Rent Final Fantasy X for PS2
view large frontback

Final Fantasy X

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

4672 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Maybe My Favorite Game Ever

posted by Roggie2499 (MONROE, MI) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember getting this game ten years ago or so close to when it came out. Being 20 now, that's half of my life with this game. I can remember a day where I went home sick from school, started playing, and completely forgot about being sick the entire time I played.

This game has been with me through 3 PS2s, and I've gone out and bought two of them just to play this game.

FFX has one of the best stories I've ever seen. Honestly, it's probably THE best story in any RPG I've ever played. The graphics, for 2001, were fantastic. Nothing special now, but they don't detract from the game in any form.

The pre-rendered cutscenes, though. They look good enough to be in a game today. They even show up some of today's games. Why games don't use these anymore, I cannot figure out. If they looked that good on PS2, they could probably take that one tiny step forward with them and make them almost look real.

The gameplay is just as good as the story. Simple, yet requiring enough strategy to make you struggle at times. Some boss fights are just tough (as they should be), but they never are so hard that you can't beat them, unless you run away from a bunch of random encounters.

The Sphere Grid is my favorite form of leveling up that I've ever seen. Allows total customization of characters, but doesn't let you make them overpowered without tons of time grinding.

Blitzball is also a fantastic mini-game. Although after learning how to play well, it can become almost impossible to lose, it is still a blast. It's well worth playing, especially with the rewards you can get, but you can get by without playing (minus one game required in the story that has no effect at all on anything).

All in all, this is a game I'm still playing to this day. I'm currently going through my 6th playthrough, and have put at least 500 hours into this game. After finishing this playthough, I will put the game down. Until the HD remake comes out, that is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the Best

posted by Linerunner (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

57 out of 67 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the greatest of all time. Stunning visuals, memorable characters, an epic story and my favorite combat system of all FF games make this my all time favorite Final Fantasy. The combat is true turn based, meaning you can actually think and plan your upcoming moves and the timing of your actions based on who will be acting in what order. The game has tons of sidequests and other things to break up the action, great FMV scenes and all the other little touches that define the series. This game gets my highest rating, and I can only hope XII can measure up to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my first RPG on the ps2 and the most played

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Sep 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

29 out of 35 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

when i bought this game a couple of years back.. the moment i put the disc in and started to play, i got suck into the game! why?? voiced over characters.. during 2001.. it's a big deal! but now most games have voices :) despited the traditional turn based battle system, it didn't bother me a bit...The story is good, plus characters interactions and cut scenes are always enjoyable to watch. The graphic is pretty good for a 2001 year game. There are optional places available later, mini games, etc.. that will be you entertainment during your quest. Bliztball, the main minigame in the game, is my favorite mini-game. I spend hours after hours playing blitzball and it never bored me (except after the 4th time i replayed the game :) FFX is one of the greatest games on the ps2, it's one of the first to revolutionize the rpg genre on the ps2 as well. It's the same with tech stuffs, as years passed better stuffs come out. After playing FFXII and replay FFX again.. i noticed the expressions are not as perfect as FFXII's, still FFX is one of the best games that revolutionize the gaming industry, raising standard and quality in gaming:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FF game

posted by TLAW321 (WENDELL, NC) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was revolutionary for its time between the voice overs and the full facial features the graphics were top notch but the story line was also most in depth the summon system was different too but is it the best one ever?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

452 hours later. I'm DONE!

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Simply put, I enjoyed every hour of my 452 put into this incredible game. The best in the entire final fantasy franchise in my opinion.

This game has a great story, great graphics, INCREDIBLE battle system, awesome mini games, great map, and all else including sound too.

THe battle system is the best I've seen from Square to date, even better than FF 12. If you want a game that even has a super fun game inside the game, than you've hit the jackpot.

THe mini game "blitz ball" I think I put over 100 hrs just playing that. It's a blast! Don't bother renting the game, because you will just end up buying it anyways. This game rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by Muahahaha (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had this game a few years back, and I enjoyed it then, but for some stupid reason got rid of it. I recently rented it agian and my enthusiasm was renewed...plus this time I beat it.

There isn't really anything bad about this game. Even though it's and older game, the graphics are superb, and the voice acting should win an award. The characters are all endearing and captivating, and it's easy to relate to them all...well, Tidus has his bothersome moments, but still. The character design is also something new, as none of the other Final Fantasies even remotely resemble this. It's a breath of fresh air in a way.

Gameplay is also better in my opinion. This is actually turn based, as the enemy won't act until you do. Plus you can instantly switch characters in and out of your party, making battle simple, yet still strategic and fun. Though fights are pretty breezy and quick in the beginning, the game definitely poses a challenge later, and while not ridiculously hard, you will have to be decisive and strategic if you want to win.

I haven't played many games as good as this, but it will definitely stay as one of my top favorites. Whether you are totally new to the series or have been vanquishing foes for years, there is something for everyone to love, and you will definitely appreciate the engrossing story, cinematic cutscenes and the plethora of sidequests and secrets. Simply put, this is a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy X Review

posted by DRey502241 (BRISTOL, CT) Apr 22, 2006

Member since May 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game, Final Fantasy X was an awesome game all around. This happened to be the first ever game I played of the whole franchise, and I am breathlessly impressed of the whole game. The graphics are awesome. The controls are very easy to manipulate, and get used to. The turn-based action fighting system is great for the beginners who are just trying to get used to everything in the game. The storyline in the whole game seemed to be more of a full-length movie, which was something I didn't expect from a game even as awesome as Final Fantasy. This game is a steal now that it is only 19.99. I warn those who are just starting to play, and get into the franchise, the beginning of this game is confusing, but don't stop playing because it is confusing. Keep playing, as it will make more sense to you as you go on. I was the same way, the beginning was confusing, but I kept on playing, and everything made sense. This game is just one word...AWESOME! GO BUY IT, IT IS ONLY 20 DOLLARS. It is a steal, so go buy it, and enjoy the best Final Fantasy title to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game For The Ages

posted by Dark08 (Mulvane, KS) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As I have played this game many times I feel it never gets old. Each time you play you grow, and maybe you learned more the next time then the last. The turn - based fighting style is refreshing a simple. The Cloister Of Trials still has the ability
to puzzle me but they are still neat. The combination of warrior and mage is also a refreshing
aspect that you don't see quite often. It has a very
put together storyline. The bosses are challenging and they're plenty of them. My favorite part is the manual leveling up. You must fill in the pieces in order to level up Tidus and the gang on the Sphere
Grid. I feel that this is a great game and it is very fun. If you are debating whether to try it or not, I would cast my vote for: "Try it".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Final Fantasy.

posted by Mandy23 (PORTER, OK) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The first thing I must say about this game is that Final Fantasy X is the best Final Fantasy to learn on. As in, it is the easiest to learn and understand. The turn-based system is ingenious in the sense that it actually shows you the character's turns pretty far in advance. And, it stops play while you are trying to make a decision during battle. This is critical for newcomers to the world of Final Fantasy. The cut scenes in this game are wonderful, and in typical Final Fantasy tradition, the music is outstanding. This was the first to use voice acting, and I must admit, the acting is just a tiny bit rough. But it is certainly enjoyable. The characters are all very likable, and you do grow attached to them throughout the game.

I have played this game throughout a great many times. And I just got my boyfriend to play it - and he finished it - and it was his first Final Fantasy. Like I mentioned, it is a great game to break a person in gently.

The only thing that you might have trouble getting used to is the sphere grid. But after awhile, it becomes easier to do, and it really is a masterful way of leveling up.

This is a wonderful Final Fantasy. It has all the elements of a great story. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ALMOST THE CHAMP

posted by Vergil (EAST LOS ANGELES, CA) May 29, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest games i have played, it will keep you playing amd wanting to miss school the next day. The Graphics are very good for a PS2 game. Controls are smooth, entertaining story, cool characters,and baddass bosses you hate but wanna be. In my opinion the best part of this game is the Aeons, which are in other final fantasy games but really come to life in this game, Its the best feeling ever to know your hard earned Aeon beat one of the hardest bosses in the game. As far as FFX goes..its the Fish thats to big for PS2's small pond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

square enix is unstoppable...

posted by Knosty (FAIRBORN, OH) May 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Square Enix is amazing. FF10 has a lot going for it. To most people story line is essential to a big rpg and FF10 does not let you down. My girlfriend watched me play the game just for the story itself and that's saying a lot. The look is great as usual, magic and summons leave you going "ooh" and "aw...". No real complaints with the battle system. The sphere grid used to grow your characters gives you a feeling that you can completely customize your characters but almost all characters have a set path that they can only move on. Something you can always count on in a final fantasy game is side missions and this game is full of it. Definitely 80 plus hours of play. Every FF game is huge so another run through the game is still fun.

game play- 7 above average battle system, fun side games
look- 7 eye catching magic and summons
story line- 10 Square Enix is all about the story
replay- 5 i could play it again
multiplayer- n/a

overall- 7.25

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the reason why I lost many days of my life

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can't I say about this game...it's icing on the PS2 cake!!! FFX has everything a RPG fan (and non RPG fan) can ever want. The story is deep that you actually will feel for them and want to continue playing to find out what occurs next. Overall, this is the best FF in the series and i doubt it would ever be topped. If you have never played it, I advise you to make sure you set aside your entire summer, you will need it for this game!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy X

posted by NeloAngelo (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought that this game has a really good storyline and that the turn-based fighting system is very convenient. Another good thing about FFX is that it has a bar that lets you know who gets to attack next, be it the enemy or your allies, so you can plan accordingly. The sphere grid is an unusually nice twist to the experience and leveling thing. One of the bad things about this game is that you have to get into battles even if you don't want to. So it can be very annoying if you are running and every five steps you get into another battle. Like most rpgs you have to have some sort of strategy when you go into a battle be it defensive or offensive, otherwise you will just die in a couple of seconds and then have to spend your time reviving everyone. Hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Square Enix's first masterpiece for the ps2

posted by mario123 (MACON, GA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy X is the first final fantasy for the ps2. It has story, charactes, and combat. Unlike the other games in the series, this one has voice acting.
FFX is a story about a 17-year old boy named Tidus, a blitzball player (an underwater sport), that gets taken from Zanarkand and deposited to Spira by sin
Along the may he meets:
Wakka- A blitzball coach, guardian of yuna
Lulu- Yuna's "sister",guardian,she took yuna in.
Kimahri- He's known Yuna since she was a child, guardian.
Yuna- Daughter of High Summoner Braska, summoner.
Auron, Friends with Tidus' Dad, Guardian
Rikku- An Al Bhed, guardian.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Final Fantasy X

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Fun but nowhere near as good as FF7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game, too much story line

posted by JCFREEMAN (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

final fantasy x is a great game. however i like to play the game not watch the game. this game takes way to long to get under way. it is constantly showing/setting-up the story. as soon as you start to enjoy playing the game the fighting is done and thee is more dialog, which is fine if you can skip it but this is one of those games that when the characters start talking then you have to wait for them to finish before proceeding(anywhere from 2-5 mins). to me if it didn't have so much dialog then it would easily be a 10 but that takes away from the game for me. so i u enjoy watching and waiting then you will love this game but if not then it will be a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Apalling

posted by Whatshisname26 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why someone hasn't rounded up all the copies of this game and put them on a raging bonfire.

First of all, the story in its own is a complete failure. Almost all of the characters are annoying (the main character just whines about how it's his story, even though its Yuna's), the plot makes no real sense and feels like they came up with these different places, then shoehorned them into the story. The best example of this is when you're team falls through some ice, and they wake up IN A DESERT.

The design of everything is your typical square overdesigning everything to look super animu, and while some of it does look pretty cool, some of the character designs are downright laughable (I'm looking at you Seymour and Tidus). They even went through the trouble of creating a sport that while cool, is completely implausible and breaks physics. And don't give me "it's magic", magic can only do so much.

The gameplay is in my opinion, awful, but I'll admit I'm biased as I'm not a fan of turn based combat. It works, but you have to spend hours upon hours grinding to get your characters to a high enough level where they won't get instakilled, which is just padding the game to make it seem like it's longer, which is bad game design.

Basically, I played through it to watch what happened to Tidus at the end (I already knew what happened) because I hated his character and his constant whining.

This game should NOT have been made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT FOR TRUE FINAL FANTASY FANS!!

posted by Rhymes (WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 22 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Okay first I'll start with the graphics. This games graphics are top notch for the year it came out. The characters look real and the backgrounds are great.

The battle controls are also good. You can use all your characters in battle by switching characters in and out of battle on a turn base fighting system.

So why is this game not ment for true Final Fantasy fans?

It just doesn't live up to the story! On FF7 the plot is so great and the characters are awesome! I mean who would you want Cloud or Tidus? Really... All the previous games have all had a bad guy who was so cool and seemed so unstoppable. Again you have to compare...A giant fish (Sin) or Sephiroth. If your looking for a great RPG you might enjoy this, but as a Final Fantasy game this just doesn't cut it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No way

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Dec 1, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 45 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

This isn't the best game I've ever played.Actually,it is one of the worst games I've played.Read on.

The battle system is dumb.All you do is hit attack,and choose an a creature to hit.Boring!Also,I know it can do better because they are able to make semi-challanging super moves.:-(

The story is simple and easy to figure out.In Kingdom Hearts,the game kind-of has you figure out the story and FF I guess is trying to do that to but,the story is so easy to figure out it is not funny.Your guy is from a town and he gets sent to the future and in the future,his town is distoryed.Weeeeeee.:-(

Also,the gameplay is dumb.All you do is move around follow some person and you battle once and a while.As I said,dumb

This is the first FF I've played so is this Final Fantasy?This is just a rip-off of Kingdom Hearts.

The best person to play this game is someone who can tolorate this kind of idiosy.If you want a game go play Kingdom Hearts.If you insist on playing a FF game,go play FF 7.Acording to my friends,it's better.F

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worthy of anyone's time.

posted by ProphetOfGaming (ELBERFELD, IN) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game, as of any Final Fantasy games. Is worth giving a chance, love the story, love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Blast from the Past

posted by SiPali87 (HUMBLE, TX) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game is a classic. I bought an old PlayStation 2 just to play this again. Now I can't put the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST FINAL FANTASY EVER?!

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Title says it all, if you haven't played this game you're completely missing out....IMO best rpg out to date and its 2013 just to say that is amazing knowing how long this game has been out. Everything about this game is just good I cant think of one thing i'd change about it........100% get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy X

posted by Rikku287 (HUTTIG, AR) Feb 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

quite frankly i love this just because of the 'junction system' it's limitless. The characters are the bombdigity and it just makes me want to play it forever lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FF7's better

posted by duchiha18 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game is by far the best final fantasy.(dont hate on me for that)
FF7 being the first of many things in the ff series and even other rpgs makes it incomparable with money and fame but game wise and i dont mean graphics cause obviously ff10 has it beat but leaveing graphics comparing out. Game pace was slowed down with a true turn base battle cutting out atw or wait time fighting. Made a true story of beginning middle and end. Not making u play from the near end with flash backs. Their are flash back but only for char knowledge rather than big story part. Now going to THIS game graphics is great for the time can still pick a good fight with some of thenew rpgs out not many but the cuts where i guess the first of the close to movie look and amazing and easy tell the work this game whent into this. I dont play this any more for the sake of other game out their to play and the little time to play games. But i believe this the great as its the first true ff to date after 7 that was made from the ground up and not half used from another ff like 8 was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FFX- if playing it even crossed your mind... PLAY

posted by Chaon (SLIDELL, LA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is just purely AMAZING! it is one of my all time favorites with an amazing story line and amazing game play (if u like the turn based system that is). But i would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good game to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse