Rent Final Fantasy IV for DS
view large frontback

Final Fantasy IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA
GF Rating
8.0

1536 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best RPG on the DS so far.

posted by RaoulDuke (WINTERVILLE, NC) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This is the game that pulled me into RPGs. Square's masterpiece, FINAL FANTASY IV, is now in 3D on the DS, and even better than before. The bosses are more difficult, so update your strategies used on the SNES version. The voice acting is superb, the graphics are the best I've seen so far on the DS, and the storyline (of course) is better than half the films Hollywood has been pumping out the past couple of years. Rent this or buy this as soon as possible. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Definitive Edition of a Classic RPG.

posted by Rog1985 (PHILIPPI, WV) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a preteen, the Super Nintendo was a huge thing in my house, it was during my era where I played my first RPG - Final Fantasy II. It has long since been one of my all time favorite games, and I've played it on every platform that it's been released on.

Now, on the Nintendo DS, we have my dream come true, a full remake of Final Fantasy IV. The story is about a man named Cecil who is struggling with his allegiance, and his dark side. He has to overcome these obstacles, among others, to protect the crystals and save the world.

The characters are what really makes the story great. Many of the characters may seem a bit one sided, but they're all fun and contribute to the story greatly. There isn't one character in the game that doesn't contribute to what becomes the outcome of the game.

My favorite part of FFIV is the audio. It's always had my favorite music of the series, and that stayed true here, even the voice acting is decent.

The graphics in the game look really nice. A step up from the Final Fantasy III remake we got two years ago. It was great to see my favorite characters such as Cecil, Tellah, and Edge updated into 3D. The spell effects were cool too. However, the DS really still doesn't impress me graphically, it continues to lag behind the PSP in terms of graphics, which makes me think this remake may have been more fitting for the PSP in terms of Graphics.

What makes this version of FFIV the best is the new features. The augment system makes it great for character customization, and allows for a more flexible party(It also provides the entertainment of Kain using Cry). Other new features include the maps, new items and equipment, new bosses, and new summons.

Overall I would highly recommend this game to any RPG fan, and if you are a Final Fantasy IV fan, or new to the series, even new to RPG's all together, this is a great place to start. The game is difficult at times, but not too hard if you don't run from battles.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Final Fantasy is a enjoyable flashback to the RPG

posted by Marty16 (SAINT JAMES, NY) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I will say I was there at the birth of rpgs and I still play them today. With all the new real time fighting systems being implemented as of late I was in dire need of some old school turn base battles. That being said the Combat is simple enough for beginners yet has enough dept for pros. Battles are quick and enjoyable and I find myself not running away as much as I use too. The Auto battle feature is nice because it lets you fights battle with no hands giving you the ability to eat and play. The story is phenomenal and will keep you wanted more. The updated graphics and voice overs really bring it all together. So if you want to try your first RPG or you've played everyone this is one game you should rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfectly Redone

posted by Javson (BOGOTA, NJ) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As most people who played this game I too played it orginally on the Snes, twice, then again on my GBA. But for those poor souls who have never played it are up for a treat, simply one of the best told Final Fantasy stories. With all the new cutscenes and the great voice acting it draws you closer to the charecters more then ever.
Just like most RPGs your out to save the world. Golbez is trying to get all the crystals and you have to try and stop him. You are Ceciel a loyal Dark Knight of Baron. Baron becomes corropt by evil and your Dark Knight wants no part of it.You meet many friends on the way, a few you Ceicel knows, all on the same path to stop Golbez. You will never forget any charecters as you grow attached to them all. Well written story and a little challenging (as long as you put active battel) New skills makes for better battels. So just sit back and enjoy the music and story the game brings you none stop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest RPG's of all time!

posted by Leetgeek (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game on SNES back in 1991 and it was one of the greatest ever. The DS Presentation is well done. Very well done. If you've yet to play this game get it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by dante09 (SEYMOUR, IA) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has everything that a final fantasy fan could want the controls are simple and familiar, the story line is great and at time will have your screaming at your DS because of some of the plot twists that the game has the randome battles happen frequently but not enough so that they'll kill you every time you step in to an unsafe area and if your smart you know how to level your characters up the randome battles won't bother you at all. the boss battles however can be difficult if your not leveled up enough or don't have the right equipment/weapons/items. i would most deffinetly recomend this game to anyone who like rpg style games 9/10 great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Better Remake could not have been made.

posted by SkoDZ5 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was there in 1991, Final Fantasy 2 had come out and I had to have it.
I am a Fan Boy and this is my review.

Final Fantasy IV, as it is now know, is the corner stone of the RPG genre. To not have played it is to have skipped addition in math class. Its story is rich in struggle against self, country, and greater good. The characters are diverse in delivery and always fun to revisit. Unique settings paint the journey that spans from the core of the planet all the way to the moon. All with powerful music that invokes emotion and mood (although it can be a bit repetitive).

The retelling is true to the original with only a few changes, mostly in the naming of objects. One thing to note is the battle system is harder, a good thing, with the addition of new skills. Everyone still has their basic commands, but in this game you can acquire and allocate skills that were not in the original.

Cut scenes are well inserted, helping to tell the story better not just for the sake of having a cut scene. Paired with good voice acting these were a real treat. I was sadden though by the voices, to think I have had the pronunciation of the characters names wrong for all these years.

All in all, if you haven't played this game yet now is the time. If you haven't play the game in a long time, this is the way to revisit.

Fan Boy Out . . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by PineTree (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a perfect remake of FFIV, one of my favorite Final Fantasy's. The fact that the game had voices was shocking and great. If you've never played the game before, you truly are missing out on one of the best rpgs on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My god.......

posted by SoulEater (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I first heard this game was being remade, I nearly cried. The original on the SNES blew my mind when it came out, with a gripping story, excellently designed characters, and the introduction of the Active Battle System. And this game just gets better with every remake! The DS version is no exception. The new 3D visuals and the voice acting are like sprinkles on top of the Sundae of Awesome that is Final Fantasy IV. Any fan of Final Fantasy games, or just games in general, should get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A most play for any FF fans or RPG fans

posted by belowradar (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Square did a great job porting this to the DS. The voice over work was excellent. The graphics were great even for the DS. The story was even about emo's or angst teenagers which is now a staple for all FF games which is definitely a plus as well.
The ability to auto fight is another great idea to have. I would put on auto fight and do things like make dinner or if i didn't want to fight another battle while I was trying to boost my character.
I have nothing negative to say about this game. Definitely rent this game or go out and buy. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Very Good Handheld Adaptation

posted by DuckieBunz (ROSEDALE, MD) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was very good just like it was in the NES. The new added 3d look and great graphics add on to the fun in the game. You can just adore the opening cutscene that looks like a real movie. There are many things that are kept the same just the way I like it and it sticks with the Final Fantasy flow. An overall good game and classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Buttons (SAN PEDRO, CA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Loved it! So close to the original too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad planning

posted by renis1 (MORRISON, CO) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

boss battles are usually precluded by a cut scene (sometimes up to 5 minutes long). If you lose the boss battle, you have to watch that cut cene again (only certain scenes can be skipped). It is very frustrating to have sit through a long, previously watched cut scene. Also, avoid if you are the type of gamer who hates playing the same battle over and over (and over...) before you figure out how to beat a boss - and dont forget you have to watch the cut scene everytime you lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not that great

posted by ske7783 (VINE GROVE, KY) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

controls could be better. the game starts to slow down during combat attacks. not that great a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Old Girlfriend

posted by irateyou (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I found this game reminded me of date with an old girlfriend. You have just concord the latest game and you decide to go your separate ways. After a long look at your "My Q" you realized you have run out of games that are your type. Lonely and desperate you drunkenly troll around the "New Release" section looking for a company. Just then the doors fly open and with a haze of smoke in walks FFIV. FFIV, an old flame you quickly reminisce about the good old times you had with her. Oh you have played that game before but today FFIV was looking good. She has a brand new look 64bit graphics, Extended CG scenes, and a brand new dual screened ride. You know the kind that will make you forget why you traded in your old copy in the first place. After a quick look at her GameFly Rating she convinces you to take her home. After a few explosive cut scenes she starts to slide back to your standard missionary RPGing. You know Attack, Potion, Fire, Fira and Blah Blah Blah. I put her in the envelope and sent her back after two days. She kept me company and she is a good girl but I have moved on. I just couldn't stand listening to the same dryly texted lines over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

unbalanced

posted by namcinos (SALEM, OR) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has good graphics and the frame rate seems higher than usual on the cut scenes.The acting is above average.The auto map mini game is great.Now what gets me is the difficulty.Mostly it's easy and your character's are strong.But fight a boss and die.Do I have to power up my characters before every boss battle?Another 1 to 2 hours wandering around in a dungeon for a few minute boss battle?Healing takes up a great portion of this time. It's a joke.Monsters give you little money.I sent the game back half way through.Don't buy this game.I wish I had not rented it either.What a hype.Games that are buggy are not fun.I'm going back to the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hard game

posted by meeks111 (DELAWARE, OH) Oct 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i find this is the hard f.f. game I have ever play still a good game just a little on the hard side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Same old game with a great new look

posted by Aulann (Phoenix, AZ) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I remember playing FF2 on the NES. It was the best FF till FF7. This one can be pick up by anyone. OP can enjoy going to the moon once more, and New gamer will enjoy its great graphic and voice cut scenes. The dancers ar't too bad ether hehe:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Boring

posted by MastaKeiz (FAIRFIELD, AL) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I never really liked the Final Fantasy series to begin with, with the exception of VII, but I thought that this game, in some way, could get me to play the rest of the series in order to know about the ones that are in Dissidia.

I now know by the way that this game was going on for the 10 hours that I wasted playing it that I will not be a fan of the series anymore. The game play is alright, the "almost turn-based" battle system is just like VII but the one thing that made me not want to go any further in the gam was te story.

In short, the game's story was so boring that it gave me no incentive to finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Final Fantasy iv for Ds

posted by raven7 (SLIDELL, LA) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

The graphics were good but I prefer the GBA version of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok.....

posted by AnimeandRPG (KIRKLAND, WA) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Well i did like it at first, with the voice actors but i like a challenge but every boss battle took me a day or too. I also didn't like how so many main people died. The oldish english was not that bad. But for the most part it was just boring after about level 30. I also just wanted another game soo i just gave it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1 of many FF's i enjoyed watching my dad play

posted by Sonicfan78907 (FERRIS, TX) Dec 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game's original FF snes debut was a clasic for my dad and i now i will follow in his footsteps and with the help of my friend we will beat it idc for 100% i just want to beat the story that is all i might see if i can get ifit he's a epic summoning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring!!!!!!!!

posted by gokussj4 (KOKOMO, IN) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this is the worst ds game i've ever played! I dont like battling its kinda boring. and every thing beyond that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The RPG Worth Waiting For

posted by snow_ninja (RENO, NV) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This was actually the very first Final Fantasy game I ever played. The closest I got to it was Kingdom Hearts (which really wasn't that close). Oh, how I wish I had played it sooner.

Story: 10/10 I didn't get far enough to find the whole depth of the story, but what I saw of it I really liked. Basically there's this dark knight named Cecil (pronounced the British way) who, along with his friend Kain, is under the rule of who was thought to be a benevolent king. However, recent actions of the king seem to have proved otherwise. First, he sent them to destroy an innocent country for only personal gain (before the events of the actual story), then sent them to yet another innocent village that the king thought was defying them (Cecil and Kain thought they had to go kill some kind of monster) by setting it on fire and killing a young child's mother and mother's dragon. Sadly, I didn't get any farther than that. The only thing I didn't like is that it seemed like a lot of people thought it was evil that knights were being trained in dark magic, which I didn't see the problem with. All it is is a different type of element, after all.

Gameplay: 10/10 The gameplay was the classic RPG style of running around and kicking monster butt. There was only one problem I had with it: it was near impossible to find a save point, so whenever I died I had to start the entire game over. If you buy this game (which you should), be sure to spend all your money on on potions (healing items) and phoenix down (resurrecting items).

Music: 10/10 The music was really cool and went right along with the game style itself. Music is one of the things I love about games.

Graphics: 8/10 Graphics is not usually something I care about. The graphics were good, but a bit chunky. Whenever the characters mouths moved, they just sort of opened and closed them like fish.

Overall, this game is awesome with a deep storyline and engaging gameplay. Perfect for any RPG lover, and it takes one to kno

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST RPG EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by soupperson (EAGLE RIVER, AK) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I was always an RPG player, but I never really played Final Fantasy before. Thats when I played Final Fantasy IV, and after ten minutes I could never stop playing this game for 3 months! The graphics of this game are like movie graphics, and I esspecially love the voice backround during cutscreens. And the music, most beautiful thing I heard. But don't forget the Aw-inspiring battles! So many chocies on offense and defence! I reccomend this game to DS,Pokemon, or RPG fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse