Rent Final Fantasy XII for PS2
view large frontback

Final Fantasy XII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

4752 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is story in almost everything. The espers, the marks, alot of the locations, why they are the way they are. Just awesome game. No turned based fighting sweet, gambits pretty much program what you want your char. to do is just awesome. No need to tell each char. what to do on the field. Preset them with the gambits and your golden. Decent story, wasn't to sure why it was placed in Ivalice but ok. I really thought I was playing some souped up version of FF tactics obviously the music is straight from tactics but hey thats just fine with me. The fact that the marks are the most difficult ecounters are kinda cool and how each one has a little story to them is great. I loved actually seeing some of the equipment Ragnorok, aegis sheild, to say a few is very rewarding on the char. Summons were kinda pointless. I preferred to empty my magic into quickenings than into espers myself. FF3 was my first ff experience reaquanting myself with them in this title was most enjoyable. This is a FF title just not to miss. And if you are into mmos your transition will not be hard. Truly what an RPG is all about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatist final fantasy's ever o.o

posted by hi14522 (GREENFIELD, NH) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Warning this game will take you forever to beat so it's a good idea to buy this. I own this game and now it's very very cheap so buy this game at your gamestop.

This game is very new from any old final fantasy. First the fighting it's live fighting and you need sometime to get used to it but it's a great way they did it. Warning some puzzles will drive you crazy sometimes but it's fun. Also the bosses are hard in a nice way but sometimes they pull off a big move so watch your hp when fighting.

This game is great but a very long game it's about 50+ hours and i still haven't beat it yet but it's still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prepare for change, prepare for greatness

posted by Takerkain (FAIRFIELD, ME) Nov 1, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

117 out of 139 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

First off, within the first hour, one will notice that this is a Final Fantasy much different than any seen thus far in the series, and this can put a gamer off at first, especially a huge Final Fantasy fan like I am, but within a few more hours of gameplay one sees how great the game truly is. The game opens up with beautiful cinemas showing the world of Ivalice and the warring factions that try to control it. You get to play as a rookie mercenary very briefly as you get the controls down as you try and save your king from harm. This is where you notice the battle system is unlike any single-player Final Fantasy, but more like FF XI. There is no turn based battle anymore, just real time slashing action but with the hinderance of a time meter that determines when you slash your enemy. After the scenes with the mercenary are over you take control of the main male character of the game, Vaan, who is a young man who dreams of having his own airship one day. You control Vaan through the town of Rabanastre running errands and going on hunts, which is the main side quest of the story. You go to a bulletin board, find a wanted poster more or less and hunt down and kill the beast for a reward. The License board is interesting but can be a pain in that you need to use points to unlock abilities and upgrades but most also require you to purchase the ability in the shop so if you unlock cure, you can't actually use it until you go to a magic shop and buy the cure ability. It's much like the sphere grid system in FFX, just a bit more confusing. I do however think the Gambit system is very welcome in that you can set your characters actions during battle (with the ability to override manually) so that once you're in battle, you can almost do nothing if you choose. This wouldn't work with a turn based system, but with the system in place it works really well. I'm running out of space so I'll leave with that if you keep an open mind you will find FFXII amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Masterpiece

posted by godsmith2 (WILLIAMSTOWN, WV) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy XII is a game that is a drastic change from the series previous 10 (not counting XI) installments, but still manages to offer a great experience.  

The story is set in the small kingdom of Dalmasca, which has been taken over by the mighty Archadian Empire. Here, we find our viewpoint character, a young orphan by the name of Vaan, who in a long sequence of events enters a resistance movement to liberate Dalmasca from it's Imperial overlord. 

In a departure from Final Fantasy tradition, the plot doesn't really focus on character development and melodrama, but rather a complex political drama concerning nation-states and rulers. Because of this, 5 of the 6 player characters lose relevance somewhat early in the tale, and that I feel is the game's primary flaw. Characterization is fairly weak, as is backstory and likability, which does somewhat hurt an otherwise masterfully told narrative. 

Gameplay wise, this isn't a standard Final Fantasy game either. One has the option to almost fully automate the combat system, for example, setting a parameter in the game like "Cure <30%" will make your party's AI cure any ally under 30% health. If you aren't a fan of automated battling, don't worry, you have the option to completely disable the system at any time and enter commands manually. Also of note is the absence of random battles, which are now conducted right in the field, almost like an MMO.

On the sound front, FFXII is well done. Voice acting is fantastic, and the music (despite losing veteran composer Nobuo Uematsu) is still well done. Graphically, FFXII is incredible as well, possibly being among the nicest looking PS2 games ever to be made.

With the main story lasting upwards of 40 hours for most, as well as side quests that extend the game for potentially dozens more, this is undoubtedly an RPG worth your time to purchase, as long as you can ignore some Final Fantasy traditions that are broken as well as somewhat bland protagonists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tedious but fun

posted by Syn_ (ROCHESTER, NH) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is tedious as anything, but I got into it. Granted there were times I went running for a strat guide, and some of the bosses were completely bogus, (especially the end /battles/). It was still a good game, with believable characters and a good plot line :)

All in all, I pushed to the end and finished it. I did have a gripe with the summons though, Definitely not as cool as the ones is FF-X, but maybe that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gets the big things right, but not the little ones

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

On the one hand, it is obvious that this game was made with a lot of effort. As a result, they did a lot of things right. The story and storytelling are decent (if cliche), and the overall structure of the controls and gameplay is pretty seamless and bug-free. There are quite a few sidequests and a big world to keep you occupied. The game also has an ingenious system for programming the AI of your party members so that they act on their own in accordance with what you want.

Unfortunately, the details of the gameplay mechanics are poorly done. Characters don't have classes and become quite homogeneous in battle. The weapons are also poorly balanced. There are tons of cool weapon classes, but most of them are too crummy to take seriously. Others are overpowered. Since all characters can use all equipment, this means I rarely used most of the weapon classes. Similarly, magic was not balanced well against weapons, and since all characters can use all magic, the same thing happened.

The flaws with the gameplay mechanics sort of ruined this game for me. I could never fully get into it, and I was glad to have it over and sent back once I beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

overall a great play!

posted by Vyndrais (WEST COVINA, CA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

gameplay 4/5
ffxii was a good game overall. as any game it takes a few hours for the story and the game mechanics to sink in but once you get past that it's actually very good.

the game makes you level/gil grind a little bit, which i'm not really a fan of - although sometimes i can see the necessity. as for ff games, it was very different (gameplay) but has some amazing cut scenes (as always); but it really reminded me of ff11 (game mechanics).

the side quests were a nice way to help with grinding, at least 2-3 times (outside of questing) i found myself running through areas grinding levels, points and loot (for gil). i was almost always undergeared/underspelled but making sure i was the same level as the boss really helped with that.

aesthetics: story & graphics 4/5
the story and the characters grow on you and really make it a good playing experience. i don't think i really noticed any plot fails.

i'm not really sure if it was just me/my tv/? but i had a little bit of an issue with the graphics - overall everything looked great, but sometimes the faces looked a little weird. it's hard to explain, but it caught my attention a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES!

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The perfect rpg game many hours lost to this game over 150 hours lost but those were good hours, i hope square enix makes a xbox 360 game with similar battle system, i love the battle system and everything else about the game 10 10 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfection? almost...

posted by Paladin5 (OSHKOSH, WI) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

28 out of 38 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Well another installment of Final Fantasy is among us. After being delayed numerous times, Square Enix has been under alot of scrutiny about this game. People questioned the new control scheme, the license board, the new freedom.

I must say, it was all for naught. This game is remarkable. Almost every aspect of this game works to perfection. After playing the new battle system for a couple hours... you'll fall in love. It flows so much better than any battle system prior to this one. BIG IMPROVEMENT!

The graphics on this game are outstanding. The in game graphics are probably the best on the PS2. And the CG graphics are knocking on the door on the next gen counsels. Ever texture and monster design and level is bright vibrant and colorful. You''l find your self playing it over and over again just to look at the designs throughout the game. Simply Amazing.

Get ready for a very in depth story and great character chemistry. You will be away from the outside world for awhile :)

Now on to the controversial aspects. First the new gambit system. It works REALLY well. You can pretty much control everyone of your party member to do what you want them to do. ANYTHING you want done you can set them to do. It gets more and more in depth as the game progresses and turns into an absolute strategic experience.

Now the new license board. This is where the game gets tricky. you can view this part of the game two ways. You can either not like it because there really is no direction. OR you CAN like it because there is no direction. I am in between on this one. A little bit more direction would be nice. However, it is nice to be able to set each one of you party member to do absolutely any job or class or skill you want them to do. There are new "quickening" on the board which also work as an absolute damage vortex.

This game is knocking on the door of the greatest game of all time. GET IT!! RENT IT!!! anything. you will be hooked for a long time to come. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Low depth, low involvment

posted by citizenk (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

It's fun simply becuase it's a final fantasy, but leaves a lot to be desired. I've got two points:

low depth. the licencing system makes having a balanced party obsolete. In a tough battle and your healer is out of MP? well just hop to the menu, now Bache can use Curaga, too! If you buy the 2X licence point accessories for your entire party, you'll have more than enough licence points to make everyone good at everything. FYI: the licence points will be doubled for people not in your party as well.

low involvment. As a programmer, simple logic statements (or Gabmits as FFXII calls them) are nothing new to me. gambits are nice for some things, such as curing status ailments. However, just set up a series of up to 12 gambits and watch the game play itself. By the end, you're pretty much just walking into enemies, then watching the resulting battle, no human intervention required.

bottom line. moderatly entertaining story, great graphics, and an initially fun battle system. oh yes, this game also comes with the status quo main character that you can't stand, and want to throw through a brick wall. I'd like to see FFXIII be more challenging, have replay value, and have the main character be old enough to rent a car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy at it's best ever

posted by sambuca (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I've been around for FFI, FFVII and FFX, so I'm a big fan. However, if you have played and enjoyed any Final Fantasy in the past, then this game will be a must see. The main draw - the involved, epic story and mind-blowing FMV sequences are all there at even higher levels, but they have done away with the two things I used to struggle through - cheesy low polygon story sequences and randomized enemy battles which took you out of exploration and basically sucked time. There are generous save points (which also restore HP and MP) and the new ADB system is integrated seamlessly with exploration, so you spend more time doing what you are playing the game to do - get somewhere. For more on the ADB, check out Wikipedia's FFXII entry... In fact, the ADB almost keeps the game moving fast enough to draw the action/adventure crowd, but there is a lot of exposition and it's a massive game to explore, so it's not for everyone. But let me just end with this: "Developed from 2001 to 2006, Final Fantasy XII cost approximately 4 billion Japanese yen (35 million USD) to produce with a crew of more than one hundred people", so it's definitely worth your time to check it out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Real Laydown

posted by MrCrypt (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Welcome to the NEW Final Fantasy. This is nothing 100% different from the old pure final fantasy's. Well let's start off by the battle system. Now you see the guys and you can move around while fighting. This makes it 200% harder. So far it seems that no matter what, your going to get hit and while running away, you can mob others and they can get into the fight as well. The "talent" board is completely different and will get some time getting used too. I haven't figured out totally but I'm trying to get there. So far the games graphics are simply amazing. The CGI looks better then some 360 games! Storyline so far is very nice and quite poetic. They do talk in English and "Shakespearean" but that doesn't damage the game. Just the biggest FYI is the new battle system and talent fix. So this the two hour review. I'll make another once I beat the game >.>"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great but not bad.

posted by DarkScion1 (MANORVILLE, NY) Dec 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Here's what I liked about FF12. First, the new battle system. There are no more random encounters, enemies roam freely on the world map and you can fight or fly at your leisure. Second, the Gambit System. Basically it allows your characters to do different commands like attack, heal, use an item, etc. automatically. Third, the cinematics. Like any Final Fantasy game, the cinematics are a thing to behold.

Here's what I didn't like. FF12 is too repetitive. Though the new battle system is a breath of fresh air, all you will be doing in this game is fighting non-stop. You can also ride a chocobo and that's about it. In previous installments, like FF7 there were the chocobo races and the motorcycle chase sequence to change up the gameplay. In FF10 there was the blitzball games. FF12 has non of that.

FF12 has this new thing called the Lisence Board. You can't equip a new weapon right away. You have to build up enough lisence points, and then buy the lisense on the board. Sometimes it became a real chore to build up points just to use a slightly better weapon.

The story is subpar. FF12 starts out with this huge LOTR-esque battle and the first 1/2 of the game is really engaging. By halfway through the game, the story becomes convoluted and just boring. Most of the cinematics in the game are just characters droning on and on.

The characters in FF12 are either very well developed or cliche cardboard cutouts. The main villain, Vayne, is the typical power hungry bad guy who wants to be a god. Some of the main characters have interesting backstories, but the main character Vaan is completely forgettable. He just has this been there done that feel to him, like we've played this main character countless times.

I've played far worse games. FF12 had a lot of good ideas, but the boring second half, weak characters, and repetitive gameplay make this far from good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth the wait!

posted by Jacsam (HEWLETT, NY) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I own the XBOX 360 and the PS2. I was a little hesitant about playing this game because I was so used to the graphics of the XBOX360. Let me tell you, the graphics on this game are amazing. The cut scenes are gorgeous. The story is great and the fighting system is a lot of fun. This game is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you aren't into MMO styled games...

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Nov 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

33 out of 58 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

...Then this game isn't for you. I am an old school fan of Final Fantasy, going back to the original version on NES. It is with a heavy heart that I can say that it is the first time I am uninterested in playing the rest of a Final Fantasy game. It looks pretty, and if you like games that look nice, then you will love this game. However, if you aren't into the MMO style of games, you will be turned off as much as I was. The battles feel more clunky than seamless and the clunky license system is a thinly veiled level grinding that we were used to in the older games, the same style that many have been complaining about. After putting five plus hours into the game, I felt no attachment to the characters, no real sense of story that could draw me in past the glossy exterior and the sense of getting lost was less than comforting.

Honestly, if you like this kind of game (a free form romp through a world where you have side quests involving hunting creatures for guilds and the like), I am not going to stop you from playing it, nor would I want you to miss out on a chance to enjoy it. However, if you are like me (used to being able to access menus and use items as I want, being able to use items, weapons and armor that are dropped by monsters or sold in shops without having to worry if I have the license to do so), then this might just get you to concentrate your energy on something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy 12: RPG at its finest.

posted by Twilight43 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Undoubtedly, FF12 is a incredible game. The story is gripping from the opening scene. The characters are unique in their own way. As the story goes on, each character begins to find their place. What I mean by that is when you are deep in the story, like a little less then halfway through the game, the story would feel like it was missing something without each of the playable characters. The story is done very well and it never feels as if it were dragging on. There's always something to do in the game. Sidequest, Hunts, Finding weapons, Leveling up, whatever floats your boat. The Voice acting and character motions are some of the best I've seen in any PS2 game. The new fighting system is easy to get use to after a while and is the most fun turn based battle system I've seen yet in any game on any system. While there are some flaws, the game does a great job of "covering them up" by being as good as it is. Die-hard RPG and Final Fantasy fans will agree that this game is a MUST HAVE. For anyone reading this review, believe me when I say that this game is ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I'VE EVER PLAYED. For those who are not Die-hard fans and are just casual RPG players, give this game a chance and I promise that YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FFXII A Breakthrough For The Series?

posted by Millennial (MADERA, CA) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Definately not. I am so disappointed that I feel the need to write such a negative review about this game. Before I played it, I heard such good hype, but once I had it in my possession, I spent the next six hours waiting for something exciting to happen. I turned the game off after six hours. Not one memorable thing. Sure, the graphics are totally great, but the story is utterly dull. In XII, you can actually hear the sound bouncing off the walls in wherever they recorded them. The storyline can be somewhat confusing. Throughout the first 10 hours of the game, I had no idea who the main villain was besides the Empire. Sure, the name Vayne suggests that he's the villain, but you couldn't tell. The only reason I give this even a "Weak" is because of the stunning graphics. I respect Square Enix for taking the time to perfect them, but they don't make up for the dull story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A weak entry in the Final Fantasy series

posted by Kunimitsu (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been playing Final Fantasy games since VII and for the first time ever a FF game disappointed me on every level. I wanted to like this game, but its only redeeming quality is its beautiful graphics or rather the cutscenes. The in-game graphics are sub par compared to Final Fantasy X the attention to detail is gone. All the environments are monotonous and bland. The gameplay is watered down and repetitive there are no mini-games you don't get to use vehicles or pilot airships. No more variety, it's a glorified hack and slash dungeon crawler. Basically all you do is go from one eerie tomb to the next killing the same 7 monsters over and over again. You can't equip weapons anymore you have to earn Licenses to use them. The bosses are extremely difficult. You can't earn Gil after defeating enemies instead you get animal pelts and sell them for little or nothing while the items and accessories are too expensive. The story and characters were the biggest let down. It is more contrived and convoluted than Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty. The game heavily borrows from Star Wars. Here's the character/organization breakdown:

Vaan - Luke Skywalker
Penelo - Padme
Princess Ashe - Princess Leia
Balthier - Han Solo
Fran - Chewbacca (or Jabba the Hutt's Twi'lek dancer, Oola)
Bahamut, Nethicite - Death Star
Nabudis - Alderaan
Empire - Galactic Empire
Senate - Imperial Senate
Resistance - Rebel Alliance
Vayne - Emperor Palpatine
Gabranth - Darth Vader
Basch - Obi Wan Kenobi
Larsa - Lando Calrissian
Mist - The Force

Too much politics and bureaucracy it's like watching C-SPAN. This is not in the spirit of Final Fantasy. If I wanted to play Star Wars I'd play Knights of the Old Republic. Bad voice acting with British accents and speaking in Shakespearean Iambic Pentameter. Vaan and Penelo shouldn't be main characters they are in the background most of the time, have little dialog and contribute nothing to the story. This game could have been so much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Undeserving of the Praise

posted by RaftRider (ORANGE PARK, FL) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was elated when I finally received my copy of Final Fantasy XII. I love stories full of war, adventure, rebellion, and the fight against enemy nations to protect the homeland--all facets of a good story that Final Fantasy XII supposedly HAD. Instead, I wasted 40 hours of my life on a vapid game and story.

In the first few hours of game play, you feel as if a very epic event is going to occur...but that soon fizzles out. When you expect the story to pick up, you're sent off on a what feels like a fetch quest that isn't relevant plot, or the next storyline point which doesn't add much at all to the story, which was very weak. You'll get the feeling that the developers wrote this game's script over night while adding in aspects that seem "really cool" at the last minute. At times, you'll be saying, "Wait, what?" or "When is this game going to START?" The story is that bad. The developers seem to hide this fact with numerous side quests.

Every character is one dimensional, except for Balthier, who seems to have stolen every playable character's personality. If you were to drop every single playable character with the exception of Ashe and Balthier, you wouldn't even miss the other s (if you were to drop Balthier, I don't think this game would have received good reviews, as he is VERY charming). Even the role of the main protagonist, Vaan, fades into obscurity and is replaced by Ashe while he just sits back and acts like a secondary character. The game's antagonists are just as dull. You often forget that Dalmasca is occupied by an "evil" foreign power that you're trying to expel. In fact, their influence is hardly even mentioned. The only redeeming qualities about this game were the spectacular graphics and FMVs, the fact that there were no random battles, and a customizable battle system. FFXII is proof that if you add Final Fantasy to something, the game will be heralded as the greatest RPG ever, despite many flaws that would doom run of the mill RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Purely Fascinating

posted by Samet53 (NESCONSET, NY) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably one of the greatest games I've ever played in my life. I highly recommend it to anyone who plays Final Fantasy games at all. Now I'm tied at FF7 and FF12 as my favorite FFs. The games new battle system makes it look like a MMO, the graphics are amazing, and the story is just as good as FF7s. This game will change your view on FF games forever and will almost change your life. Go play it. Now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Challenge!

posted by waltercros (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics A+, Story Seems to have Merit to.
But this Game is Very Very Hard.
If you want a Challenge, play this Game, if you want Fun, I Suggest dont play FFXII.

You could Past FFXII But I Suggest use a walkthrough to make your Life easier, Trust me it'll Help, The Monsters and Enemies tend to be very Hard, The First couple of hours the monsters arent to hard, but Suddenly The Enemies become very Hard, Like my Last Fight, I Had to fight 6 Soldiers, 2 of wich are Judges, You cant simply cast Cure either to heal your Comrads, because Casting spells take time to Cast and by that time they could be dead!.

Potions are pointless, because they only heal 100 HP.
Money is a Issue in FFXII to, it wont seem Like it at first, but trust me, it is!.

Matter of fact i'm Starting over to do things a bit different.
I Think Square Tried to Hard to make FFXII a Challenge wrather then Fun.

NOTE: Get a Walkthrough!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST FF EVER BAR NONE !!!

posted by zachman01 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Love this game and I gave it a 10. Best effort ever. The graphics, settings and characters are awesome. The roam feature is very cool. Pay attention to looking for and obtaining gil. It is not easy to get and you must look for it or earn it any way you can. You'll need it. This game is harder than all previous FFs and wont be beat easily or in a short period of time. Never travel alone and be careful which character you travel with and where you go with them. These are not easy monsters to take down and will kill you in one hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Continuance to the Series

posted by Joe982 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Believe the hype; this newest Final Fantasy game does not disappoint! Boasting a $35 million dollar budget, this next installment in the series shows that the golden elements of FF success (character depth, story, and surprises) are what keep the players coming back.

This Final Fantasy feels and plays a lot differently than previous single-player versions and has a bit in common (especially the all 3D appearance and party mechanics) with the massively multiplayer version of Final Fantasy XI.

Everything is fully rendered in 3D now (no more pre-rendered backgrounds with a 3D character on top of it), and cities and shops have a definitely more "live" feel to them, thanks to the increased amount of city wanderers, shop patrons, and guards located throughout the locales.

The new party/battle system is engaging and real-time, so fans of the turn-based system may find themselves in for a shock. The only break in action is an optional pause when selecting menu items/spells etc. Those who played Final Fantasy X-2 will find the battle system to be similar; action-bars "charge" and a character executes the attack when it is full. Other actions can be selected at any time (item, spell, etc.)

Mechanics aside, the characters, environments, and story are what make this title shine. Each character is immediately enriched by the use of excellent dialogue and (for the most part) great voice acting. The tone in this game has a darker overtone than most, and political intrigue and plots get thick and heavy early on, drawing the player into a world that both feels, looks, and sounds quite alive and realistic.

The only drawback is that this would have been a much better game on next-gen, or at least offered support for progressive scan on the PS2 (which it is quite capable of.) 16:9 is supported, however. Regardless, everything else makes up for this and players will be hard pressed to find any other faults with Final Fantasy XII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Occasional Frustration

posted by Nilesta (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I won't bore you with the obvious -- it's Final Fantasy, of course the graphics are spectacular.

The game play leaves more to be desired.

The combat system, while an interesting idea leaves you in basically two places. You either don't have enough gambit slots (or gambits to put in them) so you're trying to micro manage a fight that isn't going to wait for you, or you've gotten enough gambits and the game doesn't need you at all.

The characters lack any sense of a defining role, and after twenty levels, they're basically the same person with a different look. One healer is simply not enough, everyone will need some magic, and the differences in armor are so minuscule that there's little point in not putting leather on everybody.

There are sudden, jolting jumps in difficulty of the monsters you're fighting -- you'll be swinging along, cutting a swath through a dungeon, then suddenly find yourself needing to level up about five levels. That might not be a problem, except good places to 'farm' are few and far between. Add to that the fact that you're not really needed for much of the non-boss killing and it gets really old, really fast.

Money is also a serious issue. While the concept of getting items to sell rather than money makes perfect sense and adds a bit of realism, the items don't sell for much and the equipment (not to mention all spells and all skills) cost too much.

You also have no way of telling where licenses are, so you can occasionally find yourself in the position of having some new piece of equipment or spell, and having to blindly hunt for the license to use it. Eventually, I stopped spending any points on my secondary characters so that I would have points on them to use for hunting things down -- making them far from useful for actually fighting.

If you can get past these annoyances, however, the game has a rich, detailed world, good voice acting, and an intricate storyline. You'll want to know what happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Rare Miss

posted by kbmaster17 (OSSINING, NY) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not as good as some of its predecessors but still an okay game. The new battle system was fun but I still prefer the battle system in FFX to all others. Not to fast not to slow and still holding on to the FF flavor. The characters in this game were pretty lacking compared to some of the others. They were boring to look at and had no real depth to them. There was very little chracter development throughout the whole game and the storyline only focused around rocks the whole game. The concept of sky pirates was new and innovative and I was dissapointed that they didnt quite follow up on that. The world of Ivalice was pretty boring and didnt make me want to explore it more like Spira or Midgar. The cutscenes were nothing too special even though the graphics were spectacular as always. All in all a good game but I've come to expect more out of Final Fantasy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse