Rent FlatOut for Xbox
view large frontback

FlatOut

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

1028 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is not good....flat out

posted by washins (EL RENO, OK) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw an ad for this game I thought it had promise, and it did. But after actually getting my hands on a copy this past weekend it really didn't live up to the expectations, or even really that close.

First things to mention are the controls, or lack thereof. Controlling your car at times is impossible and any wrong bump can send your driver flying through the windshield. Second thing to harp on is the lack of fun minigames, they're all there -- but you gotta unlock 75% of them first. This involves tedious races of weird AI and no cutting through on the tracks.

Do you like jumping hills?!?!? Too bad! It looks like you can, but once you hit the incline your guy catapults through the windshield like he hit a brickwall, not fun.

This game is a Friday night drunk tester, have a good laugh on the high jump and figure eight bonus track and then send it packin'.

4.2 Presentation
Horrible music, no storyline, no personality to any races...really needs a major overhaul.

8.5 Graphics
Decent looking grahics with great framerate and easy on the eye.

7.7 Sound
The crashes are nice, but the music is distracting and seriously bad.

3.1 Gameplay
Screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee..- ..crash through windshield, repeat.

3.0 Lasting Appeal
Not much redeeming value on this one. Rent first and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

it was ok

posted by jazo567 (STRATFORD, CT) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

flatout is a ok game when u frist play it it fun then after a while u get bored and if u crash the compter car cacth up then u cant pass them at all even the was at last u cant pass the crashes are pretty real i suggest u rent it rather then buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweet!!

posted by weewawoo (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

Now the only reason i gave this a 9 is there could be more mini-games but other that that its a GREAT GAME!!!(but then again im not a teen yet, and i still like see things blow up or crash!!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flatout boring

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) Oct 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

This game could have been better. The graphics are pretty sweet. But all the cars in the game look like, well BAD . This game took a matter of hours to beat and after that it gets really boring. I hope the second one is better.
This game is for renting not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty much unplayable

posted by OnBake (VALLEY CENTER, CA) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

I thought this game would be fun. It's not. The cars are next to impossible to control, the music is God Awful (and no custom soundtrack support), none of the minigames are fun or even playable, it just plain sucks. I even cheated and got the best car in the game, and still couldn't drive worth anything. Also I was playing a destruction derby (terrible) and the last car magically vanished off the map and the radar didn't even work. POS game.

Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

I was not impressed with this game by the slightest. Yeah I know you can fly out of your car and the guy looks pretty cool but overall the game was just not that fun. I probably put about 2 hours and no more into this game. I unlokced the special games and played al ittle bit of them and didn't really care for them. A few of them were alright but like I said in the beginning I just wasn't impressed, I guess I was expecting more than the game provided. I saw the game previewed on T.V. and I saw advertisements for them game also, I thought it was going to be alot more than it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-so...

posted by Throwdown (SMYRNA, TN) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

I'll be honest, I made a mistake in purchasing this game without having played it first. It looked so cool and like it would be a blast and it is- for the first ten minutes. Then you realize many, many mistakes in the game: first is that the cars handle horribly, even after all of the upgrades you can buy for it, and on the tracks that have hairpin turns and many obstacles, this tends to get extremely frustrating. Second is that the cars look horrible. I mean really, who wants to drive a car this beat-up and just plain ugly? Third is the repetitiveness of the tracks. You'll feel like your racing on the same track over and over and over again. The only saving grace of the game and reason it got an average score was the hilarous rag-doll physics and the insane mini-games. Those could be played for hours. The only problem is that the minigames are locked until you play through part of the dismal racing mode. My advice- skip over it unless you can endure a few hours of pain to unlock hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright

posted by texasrules (CLYDE, TX) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

first off it was good, but after awhile it just got annoying. the funest thing was the mini games which took forever to unlock. It was pretty much see how far you can throw your guy out the window

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

flatout dum

posted by timeman72 (BETHEL, OH) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

even thow the game starts out ok its just the same thing over and over again. how far can you get the driver to flay out of the car. what fun is that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »