Rent Final Fantasy IV for GBA
view large frontback

Final Fantasy IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
8.3

444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique

posted by Ghostarms (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I believe this is one of the greatest RPGs I've ever played on the GBA. The time battle system is a new direction to go with a GBA game making this one very unique. The graphics are beautiful and the storyline is just immersing like a really good book or movie. The dungeons are very challenging but, just the story being as amazing as it is, keeps you wanting to progress through just to see what happens next. I believe this is one game you don't want to miss out on, it is a unique experience unlike any other GBA game before it, something you don't want to miss out on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Remake for a Perfect Game

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

My Status: 20+ Hours
Difficulty: Hard

Final Fantasy IV Advance actually is a remake of a game known in the US as Final Fantasy II. It was a great Super NES game and despite its age holds up really well. The reason for this is that even though graphics are not flashy and the sound archaic the strength of this game lies in its story which is timeless.

The game fighting engine is standard for a lot of the RPG these days but was new when it came out. Your turn is determined by the speed of your character and so you will see some characters go twice before a slower character gets to even play. The magic works nicely too because more effective magic takes longer to cast. Enemies all have there share of weakness and strength and are well designed to give you a challange.

The games story will begin with a Dark Knight named Cecil. There are many close relationships that are forged. You will make and lose friends. It has a lot of twists and turns at a personal level yet it is epic in scope as well.

If you know what you are doing the game can be short. About 20+ hours in length. Some of the 20 hours will actually be just spent on collecting levels too because the game is difficult.

If you already played the original there has been some changes both minor and major. The game is harder than the original US version. There has been some name changes in items and weapons. Characters you meet have skills they didn't have in the US version. These are all minor changes and will either annoy you or you will like it because it is different.

The big change is the fact that by the end you can choose your final five. The original FFIV the final five character were chosen for you (I won't say who they are) but in the remake you have some old friends you can have rejoin your party.

This game is a perfect remake for a perfect game. It adds tons of new content and really does fan service for those who played it. For those new to the game will have a great adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best RPG Ever

posted by darkcloud9 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you have not play FFIV by now, I'm sorry but I must show my contemp for you. But I have to say that I envy you as well. For you, unlike me, can just sit back and experiences a true masterpiece for first time. And not those mediocre RPG's that you see now.

Buy it, Rent it, I don't care but you have to play this game. Any self-respecting gamer who calls himself/herself a gamer needs to play it, you are missing out!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good for newcomers and the seasoned

posted by Zane101 (POWELL, TN) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Final Fantasy IV was the first Final Fantasy I played, and it was alot better than I thought. The characters are compelling, deep in story, excellent battle system, good graphics, and some of the best in-game music I've ever heard.

Now, don't get me wrong. I'm a big RPG buff. Final Fantasy IV was my first Final Fantasy, but I have been more acquainted with other RPGs, like Phantasy Star, and Pokemon. I've also played MMOs (a la World of Warcraft and Runescape). But enough about my experience.

Final Fantasy IV is a really good, and I mean good. Its gotta be one of the best RPGs on the GBA. The sound quality is really good for a GBA game, the graphics were preserved pretty well, since its ported from SNES. The conrtols are simplistic, with the A, B, Start, Select, and the L and R.

Some of the things I like about the way you run from battle with the shoulder buttons, instead of just selecting run. Its like an active run system. The battle system is sorta like a mesh of real-time and turn-take. In other words, you and the enemy take turns in real-time, and you can move or attack as soon as your battle meter charges up. It's simple, but not like Pokemon where you have to wait.

The only major complaints I can think of are that all you want is more. More! Once you've beaten the game, there's little to do, except listen to music in the Besitary, or look at the title screen and hit the dreadful "New Game" button. Also, there is no multiplayer or much else.

The first time through, this game is a legendary experience. Second time through, its fun, but not as. If you haven't played this game, I say Rent it. Heck, Buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

btg

posted by beruzeruku (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

break this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

That's enough

posted by sheryl20 (OAKLAND, CA) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

i hate this game, u have to use the magic "sight" to open up a world map, i always keep my character at a high level but still the monsters are so hard to defeat, ff 6 are much better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You get what you've come to expect

posted by maddad (OCONTO, WI) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

The title says it all. This game has all the elements that make a great Final Fantasy game: great battle system, enormous amount of depth, intriguing storyline, and good graphics. The only problem I really had is that if you are going to train your characters, be warned that your party switches around A LOT. All in all, this game is a MUST-BUY for any Final Fantasy fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good story- not so good battle system

posted by Alexander (PEORIA, IL) Jul 31, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

I haven't played too many Final Fantasy games, but I've really enjoyed most of the ones I have played (FF1, FFX, FFX-2). What they all have is a good battle system, but this game lacks that.

Though this game has a good story and good graphics, its battle system is seriously flawed. Instead of a normal turn-based, you have the ATB system (which is fine in other games) which has gone through some changes for the worse. From what I played, enemies' actions are all pre-determined (enemies of one type will all attack on their turn, or all use magic, or all use a certain skill, two of the same monster never do a different action unless they have a status such as silence). This makes for some very annoying times when faced with four Malboros, and all four of them use Bad Breath (inflicts every status ailment except KO on a character).

On the player side, when issuing commands to multiple people in quick succesion, the order in which they act is pretty random. You might have certain people act before others even if you issued their command last, so a certain spell or attack you want to use might be delayed quite a while and allow the enemies to attack you more. This may not sound too bad right now, but there are some dungeons late in the game where monsters will suddenly deal tons more damage than monsters in the previous area. You'll go from being able to kill monsters in one or two hits to taking 6 or 7 physical attacks just to kill one. It's because of difficulty spikes like this (and that monsters deal massive amounts of damage to your characters, forcing you to CONSTANTLY heal, even at high levels like I was) that I didn't bother to finish this game. You're better off renting FF1&2 or other GBA RPGs such as Golden Sun or Breath of Fire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »