Rent Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones for GBA
view large frontback

Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.6

792 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Finest Strategy RPGs Available

posted by SwimPants (CHICO, CA) May 3, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the most incredible things you'll notice while playing Sacred Stones is that you may actually find yourself caring about many of its dozens of characters; losing a character in battle means they're gone for good, so every one of your decisions has serious consequences that you'll carry with you for the rest of the game. This presents the player with something not often found in games: Serious contemplation about sacrificing their soldiers for the greater good.

While this gameplay mechanic is present in all of the games in the Fire Emblem series, I found myself caring most about the characters in Sacred Stones. Everything -- from the character design, to the battle animations, to that incredible sound you hear when you strike down an enemy with a critical hit -- is fine-tuned to perfection, raising the quality bar above all of the other entries to the series released in North America.

The game's sound is expertly designed. Sacred Stones has a very likable score, and sound effects that work perfectly to give a real feeling of power behind your characters' attacks.

The gameplay itself is absolutely incredible, with a very well balanced character development system implemented into a great strategy game. The only real fault Sacred Stones has compared to other Fire Emblem games is its lack of side missions (which have been replaced by optional towers and ruins, as well as skirmishes on the world map).

Overall, The Sacred Stones is one of the most satisfying strategy RPGs of all time, and one of the best games you'll find for the Game Boy Advance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MY SECOND REVIEW

posted by underhill (PIERRE, SD) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing through Sacred Stones. I quite enjoyed it. I totally agreed with the other reviews. This is a great game! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because I don't believe there is anything that is perfect. My favorite RPGs of all time are Shining Force and Shining Force II for the Sega Genesis. Sacred Stones totally lives up to these hallowed ancestors. Definitely a combination of RPG and Strategy ( sort of chess with an RPG element ). I totally enjoy the changing classes and that you have a choice of what class to become. This in combination with the selection of different characters for each battle and the parallel Ephraim / Erika story lines makes for great replayability. In fact, I recently went into a Sam Goody store that was going out of business and purchased my own copy for $14. Thank you GameFly for introducing me to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game in the Series

posted by KenVsRyu (REDDING, CA) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Fun: 10
Challenge: 8
Graphics: 9
Sound: 10
Play time: 15 - 40 hours
(Play time depends on how you set the animations, how many characters you level up, and whether or not you complete the side missions/challenges.)

What makes The Sacred Stones such a great game is the freedom to play how you like. The perfect blend of strategy and RPG, Fire Emblem gives you the perfect amount of control and direction. You have the choice of who to level up, and who to use in any situation during the entire game. By the end of the game, you really have a feeling of personal accomplishment when you look at the characters under your command. This, combined with an intricate and well thought out story, creates a truly amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sacred Strategy: Fire Emblem

posted by Googleface (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was my first Fire Emblem experience, and I liked it okay, but there were a few parts lacking. I liked the transition from some of the other fast-paced games I play to this strategy games, but it got somewhat frustrating (and a bit repetitive) when I found myself outnumbered 4 to 1 for the umpteenth time with enemies coming at me from all directions. For those that like to lie back while keeping the challenges and excitement high, I completely recommend this game (and the series in general) for your Q. If, on the other hand, you prefer to be more involved and integrated with the action, I'd say still say give it a shot, but you may be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by Halo304ever (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I loved this game. It is a very unique type of RPG and is very simple to understand. Definitely the best turn based RPG and arguably one of the best RPGs over all. The only reason I did not give this a 10 was because this game is the hardest game boy game I have ever played. If you have never played this game before you should play on easy because even on normal it is a real challenge. Other than the extreme difficulty it is an excellent game and definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fire emblem 8 revisetid

posted by nickk4 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

this is my fav FE game #1 on srene map WOW!! it took them this long 2 put a travel map #2 2 class ups now units can class up with 2 choses it was sumtimes hard time to decide #3 tower of valti u can now grind xp other then arena if u get a couple solo runs with 1 charecter on the 1st flore u can grind 2 lv 20 fast and it cost 12 bucks at gamestop used so BUY IT NOW

and i do know theres a lagitu ruins

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

AWESOME GAME, the game play of this one is turn-based tactics like shining soul on the gba, lots of characters and secret characters you can get by talking to the enemy on the battlefield with a certain character on your team, its a rock paper scissors type of game, with swords good against axes, axes good against spears, spears good against swords. You can also evolve your character to another class so you can own easier, all around great awesome fun with some real strategy and challenges involved, WARNING, REALLY LONG DIALOG OMG and if you are one of those gamers who skip dialog you will have to have a book or look up on the internet to find out how to get certain stuff, so read the dialog it will tell you everything you need to know to get special stuff like characters etc..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TOO MUCH TALKING!!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

TALK TALK! That's they do! This game was really disapointing with all the talking. Long talks and only a little fighting. They were like "I'M GONNA TAKE OVER THE KINGDOM!" "NO YOUR NOT!" "If you want to see your family again give me the demon book!" ....Or something like that. :( It was so boring also. When they were done talking they would hit each other one dies the other lives and more talking!!! Ever since then I've been scared to play another one because I was worried that it may be disapointing like this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not nearly as good as other Fire Emblem titles...

posted by ChristianX (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The description is a little flawed with the names, but this game is still pretty fun. i wouldn't play it over and over again like i have with its predecessor, but its worth playing just for the experience.

Play the first Fire Emblem (for GBA) first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Tactic game

posted by SilverKila (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Like most Fire Emblems they are clever and frustrating in times, but the game is still fun. I like the way Characters die and don't come back, it makes things much more tense and give it a emotional feelings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!

posted by WildHorses (NORWAY, ME) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

this was the first game I ever played on my GBA and I have to say AWESOME EVERYTHING!!! only thing I hated alot was when a character dies you have to start over to get or keep that character or you loose him/her forever. But I recommend buying or renting this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the gameply

posted by adrian5265 (BAKER, LA) Nov 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

the way about it is i beat it in a week.but my sister kept me from the game.thers a tip on how to beat the game make all of your best units have a light wepon to win (must have the dragon)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game I hope

posted by linkfan5 (FALLBROOK, CA) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

I have not played this game yet but from what I can tell by the reviews critics and users gave it, it looks like a good game. I am a huge fan of RPGs and Strategy games and i cant wait to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Had me on the edge of mt seat til' the end, but...

posted by 4getregret (TRACY, CA) Aug 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

This game was really good. The graphics, gameplay, and most of the characters were at a high level for the GBA. Now when I say most of the characters, I mean that there is one character I dislike. I'm talking about Eirika. She acts perfect all the time, and is completely a Mary Sue. Other than, that, though, this game was great. Another thing holding back this game's goodness was the ending.

Spoilers!!!!!!!!

They save the whole world, and Lyon dies. But that's it?! The ending was missing something, like a 20 years after... oh well. This game was good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful From Beginning to Last

posted by A7XGamer (SPRING, TX) May 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

Graphics: 9
Gameplay: 9
Replay Value: about 15-20 hrs.

One of the greatest sequels on the GBA. And most sequels haven't been too good. To start off the graphics are most vibrant you'll see on any GBA game. Especially when it gets into action mode and you get to see the players go at it. The gameplay is top notch and is as good as the original. Maybe even better. The gameplay is the high point of the game. The reason is because it's so easy it's almost genuis. What I mean is that all you have to do is move your people on the board and attack or use magic. Then wait for the enemy to move or attack. It's that simple but don't get me wrong there is still some strategies but not as hard as some other strategies games. The games replay value is great even after you beat it because it has difficulty levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best gameboy games

posted by captainvys (PAONIA, CO) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

The second fire emblem game released in the U.S., it has many improvements. This is probably one of the best games for the GBA, it requires a tactical thought, and is very addictive. The game is challenging, and sometimes frustrating, but it is very addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »