Rent FlatOut for PS2
view large frontback

FlatOut

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox
GF Rating
6.4

991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST PS2 CAN PUT OUT.

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Jul 6, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you even just like racing a little bit this is THE game to rent. and if you love racing games this is a must have. this is the best racing game I've ever played. (it ties with gran turismo 4) it is perfect. the damage system is probailly the best a PS2 can put out. your car falls apart and dents like a real car. not like GTA where little pieces fly off no matter what. the car catches on fire and wheels can fall off its amazing. the racing is very unique. it combines drifting and drag racing and destruction derby all into 1. and the computer drivers aren't mindless either. (like in GT3+4 when they stay in a line). no these racers are competitive. they'll ram you and each other to win. its almost like they're real. and when you're racing the cd tracks are redneck rockish and it really gets you in the mood to smash stuff but if you don't like it then you can shut the music off to and put on a stereo or something. you get faster cars as you go along and you can buy oodles and oodles of upgrades for all of them. and you can really tell the difference when you do buy them. as for the mini games (aka bonus races) they're also some of the best i've ever seen. and loads of fun to. they pay more $ the further you get in the game (3 stages). even though they're all the same concept they're all unique. some easier than others. they range from destruction derby's to mud races to throw the rag doll 100meters in the air to darts with the rag doll. there's 12 total. there's also online mode but i dunno what's in that because i returned it just before i got my PS2 online:( you can also race with a friend and 4 computer ppl or 6 humans online/LAN. i over heated my ps2 slim twice from playing this so long and i've rented it twice like i said earlier if you even just like racing a little bit this is THE game to rent. and if you love racing games this is a must have. also check out DESTRUCTION DERBY RAW (not available on gamefly but you can get for about $5 at any game store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the best since Destruction Derby Raw

posted by carscar (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 5, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a car game fan, writing about exactly the kind of car game I dig. I'm not into ghetto racing, fast and furious or GT type racing games, I like a racing game where I can hear the suspensions squeek and the metal twist without a sports anchor guy commenting the race in the background. I also like to be able to turn off the music. So if you're like me, with a real taste for smashing big american 70's floatmobiles (which maybe a narrow target), you'll enjoy Flat Out.

Great things about this game:
you can upgrade your car and feel it improve as more tracks unlock, during a race you can wander off and explore the scenery, you can smash and destroy just about anything that's laying around which is useful to clear up your way or block others, the crash physics (you see your car accurately deteriorate) and sounds are spectacular and the tracks are pretty diverse. The whole thing is addictive if you can get pass the initial stage of the basic cars and make lots of $$$ to improve your ride.

Cons:
there is not much flexibility to the replay, not very much choice of cars, some tracks are too similar.

There, a cool game, not for snobs, just cool fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The most destructive racing game out there. Period

posted by npsken (FLORENCE, MA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is unlike any other racing game ever invented. The damage modeling is spectacular, the sense of speed is awesome, and the mini games are really cool. Words can't even completely describe this, and the videos don't do justice. ADD THIS TO YOUR GAMEQ NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

flat out awesome

posted by Jason76 (ABINGDON, MD) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

picture nascar meets desturction derby and you get this game loads of fun and you laugh your head off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flatout gets flat boring.Thats a dumb title

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Who doesn't love the ragdoll physics. Flatout brings just that. The body flying out the window thing made me laugh so hard. The graphics are great and the car physics are gorgiouse. Career Mode is very boring though. Maybe after 3 hours you'll get tired of it. Yes, you'll get tired of it and skip right to the mini games. If I could offer my opinion for first timers, you'll have a great time with the bowling, darts, and the one where you launch the driver out when the car is like 7 feet in the air. Then enjoy seeing that punk driver pumble to the ground like the ragdoll he is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT PHIYSICS

posted by taylorbrac (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This GAME HAS GREAT PHYSICS By destroying thing and launching you r charecter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak

posted by anoymonus (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game had a very good idea about the driver flying out the windshield. The rag doll physics were ok, but i still didn't have fun with it. the cars are horrible. I wish they put actual cars and even though the bullet looks like a real car its not. The bonus levels were probably the best levels. The racing is mad weak. I am a fan of racing, but i just could not stand the way we had to get nitrous. It was ok for the first few minutes, but then it got boring. The other thing is the driver flying out the window if you hit the wall kinda of cool, but it gets aggravating after too. All in all this game was weak and I really hope Flatout 2 is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fLatout

posted by jonjo12321 (FRESNO, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is great for a racing game, but I'm not in to games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Flatout...good but could be better

posted by tsb2247 (VENTURA, CA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

This game is fun for a while but after plaing it for 3 hours, you are tired of it and change to a different game...This game is good because the graphics and physics are good but it is not so good because the career mode is EXTREMELY boring and the game lacks depth and customizable options...Overall, this game is fun to rent but you will want to send it back quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN FUN FUN

posted by julesjarod (HOMESTEAD, FL) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

We just got this game and have had nothing but fun sice we put it in the PS2. The races are real, the games are hilarious, and the gameplay is realistic and yet manageable. Rent it, buy it, try it you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FLATOUT 2 IS ALOT BETTER

posted by xsvruler (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

THIS GAME CAN'T COMPARE TO IT'S BROTHER GAME. ALL THE CARS ARE THE SAME AND THEY'RE ALL SLOW. I WOULD RATHER GET FO2 THAN FO1. SIMPLE WAY TO SAY THIS...... THE GAME IS WORSE THEN THE TAMPA BAY DEVIL RAYS AGINST THE MINNESOTA TWINS. EVEN EASIER WAY TO SAY THIS..... IT SUCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste

posted by Blitz0921 (AURORA, CO) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

If you like games that go from simple to impossible in about 2 seconds then you've found your game. This terrible game goes from winning every single game to losing every race horribly.

Pros: graphics are pretty nice, engine sounds are realilistic, variety of cars and thats about it

Cons: Controls are wack and too sensitive, the game cheats and does everything to make you lose, destruction derby has time (how stupid is that??!!), when you mess up once on a race your gonna have to restart, mini games are pretty hard

All in all unless your some hardcore destruction derby hick, skip this game, or maybe wait for FlatOut 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

bad racing game

posted by clayton (WICHITA, KS) Jun 19, 2006

Member since May 2005

flat out isn't the best but has its moments. the best in my opion is the demolition derby. besides that the game isn't to good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by cashman712 (TORRINGTON, CT) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

this game is very boring! DO NOT ADD THIS TO UR GAMEQ!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »