Rent Fire Emblem: Awakening for 3DS
view large frontback

Fire Emblem: Awakening

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You like JRPGs and Strategy games? This is heaven

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Positives: Great visuals, nice use of 3D, deep strategy, lots of mechanics to learn and master, interesting characters and character development, flexible difficulty settings that allow you to be hardcore or casual, lots of replayability, intriguing story.

Negatives: Not enough voicework, forging system is weak, some battles can last a long time.

Overall: This is easily the best game on the 3DS, and a fantastic entry into the Fire Emblem series. I played Sacred Stones years ago, so it was great to dive back into the Fire Emblem gameplay. If you like Strategy and JRPGs, this is the best possible combination you can find. Highly recommended. And if you got a 3DS XL like I do, you will be blown away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game on the 3ds

posted by Reap3rXD (HILLIARD, OH) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is easily the best game on the 3ds. I cannot stress this enough. I am currently on my third playthrough and over 100 hours of collective gameplay. The gameplay, story and characters are wonderful.
First, the gameplay is an overhead display of a grid battlefield.During the turn based battles you command your army verus an enemy army.
There are 7 different weapon types swords, axes, lances, bowes, magic tomes, healing staves and stones. Axes loses to swords loses to lances loses to axes they all attack from 1 square away. magic can attack from1-2. bows from only 2. staves can heal and buff. Stones can turn some units INTO DRAGONS!(1-2)
Each unit has its own class and growth rate, affecting how quickly it levels up in the 7 stats. There are standerd swords n' sorcery to girls that turn into dragons! DRAGONS!
There are many different classes with their own unique skills my favorite being astra, it releases a barrage of attacks securing kills like no other.
The story(which I will not spoil here) is an epic with twists and turns that you can't even see coming it'll have you on the edge of your seat.
My favorite part of this game is acually support conversions between the units. Characters can be paired up in battle giving bonuses and raising relationships. There are 4 different relationship levels C B A S each having their own converstion and raises bonuses for the characters fighting by each other. S can only be achived once per 2 people, it is marriage. It is kinda sweet:P
The conversations range from serious to HILAROUS and are a treat to see.
Lastly, there are 2 modes and 4 difficulties. Classic mode makes your units die permanently. Causal revives them every round I recomend casual the first time around. The difficulies are normal(easy), hard(just right), insane(impossible) insane+(No seriously this is impossible turn back now)
Best 3ds game so far! ~Reap3r

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game i have played on the 3ds

posted by Fpszelda22 (MERIDIAN, ID) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I just got a 3ds and it came with ocarina of time 3d but then i got fire emblem witch was amazing.Its a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Breath Taking

posted by DerpOfDoom (ARLINGTON, WA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game left me awe struck after beating it, the story is FANTASTIC, and left me with that sad feeling you get after spending time with a game and its characters for 25+ hours. do yourself a favor and buy this game, it is by far worth it. there is constantly updated DLC, including new missions daily, and new story being released via DLC. my first fire emblem game, and if the quality is this good in subsequent releases, it most certainly wont be my last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chess to the next level

posted by Mikey2x4 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fire Emblem Awakening is a stand out title for the 3DS. The combat system is intuitive and easy to pick up, yet still challenging enough to reward those that put time and effort to think of every move their going to make ten steps ahead of the one they just did. The characters are highly likable and will most likely make you want to restart maps over and over again if you're playing in the classic, permadeath mode, just so you don't lose any of them.

The main plot of the game can be predictable at times, but is really driven forward by the aforementioned battle system and great characters. Where the writing really shines is in the support conversations that are won over by teaming up two characters in each of the fights. There are some truly funny and touching moments within those that are rarely seen in other games.

Add into it the amount of extra content provided through StreetPass, SpotPass and paid DLC and the amount of life you can get from this title is well worth any amount of time you put into it.

If you have a 3DS, you need this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3DS game out to date!~

posted by Klato (VALENCIA, CA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So i started out not buying this game on release because i wasnt a big Stratagy RPG fan, i mean i like RPG's the good old turn base, but this game makes it so appealing to play a stratagy rpg. The thing i look in most of RPG's are the story and character Development and they have that down just right. You can choose who you want to pair with and gain relationships with any character. You can also raise it even more buy playing with them together in battles and talking to them outside of battle. The story is amazing as you go and help your Kingdom (wont say much cause i do not wish to Spoil it). In my opinion this is a must have for all 3DS owners, even if you are not familiar with the older fire emblems.

10/10
Pros:
- Epic Story
-Good character development
-easy to play and get into (Casual Mode)
-easy and simple to use AI
Cons:
- Not much Voice acting (only in cut scenes and CG's)
- Some Character development seems pushed/ and or artifical

All and all this is a Must own for all 3DS owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Intelligent Systems has created a masterpiece

posted by GreenCupcake (LAYTON, UT) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

(9.8/10) This game is one of the best games I've ever played. From its engaging story to its engrossing gameplay, Awakening will have you hooked from the beginning and never let you go. This is a true masterpiece, and the best strategy RPG I've ever played. Do not deprive yourself of this title. You'll live to regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by lilmagex (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played most the FE games and this one definally lives up to the series. View battles in first person 3D is amazing and the dual team ups are a welcome change to spice things up.

My advice tho is to play it first on hard as the amount of hair pulling restarts that you love about FE on lunatic mode might defer you from the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must play

posted by halo2525 (EUGENE, OR) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this for 7 hours or so and not beaten it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Clearly in the minority, but I didn't like it.

posted by XTopherGuarino (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Probably the best 3D/Graphics I've seen to date, but that can't save a game.

Over the top chatty. So much dialogue, that within just a few chapters, I was already skipping through, taking me out of the story. You know how some of thoese "Tales" game characters never shut the heck up? That, and then some. Game play was no different than any other similar game (think Disgea or FF Tacticts). Weapon/armor equipping seemed like it could have been much simpler.

Sorry to be against the masses, but I bailed on it fairly early with no remorse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Fire Emblem Game for a Newcomer

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Fire Emblem is one of those games that I haven't played but I did decided to dabble with Awakening, the newest installment to the long running series.
For anyone who doesn't known, Fire Emblem has been a series of Strategy JRPG games since the NES days but has only has some of the games released everywhere since the second installment that hit the GBA systems. Since then Fire Emblem has been a game series that everyone wants for their Nintendo Systems and or wants to collect the older ones or even try to do a fan translation for the ones that didn't release outside of Japan. Anyway, since I am a newcomer to the series, I have to say Awakening is a great addition to this series.

Story in Awakening takes place after a thousand years from a game or two earlier. Marth and his crew defeated the evil dragon that they had to face and now got the kingdoms united. Sadly by the time Awakening takes place various kingdoms popped up and only the descendants of Marth is ruling Ylisse, the kingdom the game starts in. Chrom and his team finds you the player character, not knowing who they are and you help him and his crew out for awhile. This turns into a story of trying to keep the peace and then saving the world from a evil dragon, this time named Grima. Story will keep you till the end of the game and has plenty of twist and turns to entertain you. Also even characters have plenty of interactions to even in some cases marriage and children.

Gameplay is typical Fire Emblem flair but more refined. Also more character driven and the RPG system is more skill focused than stat focused this time around for the most part. Also Characters can be talked to and has plenty of interactions that will keep you coming to play the game.

Sound and Graphics are one of the best for a 3DS game besides newer titles like Pokemon X/Y and Zelda A Link Between Worlds. Other than that is all I have to say.
Also this game has DLC to, which is cool to flesh out characters.

Overall this gam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3DS Game By Far

posted by Gasaraki (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2007

I wanted to try this out since of the amazing reviews everywhere and they were all true. The story was great as well as the game-play. Took me 20-30 hours to beat the same and some the easier difficulty's, i couldn't image doing it on the hard ones that's a challenge for someone else.

Only downside was the dlc was about 6 bucks for each little pack so cost about 50-60 for them all so i just stuck with the game which is well worth it.

Overall definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't like

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This was my very first time playing Fire Emblem. I have to say that I love all rpg including jrpg. But I just couldn't get into this game at all. I played for about 3 hours and just shut down the game. I know people love this game but I just did not find it fun. The anime cut scenes are fun to watch but the in game interactions between characters where quit dull. The graphics are great for a 3DS game but I could not get into the micromanaging of all the characters on a hand held device. For this kind of game I would need total immersion with my 60" TV and my Beyerdynamic headphones. But to me it just falls flat on a handheld device. And I do love a good 50+ rpg/jprg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by veggeilion (PINE BLUFF, AR) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Fire Emblem: Awakening is an exciting game with a good plot and nice cut-scenes. The 3d effect works really great with the game and if you have wireless it makes the gameplay even more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It makes losing fun

posted by Evesday (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

As a casual gamer who usually gives up on a game after the seventh time of retrying a level, I can honestly say that Fire Emblem is the first game I've played where failing actually encouraged me to play even more. Playing Fire Emblem reminding me a lot of chess, and the principles of it are basically the same. You're a strategist who moves your pieces/units across the field, taking turns with the other team.
I love the story line, and adore the support conversations. The more a pair of units fight together, the stronger their relationship becomes, and can even blossom into love. It was my favorite part of the game just to see what their children would look like, and you can even marry the children to each other as well.
Even if you're not a huge strategy fan, I am confident that this game will pull you in from start to finish. With amazing graphics (seriously, turn on the 3D during animations), writing, and gameplay, there's no way that you can hate this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Magnum Opus of the 3DS library

posted by Trubeque (TEMPE, AZ) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This a game with both a compelling story and characters and addictive gameplay. To those of you looking for an experiece with choice, emotion, and variety then this game is certain to become one of your favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Set up Your Army and Defend your Territory

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Delve into the newest chapter in Fire Emblem's Shadow Dragon timeline and defeat an ancient evil preparing to destroy all life. Make sure your strategy is great to avoid casualties and win each battle, buy DLC packs to gain new soldiers from old Fire Emblem games, and experience the best Fire Emblem game in the series. Well, I think it's the best and personally recommend it. It's definitely perfect for strategy/tactics fans. Just be prepared to feel the need to restart alot if you don't want casualties and just have to try again with a different strategy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is now my #1 all time favorite game.

posted by CuteButEvil (HIGHLAND, CA) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I have played all the fire emblems, but this one surpasses all of them. Never have I ever played a game more than once, however this one I have played well over 6 times! This game is truly amazing. Every time I started over I was able to play it differently and many different events happen. This game will continue to surprise you. Even after you beat the game you will still want to play because there is more in store for you than just the story mode! I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Masterpiece

posted by ichigorox300 (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

This game is truly the best 3ds game out there. I blindly bought this and it was a great choice. Great story, challenging levels, great character. I have over 80 hours into this and beat it about 4 times, one of the unique and great things about this is that when you get two characters married they will have children and they are playable characters and some are even stronger that there parents. I replay the game to try different combinations of people to get different children. So far if your character(If male) marry maribell to get the invincible Brady! and Lonqu and Cherche for Gerome. So great story,Amazing character and plenty of more! I have a lot more to talk about but BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must buy

posted by jaredafk (TIMMONSVILLE, SC) Jul 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

If you have a 3ds you need this game. Amazing music and it gives you insintive to play multiple times.Just buy it.You will regret it if you don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A gem on the 3DS

posted by Thekylekurtz (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

Until this game, my 3DS was a decent purchase. I'd buy a game every few months, play it and eventually grow tired with the system. Fire Emblem: Awakening is infinitly replayable, with wonderful characters. The classic and casual settings make the game great for any kind of player. Honestly, if you own a 3DS and don't have this game you're only cheating yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game On The 3DS

posted by NavonWise (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I was literally about to sell my 3DS, until I got this game. First Fire Emblem game I play and it has me hooked. Story is nice, a bit predictable at times. The game play is awesome, the characters are great and the music? The music!? I keep humming the themes all day. I didn't plan on keeping the game, but this is a must buy for any 3DS owner who is a strategy RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by awesomebjw (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

The best game i have played on 3DS great story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST RPG GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by cheesehguyinda (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH THERE IS NO FLAW TO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG for the 3DS, EVER!

posted by Jessie18 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

When I played the demo version of this game I instantly became hooked on fire emblem. My main save file has over 100 hours of gameplay. Story line was good, the support conversations, the relationships, having children, the strategic feel to it, the customization of an avatar and having him play a big role into the story was amazing! I love this game. A must play for strategic rpg players alike. I will buy this game most definitely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse