Rent Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.1

982 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally, they use the engine properly.

posted by VTMarik (EVERETT, WA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, I love the Dynasty Warriors series and all of its spin offs. Part of me is still holding out hope for a Liberty or Death themed version. The only part of those games that I never found all that satisfying was the fact that you are supposedly a regular (albeit famous) soldier in a battlefield, but yet you can lay waste to a cloud of soldiers with a couple of button presses. Take that same level of combat complexity, twist the fan service knob to 11 then break it off, and you'll get something like Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage. This game takes the Dynasty Warriors concept and drops it smack into the center of one of the most famous and influential manga/anime series that exists.

The story is right from the manga: Kenshiro, heir to the secret assassination art Hokuto Shinken, seeks the return of the one he loves and to defend those who are being preyed upon by the strong and evil. To achieve this he travels the land, popping peoples heads off with the slightest touch.

The gameplay is pretty basic. You have a fast attack, strong attack, special attack, block, and jump. Using different combinations gets you different results, but in the end there aren't really that many combos you can chain together. The real magic of this game comes in the rendering of the special moves used by the various characters.

The graphics and voice acting are wonderful. The combat animations, especially the over-the-top death animations, are phenomenal. The level design is pretty stark, but since this is a post apocalyptic world, that's understandable. With the voices, you may hear the same jibe again and again, but the main characters are voiced well.

The game is definitely something you should play, but only a purchase if you're a fan of the source material, like Koei games, or just enjoy the visceral thrill of watching people explode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash!

posted by warrior78 (BEAUMONT, CA) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok..i got this game because i watch some "awesome" videos about it...i was so exited when i got it..once i started playing it..(in less than a minute) i knew it that the game it was bad..but not that BAD!..i mean..the characters are so freaking slow,combos (the same over all the game)so slow and weak...when you're not fighting (running) is fast..once you start fighting..well that's another story..the game by far.. the worse game I EVER PLAYED in all my life..the fighter's so slow,the enemy (AI) it is so ridicules hard (especially on challenge mode) ..even with my stronger character i couldn't defeat the first enemy..i was all the time like "COME ON!" "REALLY?"...i mean..4 hits and you're dead..the point is..this game.. shouldn't be call "a game" is just trash..i feel so sorry for the creators of the game for all the money they spent in it..

i don't even think this game deserves "1 star" not even one!..

100% not recommended this game..big waste of your time.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wanted to like Fist...but couldn't.

posted by SpyderBlk (ELMHURST, NY) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of Fist of the North Star since I seen the American Anime Movie version first released in the mid 80's. I was unaware of the series until the mid 90's. I know there have been many games based on the series many of which limited to Japanese releases. I was very happy to know that after all these years there is still interest in the series.

This game however really let me down. Koei, the developer, uses the same cookie cutter formula for all their games. This game is no different. Each character has his/her own moves, specials (which are moves), look and story line. EVERYTHING else is exactly the same. You start each level fighting a mob of dudes that all look the same, mob after mob after mob until you reach the levels boss or semi boss (semi bosses can block). Each level as so similar its painful to complete. The animations are very lacking. Ken, the main character uses a technique that causes his victims to explode. The animations of this within the game is just starching the characters pixels.

Pros:
Playing as familiar characters of the series Ken, Rei
Playing the world of Fist of the North Star
Performing signature moves

Cons:
Boring after the third level
Painfully repetitive
Bad animation
Bad voice acting
Bad stage design

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not Dynasty Warriors

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got excited for this game when I heard it was similar to Dynasty Warriors only to be disappointed. This game moves at a much slower pace than Dynasty Warriors and the large pack of enemies only serve as an annoyance rather than a fun slaughter fest. Since you only use your fists which have little range there are only a very limited amount of combos that you will actually find useful for dealing with crowds. I put in about ten hours of this game before sending it back and I used the same combo XXYY pretty much 99% of the time because I didn't want to go around punching each enemy three times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's like Dynasty Warrios without the range

posted by NeonLotus (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Fist of the North Star is an interesting game; it's 'sold' as somewhat tongue and cheek but the game seems to take itself quite seriously. This is not, however, not what makes this game less than great; the game lacks range, not in gameplay but literal, attack range. The game is constantly throwing semi-large groups of enemies at you but gives you a limited range based on the characters arms instead of weapons like similar games in the genre (i.e. Dynasty Warriors). It's this 'feature' that makes the game a bit tedious as you kind of have to hit and kill each enemy specifically to move on instead of being able to do one sweeping attack to take out several.

Other than that the game is okay, pretty much hack and slash action but the story seems to be decently interesting.

Fist of the North Star is like many of the games in it's genre but doesn't have the greatest execution among them; you may find Ken's Rage to be fun but there could be other similar games you'd probably like more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fist of the north star

posted by ryuken (MEDFORD, MA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game isn't exactly bad it just could have been better. if you are A fan of the fist of the north star universe then you should rent it or if you enjoy dynasty warrior games.

p.s the only fun chracters to use are the nanto chracters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This franchise is already dead

posted by Gelidity (BERKELEY, CA) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It must just be me that is tired of button mashers. They a;ll play the same way, smash X and Y for combos and roll out of the way of danger, Kenshiro just doesn't like to roll that much.

Can't anyone come up with a game engine that isn't a run and gun or a button masher. Running around pressing the same button over and over is not fun, just like in God of War.

This just goes to prove my theory of these "new age gamers" do not want a challenge. It really is clearly want the masses want. Fable has a dog to find buried treasure for you and a gold trail telling you where everything is. This game, press the attack button enough and you won't die, unless it is a boss fight. Slaughterhouse, if you just run around press "LT+X" you will slice everything up nicely. The old 2D versions of most of these games were harder.

The fancier ad more "realistic" these games get, the more glitches there are. This game did not have any glaring glitches, but it is also very cartoonish, is there a connection as to why this one was practically glitch free and Castlevania is full of glitches?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by MrNecro (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Shamefully remade dynasty warriors clone. If your mom finds out that you are playing such a poorly made game she will disown you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fail of the North Star

posted by Kr8dle (OXFORD, GA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Had Potential
Had Hope
Had a chance....
Had to return it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dynasty warriors oops i mean fist of the northstar

posted by Akeem485 (NEWARK, NJ) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well its simple if you like dynasty warriors you will like this a medicore beat em up at best fight waves and waves of mindless opponents then a boss rinse and repeat basicallt play to unlock characters if you are a fan of the Anime if not find a better beat em up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

power fist blanking the north star

posted by aNiMaL101 (CICERO, IL) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Person 1: Hey 2 do you like fist of the north star?

Person 2: Heck yes I do!

Person 1: Let's make a game about it and release it.

Person 2: That sounds like a great idea! let's get straight to it right now.

Person 1: Sounds like a plan!!! =D

-5 minutes later-

Person 1 and 2: WE'RE DONE!! 5 minutes of all that hard work!! LETS RELEASE IT.

End of story...

This game is so horrible they need to ban it globally and sentence whoever made this game for the crime of ruining an old school cartoon/comic. BURN THEM AT THE STAKE.

There's nothing good to write about and it's so horrible words can't possibly even scratch the surface of evil that is this game...

Don't rent or buy it. You will go blind or get the ring of death on whatever x box you have. Your house will explode once you pop this game in. Your head will explode into poor bloody graphics like the guys in the game...This game is so bad I'm going to see my 1st therapist...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of a half an hour of my life

posted by beavfever (LYNNWOOD, WA) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i have no idea how this game was even put on the market. I played for the first 30 minutes, and put this game back in the mail. not worth it at all. the graphics are not the best and the interface is meant for someone who has a major head injury. it is very slllllooooooowwwww. and for some odd reason the music reminds me of a fat emo kid seranading to a cake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One of the worst of all time!

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is based on an awesome franchise but got picked up by a poor developer. This could have been really, and I mean a really, great game. But instead we have to further stomach the 60% done works of poor game makers. Ok, enough of complaints, here is what is wrong- Combat feels slow, clunky and simplified worse than any good fighting game. Fatality moves of the classical FotNS explosions feel like they ran out of time: so they just streched the models with a dark red hue..., Also the voice acting, as with move anime games, is often dreadful, Maps are small and EXTREMELY Linear (Dynasty Warriors maps had more depth to them). This game is a practical waste of time and if you buy it-You made a major mistake.

This is 2010 people! The graphics are of fresh release quality! If companies just cant be able to make atleast, ATLEAST a mediocre game then they should just join a company that does know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Give It A Chance

posted by zombie11 (CORNING, CA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This Game will take some time to get used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

at least I got my money back

posted by FlabbyMoocher (GLENDORA, CA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I picked this game up brand new at the store because i was a fan of the anime movie. Brought it home and within about an hour i knew i had made a mistake.

The game is boring, the enemies are boring, and Ken moves like a brick. Just mashing buttons to crummy graphics.

I took it back to the store and got full credit for it even tho it was brand new when i bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you are a fan of the manga..........

posted by G_reyes (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

worth a play. The game follows the story line well, but lacks in the combo area. I am a fan and I thought.... OH yeah!! I am Kenshiro! 5 minutes into the game..... Where is the real Kenshiro and what did you do to him??
Just to repetitive and not enough combo diversity. Could have been great! Sadly it seems that someone was just trying to cash in on the name alone, and screw fans out of money.=(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ken's Rage

posted by WolfGuy (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i love the plot and the characters are unique. I read a few chapters from the manga, so i already knew the basic story. Though The game itself needs alot of work, overall the action is good but gets dull after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Scratched disk

posted by Joram32 (WACO, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The game was good, but I didn't get to play much of it because the disk was scratched which made it unplayable beyond the introduction and part of the first level you go through. It would freeze up or just exit the game for no apparent reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great If Youre A Fan

posted by VenomBrock32 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game brought together two of my favorite things...Dynasty Warriors and Fist of the North Star. Koei may be a bit repetitive in their games, but here the familiar Dynasty Warriors game play (1 character vs. hundreds of soldiers broken up by sub-bosses and Generals) is perfectly melded with the ultra-violent post apocalyptic world of FOTNS.

The game is over the top, just like the 1984 animated series...lots of blood and super huge villains yelling insults and slaughtering villagers, while you command the fighting style of Ken or Rei or several other characters to make the bad guys pay by causing them as-plode from within or slicing them to ribbons with your bare hands.

If you're a fan of either Dynasty Warriors or FOTNS, you will love it...if you aren't, this could easily be a forgettable beat 'em up experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fist of The North Star EVER!

posted by otoji07 (HARTFORD, CT) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I've played some old school game based off Fist of The North Star but nothing compares to this. This honestly has to be the best Fist of the North Star game I've ever played. It goes perfectly with the story line, the voice's sound exactly like in the anime and the fighting moves and specials are as amazing as they were in the anime back in the day. If I could I'd keep this game around forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very entertaining--if somewhat repetitive.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

First off, I will tell all of you I have wasted so much of my life playing games by Koei that it isn't even funny. Now, I'm not a huge fan of Fist of the North Star; I've only seen a few episodes of the series when I was younger, and honestly, I didn't know what to expect when I received this game in the mail.

Let me tell you, I am very pleasantly surprised. For a game based on the same engine as Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors, this is incredibly entertaining, if a bit repetitive in some spots.

Now, I will admit that I don't know the story that well, other than the whole world has become very similar to a Mad Max styled world, after a massive war or.. something. Kinda like Fallout, without all of the other stuff, and with a lot more fist-fighting and people exploding.

Now, the graphics in this game are quite good for a game using Koei's "Warriors" engine, and the soundtrack is.. somewhat fitting, while very cheesy in the Warriors sense. (Not quite like the j-rock they usually play, but it.. fits, but feels sorta dated.)

Aside from the graphics and music, the gameplay is what either makes or breaks a game, and this one is very simple. Heavy attack or light attack, use the two to make combos, and.. kill stuff. Note that doing a combo will cause people to explode in a bloody mess. And it feels very fun every time you cause this to happen.

Exploding people aside, there is a lot to do in the stages--though, they should make it more clear that you need the Seven Star Fist (tip) to break down certain walls. That is just annoying.

There is one other thing to discuss: the special techniques. Like the North Star Hundred Crak Fist (the first one you get.) AWESOME. Try it. You'll understand what I mean. It puts Musou mode to shame.

Still, all in all, the game is solid, very violent, very over the top, and very entertaining for those willing to put up some of the repetitive fights you'll have.

Final verdict: definitely worth a rent, a buy for true fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fist of the north

posted by darksilence (WEST COVINA, CA) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

was an ok game playing it all for the first time was great but after awhile it does get a bit repetitive . for the most part the game is based on manga and i cant wait to watch the show .i give this game a good 6 only cause the receptiveness of it was a bit boring.good rent none the less if you like dynasty warriors you will like this game its a bit slower pace just a reminder

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

was really hoping...

posted by Phoehammer (MEDFORD, ME) Feb 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

For an awesome game that could come from the Fist of The Northstar storyline. Sadly i only find these types...clunky controls and over-used lines that are insanity inspiring after 6 hours of hearing them over and over again..

There hasnt been a good FoTN game since the sega master system and that game was good only becuase it was the sega master system :P
Just wanted to make my opinion clear about it ive been waiting along time to be blown away by a game based off a show that managed to do that to me when i was younger.

Highlights: Errr.....the death scenes are all pretty cool...but its really the only thing they managed to do right...and they were just copied from the manga...
Developing your fighting style would've been cool...on a better game i actually cared about
At least DW is still mindless fun....they should leave this universe alone though..

Lowlives: Yeah what can i leave out?
Controls are far too clunky for a game like this and this problem shows up the most during boss fights...which can drag on for so long its capable of inducing carpal tunnel.These fights end with a quick time button press event which gives plenty of time but has to be done three times in a row and one mistake drags the fight on as the boss gains back more health.
Finally can we please stop repeating the same lines in games. I understand you cant (or wont) program in more than 4 lines but you dont have to spam them when i start a stage, during weak skirmishes with pathetic enemies and everytime i kill a sub-boss/boss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't save very often

posted by aSkylandSo (APO, AE) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game sucks. Graphic are the only good thing about it and even that fails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by Bsmart2175 (HAYWARD, CA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

This game would have been better if he did say the same thing every time you beat a boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »