Rent Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus for PS2
view large frontback

Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

2957 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A brave attempt that neither succeeds nor fails

posted by Takerkain (FAIRFIELD, ME) Sep 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I love Final Fantasy VII and the fact that a game based in its universe was set to be released got me very excited, until I heard it was going to be a shooting game starring Vincent Valentine, who, although cool, was certainly a very minor party member. Nevertheless, I had to play the game and hope that I could suffer enough through the gameplay to get the story. For a shooter (Not my favorite genre), Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus probably fails, but it at least at times is quite fun while doing so. Square Enix brought the customization of weapons and experience points to the game, making the missions a bit more fun because you know that you can level yourself up, the only problem is that you have to wait until the end of a level in order to collect on your experience points; although this is counteracted by the fact you can choose to take gil (money) instead of experience points. The graphics in the cg cinemas are what you would expect if you have seen Advent Children, simply stated: gorgeous. Unfortunatly, like Advent Children, I feel the story leaves a bit to be desired, but for a shooting game is pretty impressive. The control is probably the weak point of the game as turning a corner can sometimes get frustrating when your not looking the right way after the turn. A moving camera is implemented but could be a lot easier to use. The aiming system gives you the choice of manual, automatic, or a combination of the two and even on automatic, the aiming is a bit spotty until the gun really locks on to the enemy. The thing I liked the most about the game though was the customization of the guns, which allowed you to choose what type of barrel to use, scope to use, a materia slot to use, allowing for a lot of variety to the weaponry. Overall, while a fairly fun game to play, I would definitly rent before buying, especially for FF lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So close yet so far away

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

CG scenes of our favorite pixel characters comming to life is the life blood of the game. Musical score is solid, as is the stroy. Very repetitve. Most of the action is in the boss fights. Playing Vincent and goin through his story is awesome. More in it for story? Visit this game once collect all the red disks see the special ending and never pick this title up again. This comes from a guy who got all master materia, all the turle paridise posters, and did the choco breeding along with maxing the time of hours put into ff7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great! Not Wht I Expected.. Still Great Though!

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about the game which was a few years back I was excited and anticipated it release. When it came out a friend of mines told me that it was nothing like your average FF game and wasn't very good. So because of this comment I put it off for several years. Finally I rented it and I've gotta say it was a lot better than my friend made it out to be. Indeed the game has a totally different feel then any other FF game you've played. It's dark, gruesome and ominous. Think Devil May Cry 3 meets FF7 and that's what this is. Had I known this I would have muzzled my friend because ominous is my style!!.

What I like most about this game is the weapon upgrading feature. There are several option to be chosen from which will increase you weapons stability and performance. However this is very expensive and since you don't really get much in game cash you have an ultimatum to make when you defeat a mission. This is exchange your earnings for cold hard cash or, for experience to increase your characters abilities.

Another downside is the constant loading screens within the cut scenes. What I mean is when during a cut scene often times it will load just to go to the other half of the cut scene. EXAMPLE: there was a cut scene in which Shelke has a phone conversation with Vincent. Well each time they'd cut from one person to the other you'd have a 5 second loading screen! Very annoying, I thought I'd just point this out.

None of this however cuts away from the great plot unique characters and even some old favorites. It's a blast from the past seeing your favorites back in 3D. It's a great game. I recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is great!

posted by bpg2012 (ANTIOCH, TN) May 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was my first game I ever played out of the Final Fantasy series. It was a very fun game, it also had a good story line in it too. I liked everything about the game, the graphics were amazing! The only thing that I didn't like was how short the game was. It only took 10 hours to beat it (on hard). Anyways it's a great game! It's just a little short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What's so bad about it?

posted by SoulReaper (YULEE, FL) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dirge of Cerberus is a diffrent branch of Final Fantasy 7, It's actually a 3rd person shooter. It doesn't have so much to do with Cloud, but it does answer some pretty nagging questions, like where did Vincent come from and why so quiet?

I've heard that alot of people don't like it for some reason, but can't figure it out. To me it's a great game and a great rent. i wouldn't buy it becuase of one thing, no replayability. In a nutshell, Rent it, play it, return it.

PROS:

- Great Gameplay for shooter fans
- you get access to a variety of totally awesome weapons, including a bazooka looking gun.
- good story line and answers alot of questions about Vincent.

CONS:

- It could have had more involvement of characters from the series.
- It's a little on the short side.
- no replayablity really.

Somewhere in the middle:

- It's a little too easy sometimes, but if you make it harder they only wine that its too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent but short

posted by finalfant1 (SPOKANE, WA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a pretty good game, but it is just to short. When i bought it i thought that it would be a long, long game like final fantasy 12. turns out that this game only took me 3 hours to beat, while 12 took 93.5 hours... this game is good if you are looking for a short, challenging game, but if your looking for something that is long and challenging, look towards final fantasy 12 or 13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by GearHead20 (BRONX, NY) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love FF7 than get this, you'll will be hook on the story line and characters in the game, like playing the ff7 movie.

Con:Can get boring after a while shooting, run, Shooting, Run, (Not a RPG)

Pro: If your a Fan of FF7 like me, you will love this game, its awesome game play music, and Rich Storyline which will have you asking for a part 2 and than some

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dirge of Cerberus

posted by john44 (FISHKILL, NY) May 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

even though this game does not follow are beloved character cloud strife it still follows one of the most fierce characters in the game. Vincent Valentine. a vampire who we met in final fantasy seven. even though this game follows vincent we still see many familiar faces like barrette, cid and yes even cloud. this is an exciting 3rd person shooter. this game will explain the unanswered questions anyone ever had on vincent so if you are a true final fantasy seven fan you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Interesting Approach

posted by Shining (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS:
Well first off, I'd have to say that this game works. Everything about it works flawlessly. The battle system is pretty simple but works. You aim & shot or if the soldiers are close enough you perform a simple 3-hit combo. Graphic-wise it is pretty good in my opinion. The music was perfect. The weapon upgrade was pretty basic but effective.

CONS:
Well, there is only 1 variation of the close range attacks that you can pull off. But its more of an annoyance than a con. Another annoyance I find is that you cannot jump over any railing or ledge! The bosses are extremely easy. I played on Hard my first run and I beat almost every boss in under 5 minutes.

OVERALL:
A pretty good game. If you're a fan of FPS this may not be for you. If you like final fantasy than definitely rent this game.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dirge of Videos

posted by GarDrum (GRANITE BAY, CA) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- shooting mechanic
- weapon customization/strategy
- fluid character (Vincent) animation
- 20+ extra missions

Cons:
- long, predictable videos
- multiple boss types reused

I could add more to the Cons list, but it feels that I would be just picking away at a game that is much past its time now.

- The most enjoyable aspect of this game is the shooting mechanic. Feels somewhat like a shoot-the-targets arcade game mixed in with 3rd/1st person shooting and running.-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gameplay awful, everything else is great

posted by TheArvis (DELAND, FL) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If I were rating JUST the gameplay of Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus, I'd give it a 6. If I were rating JUST the story, cutscenes, graphics, and music, I'd give it an 8.
What really stinks is that I WANTED to like this game so badly. Like most people in the world, I'm a pretty big fan of Final Fantasy VII, and to have the opportunity to be able to play another game set in that world gave me chills. Unfortunately, this is one of those games where the gameplay is just an annoying thing you have to deal with in between cutscenes (just like the Xenosaga series).
While playing, I never really got the feeling that I was controlling a super-badass. I was consciously aware that Vincent IS, in fact, a super-badass, and I watched him do some super-badass things in the cutscenes, but sadly, I never actually got to do any of that. Compared to what you see Vincent do in Advent Children, the gameplay in this game never really gets off the ground. You move rather slowly, and the gunplay feels like the programmers didn't really know what they wanted to do with it. Your movement can be somewhat restricted while aiming your weapon, yet they constantly put you in situations where you're dying to be able to flip around and shoot at the same time. Honestly, the only way they could have improved this major shortcoming would be to overhaul the gameplay entirely.
Like I said, though, I did enjoy the story and cutscenes, although I would have liked to have higher production values on this. They didn't even bother trying to reanimate the lip synch to fit the English dialogue, which of course led alot of awkward and unnatural cadence and pausing. Many times, the voice actors had to even play around a little with their lines in order to get everything they were saying to match up with the mouth movements, and still have it all make sense.
In all, it's games like this that make Gamefly a good investment. Try before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Change of Heart

posted by Demonic4ce (LANCASTER, CA) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Truthfully, i must say until i saw the reviews of this game on t.v. and websites, i loved this game, that is why i bought it. But once i take a second look at the game, i realize the critics were right. Killing things is like nothing and to defeat bosses you just empty shells into them until your fingers bleed. Oh, wow you get to turn into a monster and then throw fireballs at people, now isn't that just amazing? I can't imagine ANY other game that has that (sarcasm everyone). While some unimportant cutscenes are basically the same graphics as when you are actually playing, the important ones are amazingly detailed, as you would expect from any final fantasy game. I really don't feel the need to waste any more characters on this game so let me sum it up as quickly as possible. Rent it, give your opinion, try playing the game without taking into consideration of what anybody else says and you will love it, i did. 7 out of 10, honey-sweet victory baby!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome movie Sequences

posted by shampu (TIPTON, IA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game, but a lot of it had to do with the fact that i'm a diehard FF7 fan, this is a fun game and it does a good job mixing rpg with a 3rd/1st person shooter. However i recommend playing FF7 first, because the game has quite a few tie ins with it. Also the game contains a huge amount of movie scenes...they are pretty cool, but the amount of them may get on your nerves...unless of course you are a big fan like myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome...but we wanted more...

posted by S3pHir0th (ANAHEIM, CA) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so I found out they had FF7:DOC, awesome right? A GAME FOCUSSED ON VINCENT?! We FF7 fans were excited! But then we got the game, and were expecting something more than than jump, jump, shoot, repeat... This game has a nice, yet extremely short story, (12 chapters or so) but where are all of Vincent's off-building and mid-air acrobatics? C'mon Square Enix, we know you're better than that! If you get this game I can't tell if you'd like it or not, its a matter of opinion in this games case. I liked it, but it was way to short for my taste... There are some bonus missions to be unlocked but they're not as fun as a story chapter... I give this game a 5/10, the graphics are good too and customizing weapons is pretty sweet...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by boring (MIAMI, FL) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Aside from it staring vincent valentine (which is cool) I think that it could have been better.
I mean the shooting is cool but nobody actually helps you. I mean there are the WRO but they don't do nothing, you always have to save them.
So i suggest that you rent this game and play it until it gets boring, because it eventually will.
But i still like it.

9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Excellent Addition

posted by KeyRuption (Puyallup, WA) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy VII: Dirge of Cerberus is an excellent addition to the Final Fantasy saga. The game takes place 3 years after the very popular Final Fantasy VII and starts off great.

FF7: DoC features beautifully detailed environments pushing the PS2 to the limit. You'll not only be totally BLOWN AWAY by cut scenes, but you'll completely adore playing in it.

This is a shooting game, played at either third or first person view. The controls handle very nicely and you'll be a pro in a matter of minutes. The only problem may be the camera because to look in your direction you must press L3. But, about 90% of games have problems with the camera, so it's nothing big.

You play as Vincent Valentine and basically seek the history behind you and others. You'll meet new and exciting characters and learn everything about them.

One great feature is Gun customizing and you'll get a huge kick out of it. Spend time adjusting your arsenal to the best of your abilities and watch them destroy your enemies.

All in all, you hardcore Final Fantasy fans will love this game, and probably add it to your collection. It's a great rent and a good buy.

Happy playing, hope you enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dirge Of Cerberus

posted by Crazyshots (GLOUCESTER, VA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was very good but it would have been better with more of the RPG style like the other Final Fantasys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zmaj Review: Dirge of Cerberus

posted by Miashin (KINSTON, NC) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gameplay
The actual gameplay is..basic. It’s nothing to rave about, but it’s manageable. I myself found the jump function practically useless. The gun sight and camera controls were impossible until I went into the options and set them all to ‘Inverse’ instead of ‘Normal.’ In missions your given one single path on how to proceed with no deviation. Functional, and its dose what its supposed to. But it would have been nice to see more, such as different ways to finish one mission or to be able to do half the stunts that Vincent dose in the cinematics.

The story is, well, this is definitely a game for those that have played the first FF7. Without that background, much of the plot in DoC is missed entirely. Beyond that, DoC’s plot doesn’t feel like it fits in with the original game. There’s a sense of ‘tagged on’ to the whole story whenever it tries to relate back to the original FF7 story, it just doesn’t quite mesh up. The original FF7 aside, DoC’s plot on it own is very involving and easily pulls the player through to the end of the game. What I found truly lacking in some regards is the portrayal of some of the characters, can’t say much more on that since I might spoil some things.

Graphics and Sound
As one might expect, this is where the game shines. It’s full of ‘pretty.’ The graphics during the actual gameplay are just a notch short of those in the Cinematics. Graphically, there’s very little to flaw here. The music in the game is spot on, and I’d definitely recommend this games Soundtrack. The one bit of audio that MIGHT make you cringe is the voice acting. Some voices are quite well done (Reeve) while others make you want to plug your ears (Cid).

I gave the game a 7/10, It lost three points on gameplay and one point on story, but the fact that it was still a very fun game had me adding one point back. As for the validity of my judgment; I'm a Final Fantasy fan, but I abhor shooters. One point towards the game, one against.

~The Zmaj

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool game

posted by bfly3478 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a little different then I expected since it is a Final Fantasy game, but nontheless, it's a pretty fun game to play. It took me a little bit to get used to all the different controls, but once I got the hang of it, I had a hard time turning it off. It's still has items that are familiar to the FF genre like materia, magic points and hit points. I would recommend this game to anyone that likes good ol fashion violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a really good game.

posted by ManaDesu (DALHART, TX) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I honestly think that Final Fantasy 7: DoC is the best of the series yet because it focuses more on Vincent when we hardly knew anything about him. Though I didn't really like some of the graphics like they could have made Vincent's hair more soft or something like that. I really like how Vincent is a very sweet man though he doesn't like to show it and I give this game a ten because it is all of the genres Love/Fantasy/Tradgey/Acti- on/Drama/Suspense you name The Final Fantasy Series has it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

too many buttons...........

posted by gardenbuff (RAMONA, CA) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have any pain problems with your hands,
this game is not for you...I liked all the other
final fantasies but this one...I like it when
you have a group of people fighting a monster,not
just one person...this poor guy needs some help...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is for real!

posted by OdinFerris (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Final Fantasy 7: Dirge of Cerberus," was one of the better Final Fantasys. In my opinion, it was an interesting way to play a Final Fantasy game. Vincent was the perfect character to center around, since so little of him is learned during Final Fantasy 7. The story is top-notch, and so is the game play. It just takes a little time to get used to playing a Final Fantasy 3rd person shooter. If you are a huge Final Fantasy fan, or just need a great game to play THIS IS IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best final fantasy game ever

posted by ff7fan (FOSTER, RI) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game reveals the true past of Vincent valentine
with great graphics and an unbelievable storyline this game will always be remembered .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Addition to the FFVII Saga

posted by Snowcrash (MARION, VA) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics/Sound: 10

Come get your eye candy! This game packs some of most beautiful rendered scenes ever, equaling the quality of Advent Children. The normal cut scenes look drab by comparison, but are actually well done. The voices carry over the quasigoth mood of the game well, without getting too cliche.

Controls: 8

The controls in this game can be very awkward or amazing depending on how you set them up. Every aspect of the controls is customizable, so while it may take a while to get them the way you want, you can arrange them to be perfect for you.

Gameplay: 8

There have been comparisons floating about between DoC and Devil May Cry, at first blush that doesn't seem too out of line, but once you delve deeper into the game that line of thought just becomes more and more awkward. There are multitudes of enemies to blast, but only a few times in the game to you ever get a shooting gallery type atmosphere. Most of the encounters are quickly handled and can be approached in multiple ways. The boss fights range from very easy to quite difficult, and it isn't a linear progression at all. Using Limit Breaks initially helps simplify these fights, but by the end of the game they usually just draw it out longer than your gun would have made it.

In a bit of RPG flavor you can upgrade your weapons throughout the game. Three basic guns and three barrels let you customize your weapon to the situation. Optional accessories allow further personalization. My only complaint about this is that the Machine Gun and Short Barrels are completely worthless. A good rifle for sniping is nice to have, but for the most part a well built pistol will answer any situation better.

Story: 9

My personal description of this game would be a "Story First" shooter. You are drawn into the game through the story more so than the action, at times rushing through levels just get to the next set of cutscenes.

Tons of extra levels and unlockable features give DoC great replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was impressed.

posted by RedSteel (RICHLANDTOWN, PA) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was actually very impressive. I am a big fan of the Final Fantasy games, escpically VII. The music was great, graphics were phenomonal, and most of all, had some great old and new characters in it.

The only thing I can rant about is the game play time and controls.

The controls are perfect, but they take a little getting used too, which can make it some what harder in the beginning.

The story time though, it is defintely possible to sit down and just beat this game. I was hoping for something much longer then this.

Other then those two things, the game is awesome. Regardless of the two complaints, I'd suggest picking up and playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse