Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

4209 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Imaginative, Charming Mystery...

posted by Comatoes (THE DALLES, OR) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

It's rare that I find a game that captures my attention and amazes me the way Folklore did.

The Folks(monsters) that you use throughout the game are as imaginative as any fairytale could describe and the environments you traverse are nothing short of stunning. Tying together these visuals is a thoroughly engrossing soundtrack that only brightens the already splendid world Folklore is set in.

The story is paced just like any good murder-mystery should be; it gives you tidbits keeping your interest until the very end. The only way this game's story could have been better is if all the dialog was done justice with the game's excellent voice acting. As it is, reading through the text in the graphic novel cut scenes kind of takes you out of the game, especially when you're reading things like "Uwee hee hee" which is said by a prominent character in the game.

This would be just like any generic action/rpg if it wasn't for the implementation of the six-axis controls in the relatively average combat system. You're required to move, balance, jerk, and shake the controller in certain ways to finish off and capture enemies in the game. Boss fights are done in inventive ways because you find out their weaknesses via clues you discover in the level beforehand. Also, aside from your own character's progression, the folks you capture can be improved upon by meeting various conditions or using certain items you collect.

There's a lot to love in this game but despite all it's good qualities it's really hurt by the fact that you can't even do the last half of the game without going through the same levels in the first half of the game with both characters. I realize the reasoning behind this (so you can see both sides of the story) but, still, it's pretty tedious to go through essentially the exact same part of the game twice.

All things considered, though; there's plenty of game to go through and Folklore is a must play for any action/RPG fan with a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it really

posted by Katora (TULSA, OK) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A summary of this game:
Walk with bad camera angles
Have a boring conversation
Walk some more
Read a cutscene
Kill a few things while dealing with bad camera angles
Walk more
Boring conversation
Read a cutscene
Walk
Etc.

It's just boring. Visually, it's very pretty and whimsical, and it seems like maybe there is a good story there, but the gameplay itself is just too boring for me to even care to find out. Just 'meh'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Mix

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Oct 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

30 out of 34 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am not much of a RPG'er so I was surprised when I found that I liked this game. It has a nice mix of action and RPG and is a unique game to play with a good story. It does take a while to go through so if you are anxiously awaiting the other fast-paced games I would wait until you have played those to give this the time it deserves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing!!!

posted by wrdwithin (MC HENRY, MD) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to say much because I don't want to give the experience away, but this game is awesome! Trust me. Great story, amazing environments, quality sound, superb battling techniques. Using the six-axis controls adds a whole new level to the battles, giving you the feel of ripping the souls from the very bodies of ghouls. Then you get to use their abilities to fight other folklore, and putting the creatures' abilities to the PS3 controller's action buttons makes for a quick and simple battle strategy. The cut scenes are intriguing and the voice overs are very good. You'll have a great time with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Folklore still has lots of possibilities

posted by PhillyVu (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

At first I was a bit concerned about another linear RPG styled game, but after a few cutscenes and realms I was completely enthralled with the characters and worlds.

The story might be the biggest payoff to this game. The intricate plot gives you one look, then abruptly turns the corner, and again throwing back into another plot. Folklore is very well written. It makes you feel like you've just finish a game of Clue, and you realized it was the Butler with a candlestick in the library.

Graphics are fantastic. You don't noticed the detail to much, until you're wandering through a level and pick up the little details of grass, or tree, or water.

The only thing I wish for was more voice acting, and less text. The cutscenes would have been better, if completely voice acted.

All in all a great game. With the ability to download dungeons from the community and future DLC quests, Folklore will continue to perk my interests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG action game

posted by Cronos (DULUTH, MN) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok I downloaded the demo to try this game out. it is wicked fun. You play as 2 different characters. Both with there own style of fighting. You collect the souls of the monsters you defeat and claim there powers as your own. You have a mana bar and a health bar. You use the six axes to yank the souls from there bodies. The more of a certain type you take some times it will upgrade there magic. Like more combo attacks or a stronger attack. Others you must collect items through game play to upgrade. The game play is fun and the graphics are really good. Not as good as Heavenly sword mind you but still very pretty. I would check this game out. If this game takes me longer then a week to bear I may buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Original Title Falls Flat

posted by Krazydad (SEARCY, AR) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had very high expectations coming into this game. One of the first true RPG games for the PS3. But what I assumed would be a great RPG based game ended up being an RTS hybrid at roots. As in, this monster is strong versus that enemy and this monster is weak versus that. Don't get me wrong, I loved playing this game, but when you come into a game expecting one thing and get the exact opposite, your excitement level for the game seems to go down the curved pipe to the sewer system (you know what I'm saying, a.k.a. the toilet).

If I based games on the most useless of all instruments, the numbers system, I would have given this game a 7. The worlds themselves are varied and extremely beautiful. The art direction in this game was some of the best I have ever witnessed. The controls worked flawlessly. And the music, although repetitive, fit perfectly with the game.

To point out two of the few flaws with this game, one, the loading times are terrible. Load the game, load the "faery" worlds, load the game again after selecting new Folks. The wait after changing Folks was extremely annoying. And the character dialog and voice acting are only rivaled by the {cough} incredible work of Marcus Fenix in Gears of Wars. The writers strike seemed to be in full swing for this game.

All in all, this is a very good game, but don't come in expecting an engrossing tell to pit against God of War in a fight club match of doom in dramatic story telling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good story, interesting gameplay

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

PROS: The graphics are stylized and beautiful. The character and Folk monster designs are excellent and well-animated.

Best use of the Sixaxis motion control I've seen on a PS3 game so far.

Good 15-20+ hour playtime depending on how many extra quests you do.

Two fully developed, playable characters with different strengths and weaknesses.

The story is intriguing (a bit convoluted though) and pays off nicely. It has some mature themes and dialogue about life, death and regret that you usually don't see in games.

Game is divided into chapters so you're not stuck playing longer than you can.

The game is still being supported on the PS Store (as of Jan 11, 2008) with downloadable content such as extra quests and costumes.

You can tell the developers put some thought and heart into making the game.

--

CONS: Playing the same areas as Keats and Ellen can be repetitive.

The graphics don't push the PS3 to its limits except during the boss battles and in some Netherworld environments. If you played this on a SDTV, you might think it's a well-polished (no jaggies), high-res PS2 game.

Plot might be too slow and piecemeal for people used to instant gratification games. It plays out almost like the TV show Lost.

Environments are mostly static and not interactive.

The camera is generally okay, but never seems to stop moving. You wish it would be either a fixed camera or the game would give you complete control over it. It can be particularly frustrating when battling flying Folks who often hit you from behind. It's hard to adjust the camera quickly enough when you have four fast Folks beating you up at once.

The load times are not bad if you do the Install option, but still irritating. Every time you enter and exit a house in Doolin, you'll see a 3-4 second load screen. This could have been resolved with a bigger Install option or game optimizing.

Overall, I really enjoyed playing Folklore and I could look past the flaws. I'm glad I played it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boooooring

posted by DCVegas (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I myself am a Huge fan of RPG's... but this one, well, yawn! It has about as much excitement to it as the myst games... While the storyline is strong it takes two directions and makes you do everything twice it seems... the game play is very limited and easy to adapt to, also not a strong rpg likeness... the overall idea behind the game was interesting but it often times took me 10-20 minutes of running around in the storyline to get to a whole 2 minutes of action... the world is limited to where the game allows you to travel, a very limited amount of interactivity with your surroundings and music that puts my 110lb bulldog into a deep sleep... Like i said earlier, if you were a fan of the myst games but thought they could use a little action and a little less thinking, then this game is for you! I wasnt, so its not for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unique RPG for PS3

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's not often that Sony creates a 3rd person RPG set in Ireland with both a female and male lead (actually, it's not often that anyone does this). Part Pokemon, part Ghostbusters, your characters try and solve the mystery of Doolin, aka, the Town of the Dead where entry to the Netherworld is possible.
The writing and story are intriguing to say the least. There are two paths to walk, one as a young woman trying to find answers to her mother's death and an occult journalist summoned there by a mysterious phone call. Ironically, the events that transpire in the real world are creepier than those that occur in the Netherworld.
The "folk" characters are all very interesting, looking like a mix of Alice in Wonderland and Spirited Away. The RPG elements come in when you collect these folks (Pokemon style) and thus their abilities which are upgradeable. These are captured once damaged enough and collected by shaking the SIXAXIS (larger folk result in a collection mini-game), ala Ghostbusters.
The graphics are very nice, ranging from moody night hues to vibrant flowers and fields, depending on where you are.
Voice acting is great, with just enough Irish accent to be believable (although Keats' trench coat design isn't, you'll see). The cutscenes are presented comic-panel style. Surprisingly, for a PS3 Blu-Ray title, there's still some text to read.
The music and score has a magical tinge, reminiscent of the Harry Potter series.
In between areas, there is a brief load screen but it's pretty quick.
Right now there's no other game like it on the PS3 so give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth it

posted by ksouza (BURLINGTON, MA) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Game has perfect graphics but game play is really short and history very week may be a good game for rent but not a game that anyone should buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea, poor execution

posted by Merc1138 (FREMONT, CA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful. Both on a technical level for the graphics, and art design.

The action is also quite nice, especially since your set of attacks is so customizable.

However, this game suffers from one major flaw: the pacing.

You'll spend 15-20 minutes tearing through monsters, and the next thing you know you're spending another 10 minutes strolling around talking to a bunch of NPC's about a plot that reads like a sci-fi murder-she-wrote episode, that's pretty irrelevant. Also, the agonizingly slow piano soundtrack doesn't help this dull and tedious dialog either.Sure, it's fine that not every dialog sequence has speech, but when all you can do is fast forward through text while listening to what sounds like a cat walking across a piano... it gets very tiring.

It's quite a shame really, as there's so much potential, but with the horrible pacing of the game with the dull story-telling, I couldn't sit through more than 3-4 hours of this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprising

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the demo for this game and I was interested but not overwhelmed. I must say that I have to change that. Folklore brings to the PS3 what it needed most, a decent RPG. While its not a traditional RPG, it has the look and the story of an RPG while it plays more like an action RPG along the lines of the recent X-Men games. The coolest part of of the game is that you get to capture the creatures you fight ghost buster's style. If you yank the PS3 controller up (or left and right), you can capture the creatures and use them in battle after you defeat them. The game is more fun than I thought it would be. The story carries the game and makes it interesting, even when you are just wading through mindless swarms of "Folk." If you like RPGs, this game will get you by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hmm a little on the bland side

posted by santana225 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well heres how it all started...I downloaded the demo and played it for a while and thought wow this is a pretty sick idea of how you capture the monsters and make them stronger by capturing more...so i decided to rent it and try out the full game....im not gonna lie to you guys but i got tired of the game after playing it for 45 minutes....seriously the whole capturing thing was getting bland because its the same thing over and over and the storyline was so boring there was nothing exciting going on to keep me awake or anything.....this game could've been really good if they would've implied different methods of capturing the monsters and if they had a different storyline...another thing that i didn't really like but wasn't much of a big deal was the fact that it loads so often....i mean its ps3 i don't think it should be like that...I've played ps2 rpg's that let u travel a bigger distance before it loads the next map.......so yea thats my little rant on the game overall i'd say you would only like this game if you were a hardcore rpg and pokemon fan if your just an rpg fan you'd be dissapointed by this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Folklore

posted by cmd673 (FIRESTONE, CO) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hated every minute of it. Thank goodness I have GameFly so I wouldn't waste my money buying this piece of drivel.

If you play it, I hope you enjoy flicking the controller up -- that's all you'll be doing. That, and reading through endless comic strip dialogue bubbles.

Ugh...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Reasonably Good Action RPG

posted by Ontarah (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has an interesting story and characters as well as a somewhat unique combat system that makes very good use of the SIXAXIS (some of the best I've seen in fact.) It has good music, decent graphics, and responsive controls. On the downside it is rather slow paced (even for an RPG and especially for one with such heavy action elements) and the lack of voice overs for a lot of the dialog leaves you reading long segments of dull text and feeling distanced from the characters and setting. It can also get quite redundant as you have to go through every level twice albeit with different characters. The scenario is slightly different each time, but often you find yourself wishing you could just pick which character you want and get on with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game in a curious way...

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to admit when I played the demo for this it completely turned me off. When the game released I was completely skeptical of it. After about 2 hours of playing I found I could not put the controller down. The story while confusing in parts is excellent and original. Characters and monsters are odd but easy to get used to. Use of the sixaxis is well done. This game is easily a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow and boring

posted by Xisxisxis (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I can't say I played this beyond the point of giving it a fair chance... I'm really glad I got it from Gamefly because if i'd bought it or paid to rent this I would have been pretty upset.

Basically this is like working your way through a choose your own adventure book... not much skill required and constant stops for speech text. A very linear game that I would give as a gift to someone I didn't like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Veeeeeeeeeery Slow

posted by DzNutZ (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I first downloaded the demo, I loved it....But.... When I rented the game I hated it. The game was very very slow. I lost interest almost immediately. This game was literally "All talk, no action" I wouldn't even recommend renting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid at all cost

posted by blanktarge (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

There is nothing good about this game. The game play is boring, the voice acting is cheesy, the cut scenes are done in a comic book style but its covered by weird flowers and on a wide screen tv you're looking at maybe 1/3 of the screen actually that has anything going on during this. You'll get hit by a cut scene every few steps until you can finally reach combat, which then is boring and flat.

Just don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Folklore Pros/Cons

posted by Chukbeef (COVINGTON, VA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Good Graphics
-Interesting storytelling technique (story told/game played from the perspective of 2 different characters)

Cons:
-bad camera
-weak combat system
-too many/too long cut scenes
-lots of load screens

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slightly schizophrenic?

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

That is what I am feeling this game is after playing through the first scenario. I will delve into it a bit further, hoping not to lose my mind to the creeping madness.

The story is interesting, a murder mystery/action/RPG fare on contacting the dead. The two characters have some interesting starts but seem just a little... paper? plastic? Who knows, but the emotion one would feel isn't really existent.

Gameplay is basic, button mash with your affixed spirits until your target goes red, hold the R1 and flick your controller up and you absorb a soul. That last part seems more tacked on than anything else, they could have said to tap R1 a bit or something else, but because Sony cursed us with Sixaxis, we are forced to flick up.

Having to play through the same stage as two different characters is slightly annoying as well. I know that they have different parts of the story available through each characters eyes, but every game that I have played that has done their story that way is trying to cover up for the lack of interesting that one usually gets from these games. Talk about grinding gears.

The graphics are normal fare, highly rendered and voice acted for certain areas, but the cut scenes are what make me say "schizophrenia". One set is fully voice acted and motioned, the others are comic style that are text driven and have little to no motion at all. It seems to pick and choose whenever it feels like it, which sort of ruins the momentum of the game itself.

All in all, it is a regular Current Gen game. Nothing astounding to it, nothing critically wrong with it. If you like action/rpg button mashers, this might be for you. If you love graphics, you will love this game... But if you like story, you might be left feeling a little off...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

concept cool game sucks

posted by orangehair (FRANKFORT, IL) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i dont know who been playing these games but im a big fan of games of like god of war and shadow of colossus these game is cool a kind weird version Pokémon in real time the biggest problem i had was playing the game twice the game splits into two main stories same level pretty much the same folks but the other thing is that the girl here is a cry baby it is very weird but tense and suspenseful story so if you can get over the playing the game twice and the cry baby girl its a good game game play awesome graphics are on point and it is a pretty good rpg but personally i hope that ps3 get their contract issues straight and make squaresoft put out final fantasy game for a ps3 we need it for all of those ps3 lovers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This got funding?!? Really???

posted by IamDiesel (AMES, IA) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What happens when you take a good idea for a game, translate into a different language and then hand it over to Americans? Like so many things from horror movies to TV shows; they screw them up completely and then pat themselves on the back for a great job well done.

If I look past all the things wrong with this game and look to it's core I can see potential for a good game (not great). The cut scenes are done in a really unique way and look fantastic. Graphics over all are well done as well. However I could have sworn I was playing a game on the PS3 not my Wii. The shaking of the controller in every fight seems so contrived that it turned me off instantly. I honestly said out loud "Really?!? You have to be kidding me" when they wanted me to shake the controller every time I killed a baddy. Then to make it worse in boss battles you have to look like a bigger tool by shaking and pumping the thing till your wrists snap. I'm all for using the 6 axis if it has purpose and it feels like a part of the game. However this felt so tacked on that it fell apart and hindered the gaming experience.

The plot makes very little sense and you have to wonder why the characters are compelled to be in the situation they are. They don't give us incentive to want to continue playing. The ridiculous nature of the plot and what ties it all together is so bland and unbelievable that after you power off the game you totally forget all about it. The only thing that remains is disdain for yet another horrible RPG'ish game that can't stand up on it's own. It's like they forget the "Role" in role playing game. Instead your a bored observer that keeps smacking your head every time a character speaks at how dumb and ridiculous it all is. Like a bad B-movie that is so bad it's not even a good B-movie, MST3k wouldn't touch it.

Concept at it's core was cool and I wish I could have played the concept instead of the waist I was delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad game mechanics ruins beautiful scenery.

posted by dragynfox (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game itself looks very nice, though a bit outdated, understandable for a older game. The ability to switch back and forth between characters is interesting.

But the game mechanics are awful no matter what way you slice it. The cut scenes, of which there are many, are presented in a format that is jarring and disturbs the flow of the game. There is almost no voice acting, which really takes away from what should be a very atmospheric game. The controls are awkward in many places, or not well-thought out, and the special move that is required to gain experience is especially bothersome. Also the environments, while beautiful to look at, aren't very interesting to play in because there is no interaction. You can't talk to NPCs, read books, anything.

The plot is sort of interesting, but seems lacking in explanation, and if you play the male character, motivation to continue. All in all, I was pretty disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse