Rent Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster for PS3
view large frontback

Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.7

638 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes

posted by ethwok (ANN ARBOR, MI) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game so much(talking about FFX(not 2)). I know lots of people think it's not one of the best FF games, but I think it's the best one out there. The story is so passionate, and lets you connect with the decisions Tidus makes. Overall, bravo to square enix for making this remaster. It deserved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10/10

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Games

posted by Archer9914 (EMMETT, ID) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Love them!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Save your money

posted by Eldavo (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Framerate. Blur. Awful loading times. Interminable, unskippable scenes. Menus that require you to wait while the interface to fully load. There was room for improvement everywhere, and somebody decided that the graphics were what kept these games from recapturing what Square has been losing ever since "Enix" was glued to the end of it. There are better ways to replay these games. I never asked for better dialogue, less lazy animation, or (heaven forbid) new voice actors, but I wanted something that I could use to justify buying this new version, and it wasn't there.

Of course, if you've never played the game, there's a lot to discover. It really is gorgeous on a frame-by-frame level, the combat is fun and solid, that's why I rate it a 5 and not a 2... I'm sad to say that it just really needed more than that to justify slapping a new coat of paint on it, especially if that coat made it slower and more awkward, since they didn't alter the character models at all. It put all the faults of the original at the forefront. Another weak cash grab at the expense of faith in the industry, spearheaded by people who understand dollars but not how to cultivate them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Quality Control anyone?

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Aug 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is full of bugs! They obviously did not do enough QC to detect and eliminate all of the problems! It freezes at the loading screen about 50% of the time. Because I am a playstation plus member, my save files get uploaded to the cloud every night. After this happens, the PS3 can not find the save file. Every morning I have to go and copy the online save file to my PS3. After doing that, you have a 50/50 shot as to whether it will load or not.
This is still a great game, no doubt, but wasting twenty minutes hoping that it will start is not cool. I also hate the fact that this game has a long loading cycle every few minutes, and that you can not skip the cutscenes that you have watched 20 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously!

posted by Fizzlerator (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

I've read the other reviews and this game must be getting high marks for nostalgia points. If you've never played the game before and your expectations are in-line with typical 3rd generation console gameplay, graphics, & difficulty, then you will find THIS GAME TO BE TERRIBLE....I dare almost not even call this a game and just label it "unbearable/unskipable dialogue and cut scenes"; I'm being generous in saying that about 10% of the game is actual gameplay.

Apparently this game had its day on the PS2 and that's where it should have stayed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing!!!

posted by FearIsOblivion (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This right here, this game all on it's own has revolutionized the gaming experience for me.

The story, the Romance, the never ending spiral of getting hooked into a fantastical world the consumed your reality.

I've played this game without exaggerating hundreds of times, for PS2, and now on PS3 and my love for it continues to strengthen.
The idealism of embarking on a journey through everything being against you, words can never describe a game of majestic beauty. The game itself brought so much joy to my childhood.
If you haven't played it on PS2, i'd do so now. it's too amazing to miss out on.
ahem, now if you'll excuse me, i actually paused it to write this review.
10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable

posted by Manario (ROSWELL, NM) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I was very excited to receive this game but disappointed to find that it freezes 100% of the time. No exaggerating there. I'm a new father with little game time and was unable to get past loading the disk and selecting it from my home screen. What gives? It did have a curious orange sticker on both sides of disk. I'm assuming to help with skipping? Whatever the case is I'm not desperate enough to wait for another disk in the mail and will not be playing the remastered version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Buy a PS2

posted by CJB0 (HOPKINS, MN) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

It's cheaper, it's faster, it's less buggy, and it makes more sense. It'll also cost you the same $50 to get the games + the system used versus buying a new version of classics that really were better off back when they came out.

Remakes of games historically are poor just like randomized ports and this is no different. It's slow, it's buggy, it's annoying, and if you were there when it first came out it's just prettier but honestly if you're playing RPGs for their graphics you may want to rethink your strategy anyway.

All in all it's a loss. It only has nostalgic value and honestly it's about time we stopped paying for the same thing as gamers more than once in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It was fun

posted by dragonfly01 (BRANCH, AR) Aug 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Reminiscing the old times and checking out the new features sure keeps the fun going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

To be honest, it isn't all that great

posted by sean999 (DENVER, CO) Jul 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I only recommend it if your a very serious gamer, and you are very serious about this game. And I thought I was serious about this game. The original FFX used to be my favorite video game. Sadly, unless you collect the destruction spheres from most of the temples the first time around then you are forced to fight many of the dark aeons if you wish to obtain anima. The dark aeons are not an easy challenge. The only way I could defeat dark valefor was with yojimbo's zanmoto, In addition, the expert sphere grid really isn't all that big of a deal. I haven't even started the updated FFX2. FFX eternal calm was a half hour long video, which is good to watch if you haven't played FFX2 yet. However, if you have already played it then there is really no point in watching it. Finally, there is last mission which is just a real oddball game. I didn't enjoy it. I might go back and try it again, but I don't think I will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How about a FF7 remake?

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

No? Then let's just stick with remastering piece of scheisse games. FFX was the turning point in the FF franchise that has ever since lead to the franchises downfall. FFX-2 was a follow up that did poorly but brought back the class system and stuck more to the original roots of the Final Fantasy games but with a sensitive male dominating market the game was shadowed and overlooked due to it's all female cast, something that costs lots of FF fans to miss out on a really great story, vgm, and gameplay. The story in 10 was lackluster, Titus drove to me want to wear earplugs when I play and the rest of the characters were very unappealing minus Rikku. FFX-2 revamped Yuna and made her awesome, Rikku even more fun, and added Paine to try and lower some of that estrogen. If you liked FF3/6, then you really missed out and a plot twisting type game. If you want to buy this game I would get it for FFX-2. The story for 2 starts off with Yuna trying to find Titus again but really gets twisted around and sucks you in once things get rolling around 1/2 into the game, classical Final Fantasy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A classic gets more classicy.

posted by Joshua3886 (ARCADIA, CA) May 31, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

Final Fantasy XIII was a big disappointment for me, so I was thrilled to learn that the PS3 would be getting an updated version of one of the best Final Fantasy's in the series. The graphics have been updated beautifully, the new fanfare music is perfect and the additions make it worth playing even for veterans of the PS2 versions. This game definitely outclasses all of the recent Final Fantasy games. Hopefully the sales of this game will convince Square Enix to make more games like this again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

They dont make RPG's like this no more

posted by tj90788 (BRONX, NY) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

Final Fantasy X is still one of the best RPG's the story and everything is sill the best. They need to go back to this formula. Now X-2 was a horrible game. It was like they made that game specifically just for girls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome well deserved HD remake

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

This HD remake of the memorable Final fantasy 10 and 10.2 looks totally amazing, vibrant and clean, also a cool addition is characters dialogue within and after the battles. What I didn't liked much was the change of the soundtrack in final fantasy 10, cause it sounds to me like the whole soundtrack got a downgrade rather than an upgrade. Other than that, the HD facelifts looks awesome and the environment they look more colorful which make re playability really high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Remake

posted by hiatsu2k8 (KEY WEST, FL) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

Still awesome! Worth a rent at the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Reminded me of how bad the voice acting was lol

posted by YUNGWON317 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

I love this game my second favorite in the FF series but I think im gonna be hearing that horrible acting in my head forever now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

originals were better...

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

i find the original games for the ps2 were just better and honest to god more fun to play because u had to start over on the remake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Remake or not still a great experience.

posted by GreyOgre (DAYTON, OH) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

A pretty awesome deal really. This disc is actually two games in one, one of which is still up there as one of the best in the long line of Final Fantasy games, along with HD touch ups. Both games also still hold up fairly well considering the plots and gameplay features have been up to 12 years old. This is in part due to the fact they were well designed and simply because the older jrpg style of "turn based strategy", you know the kind that has you both level grind AND think, has been been on the sidelines of console titles for so long now that seeing reintroduced this way is pretty refreshing. Even if you don't agree with me or are one of those people that found the included second game to be a flop in the past, the whole package is currently only 30 bucks for easily over 100 hours of content so it's worth the cash right there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Remastered Legacy to be proud of

posted by lizcianci (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

This PS2 to PS3 Remaster amazed me. Like the Kingdom Hearts 1.5 Remaster it had it's look and feel of good times long past. For me this game gave me an opinion that games were an experience and not a simple past time.

The beauty these titles have preserved with new remastered layouts, Characters and a cleaned up soundtrack. I love that they kept it all together but hoped that they would fix the camera. They did some improvements in Kingdom Hearts so I was optimistic but fell short so that was my only complaint.

If you love Final Fantasy Pre-XIII Era; this is the game for you. It has a great story and will give plenty of fighting, mini games such as Blitzball and Chocobo training. My favorite pass time in the games was finding the Jecht Spheres and learning about Tidus' and Yuna's fathers and the past of Auron. It was as complelling to the story and I wished was a bit playable to be part of their world more.

This game is satisfying in everyway down to the ending and will give the urge to do it again. In addition the Expert Sphere grid is added to this Edition. Though if this is your first time or if you are just remembering this good time try the standard one then beat the game and revisit again with the expert. It is challenging and you DO NOT level up quick so it is more to do than before.

Good luck and Enjoy Spira!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Title

posted by Ngattsh (GROVE CITY, OH) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is a refreshing step back in time for JRPGs, The leveling system, The story, and especially the characters, make this game near and dear to my heart. I would recommend if you have already played this game to completion to not buy it because a $40 price point is unnecessary for a game that you have played before. The updated music and sound of the remastered version is even better than the original, also the graphics are very well done. (although, when talking, the facial expressions and lip-sync might throw some off). One of my favorite games of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic....

posted by BabyHulk28 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

This is one of the best Final Fantasy games ever. I played this when it first came out and now that it has been remastered I cant stop playing! Great story, characters and game play. I recommend this to anyone looking for an epic RPG experience. 10/10 for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »