Rent Final Fantasy XIII-2 for PS3
view large frontback

Final Fantasy XIII-2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

2595 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FFXIII-2

posted by ZeRoaLeXX (ORRUM, NC) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This was/is a amazing game. love it not as much as XIII but still love the game. The story was a little short and there not enough trophies/achievements for it but if you can look past that the story was really well put together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love Final Fantasy 13-2.

posted by gfdhth (SNOHOMISH, WA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very enjoyable. i would buy it if i had the money. Gameplay is very enjoyable, i love how u can jump back and forth through time and even go to the same place at a different time and it changes the area ever so slightly! for example: The Bresha Ruins= the
005 AF version is normal storyline happy and sunny. but when u go to Bresha Ruins at a later time period it is snowy!!!! super cool. One thing i dislike about this game is the fighting. it happens way too often.. In one mission u cant even walk an inch without being assaulted by a ghoul :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME, but....

posted by boobearkittie (SURPRISE, AZ) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

All in all this game is rockin'. The story and the game play are phenomenal. The leveling ability is just as you would expect in a new installment of a FF game. There is only one thing I would change, the dumb ship rift things. Why is it that i can level up normaly till i get to a dipship, hole in your head, area where all i can do is hope i can outwitt your .5 IQ game? How is it that your game with s 10 point IQ smarter than a frog?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Since Final Fantasy 10

posted by krikor16 (WILDOMAR, CA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love this game, it has everything you want to have in a role playing game and more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game but broke my PS3

posted by Merkabah (HERMISTON, OR) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game was great but for some reason I can only play in 30-45 min intervals. The game just freezes. I have had no other issues with any games. A lot of people say it's overheating but I just finished playing skirim for 5-6 hours straight and never had an issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hours of action

posted by cochese65 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

although the camera controls can be a bit annoying at times, this game takes you back to classic FF creation and thought. the use of preplanned monsters and thier upgrades are a bit intimidating. the levels your monsters reach are sometimes capped at lower levels and the infusion technique needs to be updated. all in all, we kind of miss the summoning cutscenes of your creatures but the fight scenes with the current loadout remains fantastic to say the least!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better/worse then 13

posted by sando (ALLENSTOWN, NH) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

they improved in the linear department but the story suffers from that and a small cast still an amazing game. Combat is like 13 with adult pokemon added

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by batista31522 (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i personally thought this game was great...with a great ending. I liked how the game went through the timeline and kinda explained how everything happened with 13. the battle system could have been alittle less boring but otherwise was a fantastic game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A journey to the future n one heck of a ride!

posted by joethekiller16 (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is well worth it, a really action filled game, a rush bringer, and like said in the title a fantasy, this game is more then just a game of action, its a blissful story, plot twists in every story, I recommend this to anyone that loves a good story, shooters or anything that'll give u a rush. Trust me on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Addicting

posted by Silver78 (HIGHLAND, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Is a seque to XIII and contiunes the story from fourth. Personally, it was very fun, you can fight alongside with monster you've captured in battle even Boss battle! The graphic is rendered into pure HD, every pixle being used. Highly recommened this, but you may end up keeping it so have your wallet ready!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot better than XIII

posted by the7erm (CHEYENNE, WY) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

I liked this one a lot more than XIII. There is a lot to do. Chocobo Races, Time Travel, METAL and Multiple Endings! You an also jump while you're walking around which is a bonus.

I like games more that have multiple endings they give a game much more depth, and definitely more replay value. The good news is you don't have to replay to get those endings. Just lock the right area, play through it and you'll get a different ending.

This is the first time I've ever maxed out my characters in FF. (Unless you count 3 KOR Materia in FF7.)

If you're a FF fan you should definitely play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better that XIII(spoilers alert)

posted by Tommicter917 (MARGATE, FL) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

First off I liked XIII because of its unique story. If it wasn't linear and more open world the game would've been amazing.

XIII-2 Had an odd time traveling concept, which would actually seem good, but it actually confuses you if you don't pay complete attention.

The biggest disappointment was not being able to play as Snow or Lightning. They both made the last game much more fun and enjoyable. In this game, You play as Lightning's sister Serah and Noel.

Of all the original characters, Hope had the biggest role.
Personally i enjoyed this. In XIII he added dark revenge elements to the game that kept you drawn to see what was happening next. Of course he was a little annoying, but they added him because having a confused child basically has them explain what's going on in the game to you. in XIII-2 HE is with the Academy trying to resolve paradoxes.

Overall i now am just waiting to see how they resolve the story in the next game XIII-3 WHich will be made and hopefully, finish's the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT Game

posted by mymymyminer (BRONX, NY) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is awesome. it has great scenes awesome characters and even better game play with the new cinematic fights. This game has a very good story line that relates to the previous one but also is good on its own. i recommend that anyone who plays this game does not use a guide because each player can have their own alternate ending that they are satisfied with. i personally do not play games like this(RGPs) often but i do like final fantasy's games so i played the first one and didn't really enjoy it but this one in my opinion is Very good. I was Actually conflicted about buying the game after i finished it and even though the game ended i would have played it over and over (i realized i didn't have enough money for it lol). But overall my score is a 4 out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good and Bad

posted by Linknivens (MESQUITE, TX) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The game itself is an amazing game, but the only problem that i have with it is when i try to play it it just freezes up and doesn't let me continue playing, and i have to reboot the entire system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by smith888 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Fun, good battle system including using monsters to really help out in the later battles. Remember to use Sentinel paradigm - very helpful. Highly recommend - beat in a week and a half!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a twist to the FF series.

posted by GaM37rEaK (LA MESA, CA) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I personally like this game. It is way better than FF13. It is not so straight foward. The cut scenes are not so great but the game play is nice. I do like how you are able to capture monster crystals and level them up. The story is short but the post'-game gameplay is nice. You have lots to do.

This spin-off is WAY better than what they did to FFX. If you are a FF fan I would recommend getting this game. You will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good not great

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Feb 11, 2012

Member since May 2011

This is a perfect rent thanks gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game For FF Fans

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

I'm going to start off the review by saying if you don't like Final Fantasy then you won't like this game. Only a set amount of people will like it. For me any Final Fantasy game is good so I didn't mind the tweeks they made to it. It's not the best FF ever made but it's also not the worst.

Pros-
-Great graphics
-Fun battle System
-Lots to do after game is beaten
-Interesting Story even if not wrapped up well
-The ability to capture monsters gives you ways to change your battle team.

Cons-
-Loading screens ( Not tyipcal in FF games)
-Short main story with mediocre ending
-DLC....Are you serious Sqaure Enix include whole game next time please.
-To many puzzles that are way to hard.
-A lot of cutscenes I mean ALOT.

Overall the game is fun but, it does have flaws that shouldn't have happened. They are trying to make to many people happy and should stick with the old FF that made them famous in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then the first

posted by bmgoff (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

So far i love this game. Graphics, gameplay, story all good in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF XIII-2 = Amazing Improvement!

posted by slayer127 (HEMET, CA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

First off, this game is just unbelievable. They took all the stuff from FF XIII and twisted it all around and improved it so much. And added some other stuff. And you can get bonuses if you have a FF XIII game save. But I'll tell you about the game in a nutshell.

Pros: 1. Slightly better graphics from the last game.
2. Cinematic Actions are cool, especially the very first one.
3. Auto Battle is a lot less noticeable because of all the action going on in the battles!
4. You can actually JUMP!
5. The characters look way cooler than the last one, especially Lightning.
6. This game isn't like the characters watched a freaking soap opera before being put in like the last one.

Cons: 1. The camera is a bit clunky, but not too bad.
2. The save file is too big, 23 MB right from the get-go?!?
3. Lightning is extremely limited and Sazh isn't even in the game! That'll probably be fixed with future DLC though.

And those are the only cons in the game. This game is full of action and the monster capturing a la pokemon is awesome! You can even customize them to make them look cooler with stuff you find along the road. And level them up. The crystarium is also updated and not all crowded like the previous game.

I only gave this game a 9 because no game is perfect, and I just thought the save file was too big. But this is an awesome game and there is so much to do in it. I just got it today and was already hooked at the beginning.

Bottom line is, put this game in your Q now! Or better yet, go out and buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Has it all but needs help with one thing.

posted by RebelAngel (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

A lot of people act as if this game is terrible, but I find it to be excellent in its graphics and the battle system is much better than it was in my opinion. I feel the story line is good....maybe just a bit lazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a bad game but not a perfect game to me anyway

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 20 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well maybe the future down load content will resolve any story problems juest be glad they made any obivous improvements so that you know what's changed from the privious game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Cactuar to the Future

posted by JakeAStrife (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was way better than FFXIII part 1.
The battle system was relatively the same, except for the third party member is switchable and you're stuck with the regular first two. (Kind of Final Fantasy meets Poke'mon)
Now besides the hideous pants that Noel wears, the character design was great. I haven't checked out the DLC costumes because I'm not paying 2.99 just to see a different look.
Anyway the story was nice. I love the ending, and it makes me wish FXIII-3 Lightning Returns would be out sooner.

As far as Trophies go it took me roughly 65 hours or so to get the platinum. They are all relatively easy to get and not one takes more than an hour after you play through the entire story.
Overall... great game.

PSN: TheSoulGuardian

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly awesome

posted by deathgirl101 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i was hesitant to play with the low ratings and high availability and all. but this game was very interesting. I loved the new innovative look of final fantasy and its complex time sequence appeal. It was very interesting, and surprised me. i didn't expect this in the ff series, but i'm glad i played it and can't wait for the sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid

posted by Jmac1928 (WHITTIER, CA) Oct 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

everything that was good in Final fantasy 13 is back and even improved upon in 13-2. the paradigm system is polished and alot easier and less confussing to use. A very cool and interesting new aspect to the game that i really like was not only are you on the look out for loot but also new monsters to add to your team. This introduction of battle monsters adds a whole nother course for you to presue in your travels collecting, improving, and deciding which monster to keep, release, or infuse into another creature. story is like every other final fantasy game just absolutly amazing with breath taking cinematics and action sequences to keep you involved. one of the things i found really neat was the fact that there are mulitiple endings to this game. one true ending and then several uncompleted endings or paradox endings as they are called in the game. trying to unlock all of them provides for an interesting side quest. The few things i did not like about the game was first off the new crystileriam skill tress. now instead of haveing each seperate ability having its own tree where u can look at where all the special abilities are and how much strength, magic, or health you will recivie with each node now its just a set diagram and u chose which class to power up without seeing whats comming, its alittle confusing and i actually prefered the old way they had it. second instead of accessory slots now its based off points so if you have 50 accessory points then a bangal or bracer thats 55 points cannot be equiped, this is dumb and should just be put back to how many empty slots you have. and finaly the whole time jumping thing is kinda interesting in the story telling of the game but the jumping back and forth here and there was alittle overwhelming and just a pain. all in all though very good and exciting game, final fantasy does it again :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse