Rent Final Fantasy X-2 for PS2
view large frontback

Final Fantasy X-2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

2769 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty cool 9.5

posted by shortysup (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i dont get why other ppl dont like this game. its not just some barbie dress up game. the graphics are much better than ffx the fighting is kinda confusing at first because you have to be alert and think fast. plus its very rewarding when you beat the game, especially since there are 4 or 3 diff endings all depending on how much of the game you beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Final Fantasy X-2 = Near Perfect

posted by Lorenzo (LA FAYETTE, GA) Jun 21, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'm not a big Final Fantasy fan but this game is great.You can change from a big variety of diffrent dresspheres with all diffrent abilities.good voice acting,Nice graphics,good battle style, (and the people don't look too bad either!)i thought this game to be really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not this best but very engaging.

posted by Techtar (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Now before I go on most people didnt want to play this game cause it looks like I whole bunch of girls in scandaly clad outfits and there is nothing more to it...Well dont think that way.
This game continues from were X left off when the Calm started and your greeted with a dancing Yuna and an asskicking Rikku and new charactor Paine.This game is not like other turnbased rpgs and thats a good thing the battles a quick and tense and keeps you thinking to pull of chain attacks combos and speacial moves to beat the game.Another new thing that is good is the new Dressphere feuture with allows you to change your abilty and status in the heat of battle just by pressing L1 some of the DS is Alchemist,MechaMyna and Berserker.Also the graphics have improved greatly in my opinion and was not just rushed together.The way the game goes is through a mission based gamplay it will give you a set of missions that do somthing with the storyline but if you dont want do those there are tons of sidequest that unlock new features and minigames which were complicated to me but others found it fun.So what are you waiting for put this game on your Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitly worth the time

posted by MetalAngel (MERIDEN, CT) Sep 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If you played through FFX, then you should play all through this and make sure to get 100% completion. This way you know how the story really ends. Though honestly it's really hard to get 100%. I kept getting 99 all the time. But eventually got 100. There's a really great song in there called "1000 Words" if you don't play the game just check out the song. The reason I didn't give it a ten is because I missed not playing with Auron, Wakka, and Lulu. But there's new chars. Some of them cuties to hehe. For the female gamers that read this, keep an eye on gippal, and barali. lol. Yes only game chars but still. I love the game, give it a chance, rent it if you like it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could Have been better but has good points.

posted by Rikku1220 (LORIS, SC) May 9, 2006

Member since May 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was not as awesome as I had hoped. I must say after it's prequel, FFX, I was expecting it to be alot better than it was. The graphics were awesome perhaps a bit better than FFX, but there were allot of things....The battle set-up for instance was too fast and complicated and at times very cumbersome. I did really like the costume changes; with every "outfit" came different skills which freed you up to be creative in battles, and opened up allot of possibilities, this I would like to see again. My patience was also drained. Trying to get 100% completion was a pain putting it lightly, but you know. All in all it was an ok game. I guess the biggest thing was my hopes for it being the FFX sequel were too high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games in my life

posted by gamestar123 (FREEDOM, WI) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is about a girl named yuna who is a sphere hunter along with her two best friends. although all of the main charecters are girls this is 100% not a all girls only game. it does have a great storyline with a lot of action. it is the continuation of final fantasy x, in the game there is mostly still all of the charecters in the ffx game execpt that only yuna and her two best friends actually battle. even though you cannot summon aeons in this game the battle action in this game is amazing. in this game however unlike ffx battles in ffx-2 there is a more free battle mode were it is not turn based battles . I could go on and explain more and type for 1321 more letters but, i dont want to ruin the game for you. So to conclude ffx-2 is a great game I would recommand to any one to rent/buy this game to play it. Hope you have fun playing this game just as I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF13 upgraded battle system from this game

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, dont pay attention to the fact that you are all girls because if you do it will shy you away from a great game from a great company plus this is a sequel to final fantasy x, there are different endings and events that can be unlocked and you can pretty much go anywhere you want with totally following the story line which is awesome, battling in this game is similar to Final Fantasy 13 which is out now for the 360 and ps3, i look back at this game and i think FF13 is a upgrade battle system originally coming from this game FFx-2 so if you haven't played this one ya gotta play it to see where FF13 got the battle system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Final Fantasy X-2

posted by AnikahT (GREEN BAY, WI) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy Barbie. This game was definitely meant for girls. I really liked the idea of the dress sphere/garment grid system. It was kind of like having materia you could switch around at will during the battle. I thought some of the mini games were tedious and very difficult but I really enjoyed the story. All in all, a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sequel does not live up to the first

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

As much as I liked FFX, I cannot recommend buying this title. Renting? Okay. This is not horrible by any means, but to follow up the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2, Final Fantasy X-2 falls short of its goal.

Instead of weapons to increase strength, you obtain dresspheres. Each one has a different ability, including singing. It is definitely different, but it felt more like a mature female RPG rather than a sequel to the popular original.

The main story still holds strong with Yuna searching for Tidus and familiar characters, such as Wakka, make their cameo appearance.

If you want to see how the story ends, rent this game, but due to game play and new features, I would not recommend purchasing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Final Fantasy?

posted by angel2037 (DENVER, PA) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was altogether fun, but it definitely wasn't of the usual final fantasy nature.


Although the music and the voice acting were swell, and the graphics are top-notch- the overall feel of the game play wasn't Final-Fantasy worthy. You only get the the three females, and with no summons, the only thing you can do is change their outfits. Although fun, it obviously was a fan-game. However, the music was amazing, and the overall plot was interesting and addicting.


So overall, its fun to play, and definitely easy to play, i'd recommend it to "light-core" gamers.


Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

another good RPG!

posted by dulun18 (MESA, AZ) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a different battle system from the FFX. Active time battle is back. As expected from Final Fantasy series, the story is good, graphic is good, and battle system is good as well. I'm a little slow with active battle system, but it didn't stop me from beating this game.

This game has some great movies clips along with 2 music videos of Yuna singing. It can't get better than that :)

There are mini games like always and optional dungeons (where the enemies are too tough to beat)to explore. This game has about 5 different endings which will be based on the percent of completion, as you completed each missions and explore areas.

also, there's only 3 characters here, and they can change forms (jobs) that will had different stats that suitable during battle. Oh. and there's NO SUMMONING in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FF 10 1/2

posted by Baldwin3 (TUCSON, AZ) May 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved FF10 . This game brings back the great characters with a twist. A new cool female named Paine. The fighting system still great. And with Dresspheres it is awesome. It is true though they should be jobs not dresspheres. But three tough women, plenty of job titles Gunner, Mages, Thief, Warrior etc. and still the great graphics still makes the game at least a 9#.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Final Fantasy X-2.

posted by NicaHUSA (MIAMI, FL) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am going to be honest with you all of the final fantasy fans. This goes directly to Square Enix. What kind of game is this? You changed the whole system of final fantasy x. The game system is a pain to get comfortable with. It is too fast to play. In a RPG game you gotta think your strategies like FFX, but in this one you gotta think while the enemy is killing you. The graphics are pretty good and the sound. The garment grid and ATB idea was preety good too but the battle system is the problem.

Don't get me wrong people, I'm highly Square Enix fan but this game really made me feel disappointed. I was aching to see the rest of the story. Is not the worst game but you could have make it better Enix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy

posted by 1cream2 (Monroe, NC) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was the best final fantasy game as for a hint to help out use the outfits for certain bosses and enemies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay...

posted by bobdlegend (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This games pretty good I rated it a 6 but it could have been a 7.Ive played other final fantasy games and i say this one is a disgrace to the others. No male characters, confusing, and some women just look wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spira's Angels?

posted by Linerunner (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This follow up to the monumental FFX is so different it can barely be called a sequel. Gone are the turn based combat system, the swapping in and out of characters and the excellent voice acting of the original. It's still a good game, and it gets better once you're about halfway done with it, but getting there is slow going. The utter silliness of the characters' actions and girly behavior almost made me put this game down before I gave it a chance. Bottom line, as a title of its own, it's decent. If you're looking for a continuation of the epic story of the original.. not going to happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by tarienn (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Yes I have played this a while before so no I'm not late to the party, I bought this when it first came out.

Sure this game is flashy, very awesome battle system, Incredible story line, And very well put together Cut scenes.

However gameplay time is not one of this games strong points. Youll find you spend most of your time running around looking for an excuse to build you skills, when in acutality there is no real reason to beef up your dresses abilities, you can get past the whole game using the normal dresspheres and without using the three special spheres.

If your looking for a nice long game to sit down to, dont go for this one, but if you want a very fast paced game that will take you back to spirat this is a must.

On average me and my friends got past this with at least 75% completion in about 10 hours. While thats not all too short is isnt up to par with most games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by heather21 (HARRISON, MI) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love the game it is so cool!!! woooohoooo!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't live up to the prequel.

posted by bpg2012 (ANTIOCH, TN) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I recently played the prequel of this game: Final Fantasy X, and I thought it was great. This game however is just okay. The graphics aren't as good as the prequel, and the story line just doesn't seem to get any better. The battle system is just weird it's not even turn based it's just a failed attempt at making the previous battle system better. The game isn't even that difficult, and it's not as long as the other. The only thing that made me play it to the end of the game was just to see if it would actually get better but it didn't. It's an okay game but I'd only play it once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Get Out Of The Final Fantasy Family!

posted by krodness (STILLWATER, OK) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Well, this won't be a long review at all. The ONLY reason this game isn't rated a 1 is because there's some CGI hotties in it. The story line from FFX was great, then they took it and puked on it. Bleh. Just skip this game. It's not even worth using it was a coaster for your coffee table.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What's more lame FFX-2 or Charlie's Angels movies?

posted by GilRavardy (DEATSVILLE, AL) Jul 13, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game fell WAY short of what i thought a FF sequel should be. The characters are just BAD, bad as in very BAD. The sound track comes right out of a bad 70's movie and the character skills were lame (pop-singer costume?). I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone. FF X wasn't that great a game to begin with, but this is twice as bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you have to play the first one to like this

posted by tidus2 (ALTADENA, CA) May 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it takes of exactly were the first left of its awesome if you dont like it im gunna hurt you pets family burn your house down and tourture you. ahem. anyways this is not as slow as the first the battels are real time played now. you have different forms for different types of abilitys and wepons you can change it accordingly this will also have you of th edge of your seat saying woooooooooooow. it rocks play Final Fantasy X first to get and play this one. Have fun kiddys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Something to put you to bed

posted by RoyalLush (Florissant, MO) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

A short review:

This game had promise, but failed horribly as far as FF games are concerned. The fighting is like watching a rerun of Sailor Moon over and over, the story is horribly obvious and dull, and the game script is just plain sad.

It plays out like an RPG for dummies and I'm not sure what the point of it is suppose to be. Either it's saying that girls don't play games so we're going to make a magic-girl themed based one for all those game ignorant chics or it's strictly eye candy for female-deprived males.

Either way, it failed at both ends and this is the first and only game I actually fell asleep in a chair playing with the controller still in my hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

absolutly NOTHING like FFX

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Dec 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

like most people who played FFX i was not ready for it to end. and i wanted more. so i tried FFX-2. much to my dissapointment it sux. it doesnt play like FFX. now while u are trying to select a move or spell to do the enemy can run up and attack u while u are deciding what to do. and the battle system is just waaaaay too fast paced. u have absolutly no time to think.. i was so dissapointed in this game. i read other reviews that said the same thing but i had to see for myself. i realy wish i had just listened and not wasted my time on it. after about a half hr of playing i was fed up dissapointed and disgusted with this....
bottom line if u are looking for the continuation of the classic FFX,which i rated a 10 only because they wouldnt let me give it an 11, you are out of luck with this one..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game stinks

posted by dillion (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this is the worst game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse