Rent Final Fantasy XIII-2 for PS3
view large frontback

Final Fantasy XIII-2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

2602 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Cactuar to the Future

posted by JakeAStrife (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was way better than FFXIII part 1.
The battle system was relatively the same, except for the third party member is switchable and you're stuck with the regular first two. (Kind of Final Fantasy meets Poke'mon)
Now besides the hideous pants that Noel wears, the character design was great. I haven't checked out the DLC costumes because I'm not paying 2.99 just to see a different look.
Anyway the story was nice. I love the ending, and it makes me wish FXIII-3 Lightning Returns would be out sooner.

As far as Trophies go it took me roughly 65 hours or so to get the platinum. They are all relatively easy to get and not one takes more than an hour after you play through the entire story.
Overall... great game.

PSN: TheSoulGuardian

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love Final Fantasy 13-2.

posted by gfdhth (SNOHOMISH, WA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very enjoyable. i would buy it if i had the money. Gameplay is very enjoyable, i love how u can jump back and forth through time and even go to the same place at a different time and it changes the area ever so slightly! for example: The Bresha Ruins= the
005 AF version is normal storyline happy and sunny. but when u go to Bresha Ruins at a later time period it is snowy!!!! super cool. One thing i dislike about this game is the fighting. it happens way too often.. In one mission u cant even walk an inch without being assaulted by a ghoul :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A step in the right and wrong direction

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Feb 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Much like the troubles facing our heroes in FF XIII-2, this game is a paradox, as it both improves on the previous game but also takes a step back at the same time. Gone is the linearity of the former title, as you have more choices on how to proceed through the game. Also back are side quests that can be undertaken in addition to the main quest. Another nice improvement is the addition to adding monsters to your battle party, a la Pokemon, adding a new wrinkle in designing your paradigms. The battle system is more fluid, and switching paradigms is faster than before. Also nice is the addition of a new save feature, where you can save your game most anywhere (no more hunting for save spheres!). But along with all of these niceties come a few flaws, flaws that hold this game back from being a great entry in the long running series. Random battles are back, to the point of absolute annoyance (especially later in the game). Your main cast is down to two characters, Serah and Noel, though you will encounter a few from FF XIII. Your main task is to find Lightning, and- that's about it. Levels consist of fight, find an object, solve a paradox, advance to a new time period. Late in the game, you get a ridiculous fetch quest to complete, and the game doesn't help to point you in the right direction. Voice acting is decent for the most part, though both Chocolina, your vendor, and Mog, your moogle, both are annoying. The music is good but at times seems out of sync with the scene. The dialogue ranges from fairly good to outright stupid, taking the story, which is thin to begin with, down a notch. Fortunately, there is a lot of game content here, with the main quest taking about 25-30 hours with other quests to return to once you've finished the main plot, if you care to. Loved the previous game? Then this is a definite buy. For others, it's merely a rent, something to pass the time until some of the more anticipated titles are released. Fun and frustrating sums this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better/worse then 13

posted by sando (ALLENSTOWN, NH) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

they improved in the linear department but the story suffers from that and a small cast still an amazing game. Combat is like 13 with adult pokemon added

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its For You To Find Out Why I Gave It An 8

posted by Ace_Bravo (DUBLIN, OH) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nice Story.. Just Didnt Like The Ending... Darnit Waiting For FFXIII-3?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game but broke my PS3

posted by Merkabah (HERMISTON, OR) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game was great but for some reason I can only play in 30-45 min intervals. The game just freezes. I have had no other issues with any games. A lot of people say it's overheating but I just finished playing skirim for 5-6 hours straight and never had an issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A journey to the future n one heck of a ride!

posted by joethekiller16 (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is well worth it, a really action filled game, a rush bringer, and like said in the title a fantasy, this game is more then just a game of action, its a blissful story, plot twists in every story, I recommend this to anyone that loves a good story, shooters or anything that'll give u a rush. Trust me on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Small Fixes Negated By Newer, Bigger Problems

posted by Iamnobody (AMHERST, MA) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I originally had high hopes because the pre-release demo demonstrated the effort Square put in to fixing most of the complaints players had about FF XIII, particularly it's linearity. Unfortunately, the final product gets almost nothing else right and even manages to create a new flaw from its branching maps.

First, the few good parts. The game is surprisingly non-linear, featuring a large number of maps with significant branching and an impressively wide variety of levels to time-travel to. The already good battle system has been improved to allow both characters access to all roles and now includes a Pokemon-esque monster collection game to fill the third battle slot.

And now the negatives. FF XIII-2 may well have the single worst level design of any game I have ever played. It's not particularly bad for the first episode and a half, but it rapidly goes downhill after that. The second episode requires you to travel through an unmarked, barely visible side path in a level that the game not only implies, but directly says is a dead end. I wasted three hours figuring out where to go because the game specifically told me to leave the correct level. That is by far the worst example of Square's level design failure, but there are many more cases of either unclear paths or aggravatingly high encounter rates.

For its part, the story is an irredeemable mess. No plot event is ever explained with more detail than "TIME PARADOX", an explanation that is taken to truly absurd extents. The characters and plot events themselves are largely forgettable, both because they don't make any sense and because they simply aren't interesting.

The game earns a 5 because of the (mostly) very well-done graphics and complete lack of bugs. Still, I do not recommend this game unless you are truly desperate for a JRPG. Even then, there are almost certainly better options. FF XIII-2 is easily the worst Final Fantasy game and among the worst RPGs I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wrong direction for Final Fantasy continues

posted by Thadfg (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 3, 2012

Member since May 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying it was better than it's predecessor
the story was actually interesting enough to not fast forward through all the cut scenes. However you have no Espers or summons at all. How can you even call it Final Fantasy with out being able to summon a monster? They still insist on taking control of your characters away from you that is the biggest problem here. You still only control one character while the ignorant AI hinders much more than it helps. If you were hoping for a traditional Final Fantasy RPG or just a good RPG don't waste your time here. A 4 out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thank you Gamefly

posted by DrakesInception (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've already played a significantly better time traveling game that has an ACTUAL story, an amazing soundtrack and some of the best characters ever in an RPG, and that game is...Chrono Trigger. FFXIII-2 gets 1 point for their CG cutscenes, 1 point for the strictly ok battle system, and 1 point for the ok non rap, non metal, non j-pop music. I've played FF1, FF2, FF4, FF6, FF7, FF8, FF9, FF10, FF10-2, FF12, FF13 and FF13-2. The truth is, FFXIII-2 is the worst Final Fantasy game ever created, with FFX-2 coming in 2nd. I wouldn't bother renting this. If you want to play a real game, rent Mass Effect 3 or KoA: Reckoning. As I finish typing this, I'm getting ready to drop FFXIII-2 off at the post office. I just want to say thank you to Gamefly for saving some $$ for me <3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wait For FF13 Versus....Play at Own Risk of Sanity

posted by Gobind05 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I broke down FF13-2 on my enjoyment and what I thought personally. With that being said, this was a pretty bad game...better than X-2 though

The Very Little Good....
-Good music
-Pretty Graphics
-Noel is pretty cool

The BAD!!!!
-The level design is really bad
So when I say that the level design is bad. FF13 was linear and people complained. In FF13-2, it isn't linear in the sense where your not just running in a straight line but there is a ridiculous amount of back-tracking that prolongs the game needlessly. For example, you press something on the east side of the map and then have to run all the way back to the west side just to run all the way back to the east side. It's dumb. Also, what pushed me over the edge for being done with this game is the final level. I won't go into to detail but it is probably one of the worst level designs I've ever played. You can't run a meter without getting a random battle with ridiculously strong monsters on top of it being in a platforming level.
-While the levels aren't linear the story is
The story in this game is extremely dumb down from FF13. Unlike it's predecessor, FF13-2 is too straightforward in the story. The whole story is finding lightning and stopping time paradoxes. That's it. You find out a little about Noel's back story but not in crazy detail.
-The characters aren't memorable
I say this in the sense of THIS game. Yes, you see everyone from the old game but they are extremely minor parts (except hope...kinda). Noel is the only one that you kind of grow an attachment too. Yuel, Caius, and Serah are boring and easily forgotten. Trust me on this.

-The combat system is improved yet....lacking
The pokemon system is cool but there is a huge lacking in variety of combat types you encounter. Also, the synergistic buffs where out way too fast. It's almost useless.

-That the lame story isn't finished....
Yup, another ga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, but not great

posted by RobL52683 (LYNCHBURG, VA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a terrible game by any standard. But when you hear the name "Final Fantasy" you expect an elite game that will put any other RPGs to shame. This game just doesn't do that. It's a big improvement from the AWFUL FF13. You actually have to ability to roam around a little bit, and there is a level up system in the game. The graphics are amazing but I'd much rather play a game that spends more time on gameplay and story versus how good the game looks. In short if you're into games that are all about graphics then by all means play this, but you're more into character development and storyline then rent this first before you go out and buy it. Maybe after the bad sales of this they'll finally remake FF7...... wouldn't hold my breath though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Final Nail in the Coffin

posted by Bouncingsoul39 (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The crew at square enix should just stop making these games. The series is done. This game gets boring really fast. The battle system is mindless and repetitive. Exploring and finding items is so dumbed down and so automatic and sterile that you can't care less about the next sword or potion you're given.
The story is bland and neither funny, interesting or new.
It really feels like the people that put this game together have given up. It the same old stuff in a slightly different package. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hours of action

posted by cochese65 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

although the camera controls can be a bit annoying at times, this game takes you back to classic FF creation and thought. the use of preplanned monsters and thier upgrades are a bit intimidating. the levels your monsters reach are sometimes capped at lower levels and the infusion technique needs to be updated. all in all, we kind of miss the summoning cutscenes of your creatures but the fight scenes with the current loadout remains fantastic to say the least!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by batista31522 (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i personally thought this game was great...with a great ending. I liked how the game went through the timeline and kinda explained how everything happened with 13. the battle system could have been alittle less boring but otherwise was a fantastic game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sux

posted by wtfwasthat (LUCERNE, CA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If you are into anime you will love this game, because that is all this game is a long anime video that tells you to hit a button or 2 every few minutes. IF you like games where you actually control the Battles in the game and not just spam the X button over an over dont get this game, the fight scenes in this game are so bad all you have to do is select 1 thing and it does all your attacks for you. There is no Strategy other then useing a healing spell when ur health starts to get low, well that and praying your preset attacks do more dammage then whatever your fighting. I had more fun playing FF7 for PS1 then i ever will with this stupid game. Dont waste your time with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thank you Gamefly from saving me from buying this

posted by bstaff1986 (WICHITA, KS) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Japanapop meets American soaps in this visually striking title. Much was put into the graphic end but why continue a mediocre thing I get it your trying to go for a twist or something new but the time paradox and suggested possible reality is just lame, what happened to a free roam continent, i guess spanning through space is the "in" thing this decade who knows, this just further proves the point that Square Enix does not have the creativity its grandfather company Squaresoft had. Mediocre at best I am really disappointed with the quality of products they have been putting out lately. Overall Pretty Lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Since Final Fantasy 10

posted by krikor16 (WILDOMAR, CA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love this game, it has everything you want to have in a role playing game and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Time paradox? More like game paradox.

posted by IrishNinja3010 (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

In my humble opinion, FFVII is still the best game I have ever personally played. I have played literally every game in the FF universe they released in America. Except FFXI, cause I never got online on my PS2. I've saved Shadow from the floating island. Met every Cid imaginable. Seen the various incarnations of Biggs and Wedge. Shared the dream with Squall and the others. Took the chessboard with Ramza, no matter how frustrating at times. Even FFXII had it's moments, no matter how few and far between. I have every title available on the PSN downloaded to my PS3. Every story, even with some ridiculous twists in them, I've enjoyed. Until now.

Seriously? What happened? Did you throw darts at the board for this one? I've got your paradox right here guys. It's like watching the original Star Wars and then going back and watching 'first three', extremely disappointing.

This being said, I am glad to see the battle system from the last one return. Even if your battle party consists of Lightning's lamer sister Serah, some dude who 'wished' to save humanity and BOOM!, time travel, and whatever monster you decide is right for the job. The paradigm shifts have been improved vastly since you don't have to watch the animation while the mobs continue to attack. Also enjoyable is the ability to make sure you get a preemptive attack with a swipe of your sword, even though it can be frustrating to get a bead on the monsters at times.

The ONLY reason this game even gets a 4 from me is the battle system and the beautiful environments. Story is a huge part of even picking up an RPG, and this title lacks that in every possible way, and I'm not even halfway through the third episode. I only got this game 3 days ago and am already contemplating sending it back.

I had to play FFVII originally on a borrowed PS with no memory card. I was so devoted I left it running when I went school so I could continue playing. If Square wants to keep a long time fan, they'll step it up a notch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ridiculous story, better game play

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The combat has been fine tuned, and the game is no longer linear at all. With that being said, the story cooked up for this sequel is terrible. Go forward into time to change the past? Not buying it. Back in the golden day of Final Fantasy (#7-10) in my opinion, you could expect a great story driven experience. Probably some of the best in their times. Now, with an already mediocre plot from the original ff 13, we get a tighter gameplay experience and are once again sacrificing the plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF XIII-2 = Amazing Improvement!

posted by slayer127 (HEMET, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

First off, this game is just unbelievable. They took all the stuff from FF XIII and twisted it all around and improved it so much. And added some other stuff. And you can get bonuses if you have a FF XIII game save. But I'll tell you about the game in a nutshell.

Pros: 1. Slightly better graphics from the last game.
2. Cinematic Actions are cool, especially the very first one.
3. Auto Battle is a lot less noticeable because of all the action going on in the battles!
4. You can actually JUMP!
5. The characters look way cooler than the last one, especially Lightning.
6. This game isn't like the characters watched a freaking soap opera before being put in like the last one.

Cons: 1. The camera is a bit clunky, but not too bad.
2. The save file is too big, 23 MB right from the get-go?!?
3. Lightning is extremely limited and Sazh isn't even in the game! That'll probably be fixed with future DLC though.

And those are the only cons in the game. This game is full of action and the monster capturing a la pokemon is awesome! You can even customize them to make them look cooler with stuff you find along the road. And level them up. The crystarium is also updated and not all crowded like the previous game.

I only gave this game a 9 because no game is perfect, and I just thought the save file was too big. But this is an awesome game and there is so much to do in it. I just got it today and was already hooked at the beginning.

Bottom line is, put this game in your Q now! Or better yet, go out and buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened?....

posted by Jm3rks28 (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst game of The Final Fantasy lineage. If Square Enix doesn't go back to the simple yet great battle systems and cut down on the constant dull dramatic cut scenes, no one will want to play FF13-3. Once again this game fails to give the desired open-world effect. It was more of grid of levels. Skyrim and Mass Effect 2 are much better games and I look forward to the release of Mass Effect 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save your time....

posted by Freaki0007 (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I don't know what the makers were thinking but the same crashing problems were rearing their ugly heads again. Before I could finish the 1st episode, sure enough it got stuck on the loading screen. So I went through the usual deleted all the game files , game data utility files , etc..., then it wouldn't get past the 2nd fight with Lighting , so fearing that I may brick my Ps3, I made a quick trip to the post office....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

From a Huge FF Fan

posted by tailsjmu (MARTINEZ, CA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Even though everyone knows FF reached its zenith at 7, I enjoyed 8 a lot and even 13 was decent, but I'm afraid it's time to face reality.

The paradigm battle system is brainless. I can set up a paradigm, give the controller to a 4 year old with the instructions to just keep hitting X and he could clear 90% of the game. How can anyone over the age of 11 find any accomplishment from getting anywhere in this? Every fight I got into was just wasted time, and the story mode is as bad as the battle system.

There is only one good part of this game, without ruining anything, get a mutant chocobo and turn your sound system up.

Keep your auto-battle paradigm system, give me materia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Playing time a little short.

posted by CptCurbStomp17 (SYLVESTER, GA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game was what i was hoping it to be. Amazing story that keeps you guessing at every turn. A great battle system to keep you on your game, and cut scenes that made you feel like you were watching the movie. The only thing I am KINDA disappointed about is how quickly i beat this one. The first one had hours of playing time and extra missions and available area. They wanted to make this one more free roam which they kinda did but it took away from the main game span itself. Me and a friend spent 400 hours on FF XIII to complete most of it but only took us 45 hours to complete FF XIII 2. Besides that little drawback Square Enix once again did a work of art with another addition to the FF franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse