Rent Final Fantasy for PSP Games
view large frontback

Final Fantasy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

1008 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great classic for anyone enjoy

posted by OIFSldr (WILKES BARRE, PA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know most of you are thinking, "ANOTHER remake?!" And i thought so too, but regardless of how many times the game has been remade or revamped for newer players, i still enjoyed it.

The graphics are great despite the game being in 2D. And i would have to say the game is definitely on an easier difficulty this time around. (for those who can remember, you had to make sure each character could get a hit in the NES original, cause i'm sure we all hated having a turn cancelled when a monster died before you could attack. again only fans of the original NES version will understand that)

all in all the game is definitely worth the rental, or even the buy if your looking for a great rpg to play on the psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by guiby38 (KATY, TX) Oct 2, 2007

Member since May 2005

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never played FF ever and i always heard good things about it, so i decided to rent this and it blew me away, couldn't get any work done until i finished this game. very addictive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8 out of 10!

posted by Mandy23 (PORTER, OK) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A long time ago I bought the Final Fantasy Origins collection, and tried to play this original Final Fantasy on the PS1. It was so boring I could barely keep my eyes open.

This time around was different. I don't know exactly what made it more appealing this time, maybe it was because it was portable, and the graphics were more suited for the PSP.

I loved the fact that you could save anywhere. You don't have to go looking for a save point and waste your time.

My only complaint - and it is a minor one - was that I sometimes didn't know where to go. And the random battles got a little monotonous when I was running around without a clue. But I leveled up quickly, so I guess that was a plus.

If there was a keep it option for this game here I would definitely have kept it and beat it. I will probably buy this game on down the line. It is definitely worth at least the rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very entertaining

posted by rickromero (WATERBURY, CT) Sep 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very long, considering it is a psp game. You are challenged by numerous types of monsters and boses. The extra dungeons will also keep you occupied. The graphics are exciting when you do more advance spells, and the job classes are also interesting .The story line is pretty good. A must keep game if you are a final fantasy fan like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Remake, they improved everything

posted by fnf101 (HINTON, WV) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good Points/Pros:
-Awesome new graphics
-Monsters/Enemies look amazing
-Fixed battling system, you no longer try to hit dead enemies
-No blue or red text telling you exactly where to go next and what to do. No fairy reminding you where to go or what to do.
-Tiles for the towns and dungeons look amazing
-No level grinding, the game is a little easy at times
-Exp seems to be given out at a fairly decent rate
-Massive World Map, I forgot how huge the world map was! Great for exploring/getting lost :D
-Huge confusing dungeons, I love getting lost :D

Problems/Cons:
-A little too easy at times (maybe I was too leveled up)
-Too many random battles, sometimes you couldn't take two steps. For a game that doesn't hold your hand when playing thru, this can be annoying.
-Spell books are kinda expensive

I had just a few gripes, but this is an amazing remake! It is worthy of a 9 score, the graphics are great. The world is huge, the dungeons are difficult, no fairy (Navi) holds your hand and shows you the way, etc... Games today are too easy, this is a breath of fresh/old/stale air.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Game

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Final Fantasy Remake on the PSP is great, I like how it looks on the PSP widescreen, it looks great and very fun to play. I played Final Fantasy 1 and 2 on the gameboy advance and that looked great, but the PSP Final Fantasy is just plain awsome. I liked the beginning movie scene that was great, but don't get me wrong the game itself is great. Great Job Square Enix on this PSP remake. You should make more remakes of Final Fantasy for the PSP. The story of Final Fantasy was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like you're in middle school again...

posted by CraigEG (DENVER, CO) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm sure we all remember playing this game when we were younger, it's still awesome, has a huge amount of playability and will keep you riveted for hours. The story line is the same, but the cutscenes have been spiced up on the PSP from the original. There's almost unlimited possibilities within the game. I forgot how much I liked this series until I picked this copy up recently!! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Memories...

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really takes me back. I can still remember the first time I played FF1 and ill never forget it. This game revives the original and makes it look even more fantastic than the earlier revisions. If your a fan you will buy it. If you just want a little of the old school goodness then this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by footfoe (DUMFRIES, VA) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a fun game the only problem is that its to hard there is no map so its easy to get lost
rpgclassics

that should help random fights are fun not out dated sidescrollers are fun and old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but too easy

posted by neptune021 (BELGRADE, MT) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Growing up a big fan of Zelda, I completely missed the older tittles of Final Fantasy. This is my first time playing through Final Fantasy 1.

I really like the 2D graphics and that the PSP has not tried to push the graphics to awkward 3D (like FF3 on the DS). I like the music and the menus, as they are all beautifully done. I also like that the story line does not hold your hand through the plot, there were many times that I did not know where to go next.

The only thing that I don't like is that the game is too easy. 95% of the battles can be won with little or no strategy. Because you can completely customize your party, you can make the game more difficult by choosing 4 black mages, 4 white mages, etc. You could also play trough the game by letting 1 or 2 of your characters die and never revive them.

Anyway, the game is a lot of fun and offers a lot of replay. I just wish the game required more strategy.

Now if Zelda would just get an overhaul like this...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game for rpg fans.

posted by adamd2p (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing compared to the last final fantasy, plus I am a huge fan of final fantasy. But I am a FPS fan, so I decided not to rate this 10. But a excellent game, that is for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Dirk Review: Final Fantasy

posted by theDreview (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Platform: Sony PSP

Finally! Final Fantasy remakes anouther hit game from Square Enix. But this time, it's the one and only, the Final Fantasy... With no number.
This remake of the original Final Fantasy (we'll just call it I) is on shelves, and is totally worth what's on the price tag, which is $17!
With that same great soundtract, storyline and new improved graphics, Final Fantasy I is an inspiration to all RPGs and just plane old video games around the world.
My only real complaint about the game is minor, and it happens to be the oppening video. Usually, Final Fantasy games have amazing openning movies that truely phyce the player close to tears. The graphics are about average, which is odd considereing what they look like on the Nintendo DS. Ouch.
But, overall, Final Fantasy I is a great game that is a nessisary purchase for all PSP owners. -Charles Dirk Duncan

The Dirk report: 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic!

posted by herostyle (MISSOULA, MT) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When I first heard that Square Enix was remaking this classic NES game I kind of died a little on the inside. In my experience, revisiting fond childhood memories often destroys the experience I had back in the day. Doubt me? Try watching some of the cartoons you loved as a child -- Thundercats, GI Joe, Superfriends, Dungeons & Dragons, and so on...

This game, however, was a pleasant surprise.

Both the graphics and the sound have been updated in a way that keeps the same feel I had playing FF1 on the NES, but I can tell I'm playing this game on a newer system. These updates were all done to bring the game to a new level without trying to reinvent things, so the experience is just as good as it was in 1990.

The reason I give this a 9/10 is because it is a remake and does nothing to revolutionize the genre. I don't do it to take anything away from the game because the new Final Fantasy is exactly what you remember, just updated.

My thanks go out to Square Enix for modernizing one of my childhood experiences without destroying my memories. I will definitely be buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still good to keep

posted by Aereos (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Remaked for the 4th(?) time you'd think it'd get pretty... old. It's not. I'm playing through it and brings back good memories.

It doesn't seem to have its many problems as it used to. It still has its slow loading menu.

Music has been 'enhanced' as well as graphics to fit the new generation of PSP.

Regardless of being 20 years old, it's still better than 99% of RPGs for the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

prettified, nerfed, but still a classic

posted by RydelB (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it's hard not to say no to a version of the classic and original FF in its most beutiful incarnation, and yet, unless you've got a lot of time to kill on a road trip or are otherwise removed from any home consoles, then just say no. simply put the old FF was a challange, not so much of the tactiacl and strategic variety of many modern RPGs, but unless you spent hours upon hours upon hours levelling up, you were always at a disadvantage and would be easily overpowered. however, that little chalange is removed from the game, leaving a less than challenging shell of a game. however, it's still fun, but when i could get high quaility 3-D graphics, and less repetitve and somewhat more strategic gameplay just a few feet away it gets tired real quickly. of course it still a great game just best left to raod trips and such.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How many times can I play the same game...?

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jul 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played the original 20 years ago when I was still cutting my teeth on this amazing "console RPG" concept. Back in the day, this was an awesome game with references to the old school D&D (without all of the lawsuits) and it made me feel comfortable in my transition.

This version is a nice upgrade, graphically, but there isn't much other than the "bonus quest" that goes into every remake that Square-Enix does. The sprites look nice (I didn't think it could be possible, but Red Mage looks cooler!) as well as the other graphics and sprites... But the FMV's came from the PSOne version that was released as well as the same concepts of the monster library, blah, blah, blah. Gameplay is the same, turn based attacks with your choice of attacking, casting magic or running, no big change here either.

This might be good for some of you young pups that weren't around for the original, but odds are more than likely 3D games might have eschewed your view of this game.

Wow, that didn't sound like I was old...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 out of 10

posted by Smurfling (KOKOMO, IN) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I figured I would rent this game and see where the Final Fantasy series all started. Prior to this, I had played FF7, 8, 9, X, 11-Online (for a few months), 12, 13, and Tactics. It's a good game for it's time (but not as great as other RPGs that also came out around that time).

I would not recommend this game for anyone who gets annoyed easily. There's no field maps, very little information on where you need to go and do, and a massive amount of random battles. I don't mind random battles, but when you're trying to back track through multiple floors to turn in a quest and further the story line and you have to fight a battle every 5 steps, it gets pretty obnoxious.

The only reason I only played this game for about 8 hours, is because early in the game after you beat a certain boss, a dungeon opens up. I figured this dungeon opening up was the next part of the story line since this game tells you next-to-nothing about where to go. Anyways, this dungeon is completely optional. And the only way to leave the dungeon after entering is to beat one of the bosses in it. Unfortunately, the monsters inside were just as easy as monsters I was fighting in the previous areas, so I figured I was on-track. Boy was I wrong, when I got to the bosses they all had about 4k health and would 1-shot my entire party with a single AoE spell. I have a habit of frequently saving, and I saved over my file inside the dungeon, so unless I want to grind for hours and level up and hope my cruddy gear can beat these bosses, I'm screwed.

Anyways, if you rent this game like I did, you only need to play it for 2 hours to know exactly what the entire game is like. Would not play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

didnt quite make it

posted by nickthekid (AGAWAM, MA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

i decided to give this game a whirl. i figured it had to be good if they made 13 of them. this title didnt quite cut it for me. the missions are very vague in where to go. and they name places that take hours to find. and even longer, since every five feet you find your team matched against six monsters. this game was just too confusing for me, as i always say, if you're a big time RPG geek. you might enjoy this game more, but i couldnt bear it. 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a classic game with improved graphic...

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

other than that.. i don't see anything interesting.. the items are expensive.. and gameplay is very simple.. time consuming.. ideal for those who like long play time..but not for me..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a Difference time makes!!!

posted by dbjj4life (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

i have played the GBA version of FF, and it was superb. the difference with the PSP version aside with the visual upgrades. it's that it was made more challenging. when i beat the first boss of the game and went to the first dungeon to fight the first optional hidden bosses, i beat them all while i was atleast in my mid 20, level wise. in the PSP version, i was in my 30's when i was able to beat the first optional bosses. i finished the PSP version with all my characters in their 80's. the most challenging part of FF (as you will notice that is the case in every FF you play), is when you fight 2 of the MOST powerful hidden bosses in the game, Omega ( 35,000hp) and Shinryu ( 35,000). Bring on FF7 to the PSP darn it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How many versions can you make of the same game?

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

Another remake of final fantasy one. Great. No, really, great. Final Fantasy (one) is a great RPG, and age hasn't hurt this title too much. You do the same things you (usually) always do in the earlier FF's - get crystals, level up, save someone, level some more. This formula works, and it works well on the PSP. The biggest flaw with this version are the graphics. They're definately a step up from the GBA version, however they are still 2D, and we deserve a 3d FF. For me, FINAL FANTASY III on the DS is the best handheld FF ever, and I cannot grasp why SquareEnix didn't take the extra time or effort to give us something similar - especially on a more powerful system like the psp. Regardless, this still is a great game and definately worth a rental for the casual rpg-er, and a purchase for the hardcore. B-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »