Rent Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children for PSP Movies
view large frontback

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.1

1244 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

final fantasy advent best movie ever.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

31 out of 37 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This is easily one of the best animated films I have ever seen. If you are a fan of Final Fantasy Seven, or any Final Fantasy game, rent this movie. The action is very intense, the story is very epic, the cgi is beyond amazing - its a flawless movie.

if you havent played final fantasy seven, or any of the others, you still should see this movie. the fights are amazing, there were times throughout the film where i thought i might have a heart attack - this movie put me into an overload.

its amazing, its beautiful, and its definately one of a kind.

rent rent rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy VII Advent Children Movie

posted by killuhkam (KILLEEN, TX) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

22 out of 29 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

this is a flawless movie...every1 that likes FFVII will love this movie this is the best animated movie i have ever seen! best thing is...if they remake Final fantasy VII for the PS3 the graphics of the movie will b the graphics of the game! every1 should rent...no buy this movie u will not want to return it once you have watched it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You NEED This Movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!

posted by Linkx162 (EAST PATCHOGUE, NY) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was not surprised, when I saw this movie, that it would keep me interested. I've never seen such intense graphics and a perfect story all in one place. This movie, made by the masterminds' at Square-Enix, had the best graphics I have ever seen and the story, continuing from when the game left off, was mind blowing. I had to give this a perfect score, I mean, Come On, if you watch it, and played the game as many times as I have, you would understand why it is one of the greatest movies of all time. If Square-Enix were to continue making movies, I would suggest that they continue with the Final Fantasy game/movie conversion and the next one should be the second best FF game, FFVIII, {Final Fantasy 8}.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Movie

posted by alexandra (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great movie it'll have you on the edge of your seats filled with excitement. The only few things I disliked about this movie was that it was kinda short and square-enix could of put at least an extra 20 minutes at the end to see how life was for the main character at the end,also it was a little bit exaggerated, and there were a few silly lines other than that the movie was AWESOME and I'll rate a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

posted by EnixMafia (LONE TREE, CO) Jun 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to lie, this was by far the best animated film that I have ever seen. It only makes it better that it was created by my favorite game maker, Square Enix. (Rock on Enix).
I dont want to give anything away, but the big fight at the end was pretty much amazing. 10 out of 10 baby! If you are thinking of renting/buying it, definatley go for it, it is worth it. And if you only read one reveiw about it, and it was mine, thanks. Enjoy the movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Advent Children... Need I say more?

posted by Bregan (DUNCAN, OK) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

First off I've gotta say I was a little worried when I first started watching this movie... I just couldn't get Final Fantasy's last movie outta my head "which in my opinion was absolutely horrible!" but after the opening title screen I couldn't take my eyes away from Advent Children.
Its graphics are amazing(would expect nothing less from square-enix) but not only that but its story line kept you reeled in.. making you wonder what's going to happen next. All of the fighting scenes were spectacular and when there wasn't action you were actually interested in the story!
Overall I would say this movie was excellent! The only bad thing I could see about Advent Children is that it ends...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

posted by WRETCH (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was a pretty good movie. espesally because this is the first final fantasy movie/game i have ever seen/played. i can surely say that this movie has perked my interest in final fantasy. this movie wasn't that hard for me to follow. i personally think they could have put in a little more action though. but then again, that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT MOVIE, BUT DON'T ASK ME TO IT.

posted by kungfudale (HUNTINGTON, IN) Jun 3, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I LOVED THE ACTION SEQUENCES IN THIS MOVIE. I LOVE THE FACT THAT THEY BRING ALL THE OLD CHARCTERS INCLUDING CID, IN IT, BUT I HAVE TO SAY I DON'T QUITE UNDERSTAND THE WHOLE MOTHER JENOHVA THING IN IT. ME BEING A FINAL FANTASY FAN, HAS TO SAY THAT THIS IS A GREAT WAY TO BRING BACK CLOUD, AND THE REST OF THE GANG. RENT THIS, BUY IT, WHATEVER GET YOUR HANDS ON IT, BECAUSE IT'S AN ACTION RIDE WITH INCREDIABLE ACTION SEQUENCES, THAT DON'T STOP UNTIL THE VERY END. ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy VII : AC Best Game Movie Ever!!!!

posted by SomeName (Frisco, CO) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This movie is one of the best movies I have seen all year. This movie picks up where the game left off. This movie will be hard to understand if you haven't played the game, but you will still enjoy the great story and graphics. The battle scenes are captured well and very enjoyable to watch.

The story is about three people in black cloths that are looking for their mother "Jenova". They need her cells to become whole again, but they have run into a little problem they can't find her. They end up coming to the town that cloud lives in and tries to find Jenova. In the process of looking for here they abduct orphans that have been living with Cloud and to find out what happens in the movie I guess you will just have to watch it. It is great and I believe that everyone will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by alexlll (MOUNT JOY, PA) May 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this movie is awsome but some parts are boring.you will love this movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Story? We don't need no stinkin' story!

posted by MadAdam (EPWORTH, IA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't even really care for the FF games, and rented this out of sheer curiosity. So imagine my surprise when I found out that this movie is actually pretty good and, quite possibly, the best video game-turned-movie yet (take that, Uwe Boll).

The CG is remarkably lifelike. In some of the less action-packed scenes, I actually briefly forgot that I was watching an animated film. Then we come to the action scenes and that's when I go "Oh yeah, that's right." I can't be the only person who kept thinking the word "Matrix" as a number of these scenes were going on, but they were well done regardless.

I only know of some key events from the original game, which I use as a base for the movie, but trust me, full knowledge will definitely serve you well, especially when it comes to the returning characters. Pretty much anyone who isn't Cloud or Tifa is not properly introduced, but rather just "appears" and does so in a sense that we're already supposed to know who they are. Some character's names are not even spoken. I had to look up who that red dog thing and the Scottish-accented cat on his back were.

Now we get to the logic behind my review title. There is almost no story to talk about. Whatever story is present is used simply to segue to the next of the aforementioned action scenes and to come up with half-baked ways of somehow "resurrecting" Sephiroth for his big rematch with Cloud.

As for the voice acting, it was actually pretty well executed. Most of the cast did a decent job. I couldn't help but chuckle at Cid's redneck accent and think of the opening chords of "Dueling Banjos," but at the same time I was remarkably let down by how a veteran voice actor like Steve Blum (Spike from Cowboy Bebop, if you didn't know) could seem so lifeless in his portrayal of Vincent.

If you've played the game already, there's little that can be said to discourage you from this movie, but there's still plenty to enjoy if you're coming in cold like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic Visuals and Storyline, Mediocre VA

posted by Deadlock (ARVADA, CO) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This review is based on the DVD version of the film, not the PSP format.
First of all, I am, myself, a huge Final Fantasy VII fan. When I first heard about this movie-sequel, I was stoked. I knew that this would erase any glimpse of Spirits Within from my mind. I first saw the full version of AC in Japanese. Everything blew my mind, everything was perfect! The story (from what I could understand), the visuals, and the voice acting was all superb. I couldn't wait to get it on U.S. DVD.
After the waiting, I must say that I'm a bit diappointed in the package the U.S. version presents. Now, don't get me wrong, the visuals are still beautiful, and the storyline is amazing. The only thing that irked me was the voice acting. Now, some characters did fit the part pretty well, like Reno and Cloud. But many of the others just did not fit; they just didn't feel like the Final Fantasy characters were speaking. I don't even want to mention the horrendous voice acting of Mena Souvari for Aerith. Is she half-awake, or high or something? And since when did Cid become Cletus the redneck?
I recommend setting it to the original Japanese dialogue with English subtitles, I was much happier with that.
Other than that, this is a momentous happening in gaming history, and you should NOT miss out. If you're a FFVII fan, go grab this DVD right now, for this movie is not to be missed. Plus, the extras are a good watch too.

Visuals: 10/10
Storyline: 9.5/10
Score/Soundtrack: 9/10
Dialogue/Voice Acting: 6.5/10
OVERALL: 8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST MOVIE EVER

posted by cloudStr (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

need i say more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Kadajj (IDYLLWILD, CA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this movie just plain ruled... end of story. Kadaj and Cloud are awesome, Reno's pretty cool too. the graphics rocked, the story was cool, and the characters rule.

(PS I know there's only one "J" in "Kadaj")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

incredible

posted by killermoc3 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this movie is amazing i cant put it into words it was increadible the story line is great im baffled at how well this movie was its just WOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a worthy final fantasy 7 style movie

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very good movie and would make an interesting final fantasy game and give people an instance in where a remake of final fantasy 7 for the ps3 would be very well received and would sell 1,000,000 copies in japan within 28 days give or take 14 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fanasty VII: Advent Children!!!

posted by SoraRoxas1 (BATESVILLE, AR) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This movie is PERFECT!!! This is why I love SquareEnix so much because it's FLAWLESS!!! It's the best movie EVER!!!(although it has some bad language.)I would rate it a 9.9 because at some parts it's just abit confusing... But it's the best freakin' movie EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome movie

posted by henrysuper (WOODBRIDGE, NJ) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great movie great graphics great everything lol u will love it great action the rite drama and thts all any way u will lik it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect for you.

posted by North0 (PASADENA, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're here, you're a gamer. This movie is fundamentally a sequence of plot-advancing cut-scenes, plus fight scenes. The fight scenes are spectacular, in the best tradition of Japanese martial arts films in a post-Matrix world, and the plot is just as bad as that of all of the games we love. Don't miss out on this one, whether you played FFVII or not.

Just don't show it to anyone. They won't get it. Thank goodness this is a PSP movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Brad15 (LAVERGNE, TN) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

actually i dont think you should rent this movie its a buy! yah know everyone says "if you love FFVII youll love this movie!" .... well even though that is right, even if you dont you will LOVE this movie.

I.E my aunt, 19 year old typical chick has probably never HEARD of VII, yet she LOVES the movie.

so all in all BUY IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good movie

posted by Nathan423 (GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good movie if you are a fan of the final fantasy series. The movie can be kind of confusing if you haven't played final fantasy seven but I think it would still be enjoyable. There is plenty of action and it looks great on the psp's screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET THIS MOVIE! IT ROCKS!

posted by KingdomAce (KANSAS CITY, MO) Oct 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this movie! Being a fan of FFVII, I was ecstatic to see all of my favorite characters back in action! This is an amazing movie with the best action sequences in the history of ever!
When a mysterious disease known as Geostigma begins infecting a large number of people, Cloud Strife must once again step up to save the world. After a mysterious trio of white haired men begin kidnapping children with the disease, all of the heroes from the game reunite to combat the spreading terror. When Cloud finds that the men have been looking for him, and that one of them has the genes of a certain former SOLDIER within him, a chase begins that will lead to a war of epic proportions between Cloud and a white-haired demon from his past.
The battle between Cloud and Sephiroth is a masterpiece of CGI choreography, with every shot being perfect in every way. The mortal enemies literally level buildings and fly through the city in their epic battle.
My favorite scene is when all of the heroes from the game, including Barrett, Vincent, Yuffie, Tifa, Cid, Red XIII, and even Cait Sith battle the dragon summon Bahamut SIN to keep it from destroying the city of Edge. SIN is of such massive size that it is amazing to see all of the heroes band together to defeat this giant menace.
One of the other greatest assets of this movie is its soundtrack, conveying the perfect mood of the scene and making the action sequences even more enjoyable.
This is a great movie for any CGI fan, FFVII fan, or just plain Final Fantasy fan. Heck, I recommend it to anyone who loves a good action movie. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST MOVIE EVER

posted by wolfblade7 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best movie ever!!!!but what else do you expect, its made by square enix and is the sequel for final fantasy VII, the best game ever made. If you love final fantasy VII watch this move.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Movie ever

posted by Dante99 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the greatest movie ever made. There is alot of action and it is easy to under stand. Even if you have never heard of Final Fantasy before you will love this mivie. Both kids and adults will love it. This is the best movie I have ever seen and I have seen " a lot " of movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by Se7eN7 (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Surreal, flawlessly detailed yet appropriate animation... Plot will satisfy even the hardest-core FF7 veterans, yet ANYONE can pick this up and be enthralled in the elements that made Final Fantasy 7 the greatest game of the century!

(erhrmm FF7 > FF8 > ALL!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse