Rent Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn for Wii
view large frontback

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

2273 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Challenging game is a very rewarding experience

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

43 out of 45 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I respect this game. The reason why is because it is so difficult. And yet, it is doable and not frustrating. Each level is set out for you to mastermind your way through. One false step and it could cost you a team member or several members. There are literally hundreds of ways to complete each level. It is sort of like a big chess set. You have to know what each of your characters is capable of and when to use them. Placement is everything.

Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn is much more difficult and gigantic and more fun than Path of Radiance for Game Cube. FERD has over 40 battles that take place over 4 different chapters. There are over 70 playable characters!

I love the story sequence. You find yourself commanding different armies in each of the chapters. This means that you will battle your former comrades. I love how they set up the story so that each army believes that they are in the right. The characters are endearing and well developed. After playing this game for close to 60 hours, the characters felt like they more than just part of the game. They seemed to be real people with real concerns, thoughts, and feelings.

Players who want to experience all that FERD has to offer should first play Fire Emblem Path of Radiance for Game Cube. Although FEPOR is not nearly as challenging or engaging it lays the ground work for FERD. I'll tell why in the next paragraph but look out for spoilers!

While playing through FERD for the first time they kept referring back to Ike and the Greil Mercenaries. I kept wondering if they would actually be in FERD. I kept looking for them and hoping. Then at the end of the second chapter, you get to see the coolest cut scene ever. I loved seeing my army from the previous game come barging on to the screen. I was literally jumping up and down in excitement!

The movies and voice acting are awesome! The music is engaging and truly epic and noble. This is my very favorite game for the Wii and maybe ever. Yes, it's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

There Should Be More Games Like This on the Wii

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) May 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With the Wii getting many, MANY party games, the RPG category is so far getting very little love. As of 2007, Alien Syndrome was the only 'so-called RPG' and that wasn't worth it. Now it's nearly 2008, and finally they come out with one of the best RPGs I've ever played, right behind Skies of Arcadia and Dragon Quest 8.
Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn's gameplay is seemlessly addictive. You direct your troops in eacj chess-like level as you struggle to win each battle as the Dawn Brigade. The gameplay is really entertaining, movement being accorded like turn-based rather than real-time.
The difficulty is higher than some RPGs I've played, because you need to be sure not to walk any of you mercenaries in a practical trap. You need to struggle, and by struggle, I mean struggle HARD. Once a character dies, it's G-O, Game Over. I've seen this quite a few times in the five-day rental, and I've smacked myself quite a few times as well.
But hey, isn't that what makes a good RPG?
Heck, yes!
When it comes to graphics, this game has it as good as a Level 5 game. It's cel-shaded, but so beautiful it's more like an epic anime instead. Like Dragon Quest 8, the music promotes the awesome feel each time you pick it up.
The characters are also just as livable and sweet as Level 5's creations. Michaiah and Sothe are very immersible as well as entertaining characters, and so are the rest of the Dawn Brigade, made up of female mages, brash young men, noble freedom fighters, and devise tacticians.
And when it comes down to it, Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn is spectacular in every way. It makes you wonder how come the way doesn't have MORE games like this.
If you're an RPG fan, click this RPG up! You won't regret it, and if you love this, get the Fire Emblem on the Game Boy Advance, the Gamecube, and soon the DS early in 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really a shame most will miss this amazing game

posted by ZoraPrime (MARTINEZ, CA) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

24 out of 28 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

With many gamers always following the bandwagon picking up the overhyped games leaving others in the dust, it is not suprising many missed FERD. Radiant Dawn is one of the Wii's best games to date, and my favorite overall Wii game.

FERD seems to be a rip-off of PoR at first, with Daein replacing Crimea and Begnion replacing Daein. Don't be fooled though. FERD is split into four parts, each taking on a different protagonist. With each chapter, the real story begins to form.

If you played PoR, and don't mind minor spoilers, pay close attention to what Soren says. A lot of his concerns or comments play a big role. One of the obvious ones was when Zelgius came, and Soren mentioned that Begnion would be in for themselves. Not suprisingly, Begnion has captured Daein, but you find this out early on and is hardly a spoiler.

FERD is not impressive visually, and its overall production values are poor, but a good game nonetheless. Take the audio for example. The music may be MIDI, but the soundtrack itself is amazing. And the transitation from field to battle and battle to field are equally superb, making it realize a few things the last FE games missed.

Also, I want to comment on something. You may be biased towards critics, and may read IGN review. Don't. There are so many flaws in that review (I personally doubt he played past chapter ten based on the content, out of a forty-four chapter game, that is BAD!). FERD is an amazing game. It is much mroe challenging then its cousins (unless you play on easy), and has a lot of depth. The characters are unique.

The dialouge, although may be boring at times, is still good. And prepare for Marcia, a character in part 2, to make you laugh (I still LOVE what see called Haar!). Okay, so a lot of funny, and well-done dramatic dialouge make it good. Overall a good translation.

Now, this game may not be an epic game to remebered for years to come, but it is still a great title on the Wii, and one you should not miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Be ready to think...

posted by CrocBox (LACEY, WA) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

... And become good friends with the "Game Over" screen because you two are going to be seeing a lot of each other. The enemies are given steel weapons right from the start and will not hesitate to take advantage of any weak spot you may have revealed, starting as early as Chapter 2.

To say that Easy is as it is described is an understatement. The number of enemies are practically cut in half and are all given the crappiest weapons; while you move twice as far, hit twice as hard and earn around three times the experience. Ranged characters can even attack through obstacles.

Tutorials and help windows frequently pop up in case you have never played a turn based strategy game before, which is kind of nice but if your playing this then chances are, you know what you're doing. Victory conditions change as well from "Escape in 10 turns" to simply "Defeat the boss". With this huge curve there really is no need to put much thought into your actions; just don't die.

The controls are pretty solid no matter which way you go so choose which ever one feels the most comfortable for you, I prefer to use my Classic Controller. If you're a Fire Emblem fan or enjoy turn based strategy games you should definitely check this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by Standiford (New Philadelphia, OH) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to the original Fire Emblem for the NES, and is just as challenging, and rewarding. It has a good story line, and is a very unique title, as I have not seen very many games like this. The closest thing I can compare it to would be Final Fantasy Tactics, or even Dynasty Tactics.

When I say challenging, I mean very hard. It takes me some time just to get through one battle successfully, simply because if you make a wrong move, you can easily lose a member of your army. The game is totally do-able, and even has a chess-like feel to it.

I'd advise this game to any RTS-type fanatic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Game of its Genre

posted by AresWarGod (COLUMBIA, MO) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love this game. It is easily addiction and fun. Most people would think that these kinds of games are pretty easy and don't require a lot of thinking. NOT TRUE. There are sooo many aspects that can be taken into consideration. For example, in most games if one of your other characters dies, he'll come back later. However in this game, if a person dies, they stay dead. I learned this the hard way when I lost my healer and archer. So you always want to think about how to move defensively. One thing that Nintendo did good was not only the very deep storyline, but also the side conversations that can take place. By taking part in these, you can earn items and characters. Some of them are just to make you understand the characters better. In the game, there are multiple storylines. One story you go to fighting to take back your country and another you're trying to stop a civil war, its diverse and interesting.
However there are a couple of complaints I'd like to address. First and foremost is the awful weapons that the vendors sell. Occasionally you'll come across a decent one but its really expensive. Also I kinda don't like how the cinematics are, well, best word I can think is mediocre. I'm basically saying that they could bump up the graphics on them to the quality of the first one of when you start the game.
Other than that, this is very solid game. For those who aren't Fire Emblem fans, but are strategy gamers, BUY THIS GAME!!! I highly recommend this to any Wii user. Even though you don't use the motion sensor at all, it doesn't matter. The game is just fun overall and you get a great exprience out of it. I give Fire Emblem: Radient Dawn 5/5 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn

posted by azcardinal (HERMANTOWN, MN) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Radiant Dawn is similar to all the other Fire Emblem games. There is no motion controls, and you can't actually fight (you can only watch the fight.) The game is challenging, extensive, and well worth your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fire Emblem fan honest review

posted by RugbyDan (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To start off, I love Fire Emblem games. I've played every one that is in English and a few fan translations of the Japanese ones.

RD isn't a bad game. It's just not that good. It's got a recycled graphics engine from the Gamecube FE a few years back (which looked like it's could have been done on N64). I know graphics are not important in these games, but at least show me some progress into the next generation. I'd rather play the GBA ones with the drawn battle scenes. The sound and music is meh, and my favorite part, meeting new characters, is gone. All of the characters are recycled from the previous game. Repeat: there are only about 3-5 new characters out of a playable 70ish.

It's just the same old thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nintendo Game; Shouldn't It Have Battle Mechanics!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

This is my first Fire Emblem game! It is a great strategy game but I would like to actually be able to fight the battle and not watch it. Also the graphics are bland, and the story is very long (more text then Super Paper Mario). With all of this it makes you not want to play much; it is worth a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK, but not much

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Sep 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game was not one of the better games. Basically all you do in the game is move the character. every thing else the game does for you. plus the story goes soooooo slow! Its not worth renting. Dont get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Duller than QVC

posted by kipdexter (FERNDALE, MI) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

Maybe it's just my ADD, but that was one of the more boring games I've ever played. Granted I'm not a huge fan of turn-based RPG's, but this was slower than slow and duller than dull. I'm starting to appreciate GameFly more and more. Now if only I could rent an enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All alone?

posted by Belliqueu (JEFFERSON CITY, TN) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Am I alone in thinking that this may be one of the worst games to hit the Wii?

First things first - no motion controls, at all, ever. The whole point of the Wii is the motion controls. It's not like the system is that powerful or pretty to look at it. If the game came out for SNES instead of the Wii, it would have fit better and would have received a higher rating.

After a pretty neat intro, I was all set for some decent voice acting and action. What I got was standard last-generation RPG text conversations, and what could be the most boring turn-based combat I've ever encountered. I'll even forget the fact that I spent half my gameplay session watching "tutorials" (that continued well into Chapter 4), while trying to remember the 5 billion aspects of the slow-moving story line.

This is a game that tries very hard to be a challenging, engaging and epic RPG but fails miserably.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rated A for Awful

posted by sunshine61 (AMBOY, WA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game was terrible, and I am surprised it says not for sale because if I owned it I would pay someone to take it off my hands. The first 15 minutes was a waste of time watching intro videos, then it shows you how to battle, etc. with screens that remind me of a PC game. Very low quality, I do not recommend it at all. If I could have given it a rating less than 1, I would have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Battles are like chess, but harder...I hate chess!

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I didn't know what to expect when renting this game. Hopefully this review will help those get the idea before trying it out. I'll make this quick:

In summary, the battle system is super difficult in how you would play it like chess: you make a move, then the enemy makes theirs. I went through each level/chapter dying 80+ times over and over in the process just because one of the members got killed...just one!

I don't know about you...but I feel that the idea of reviving fallen characters seems extremely needed in this situation, especially if the game says "Game Over" just because the white-haired magician girl got slaughtered. The storyline is nice, compelling, a little rough nonetheless interesting...but the battle system is where the game is either love-it or hate-it.

In conclusion, if you are a hardcore game that likes the complex stuff (like the battle system I've stated) then I guess you would like this game. If you're a simple, average gamer like I am (yes, even if you consider yourself an intellectual), you're in for a bad adjusting into this game. Better yet, just go on YouTube and search "Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn Gameplay" and see for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why are people so lazy!?

posted by TheDude5 (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

First of all, this is a great game! The stories good, the gameplays good, the turn based fighting is good, the characters are great, and the graphics are perfectly fine. I'd give this a 10/10 any day, definetly rent it if your a fan of Fire Emblem or stragety games.

But I wrote this review as a warning for some of the dumb people out there. If you're too lazy to read some dialogue that progresses the story and is between the actual levels of the story there are two things wrong with you: 1) Your lazy and should just give up on stragety games if you don't have enough patience to read 2) You have no appreciation for stories in video games. I here a lot of people complaining about the "ridiculous" amount of reading you have to do. Seriously people it's not that hard! It's like saying a book should only have pictures to tell the story, stupid. Without the text, there would be no story at all and that would make it boring. And you should see that you have a lot of reading to do with the back of the box, or screenshots of the game. I can somewhat understand the frustration of no voice acting, but has Nintendo been known to do that on the Wii? Ii don't think they have and people shouldn't hate this game just because it's not all voice acting! The stupidest thing I hear about the haters of this game is the difficulty! Gamers used to appreciate a challenge in games, but now they just want to blow through a game. At least this game requires stragety and actually punishes you for losing a character. People, compared to other games this one is at least being somewhat realistic! In real life war, is there some stupid revival speel to bring people back to life? No! This game is realistic with dying and people should actually enjoy a game where they have to put an effort into beating it.

Overall, this is an amazing game as stated earlier. But if any of the above qualities or complaints define you, then go back to FFT and leave the hard working gamers alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest turn based strategy game ever!!!

posted by alphagamer75 (PROVO, UT) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1st off, how does this game only get a 7.7?!?! someones an idiot. this may be the most addictive game ever. great strategy. great game play. great story line. and love the continuation from path of radiance. ike and this gen blows away all previous characters. the only thing that could improve this game would be if they introduce a multiplayer version. same room combat and online. game is a 10. give it multiplayer and its an 11!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fire Emblem Short Review

posted by Actionhero (MARYSVILLE, CA) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Im going to make this short and to the point. If your a fan of Tactical RPGs this is a must play. The story and the characters have a way of pulling your emotions into the game. It makes you want to keep everyone from dieing and learning everyones back storys. All in all it has one of my fav. storylines and some of my fav. characters of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not my style

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

I love a good rpg but this was just not it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Difficult? huh?

posted by Incruentatus (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Almost all of the critic reviews show that the game is hard. And even easy is difficult. That is complete rubbish. On easy the game is ridiculously simple, and normal is a fun experience. Since you have battle save there is no reason to hesitate as long as you remember to use it. It allows a person to make risky choices; you don't have to rely on it if you don't want to.

My WARNING: DO NOT DO NOT play on hard unless when you play on normal you destroy and beat the game in a few days. If you're not ready you will either start a new game on another save or quit. It took me almost a year b/c I wasn't ready, but once you realize that you can't battle save and that you have to pay attention you can beat it and return to normal mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the stratagey

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Played Path of Radiance on gamecube to completion and imported my saved stats. Having the battle save is such an improvement and the story and strategy are as great as ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Radiant Dawn truly shines

posted by OldRed (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is one of my favorite games for the Wii to date. It takes tactics to a whole new level with the condition that if a character dies in battle you lose him or her forever and the real life ways to win. Whether it is taking down the enemy CO or holding out against a siege Radiant Dawn brings RPGs to life on the Wii console. Just be careful with your powerful players or you will lose them.

As far as gaphics go this game leaves room for improvement. Yes I have seen gamecube titles with better or equall graphics. I have even seen a couple handheld games with better graphics but the graphics dont take away from the overall gameplay.

This game is a must for any fan of the Fire Embem series or RPG fans in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Awesomey (FRANKLIN, OH) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I love this game! It is my favorit game ever! You should get this game and buy it. I have played this game 7 times and I just bought it. Get it now!

Pros Cons

graphics no sequel
gameplay
music
storyline
character design

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HARD!!!!

posted by nickk4 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

the first poblem i had was the legnth you will have 26 hours of gameplay (depends how much u suk) there where 2 many cutsenes with diolaug i only watch the voice cutsenes i wish they had more the graphics where FAN-FRIKINTASTIC who says the wii is last place in graphics!! and units can chang class up twice now even with a long list of down sides i think its a RENT for people for chaleng BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really an RPG. It's disappointing.

posted by Krow722 (WISCONSIN DELLS, WI) May 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I was very disappointed with the game. Typically when you think of an RPG, you think of a game that allows you to create a character, or at least gives you a character that you must build up. You put yourself in the shoes of that character and live that life. You make decisions and follow through with the consequences.

Fire Emblem does not allow you to create a character. They do give you many characters that you must command though. There are no decisions to make - no changing story. You hear a small part of the plot, then work through a turn-based strategy sequence. After completing the battle, which can take upwards of an hour, you hear a little more of the story. Then you're back in a turn-based strategy battle.

The characters you command in each battle change, almost at random, it seems at times. There are few that you will be able to use in every battle. So, you don't feel close to any character.

What I did like about the game was that I wasn't forced to do any motions with the wii controller, as it was originally being designed for a different platform. Because of this fact though, the graphics really suck...with the exception of cutscenes, which are few and far between. It felt like 8-bit programming. I really don't feel as though I could recommend this game to anyone.

If you want a strategy game, try it out. If you want an RPG, look elsewhere. This is definitely one you should rent to try instead of rushing out to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

W2G intelligent systems/nintendo.

posted by BlakePayne (ROGERS CITY, MI) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I may be a bit biased for FE. I own five of the FE games released in the US and I would have to say that they are the games that I put in the most time to revisit them.
There are several trivial details that annoyed me in this game.
1- It seemed like they only had enough money to pay like two or three voice actors.
2-support conversations are not tailored to specific units, they say the same thing to everybody(mostly).
I liked everything else about this game. It provides a challenge that didn't appear in the previous titles.
I guess the only thing i need to say is WHEN IS THE NEXT ONE RELEASED!!!???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse