Rent Final Fantasy VI Advance for GBA
view large frontback

Final Fantasy VI Advance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

635 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy VI

posted by lmschoon (SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Going through the original Final Fantasy games on the GBA has been a real experience. While every Final Fantasy I have played so far has held true to its reoccurring themes, symbols and often characters, this chapter did more than that; It took its first huge step away from the traditional style of storyline and game play. Where as in previous chapters, the game had a medieval-like setting, this game brought a more holistic blend of the first previous games, with a new twist of future to it, like the seventh. If anything other than an amazing game, this is the chapter that revolutionized the Final Fantasy series into a real epic fantasy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Final Fantasy Game Ever

posted by Auln8r (TAMPA, FL) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I remember when this game came out as Final Fantasy 3 for the Super NES. Actually I still have it. This Final Fantasy had it all, a great battle system, magic system and a diverse group of characters. The games story was also so well put together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by SvenJamin (AUBURN, WA) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is to put it bluntly probably the best game you going to play on your Game Boy!

It has a great story, lots or characters,
and theres a ninja in it what more do you need.

It Final Fantasy for the Game Boy and it rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREATEST GAME!!!HANDS DOWN RPG

posted by chadaddy (PRINCETON, ME) May 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So basically, we've all known about this game for far too long, unless your niave enough to the FF series, because this one broke the mold. Anyways, there isn't much to say asides that if you enjoy RPG's, or anything or the sort, this game is far from unpleasant. Grab a copy, enjoy leveling up and smacking the dung outta Kefka and those empircal nizi facists

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Final Fantasy 6

posted by gamerjamez (ITASCA, IL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Another addition to the hit, world-wide series of Final Fantasy. As usual, this one is a action/command sort of game just like most of the Final Fantasies'.

There's not alot of difference between the weapons, but they were really creative with the magic. In this game's story line, magic is almost extinct, but you can never know what might happen in a Final Fantasy game!

If you played the first version of this game, it will seem alot simmiler, but hey, it's for the Game Boy Advance, what do you expect? Although for a cartoon, it had good graphics. And alot of characters to play as.

I reccomend this game for on-the-go situations or when your just bored or still addicted to the game.

Final Result: 8/10

Gamer Jamez Has Spoken!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FFVI

posted by thewiimii (ELLSWORTH, ME) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that FFVI very well could be, for my money, the absolute best English Final Fantasy on market. I'm too young to have played FFIII (as it went by on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System), so I can't deduct points because it's a port. All right, time to be picky. The only, ONLY problem I have with this game is that you can't change classes (an example of such a game: FFV), because I like the amount of customization that brings. But FFVI makes up for that flaw by the sheer number of playable characters (including two exclusive to the GBA version, like a mime that copies other characters' abilities and a yeti that can only be controlled by Mog the moogle). On the control subject, it is flawless. The unorthodox controls for the chocobo and airship will throw you off at first, but it's easy to get the hang of. Now the story... well, that's probably the best part. I'm not saying anything though. I'm only saying this: in addition the usual FF tear-jerker spiel, it can be quite funny sometimes too. The battle system is a good one too. While newbies might lose a couple of tight boss fights on the faster ATB (or Active Time Battle, in which your characters wait for a visible bar to fill before they can move while you never know when th enemy is going to attack at first, but you can figure out a pattern, such as Ultros spitting ink at you when you hit it with a Fire spell "HEY! Octopus stew is not on the menu!") speeds. Another unique feature is the Magicite system, in which you learn spells from little crystals (called Magicite) from certain characters and enemies. Don't think you can steal a Magicite, though. You have to defeat the creature (usually an FF staple such as Leviathan or Shiva). Others are given willingly (such as Ramuh or Kirin) or purchased or auctioned (such as Golem or Zona Seeker). Well, that's all I can think of about this game without my brain explodin' (plus I'm running out of space), so, adios!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by web1234 (ANTIOCH, CA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the greast game in the world for the gameboy. no game even comes close to this game you should rent it,buy it,and when you beat the game start it over and play it again,your'l never get the same outcome twice,and thats what makes this a GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT- TTTTTTgame, buy this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 Awsome

posted by milsen311 (BUFORD, GA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

It is a classic RPG it is one of my favorites :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games Ever Made

posted by Tr1gg3r93 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was originally released in 1994 and still stands up as one of my all-time favorite games. It has a great story, addicting combat (believe it or not), and so much content. You can throw 60 hours at this thing and maybe beat it in that time. There is so many spells, weapons, armor that it will make your head spin. The characters are great and there is so much to do and explore you will never believe this was made in 1994. This game was without a doubt ahead of its time.

Probably the best GBA game available and one of the best games ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy FTW

posted by Toasthead (LITHIA SPRINGS, GA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I remember wasting days of my life on this game in my younger days. By far has always been my favorite final fantasy in the series, and is still to date one of the best RPGs of all time. Two thumbs up! any RPG fan should play this game if they haven't already!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games Ever.

posted by TastyCakes (COVINGTON, IN) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I have played, beaten, and since replayed the orginal FF VI almost 5 times now. Still to this day, FFVI is one of my most favored games that has ever been released. There are very few things wrong with this title, and none of them make me change my mind from my 10 score.
The soundtrack or score is still amazing, but a little off. Read the critic review from IGN to know more, and there isn't enough freshness. The game does what it always did, and that is in no way a bad thing, but it would have been nice to see a little more inavation.
That is a hard thing to ask, however, from a game that is already the singular RPG that people think of, that is beyond FF VII for some reason, when someone mentions "Classic RPG's". FF IV is my favorite game of all time, but this is a close second.
If you played the orginal version of this game, you are in for a treat. If you are just expierencing the magic that is FF VI for the first time, the expierence may not be as special because the over-use of so many RPG character traits now days has really made the RPG gerene into some what of a joke, but this is the game that really invented those in the first place. So if you are just getting this, it will still be one of the best games you ever play, and maybe even the best that you can get for the GBA. Check out FF IV on DS if you want the best remake of that, but this is still one of the best games of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Final Fantasy 6 A: Stop Reading and start Playing.

posted by Landishin (Moorpark, CA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This was the second Final Fantasy Game i had ever played, of course back then it was Final Fantasy III, I'm Far from an old dude, but i fell in love with this game, i have probably spent more hours of my life playing this particular game, than any other game on the market, in any genre. of course, i have played through most other final fantasy games, as well as other unrelated RPGs. while many of them have notable, even outstanding qualities, there is nothing i like more than bundling up and sitting down with this game. i've yet to play the version on the DS.. err.. GBA, but i look forward to receiving it in the mail soon. Fantastic soundtrack, i must say, I find it to be very memorable. And there is so much depth to the story, it really touches my heart. Every character you play has a rich history and a unique personality. It Really brings you in and you start to Care about the characters right from the start. i really could go into details, but i hate giving away spoilers to games as much as a book or a movie. oh by the way, i still advocate reading books (but I think of this game like an interactive book. )

so in closing, if you are a fan of the final fantasy series, then this is a good game to add to your video gaming resume.

Oh.... Locke is My favorite Character (if i had to choose)

Happy Gaming to all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Old school game with proven gameplay

posted by Scylla154 (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

I must admit this game was an old favorite, wonderful story line, engaging game play. It was a joy for me to leap back in time to this game, that holds up very well as far as the passage of time. It was games like this with a strong story and a expansive world populated with characters that you actually care about, that set the stage for the best of the current RPG's. When I first played this game,,,way back, it was incredible, and it was just as enjoyable this time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As good as RPG's get?

posted by jollymike (CONROE, TX) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

Before I had rented this game, I had played my fair share of RPG's, but this one passed them all by a mile.
The in-battle play is unique, but very likeable. It's massive character line-up is awesome because each character has it's own special way of fighting and getting stronger. Some use button combos to perform different moves, while others can transform into a more powerful form. Almost all characters have an "attack" command, and many of them can use magic. There are numerous spells and attacks in this game.
This IS a Final Fantasy game, so of course, the storyline is terrific. There are many optional subplots that you may choose to follow, and some pretty funny ones, if I might add.
The graphics are very good for GBA. The game gives you that good 'ol SNES feel. The sound effects for the moves were very cool, too.
If you already think you'll like this game, I would recommend buying it, because it is a very long game, not to mention all the sidequests. I already logged 33 hours on mine, and I still haven't beaten it.
Overall, this is the essence of 2D RPGs, and you should definitely check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is horrible

posted by wolfunc94 (RALEIGH, NC) May 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

this is the worst Final Fantasy game i have ever played, Final Fantasy is not supposed to start with meck suits

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »