Rent Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon for DS
view large frontback

Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

977 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Slight Disappointment

posted by ChristianX (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Sadly this game is highly unlike the others. One of the first things that bugged me was the fact that there was no "rescue" command. The second was that unlike other games where you had to meet a turn limit or kill somebody or visit a village, you have the burden of wiping all of your recruits you don't like to get to the extra chapters. I mean the chapter before one of the gaiden(extra) you get like six recruits in one battle!

The maps are harder than in the other versions (navigation+isolated areas) and fighters will swarm out of fortresses which is new. There is a much larger variety of magic (yeah!) and more story paths. I liked the inclusion of the forge and reclass(you can change almost any unit's class to a set of different ones). The game is of decent length 20-30 hours tops, dependant upon difficulty, if you get gaiden chapters and such.

I have not tried the WiFi play yet, which i am very excited about (completed game and ended up with sucky team not worth time on normal difficulty). All in all, the game is fun, but does not quite live up to its other versions such as Path of Radiance and the original GBA, however, still worth playing. Keep in mind this is a REMAKE of an old game that they changed AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE TO PRESERVE ITS ORIGINAL PLAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointment.

posted by Tamashi458 (BIRDSBORO, PA) May 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

In comparrison to its GBA versions, this one is definately the weakest of the pack. First of all, all the missions are "Seize the thrown". Nothing else. No "save the villagers" or "Defeat such and such in 20 turns". Second, there was no Rescue command! This i found was very helpful in the other versions but it was taken out and i was sad. Another things is the new reclass feature where u can make a mage an archer or something like that. Its good in theory but its not very useful. I only class changed one person and got through the game fine. Also, in this one ur units dont automatically class change at lvl 20 or 21. u HAVE to use a Master seal to class change them (which isnt to much of a problem since there are about 20 throughout the whole game). My final complaint is the number of units u can recruit. Its just to many considering u can only take an average of 15 with u on each mission. If u want to try the final emblem series, this is not a good place to start. Try some of the GBA versions, or even the wii and gamecube versions werent bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pick up the GBA versions, skip this one.

posted by DrPepper (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I finally completed this Fire Emblem, just as I have done with every other N.A. F.E., and unfortunately it was not nearly as good as the others. Having played every N.A. F.E. I was expecting this to be simnilar to other iterations, unfortunately it has much less depth than others, and requires you to purposefully kill your own characters. Dual screens and wifi are a waste... Marth kind of sucks compared to other F.E. royalty. Story not very deep or engaging. Still decent game overall, 8, because I am generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Was expecting more ...

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jun 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Hoping for a FF Tactics style game. FE had fewer options, easier combat, only 2D, not as complex as I anticipated. Makes me want to play Monster Hunter Freedom more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sort of Boring game

posted by slidecage (FORT WAYNE, IN) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Got the game Saturday and tossed it back in the mail tuesday morning. Put around 10 hours into the game to get to chapter 13 (out of 25)

One thing you want to stay away from when playing this game is the ARENA... I took 5 of my people there and stayed there and powered up all the way to the 20th level... well it ruined the game cause my people was way too powerful and make the game VERY VERY VERY easy and VERY BORING .

I Can see this game falling to 19.99 Very soon and maybe even 9.99 by this summer... Its just like the GBA versions and i would rather play those

Fun game if you never played a FE or if you dont abuse the ARENA . but ifyou have played the other FES or ABUSE The ARENA then this game will be boring to you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game Wifi is still around and fun!

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Definitely worth renting if you are a Fire Emblem fan like me had alot of fun with this one. I honestly think its an 8 out of 10 but the rating it has on here be it a 7.2 or something is an injustice!! Its not quite as good as the GBA ones but I mean its close. There is multi player online wifi as well and as of 4/8/13 people still play the wifi online i had alot of fun with this one and DEF recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting

posted by Croaker (NORTH WALES, PA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

its a fun well made addicting series that made me worry about my actions and think about my next moves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game.

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is the first Fire Emblem game I ever played, so I didn't know what to expect going into it, other than the fact that it was a strategy game. I never really got into strategy games like Pokémon, Final Fantasy, etc. I can see how other people would enjoy them, but I never personally liked them. I never liked the idea of all your attacks being laid out on a menu screen, selecting your attacks, and taking turns hitting each other. I never found that fun, I always felt like I was playing an unfinished game. To my surprise this isn't that kind of strategy game, and it almost plays more like a board game than it does a videogame. The way the game works is you move individual characters across the board to certain destinations where you proceed to take out your opposing army. There are many weapons and abilities that characters may have. Swords, Axes, Lances, Bows, and certain magical abilities such as thunder or fire. Certain characters have the ability to heal or teleport characters in place of a weapon. There's a triangular relationship between weapons, the sword is more powerful than the axe, the axe is more powerful than the lance, and the lance is more powerful than the sword. Characters with bows or other projectiles can attack from two spaces away or adjacent spaces. Certain characters such as heavily armored knights are extremely powerful and durable, but they can move fewer spaces per turn than others. Characters with horses can travel more spaces per turn, and characters with pegasuses (or maybe it's pegasi) can travel over water or mountains. The game's over when you lose all your troops, or your leader Marth. There are many variables that contribute to the strategy element in this game. The combat itself has even less physical action than other strategy games; you literally sit and watch them fight. But the fun factor isn't within the combat; it's within the strategy of placement of characters. I really recommend this game to fans of strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

epic 2-d game

posted by Blender552 (SOUTHLAKE, TX) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

but the end is impossible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what the heck nintendo!!!!!

posted by nickk4 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

i LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the fe series but this is a half step back NO this is not a step back this is step of a cliff i beat this game 2 times and i dont think this game is the best #1 NO RESCUE!!! this saved me a million times if they wanted to increace the dificultiy they did good im still looking forward to hero of light and shadow (even though the reused the graphics) but still rent it here but DONT BUY IT use 12 bucks on srcrad stones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good...if u dont mind the underleveled newbies

posted by SCfreak (NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Shadow Dragon is a good game all around. Good graphics, the story is whatd u expect for a fire emblem game, and the characters and sound effects are solid. The one glaring issue is tht any new characters u recieve are underleveled. This means training them gets harder as the game goees on. additionaly, losing a veteran in battle is harder to stomach in "shadow dragon" than in any other fire emblem game. Since new characters arrive frequently, its a challenge to keep them safe as well as gather xp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fire Emblem

posted by beckie58 (WATKINSVILLE, GA) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

I love rpg games. I have played all ff's except 13 and this game was absolutely no fun at all..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh.

posted by Archanid (SANTA FE, NM) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

Most of the issues I had with this game were that it did not meet up at all with the DS' capabilities. The last boss looked really lame, and most of the fighting moves were too simplistic to match up to the Fire Emblem name.

Another issue was that there wasn't a rescue system. What is up with that? It's ridiculous. Rescuing has been vital to FE games, especially in chapters like the one where there are five really awesome characters trapped with no weapons across the entire map and you have to guide the to safety without the rescue option. So cheap.

I have no problem with difficult games, but when a game is difficult because it ridiculously doesn't have any of the features of its predecessors (yes, the others are predecessors, these things are expected of remakes), it's just downright disappointing. I have to say the only good thing about it was some graphic upgrades. Other than that it was pretty lame.

Back to the final boss thing, does no one think it would've been amazing for the dragon to cover up two screens? No, apparently not the developers. The Earth Dragon looked very, very lame, as well as the rest of the manaketes. This is not worth the graphics upgrade. The dragon in Rekka no Ken was super amazing, this does not live up to that at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fire Emblem is awesome.

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

O.K., confession time. Going into this game, I had my suspicions. You see, although I enjoy the other games from Intellegent Systems, I had my suspicions about this turn-based strategy game. Then I played it. I was instantly sucked into the story and the characters. The music is amazing. The gameplay is great. And overall this game is amazing and is worth the rent. And if you like it enough(like I did), buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing Granted...

posted by SKealy13 (EL CAJON, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Ok so this is the newest installation of the Fire Emblem series, which being my favorite game of all time you know i was expecting something from this game. This game finally features Marth!!! That was really exciting and he is really good, until the ending, he starts getting bad, but in most of the Fire Emblem series, there is always better then your lords. The one fact that most people forget to mention is this was the ORIGINAL Fire Emblem. So of coarse the storyline isnt as in depth, the game play isnt as long, and some of the newer things that you see in the older versions (weird huh?) arent included. They tried to keep it as close as possible to the real version. You cant rescue, there are a lot of characters (i mean a LOT), you can change just about all your characters classes (say a social knight to a fighter or something along those lines). One of the aspects i liked was that they have a in map save feature during a mission, as well as the suspension mode. If you have played all of the Fire Emblems before this then i suggest playing this for the storyline, but if you havent then definantly pick up the 2 on GBA first, much much better then any of them. The Wi-Fi version is AWESOME, its like an actual map and you go head to head with the person on the other end. Super cool. There is usually fog on the map so it adds to the mystery of your opponent. I know i had fun with it. That is basically all of the game. If your a tactic/Fire Emblem fan, pick it up without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best

posted by gamefan12 (WASHOUGAL, WA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

This game overall was a dissapointment......The storyline was predictable and many useful features were missing. One of these missing features is that there was no rescue option. I found that without the rescue option you have to be much more careful and it makes it twice as difficult to finish the game without killing anyone. Also almost every level the objective was to seize a point... I found this quite repetitive and by the 6th chapter became bored.. The graphics were ok, the cutscenes really being the highpoints.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ike, COME BAK!!!

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

Fire Emblem is my all time favorite game franchises so naturally I love this game. But Ike is 10x more manly than marth and his tiara.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HIGH EXPECTATIONS...low results

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is kind of boring. I'm usually a big RPG fan but this game just comes up short. There's no real level progression, you're stuck to the rock-paper-scissors paradigm for most of the game, and its really hard to get into the story when you feel compelled to play a mission n-teen times because someone you thought you were making a good warrior or god forbid mage dies and you no longer have them...forever. I haven't played a lot of RPGs on the DS but I've played ones with far better graphics and sound so its not winning any awards there. Never tried the multiplayer modes so I cannot comment on those. If you're looking for a good RPG on the DS stick to the FF series and you'll get much better graphics/characters and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by Slak0r (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I Was a big fan of the first two Fire Emblem games for the GBA but this game cant even compare to those. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »