Rent Fishing Master for Wii
view large frontback

Fishing Master

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

506 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fishing Master

posted by reiamkcin (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of variety in the fish you can catch, but the game play is repetitive and mind-numbing. After about an hour, you get your line tension guage burned into your retinas. This game could have been a lot worse, but it also could have been a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fishing Master fun but got repetitive

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Oct 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this for I think 3 days and finally beat it. It is a fun game but gets repetitive pretty fast. Yeah I know it's just a fishing game but I don't know I really liked Sega Deep Sea Fishing and played that alot. It is a fun game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Where's my fishing hat....

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I like fishing. I have a fishing boat. but I have took it out for a year and a 1/2. but when I started to play this game. I was like that old man is a bit spooky. but when I got in the fishing game. I was like wow this is kinda fun. and in no time, I said this game is a real cool game. Some of my friends came over and we play together in the competitive mode.. WOW we were like pushing each other and making fun of each other on what fish we caught. and 2 of my friends don't fish. its a fun game. In the Single player mode is fun and keeps your in the game on the new bait, place to fish, fishing rods, tournament, bait shops, Ect. I was thinking yeah this game going to get boring quick. but you have missions that old guy ask you to do and your pet finds new places to fish. this game is easy to play but hard to master. I have to say if you can get in to this game, you will spend hour's on end to master this game. I know this game will make me fix my boat up and get out there on the water. It's a game you will love to play if you can get in to it.

Pro's: fun to play, easy to play hard to master. so many fish to catch. 4 player mode. plays like you have a real fishing rod in your hand.

Con's: Midi Music get old quick. not WIFI play. you have 2 choice of pet's. 4 choice of player's. you need Nun-chucks for each player in Multi-player mode.

All in All: It's a fun game for friends and Family. allot of places to fish and lots of different fish to catch fresh and salt water fish. If you love or even like Fishing alittle. you will have fun playing this game. Fish ON!!!!!

1 out of 10: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Passes the time

posted by DocsLadee (KENAI, AK) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a cute game, you have certain fish you can fish for to earn extra points, you can upgrade your pole and fishing tackle. The graphics are cartoonish but the game is still fun. It passes the time and keeps you entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Transports you to a world of fun and relaxation

posted by tutorial98 (GOODYEAR, AZ) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

With a great control scheme, varied locales, and some seriously monster fish fights for control, this game really makes fishing fun and exciting. No, not bass master on television fake exciting, but sweating from the workout your getting exciting. I love when my pooch finds me goodies and cheers me on while I reel in a big one, and I'm obsessed with owning all the best gear and getting to know what bait catches which fish. The Wiimote is a wonderful fishing rod, and the nunchuk makes it easy to reel in even the biggest monsters - you can shake away or just push a couple of buttons, your choice. I've found that turning the Wiimote sideways and shaking it up and down when you need to counter-pull your line against the fish works much better than trying to whip it sideways (and it cuts down on the shoulder ache). I highly recommend this game to anyone who's enjoyed fishing in real life, or fishing in games of bygone systems with their fancy controllers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but..

posted by Thikone (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game started out really fun but quickly got repetitive. After a small amount of time there was hardly any challenge whatsoever. I stopped playing it after a few hours into the game and never really felt like playing it again.

If you really like fishing, go buy a pole and head to a lake, this isn't the game for you. But if you are stuck in your mother's basement and want to fish without going out into the sun then play this game.

Overall, I would buy this game if it was on the bargain rack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Make sure you like fishing.

posted by nikeboy72 (MOBERLY, MO) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This isn't a title that will win you over. I think if they hadn't cartooned it and tried to hit the older gamer they would of had a better title. Kids don't care about fishing and especially hate reeling in cat food cans every other cast. Now, I enjoyed the title, but my kids quickly, very quickly, handed the controls to me. This didn't hit the mark, but you will enjoy it if you like fishing in Japan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun

posted by damien666 (HOOD RIVER, OR) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

for about 5 minutes
too repetative

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Sega Bass Fishing but fun for short bits.

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't like fishing in real life. I find it very boring. Well several years ago I was in an store and saw Sega Bass Fishing for the Dreamcast for 9.99. I bought it and was hooked (excuse the pun). I even bought the fishing controller which made it jump to the next level. Ever since the Dreamcast days I have been hunting for a replacement and with the Wii I have hoped even more. Well I am still waiting.

Don't get me wrong this isn't a bad game but it's not one that I wanted to play nonstop. In fact after about a day I got bored, it just seemed to be the same thing over and over. I really felt no pull to get new fish nor did the locations do anything for me. In fact the locations were just plain ugly.

My suggestion is to rent it if you want a fishing game to play for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb to kidish

posted by aokiju (MOUNTAIN TOP, PA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the worst game i have ever recived in the whole time i have been a member.you sometimes do not even catch a fish you catch can of some sort.i am so unhappy with this game.i would not even buy this game if it was the only game they made for wii.i would never pay over 3 dollers for this game.HOOKED IS WAY BETTER THAN THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent this game!

posted by Crush (BEND, OR) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

There is no underwater view. It is completely unrealistic; its a cartoon. I didn't find it fun at all. It's so boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fishing Master

posted by mshunter (CERES, CA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game sucks butt. Tried doing what was explained in the tutorial, however it didn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for little kids

posted by newpaltzer (HIGHLAND, NY) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is pretty weak. I rented it for my 5 year old to play and it was just too difficult for him to work. I played it for 10 minutes and it got boring very quickly. I had more fun watching Wow! Wow! Wubbzy! with him... I say: skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Very Good

posted by GamerGigs (BEDFORD, VA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game suffers from an identity disorder. It's a pretty bad fishing simulator, not even as good as the old Blue Marlin type games really. It's also a pretty bad arcade game.

It's easy to never lose a fish on your line. A game that you can't lose at it a very boring game. The game lacks depth, it lacks challenge, and it lacks a purpose or plot.

The dozens of tedious screens you have to page through to actually get to the fishing place, including two tiers of menus, adds another level of tedium on top of the actual fishing "action".

The casting motion with the Wiimote is also bugged and weird. The best cast is gotten most reliably by shaking the wiimote and then tapping the B button. Doing an actual casting motion is much less reliable.

I find it hard to say much positive about this game. There appears to be some kind of plot later on in the game, but I could not bear to dig through hundreds of pages of "tips" to read the messages from my "nemesis", whom you apparently battle later on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Note to Parents: Kids like this game!

posted by GameFlyK2 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

My 9-year old and 7-year old Daughters had a blast with this game.

Definitely recommended for the kids in your family and has the right amount of challenge without being too easy for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FISHING MASTER IS GREAT!!!

posted by SUPERMOM (RICHMOND, VA) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I THINK THIS GAME WAS GREAT. IT WASN'T EXTREMELY EASY NOR WAS IT EXTREMELY HARD. IT WAS JUST RIGHT! IT HAS A LOT OF NEW AREAS THE MORE YOU PLAY IT. THEY ALSO HAVE SOME VERY SPECIAL FISH THE FURTHER YOU GET ALONG IN THE GAME. YOU WILL HAVE TO USE SOME UNUSUAL BAIT TO CATCH THOSE UNUSUAL FISH TOO. THIS GAME IS FUN FOR THE KIDS AND THE ADULTS. IT'S AN IDEAL FAMILY GAME. EVEN IF YOU DON'T CARE FOR FISHING YOU SHOULD TRY THIS. YOU PROBABLY WILL BE SURPRISED AT HOW MUCH FUN IT IS. EVEN IF YOU'RE A HARD CORE GAMER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Im pretty sure I caught the same can 10 times!

posted by Spbeyond (LOGAN, UT) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I couldn't stand this game. The mechanics stink and I think I caught the same cat food can a million times, WHY do the catfood cants swim around under the water and go for your bait???? (You can see the shadow shimming) This game is frustrating and STUPID. Not done well. I would kill for a quality fishing game for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review for Fishing Master Played on Wii

posted by ilikepi (BOISE, ID) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This is a great game. The graphics give it a genuine Nintendo feel. When you cast the line it sounds real and you do actually have to get it right or it will be a very short cast. Your goal in FISHING MASTER is to win every tourney in Japan to become the FISHING MASTER. You and your dog travel along regions of Japan while catching fish in the various fishing spots. To go to a different region you have to unlock all of the fishing spots in your current region and get approval from your grandfather in the game (your grandfather was once a FISHING MASTER and will ask you to catch different fish. He also tells you if you can use your unlimited bait or if you have to use bait that you buy at the shop). The battle between fish and man really comes out in this game, so I definitely give it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fising Master

posted by kgreen (QUEENSBURY, NY) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game was very entertaing for everyone from my 4year old grandson to my 30 year old nephew what a great family game with no violence

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun after you get the hang of it...

posted by coop1220 (CLAYTON, NC) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This was one of the better games I've rented in the 2 months that I've had my Wii.

After I got used to watching the tension meter at the top of the screen and the indicators for "jerking" the rod to tire out the fish, I did fairly well. I needed some work on my casting distance, but "all-in-all" I enjoyed the game.

It started pretty slow with "grandpa" talking on and on, but it got better. The large fish required skill to reel in (combinations of jerking the rod and reeling at the proper time, to avoid breaking the line).

I would say rent this before you buy. I will probably buy this one eventually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but repetitive.

posted by DavidWolf (BERTHOUD, CO) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

The Good:
+A lot like that old Atari game or Nintendo game where you have to fish.
+Graphics were fun.
+Controls were easy
+Great multiplayer game.

The Bad:
+Repetitive.
+Didn't have the energy to earn everything cause I became bored.

Conclusion:
Give it a shot if you have a group of people over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok

posted by sampey (YORKVILLE, IL) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I wouldn't buy this game. My son said its an ok game, not a great game. I played it for awhile, and lost interest quickly. It's a good game to rent when nothing else is available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rental

posted by kingdork (WILMINGTON, NC) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is fun. It's not a game I would buy because of it's repetitive nature, but it's worth a rental.

The only thing that really drives me crazy is having to hit the A button over and over and over again to get through the painfully boring dialogs with the old man between sceens.

Overall a fun game especially if you like to fish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't Judge A Book By Its Cover.

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

Looks like a kiddy game, feels like a kiddy game, but is one fun game. It can get a little repetitive but its worth a try if you like fishing.

Graphics
Its hard to rate graphics on these games. Its nothing near anything on the PS3 and XBOX 360 but for what there going for it does the job.

Controls
The controls on this game are really smooth. The Wii has been lacking smooth controls on some games which can be really frustrating but they did a good job. Pretty standard, pull back and throw the rod out. Move the nun-chuck circle to reel in and when the screen tells you to whip the wii-mote right or left you do it to tire the fish out. Its kinda hard at first because there is a lot going on. You have to keep the fish in the middle of getting away and breaking the line. To far on either side and you will lose the fish and then whip the mote when it tells you to tire the fish out. To many mistakes and the fish is gone.

Gameplay
There are many fishing spots on here to keep you occupied for hours. You have a whole day to go fishing and certain fish come out at certain times. You get points which cross as money which you can use to buy new rods and bait. There are tourneys in each area that you have to accomplish certain tasks. Longest fish. Heaviest fish. You have to be a certain level of fisherman to join a tourney though. There is also a mystery fish in each area and you have figure out what bait and how and where to catch it.The story line is pretty basic. Become the best fisherman of all time.

I would recommend picking this one up to try. Its fun will keep you occupied for a little while but can get repetitive. The sounds on this can get pretty irritating to. Might want to pop in a cd or something. A lot of beeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »