Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

4209 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wast of time

posted by reap999 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this has to be one of the worst games ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why?????

posted by slimer120 (GRANBY, CT) Jul 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

i wanted this cause its an rpg and i cant get eough of them. i gave it a chance because of all the great reviews..... but i just wanna ask if they played to same game as me because this one was absolutely horrible. running around the same world over and over with different characters lame. half the cut scenes are coold the graphics top notch. the other half way to unbearable to keep reading the comic book style. dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fokelore is a joke!

posted by Juno722 (CORONA, CA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I rented this game because I enjoy adventure and puzzle games, but this was ridiculous! You walk then see a cartoon cut scene, then walk again and same thing over and over. Then you start to fight lame littl creatures and then back to the cut scene! Do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid at all cost

posted by blanktarge (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

There is nothing good about this game. The game play is boring, the voice acting is cheesy, the cut scenes are done in a comic book style but its covered by weird flowers and on a wide screen tv you're looking at maybe 1/3 of the screen actually that has anything going on during this. You'll get hit by a cut scene every few steps until you can finally reach combat, which then is boring and flat.

Just don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Folklore

posted by cmd673 (FIRESTONE, CO) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hated every minute of it. Thank goodness I have GameFly so I wouldn't waste my money buying this piece of drivel.

If you play it, I hope you enjoy flicking the controller up -- that's all you'll be doing. That, and reading through endless comic strip dialogue bubbles.

Ugh...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

avoid at all costs

posted by BlkViper (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

a weak imitation of final fantasy, that's the best I'll give this game. super long story cut scenes but the combat was unbearable for anyone like 10yrs or older. on top of that you have to shake the control after every single kill to "capture souls" or something of the sort. a waste of the 1week layover from one game to the next... I want the 25 mins I put into this disaster back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by loki51 (LANCASTER, PA) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

Worst game I've ever played. I played about 5 minutes before I had to turn it off. It's not even a game. It's more like a movie that you click buttons to ff, rew, play etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

if iwanted to read a book i would buy one, poor.

posted by madeline (SUTTON, WV) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

no gameing in site and i have been playing for two days.if you like wasting 12 hours reading through comic books you'll like it. very slow. we need adrenaline rushes from our games. if ps3 keeps up the trend i have been seeing then the gamers will suffer, while sony gets rich.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by Dark1Angel (SPRING HILL, FL) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I would love to see a review of this garbage done by the "Angry Video Game Nerd".

I cant believe I found a game that is worse than Fatal Frame. The graphics were fine, but thats ALL it had that was even remotely good. The game play was awful (if and when you actually get to play) in the 3 hours I wasted on this pile of trash (I have better words ... believe me) 90% of the time was spent watching storyline video with a comic book feel, So much so that you even had to read it is the same fashion.

At one point the main character turns into some kind of demon thing, you get all excited because now the butt kicking can begin... uh nope, not even close. He changes right back to his loser self and continues doing NOTHING.

Dont waste you time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game I Have Played on PS3

posted by Wizdom (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game can be summed up in one word... HORRIBLE. I have never played such an annoying and completely pathetic storyline of a game. I played it for the first 30 minutes and kept killing some lame fairy thing over and over without a way to go further. The characters are weak, the dialog is subtitled throughout most of the game and the cut scenes are garbage. I cannot believe Sony even backed this POS. Save you money and do not buy it... thank goodness for Gamefly and renting. Don't even waste your time renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it really

posted by Katora (TULSA, OK) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A summary of this game:
Walk with bad camera angles
Have a boring conversation
Walk some more
Read a cutscene
Kill a few things while dealing with bad camera angles
Walk more
Boring conversation
Read a cutscene
Walk
Etc.

It's just boring. Visually, it's very pretty and whimsical, and it seems like maybe there is a good story there, but the gameplay itself is just too boring for me to even care to find out. Just 'meh'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad game mechanics ruins beautiful scenery.

posted by dragynfox (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game itself looks very nice, though a bit outdated, understandable for a older game. The ability to switch back and forth between characters is interesting.

But the game mechanics are awful no matter what way you slice it. The cut scenes, of which there are many, are presented in a format that is jarring and disturbs the flow of the game. There is almost no voice acting, which really takes away from what should be a very atmospheric game. The controls are awkward in many places, or not well-thought out, and the special move that is required to gain experience is especially bothersome. Also the environments, while beautiful to look at, aren't very interesting to play in because there is no interaction. You can't talk to NPCs, read books, anything.

The plot is sort of interesting, but seems lacking in explanation, and if you play the male character, motivation to continue. All in all, I was pretty disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh not the best

posted by blackgata (SWAMPSCOTT, MA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I sent the game back after two days of having it, kind of a kiddish game and i didn't like the movie type scenes...
not worth the rent, but then again that's just my opinon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

great for younger kids

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

great for younger kids who like fantasy games that have a good story but i did not like it being older and all maybe when i was younger i would have loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This got funding?!? Really???

posted by IamDiesel (AMES, IA) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What happens when you take a good idea for a game, translate into a different language and then hand it over to Americans? Like so many things from horror movies to TV shows; they screw them up completely and then pat themselves on the back for a great job well done.

If I look past all the things wrong with this game and look to it's core I can see potential for a good game (not great). The cut scenes are done in a really unique way and look fantastic. Graphics over all are well done as well. However I could have sworn I was playing a game on the PS3 not my Wii. The shaking of the controller in every fight seems so contrived that it turned me off instantly. I honestly said out loud "Really?!? You have to be kidding me" when they wanted me to shake the controller every time I killed a baddy. Then to make it worse in boss battles you have to look like a bigger tool by shaking and pumping the thing till your wrists snap. I'm all for using the 6 axis if it has purpose and it feels like a part of the game. However this felt so tacked on that it fell apart and hindered the gaming experience.

The plot makes very little sense and you have to wonder why the characters are compelled to be in the situation they are. They don't give us incentive to want to continue playing. The ridiculous nature of the plot and what ties it all together is so bland and unbelievable that after you power off the game you totally forget all about it. The only thing that remains is disdain for yet another horrible RPG'ish game that can't stand up on it's own. It's like they forget the "Role" in role playing game. Instead your a bored observer that keeps smacking your head every time a character speaks at how dumb and ridiculous it all is. Like a bad B-movie that is so bad it's not even a good B-movie, MST3k wouldn't touch it.

Concept at it's core was cool and I wish I could have played the concept instead of the waist I was delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wasted Potential

posted by Eakin3 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Folklore is an example of questionable design choices and technical problems corrupting an otherwise solid foundation. The core game play focuses on dungeon crawls through various realms of the dead, using the Ids of your defeated foes to attack others. The play mechanics are simple and not especially deep but the variety of abilities you will acquire helps cover that up. In addition the art direction for the various Netherworlds are inspired, and the game looks great. You control two protagonists, intrepid reported Keats and a young girl searching for her lost memories named Ellen. Since you play each chapter from both of their perspectives, the game suffers from an awful lot of repetition. This could have been alleviated if the characters played in a more unique fashion, but they are pretty identical, so you will end up playing through the same level twice in pretty much the same fashion. This feels an awful lot like padding and stretches the levels and story scenes a little thin. What ultimately soured me on this title, however, was an intermittent glitch. When entering the tavern building at night, the game would go to a loading screen and freeze there. Even downloading the patch from PSN didn't stop the problem. The third time the game froze like this, deleting 30 minutes or so of my progress each time, I simply chose not to continue and shipped the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sent it back after playing for 30 minutes

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I got annoyed by the non-stop cut scenes that don't even have audio. You have to skip through dialog with the controller. Then when you finally get to moving around, the controls are clunky, and the cameras are generally fixed POV, pretty disappointing for a next gen game. I have to admit that I didn't give the game much of a chance, and I didn't get into the story far enough for it to be even slightly interesting to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Folklore

posted by dearthwing (VISTA, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

What can I say about this game? Boring! The music is put you to sleep. Which I did several times during the game. The storyline is boring! It's about how 2 unrelated characters get manipulated into entering the Netherworld. The video was good, when there was video, otherwise it was like reading a cartoon in the Sunday paper. If I wanted that, I would read the Sunday comics. The characters lacked dimension other than the main characters, and that was limited also. The battle system was very simple and it was the only time you had camera control of your character. The challenging things about the game, are the puzzles and deciding which 4 attacks will help you proceed through certain sections. I would not recommend this game, unless you are into elevator music and Sunday morning paper comics. This game was built up when it was first introduced, and is nothing compared to it's advertisements. I recommend "Don't Bother!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yawnable...

posted by Ferryloper (NORTH BABYLON, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I have a strong affinity for folk-tales and fables, so naturally I thought this would be a solid title. Of course I was 'dead' wrong (pardon the pun). The story moves along at the pace of an injured slug. By the time you've figured out what's going on you're already too bored too care. Game-play is sort of okay. The concept of killing foes and stealing their "ids" (aka souls) by yanking the 6-axis like you're reeling in a fish is pretty cool. Combat is tiresome and gets nauseating after only a few battles. What's more the background carnival-like music that plays over and over again like a bad horror flick, gets so irritating, that it makes you want to eject the title and send it back to GF -- wait -- that's exactly what I did. Wrap-up:

Graphics: B-
Gameplay: B
Story: D-
Concept: C+
Replay Value: D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fell asleep playing...

posted by JesterCGI (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

This game is creative, I'll give it that. But the actual play is slow and over-saturated with comic-book like still images instead of cut scenes.

Visually amazing. They really pushed the PS3 with the graphics that do move. Yet it's just not worth the time when GameFly has so many better games to spend that time on...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh man.

posted by CrazyJoe22 (Bloomington, IN) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Where to start, the game is bad just bad not too many redeeming factors. The graphics and landscapes are good. The stupid comic-style cut scenes that happen way too often and are way too annoying.

Game play, I hate that you HAVE to use the Sixaxis controls it's so annoying, it's like being forced to use the power glove. Every single time you switch your powers you go to a menu which is navigable for the most part but that's not my complaint, my complaint is it has to load each time you switch powers. It's unbearable since you have to do it so often... if you only had to do it every once in a while it wouldn't be a big deal, but no it's used quite frequently. The combat is fun despite having to switch skills basically every fight.

Graphics are actually very nice, the worlds are colorful and they differ so much from realm to realm it's a nice touch. The actual CG cut scenes are really good, but they're so few and far between that it really isn't a factor in the review. The character models are pretty detailed and animate well.

Story, I kinda skipped most of the cut scenes because of the weird comic book style... but what I got was this Keats guy is going to the village of the dead because some lady called him and told him that faeries would kill her if he didn't. Yeah... faeries, anyways he gets there and there's two girls one looking for her mother and one that's just spacing out hard core. Nothing exciting enough for me to watch those stupid cut scenes.

Overall it does a lot of things well, but it does even more bad... and this game doesn't mess around. The bad parts are so often and unavoidable that they quickly become unbearable. This game is horrifyingly bad. 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better

posted by evev187 (LAREDO, TX) Mar 20, 2009

Member since May 2006

This game could have been a lot better the story is ok. After a few hrs. I just could not keep playing no matter how hard I tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much work?

posted by gamermomo (AMARILLO, TX) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Excellent RPG game if you like to read alot. Very confusing, very slow getting into. Not enough action in the begining to get my attention. Graphic are very good in parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Folklore Pros/Cons

posted by Chukbeef (COVINGTON, VA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Good Graphics
-Interesting storytelling technique (story told/game played from the perspective of 2 different characters)

Cons:
-bad camera
-weak combat system
-too many/too long cut scenes
-lots of load screens

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was.....

posted by Autausaga (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

My first impression of this game in stores was, hey!this looks like a cool game to play. When i rented this game, the very day it arrived i popped it into my PS3,the layout was not what i had expected, it reminded me of Enchanted Arms which i thought was a terrible game!.I wish the intro to the game wasn't so corny, the action however is alright a lot of six axis usage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse