit (FORT COLLINS, CO) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I actually enjoyed this game and the combat system. The comicbook story was entertaining and the fantasy worlds were wonderfully detailed. The story can take a while to get into though, but that is not always a bad thing. Unfortunately, this is a more casual game for me, I just can't bring myself to play for more than a few hours a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantasy

posted by MichaelMMX (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i own this game and i love it! the way you have to use the motion sensor on the controller is way awesome and the costumes rock! and well i cant think of anything more at say about this game...no negitves just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

unexpected

posted by nswisher (CLARKSBURG, WV) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

After playing the game for about 30 mins, it seemed like it could be a fun game and had an original quality to it. But it's just not what I was expecting. It seemed to take a lot for me to get into the game, the story line, although interesting, was still rather dull. The game play was okay, but made it difficult, when you didn't know what you needed to kill what. I'm not big on strategy guides, and it says it gives you hints, but all you get is a book with writing that you can't understand cause its not in english and a few pictures. The main characters make comments as to what to do or how to do things, but only after to stumble around for a bit. I also personally didn't like that you have to do the exact same story twice! Once for her and once for him, although I'm sure many people enjoy that, I didn't. I want to make my way through a story, not feel like I'm working backwards to get somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by honestly (YANKTON, SD) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game was so awesome! One of the rare times I actually enjoyed the story line. It wasnt corny and it didnt come out too early. This game was too cool and I hardly play rpg's but this game was too cool!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Folklore

posted by dvgirl (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The Game is pretty colorful and challenging at different levels. Its pretty nice and keeps you wanting to unfold the next step to the story line. Although the last boss is pretty annoying to beat, but overall this game is not what it seems to be as far as easy or a little kids game that you think you can breeze through. Be ready to put some time and figuring out for this one. Overall nice game, graphics, and colors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awww

posted by Akashic (HELOTES, TX) May 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I really thought this game would be interesting.

Graphics: The graphics are good, cut scenes are not that great unless its a real one, not the comic thing they do.

Combat: Not that great, kinda slow, could have been much better.

Story: Progression of the story is very slow and repeatedly seems you're getting absolutely no where. EVERYONE knows what happened 17 years ago, some agree to tell you, then they all break their freaking promise and tell you to talk to someone else who also knows. There isn't much difference between playing as Keats or Ellen (w/e his name is), its just from a slightly different point of view, and you meet people at slightly different times. You still do the same levels, fight the same bosses in slightly different ways. Tomorrow I'm going to play it one more to time and hope something awesome happens that makes me care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

this game was realy cool and it had alot the elements that i like in an ACTION RPG. it has a unique fighting system, you can chose who you want the main character to be (you play as one and then play as the other to unlock the full story) the story is a mystery and a REALY good one that keeps you guessing.

the fighting system is using the souls of the enemies as weapons (sounds wierd but works perfectly with the story and everything) you fight monsters and hit them untill their soul turns red then you suck them in and can equip them.

the graphics and just the pure amaginatin that whent into the bords and the enemies is astounding. the visualls are stunning at every level and even the simplest things are realy detailed.

the story is realy gripping, i recomend that you play as Elen first then Keats because Keats is figuring out the systery the whole time while Elen is trying to figure out her past, so if you play as Keats first i belive it will ruen the story for you (not completely but it will make more sence). i also liked how the story was told as like a living comic, with some videos thrown in every once in a while, it sounds wierd but the way the story was presented in comic book fasion made me like the story even more.

i would definitly recomend this game, i was just playing the game and one of my friends on the PS NETWORK sent me a message "what is folklore" so even the title is intreging, so i say thats reason enough to rent this title, there is some replay value but only to obtain 100% of the monsters and clothing along with the side quests but other than that i give this a rent not buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh man.

posted by CrazyJoe22 (Bloomington, IN) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Where to start, the game is bad just bad not too many redeeming factors. The graphics and landscapes are good. The stupid comic-style cut scenes that happen way too often and are way too annoying.

Game play, I hate that you HAVE to use the Sixaxis controls it's so annoying, it's like being forced to use the power glove. Every single time you switch your powers you go to a menu which is navigable for the most part but that's not my complaint, my complaint is it has to load each time you switch powers. It's unbearable since you have to do it so often... if you only had to do it every once in a while it wouldn't be a big deal, but no it's used quite frequently. The combat is fun despite having to switch skills basically every fight.

Graphics are actually very nice, the worlds are colorful and they differ so much from realm to realm it's a nice touch. The actual CG cut scenes are really good, but they're so few and far between that it really isn't a factor in the review. The character models are pretty detailed and animate well.

Story, I kinda skipped most of the cut scenes because of the weird comic book style... but what I got was this Keats guy is going to the village of the dead because some lady called him and told him that faeries would kill her if he didn't. Yeah... faeries, anyways he gets there and there's two girls one looking for her mother and one that's just spacing out hard core. Nothing exciting enough for me to watch those stupid cut scenes.

Overall it does a lot of things well, but it does even more bad... and this game doesn't mess around. The bad parts are so often and unavoidable that they quickly become unbearable. This game is horrifyingly bad. 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alright game.

posted by Hytekk (MONMOUTH, OR) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is an okay game. It doesn't have any verbal communication while your wanting to talk to a AI player. It's just all in text. The only talking that occurs is in the videos. So if you want a game that you have to read a LOT. Then this is a great game. The two story lines of the guy and the girl, are basically both the same. So I'd only play one storyline. GREAT imagination game, and fun game play and beautiful scenes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

great for younger kids

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

great for younger kids who like fantasy games that have a good story but i did not like it being older and all maybe when i was younger i would have loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre through and through

posted by Keichan (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game was one of many that I was looking forward to when I bought my PS3, and for it to disappoint me as much as it did is... terrible.

The game has FANTASTIC art direction, with all sorts of interesting creature designs and beautiful realms to explore, but these are also flaws. Every creature you fight has a "weakness" that must be exploited if you are to draw out its id, meaning going through the same areas you've been to try and find the proper folk to use against it. This is made even more frustrating by the fact that sometimes an area's spawns are randomized, meaning senseless grinding for the sake of capturing a folk.

You might think to yourself "Oh that's not so bad, I'll just skip it", but the game punishes you for doing so, as every boss has several folk who are required to defeat it, meaning if you happened to miss a particular folk, you'll have to go backtracking through the stage to try and find it, and if you're missing ITS weakness, then guess what, even more backtracking.

The gameplay itself is lackluster and dull, and again, where you think that mixing and matching your folk to utilize their different attacks might be fun, it is instead disappointing. I found that most folk had an extremely niche use or were altogether terrible in combat, meaning I used mostly the same few folk throughout the game, mixing it up only if absolutely necessary, and the fact that everytime you change your folk you must go through a short load time before you return to gameplay only worsens this.

The biggest disappointment, to me, was the story presentation. I'm not sure whether the script was bad due to mistranslations of some kind or simply bad writing. The story itself is interesting, but the dialogue and most of the voice acting is pretty atrocious.

It sounds like I hated the game, but I just couldn't stomach the amount of backtracking that is really involved in it. It can be enjoyable at times, but if you were looking forward to it, expect to be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I am pleasantly satisfied. The gameplay is very ingaging and interesting. At times, it is a bit difficult to figure out where you are supposed to do next... Had to look at a walkthrough.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totaly kick Butt

posted by Ascendance (EVERETT, WA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I dont know why anyone would not like this game i love the whole Sixaxis support and all a great all around hack and slash rpg one of my favorites!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avoid at all costs

posted by BlkViper (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

a weak imitation of final fantasy, that's the best I'll give this game. super long story cut scenes but the combat was unbearable for anyone like 10yrs or older. on top of that you have to shake the control after every single kill to "capture souls" or something of the sort. a waste of the 1week layover from one game to the next... I want the 25 mins I put into this disaster back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game takes some time

posted by Sckent (DALLAS, TX) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Well just as my title suggests this is a good game but you have to put in some initial effort that can be a bit tedious to get to a fun game. I would not recommend this game for someone who wants to just casually play for an hour here or there i only had time to play it because I was out of school.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Thoughts on Folklore

posted by toks64 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

Game is to Weird and Very Confusing
Looked up Game Guide and it still wasn't no help.

I rate this game 7 because of Difficulty

But If you Like SEVERE Games that Doesn't Make Any Since

Go For It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

okay, if you like reading conversations

posted by poppie (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I thought that this game woud be 10 times better because of the demo, but i was sadly dissapointed. If you want to try it out, please do, but be warned, you must like to do a lot of thinking and have patience to enjoy this game. If you like being commited to a game and it's plot, this may be the game for you, but definately not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse