Rent Folklore for PS3
view large frontback

Folklore

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

4217 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good for gamers who care for the Story

posted by Ngo (DREXEL HILL, PA) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I'm not gonna lie, you HAVE to like books to like the game
because your going to be doing A LOT of reading, Folklore has a good story full of twists and surprises but most people won't play this for the story (which is lovely)
but rather play just for the art direction which is worth it alone
The art direction is one of the best I've ever seen. each folk is treated beautifully and uniquely and each folk looks like they belong in the realms they inhabit
The Netherealms are in one word Flawless
once you enter you just want the world to go on and on and never end

the only problem is the side quest, they feel EXTREMELY repetitive and useless (unless you want the rare folks) but other then that the game is beautiful and that alone is worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastical Story & Unique Game Itself!

posted by adamsfam10 (LEICESTER, NC) Dec 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

It's come to my attention to write this review of Folklore. I've played it before. No punt intended to rhyme :). The minds behind SCE have head-first sucked me into this particular game title. For instance, the storyline. A young woman, named Ellen, !!SPOILER!! finds herself at the Cliffs of Doolin Village, where she beleives she's met her long-lost mother. The woman is staring out over the cliff and then jumps. Ellen is a wreck and in a state of shock and aw! She runs down to the beach to find the woman, was NOT her mother. Yet, another womans' mother. The scene then cuts off there. The story reminds me of straight-storyboard art creation, as it was made straight from the drawing board and then casted a comic-feel. The storyline & plot are solid. However, if your going to play it, your going to need patience. The story doesn't unfold piece by piece, like I thought it would. There's also a sense of You determining what could happen. Giving the sense and element of mystery and surprise. The story is in my opinion, it's best attribute!

Now, onto the gameplay. At first I wasn't sure what the "Cloak" would represent, which gives you, Ellen, your power to fight Folklore. With your magicial attacks, absorbed by collecting Folklore ID's. You become stronger and more effective with every Folklore you absolve. There's a level of mature thematic elements and isn't for kids of all ages. There's wizardry, crime-drama elements, death, and it is an emotional gameplay throughout. However, for mature adults, it's a great experience! The brilliance here, I beleive, is how you go about obtaining the Folklore ID's. You'll absolve them, yes. BUT! You'll have to shake your controller and become part of the game in order to make it successful EVERY time! It puts YOU at the heart of the action!

The sound effects, music are all top notch! I have nothing negative to say.

The length of the game is quite long! For a 1 disc game, I'd give it over 40+ hours easily.

10 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantasy

posted by MichaelMMX (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i own this game and i love it! the way you have to use the motion sensor on the controller is way awesome and the costumes rock! and well i cant think of anything more at say about this game...no negitves just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by honestly (YANKTON, SD) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game was so awesome! One of the rare times I actually enjoyed the story line. It wasnt corny and it didnt come out too early. This game was too cool and I hardly play rpg's but this game was too cool!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

this game was realy cool and it had alot the elements that i like in an ACTION RPG. it has a unique fighting system, you can chose who you want the main character to be (you play as one and then play as the other to unlock the full story) the story is a mystery and a REALY good one that keeps you guessing.

the fighting system is using the souls of the enemies as weapons (sounds wierd but works perfectly with the story and everything) you fight monsters and hit them untill their soul turns red then you suck them in and can equip them.

the graphics and just the pure amaginatin that whent into the bords and the enemies is astounding. the visualls are stunning at every level and even the simplest things are realy detailed.

the story is realy gripping, i recomend that you play as Elen first then Keats because Keats is figuring out the systery the whole time while Elen is trying to figure out her past, so if you play as Keats first i belive it will ruen the story for you (not completely but it will make more sence). i also liked how the story was told as like a living comic, with some videos thrown in every once in a while, it sounds wierd but the way the story was presented in comic book fasion made me like the story even more.

i would definitly recomend this game, i was just playing the game and one of my friends on the PS NETWORK sent me a message "what is folklore" so even the title is intreging, so i say thats reason enough to rent this title, there is some replay value but only to obtain 100% of the monsters and clothing along with the side quests but other than that i give this a rent not buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totaly kick Butt

posted by Ascendance (EVERETT, WA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I dont know why anyone would not like this game i love the whole Sixaxis support and all a great all around hack and slash rpg one of my favorites!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definitely a love it or hate it kind of affair

posted by gti443 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

When I first heard about this game I was kind of hyped for it, but then... I played the first demo. I wasn't impressed at all, but I gave it a shot anyway and was very pleasantly surprised. This is by far the most fun I've had with an action/adventure RPG in a long time.

The story is far and away one of the best I've ever seen in a game. Best I can describe it is a supernatural murdery mystery. However watch out for some spotty translations that sometimes lead to a bit of confusion, but never really detract from the game. The characters have a great deal of depth to them, and the "comic book" cutscenes really work well. Graphics are solid, albeit not groundbreaking, but the design and the mood the game presents is incredible. Between the visuals and the (excellent) music it really draws you into the Tim Burton-esque fantasy world that is Folklore.

The gameplay is basically hack'n'slash, but you can collect over 100 different "folks" with different attack abilities. There's alot of judging elemental weakness with your foes, though you'll get picture book pages that'll spell things out a bit. The SIXAXIS control is subtle, and probably one of the best I've seen yet, once you defeat an enemy you can suck out their essence by tugging the controller upwards. Some more advanced enemies or minibosses require a number of slightly different techniques such as tilting from side to side or pulling up when the folk flashes a different color.

All in all, this game is definitely on the quirky side, and I can see why reviews are mixed. However it's one of the most polished, original experiences I've seen in a game for quite some time, and I've got to recommend a long rent at least to put it through it's paces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Great Play!

posted by Solbady (FOREST HILLS, NY) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Folklore is a game where you play as two characters named Ellen and Keats. They are located in the area of Dollen in Ireland there they enter the Netherworld where they find mysterious creatures! The game is by far really, really well made. The story is very clear and to the point and the characters are very well designed for a game created five years ago, the only minor con is the fact that when you are in a very crowded area be aware of sharp FPS (Frames Per Second) Spikes, which won't make the game unplayable but will create quite some lag. All in all, this game is great for anybody that likes games that are very long, seeing as this game can go for 40+ hours. The combat is really well displayed from the variety of attacks, the environmental atmosphere is very well displayed, and the voice acting is superb! This game is great for people that enjoy the JRPG, or RPG franchise, and adventure games alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I am pleasantly satisfied. The gameplay is very ingaging and interesting. At times, it is a bit difficult to figure out where you are supposed to do next... Had to look at a walkthrough.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by shi8778 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If you want a quick play, this game is good for that - good story line, although sometimes it drags on a bit, easy controls, lots of action. However, if you want a game that takes awhile, this is a good game also because it takes time to really build up the characters. It doesn't get old though, even though anyone watching would be bored after 5 minutes. It's challenging enough to keep you entertained, but not so hard that you get so frustrated you don't want to play for awhile. My fiance and I have really enjoyed playing this game, and trying out the two different main characters who follow the same story line, but run into different creatures. Our only complaint is that the game could use more side-quests for building up the creatures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated Mystery, RPG, action/adventure game.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Mar 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

When I checked my game queue and saw that they shipped Folklore and not Mirrors Edge or something, I wasn't super excited. Man was I wrong! As soon as I started a game, I was awestruck by the characters and incredible story!! The graphics are superb, voice acting really struck me as amazing. The story caught me by surprise though, I was expecting a cool hardcore action RPG but got an extremely deep mystery instead. That's a good thing if you were wondering. Although, some people will find it boring, the Prologue is really fun, and then you might want to send it back after you start level 1, but give it another try, even though it's confusing finding out where to go because of a useless map, if you take a few takes at it, you'll get it and find yourself having fun again.

Pros: Incredibly deep story, deep intriguing characters, awesome voice acting, truly imaginative creatures, really nice graphics, game play is good, level design is okay.

Cons: Annoying music, completely useless map, checkpoint placement is bad.

I would totally recommend this game to adventurers, RPGers, and someone looking for a deep mystery adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Completely Breathtaking Graphics and Gameplay

posted by Jodocus (CENTRALIA, IL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is simply the best game of its class. I have never played a game where you absorb the powers of creatures and use them to defeat mega bosses. This game kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time and even has a challenge to it! It took strategy and careful gameplay to defeat the bosses later in the game.

This is defiantly a must have for anyone's RPG collection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique, beautiful, and fun.

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Most underrated game ever? Yes I think so.

First off lets start with the bad.

The boss battles leave a little to be desired simply because they require certain folks to beat them, some of which you may not get with a normal play through. That and the tactics needed to beat the bosses are a bit cheesy.

Other then that the game is perfect.

The graphics are amazing. They are not a realistic amazing but are stunning none the less. The overall artistic style and colors that are used will blow you away.

The characters are very likable and you get attached to them and their story.

You actually play through the game twice, once with each main character revealing more story and different powers and such.

The combat is unique and fun.

The music and sounds in game are top notch.

There is a lot of story to this game and a lot of reading, very little actual voice work, but what voice acting is in game is done extremely well.

This game does have replay value so I would say it is a must buy for gamers that like a story driven and different game.

Also there is a fair amount of DLC out for this game which adds more quest and costumes.

The only reason this did not score perfect for me was because of the cheesy boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty, enjoyable, addicting

posted by itaru4 (OMAHA, NE) Mar 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

Basically this game is about unfolding a mythology based story from the aspect of different playable characters. You collect different creatures (folks) to help you.

I've played this about a week now and plan to buy it. It has elements that remind me of Myst, RPGs, and Pokemon. The action isn't so fast paced, but it isn't dull. There is a lot to do; also, the downloadable quests and content make for a lot of addicting potential. Basically it is easygoing entertainment with cartoony action that makes it a nice alternative to a lot of the violent ps3 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by 12gauge (LA PORTE, IN) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I was a little skeptical when I played the demo of this game, I couldn't even play the demo all the way through, but I went ahead and rented it anyway. Then when I got it and started playing it I couldn't stop. Everything from the gameplay to the storyline is very original. With such a variety of enemies, you also get a large selection of attacks. Leveling up these attacks is fun as well. You also can play as 2 different characters. Which is a must if you want to get the most out of the storyline. Which is also very interesting and keeps you wanting more. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes RPG style games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good, depending on what your looking for.

posted by Emil2015 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Here is the run down in my oppinion. If you want an interesting story that leaves you guessing untill the end you got it. People have complained that there is almost no world interaction, there isn't, but keep in mind this is an RPG. Lets go look at one of the popular RPGs. The FF series, I have only played up to FFX but from what I remember there really isnt any world interaction. So does that make the game bad? No the story's are usually great. That is the point of an RPG. The gameplay is not FF like, it is an action adventure, like the Kingdom hearts game. If you want a highly interactive world go get the Orange box and play half-life 2, that has ammazing interaction. The world you are in is very pretty and detailed. You have to play the game with both char to complete the entire story. At first i though it was going to be a drag, but they made the different char's side of the story and spells they use different. So instead of being repetitious it was actually refreshing. Also do not judge the game on the first 20min. You need to play for a while to fully see the game, at first it is just simply introducing people, setting up the senario and showing how you got started on your trip. One more thing to add, the CGs are far and few between. When they do pop up they look amazing, but most of the story is done through an interesting comic book style dipiction of still frames and chat bubbles. You will either enjoy it because it is different or you will hate it because you enjoy the actual CGs so much. Do not they this one style difference destroy your entire enjoyment of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply awesome action/rpg

posted by BrickSide (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Nov 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

There's a reason why the Sony consoles have been the king of RPG's for 10 years now, and Folklore only adds to that tradition. I can't say much about the story without giving it away, but I will say that you basically get to meet the dead. But you do get to play as two characters: Ellen and Keats. Word of warning however, you MUST play the game as both characters. It's not an option but a requirement.

With that being said, i'll quickly say that the game looks great (though doesn't exactly push the PS3 hardware) and sounds amazing. In an odd choice, they limited the voice acting and instead adopted a comic-book style of narrative for most of the game. It works and is something different, but voice acting still would have been better since what little of it there is was done exceptionally well.

Controls for the game are fairly good as well. You have to play some parts of the game with fixed camera angles, but when in battle you can move it around. The Sixaxis is also used to capture the different creatures, called folks, and that works very well. Navigating the menus is also a breeze, and there's a button dedicated soley to selecting what folk you want, which is also easy to do. The characters themselves control just fine, too.

You get two characters and both are actually quite different, which is good and bad. Keats is the easier one to use, but his side of the game is more difficult. His attacks aren't delayed and he is able to recover his magic fully in a few seconds. He also has a powered-up state as well. Ellen is the total opposite. Her quest would be a breeze with Keats, but she is slower to evade, lacks the power-up state, takes longer to get her magic back and there's usually delays with her attacks. While Keats uses the folks as an extension of himself, Ellen summons to whole thing which puts her out of harms way, but also makes it more difficult to attack repeatedly.

If you like action/rpg's, then give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game in a curious way...

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to admit when I played the demo for this it completely turned me off. When the game released I was completely skeptical of it. After about 2 hours of playing I found I could not put the controller down. The story while confusing in parts is excellent and original. Characters and monsters are odd but easy to get used to. Use of the sixaxis is well done. This game is easily a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Plea To Gamers

posted by P05TF03TU5 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

It's really sad to see the poor reception that unique games (Okami, Psychonauts, Ico) like this receive. Folklore is a fantastic game and one of the most imaginative games I've played in a long time. It really surprises me that anyone would give this game a score below 7. I think a majority of reviews, regardless the source, provide concrete evidence to justify their rating. I mean, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but I feel people are overly harsh in order to just see something fail. Here's why this game deserves no less than a 7 even from the most unimpressed of reviewers:

Pros:
Strategic and customizable game play
Two playable characters who have different id's and abilities
Impressive graphics that really fit a fairytale world
Fantastic level and character design, plus some of the most fluid animation I've seen. Just amazing presentation overall
7 unique, and gorgeous realms that actually are actually inspired by actual folklore
Over 100 Id's (all upgradeable through specific objectives), plus future downloadable id's, costumes, and quest
Strong frame rate w/ no tearing nor next-gen shadowing problems
A game that finally uses the sixaxis motion controls in a fun and immersive way
30 hrs. of game play
A dungeon creation mode that unlocks bonuses

Cons:
The voice acting and dialogue could of been much better for Ellen and Keats
There is quite a bit of backtracking
A slight delay after changing id's (I don't find this to be a issue)
Some Id's are very similar to others
You must play through the same realms with both characters to finish the game (I recommend you play both characters back to back).
Soul collecting can be tedious for certain id's

This has nothing to do with the console war that fan boys have declared. This game is worth the time regardless of the system it's on. Please, don't listen to the 5.0 nay sayers and at least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interesting to say the least

posted by Kleintime7 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

When I started this game, I was ready for your typical RPG game. Boy was I shocked. The game starts off a little slow but then it picks up with a quickness and never lets go.

If you are into graphics, then this game is for you. If you are into storylines, then this game is for you. If you want something a little different from your run of the mill Action/RPG games, then this game is for you.

The only two downfalls I can come up with is the silly use of the control where you have to jerk your controller to capture a soul... it seems like they were just looking for a reason to make it "interactive". The other is that you have to play some levels twice as different characters. I could have done without that because there is really no change between the two characters.. down to the cut scenes.

I say give this game a try if you are looking for something new and interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprising

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the demo for this game and I was interested but not overwhelmed. I must say that I have to change that. Folklore brings to the PS3 what it needed most, a decent RPG. While its not a traditional RPG, it has the look and the story of an RPG while it plays more like an action RPG along the lines of the recent X-Men games. The coolest part of of the game is that you get to capture the creatures you fight ghost buster's style. If you yank the PS3 controller up (or left and right), you can capture the creatures and use them in battle after you defeat them. The game is more fun than I thought it would be. The story carries the game and makes it interesting, even when you are just wading through mindless swarms of "Folk." If you like RPGs, this game will get you by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG action game

posted by Cronos (DULUTH, MN) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok I downloaded the demo to try this game out. it is wicked fun. You play as 2 different characters. Both with there own style of fighting. You collect the souls of the monsters you defeat and claim there powers as your own. You have a mana bar and a health bar. You use the six axes to yank the souls from there bodies. The more of a certain type you take some times it will upgrade there magic. Like more combo attacks or a stronger attack. Others you must collect items through game play to upgrade. The game play is fun and the graphics are really good. Not as good as Heavenly sword mind you but still very pretty. I would check this game out. If this game takes me longer then a week to bear I may buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Esperwolf (NEWARK, OH) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Folklore is an imaginative and amazing. It keeps you guessing who the killer is making you want to know more and more. The Faery's are unique and each have a role to play. The cut-screens are also unusual in the fact they read like a comic. The only bad thing is the fact that when switching between characters the layout of the land does not change. Also when you react the end and the killer is right there but you have to play the other character up to that point as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underated!!

posted by KittyBangOuch (CORALVILLE, IA) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is a gem that is often overlooked. It is a third person rpg. In the beginning you are a young woman in your mother's hometown, who is now deceased. You are trying to find out about her life and why she moved the two of you away when you were a young child. In the midst of your investigation you discover that at night the local tavern is filled with supernatural beings that few people can see. They offer to help you find your mother and the battle in the other world begins.
It doesn't have a card system or anything, but you collect the monsters that you defeat and use them as weapons. It takes a bit of wit for this game because it also has a mystery and puzzle angle to it and you have to solve riddles to figure out what monsters to use against other ones.
Compelling story line, has two characters you must play through to complete the game and each one has a different story. Also has many other interesting side characters to meet.
Upping the replay value is the fact that new dlc and missions are released for free on Playstation Network. Definitely a game you must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Folklore

posted by dvgirl (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The Game is pretty colorful and challenging at different levels. Its pretty nice and keeps you wanting to unfold the next step to the story line. Although the last boss is pretty annoying to beat, but overall this game is not what it seems to be as far as easy or a little kids game that you think you can breeze through. Be ready to put some time and figuring out for this one. Overall nice game, graphics, and colors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse