Rent Flip's Twisted World for Wii
view large frontback

Flip's Twisted World

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

70 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Boy, am I disappointed!

posted by Gamemama (TAMPA, FL) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was REALLY looking foward to this game, especially since I'm an avid lover of the Mario Galaxy series. I was really hoping that this game would build on Mario's success of world-flipping. Boy, was I sorely disappointed!

The camera is a joke, the puzzles are maddening, and the game's got more glitches than I would expect of a game that had an original release date of April! For example, in many cases, hitting A twice for a double jump results in a single jump and sure death. Checkpoints don't always work, throwing you back to the beginning of a level. Directions are sorely lacking - many times I found myself lost and unable to figure out which path to take next.

Go dust off your copy of Super Mario Galaxy and play that instead. Or, even better, Kirby's Epic Yarn or Donkey Kong's newest. You'll have a lot more fun without the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So close but yet soooo far...

posted by animorphs3 (MANSFIELD, OH) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game. I really did. I have been following it in various magazines since I originally heard about it. Imagine how happy I was to get such a new game as "Available Now" in my queue. Five minutes into the game, it was packed back up and ready to ship back to Gamefly.

The game has something to do with you being taken in by a wizard who doesn't want you to follow in his footsteps. Enjoy the opening voice over work...because that's all you'll hear. The hero is silent, which is perfectly fine. (See: Mario, Link, etc.) However, the hero makes NO noise whatsoever. Fall to your death, silence. Hit an enemy, silence. Everything in the world is silent, except for a MIDI soundtrack downloaded from any free MIDI site you wish to visit. This would be fine too, if the gameplay wasn't broken.

You jump with A and double jump by hitting it again. The camera is insane. Seriously. It has its own mind of where it wants to be. (Helpful hint: it will appear anywhere you don't want it to be.) The camera controls are mapped rather oddly, but they do work. (Seriously, we need the D pad (four buttons) and plus and minus (for a total of six) to control a camera that doesn't work? The game looks like a low budget title thrown together in a game programming class by a group of freshman.

The flip mechanic is broken. If you flip the world EXACTLY as the game thinks you should, then you'll be fine. But don't attempt to flip without completely stopping and standing in once place. And if you need to flip a box onto the floor, make sure you do so so that you can stand behind it, or else you won't be able to move the box. You'll then have to kill yourself to attempt to fix it. The checkpoint system randomly decides to work.

Save yourself the rental. Enjoy another awesome Wii game instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No... Just, no...

posted by jalapeno (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

Before this game was released, it was hyped up in smaller gaming communities as a callback to oldschool 3D platformer from the 90s. Unfortunately, this means it plays much like you would expect a 90s platformer would on a current-gen console. Controls are clunky and unresponsive, combat might as well not exist since you can hardly hit your opponents, and the goals/puzzles of each location are unclear and uninspired. If you want to feel nostalgia for 90s platformers, do yourself a favor and play Spyro or something. This game is nothing more than a disappointment and an embarrassment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Easy/Too Hard

posted by Mandie82 (MEDFORD, OR) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

On one hand, the gameplay was too easy, since as soon as a puzzle was introduced, there were about 50 little people to tell you exactly what to do. On the other hand, the controls were difficult and not enough explanation was given for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip Flip

posted by RickToo (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I loved the idea when I read about this game, but it was mostly an exercise in aggravation when we actually loaded it up. The controls were difficult to work--to the point that I couldn't walk in a straight line. The camera angle veered wildly and unpredictably and did not respond to the camera controls on the remote. I was particularly frustrated with the way the help files (in the form of excessively juvenile talking snails) played every time I re-entered a room...and the poor control over my character meant that I kept re-entering the room where I'd have to scroll through all the 'help' dialog again and again.

The flipping mechanic is pretty cool and it's well implemented. It's intuitive and you really can rotate through all three axes. I'd love to see it implemented in a game with a less juvenile look-and-feel and with some of the other issues I described above cleared up.

It took less than an hour for my two sons and me to give up on this game and go do something else. Anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »