Rent Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon for Wii
view large frontback

Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

1184 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Everything Expected But Still A Great Game

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

24 out of 24 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Any game with FF in the title automatically raises expectations. Choco mainly fulfils them considering the platform limitations with just a couple of niggles that wouldn't even come into play if this wasn't Square/Enix.

While I was expecting to play as Cid (a younger Cid, a nephew, a son? who knows) you find yourself playing as the Chocobo in the early chapters at least. After a long lead in of set pieces you find everyone is losing their memories and it seems ot be your job to recover them by completing dungeons that reveal their entrance next to those people.

As usual the story is not instantly clear and the completion of each dungeon provides more clues and restores more memories for people.

The dungeons are not overly complicated so far and the combat system is quite simplistic although it would seem to have potential for more types of attacks and spells at a later stage. Even if you have never played an RPG before there is nothing here that is not clearly explained.

FF has gone a little more down the D&D route this time with items. Special properties are not always instantly clear and that includes cursed items, which you cannot unequip without a Dispel spell. Many items are now best left until you can determine their true nature with spells or other items which are provided within dungeons at times.

There is a lot of character interaction in this game. As usual a good amount of this is often of little consequence but you have to take care as some sly clues are slipped in to what seems innocuous at first glance. Take nothing for granted.

Now I do have a coupla niggles. Often in scenes with voice you can let the voice complete but the animation of the mouth keeps on flapping, it kinda bugs me. Also scene changeovers can be a tad on the slow side. If it wasn't Square/Enix I may not mind but these guys are the tops at this so I do.

Overall tho it is a great game for FF followers. If youa re new to the series then it may be a good intro.RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A "Dungeon" made for a select crowd

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It starts off (after the training dungeon) with Chocobo (a kid sized bird) and Cid (a guy) arriving at a town named Lostime. They soon get involved with a kid named Raffaello and the town's big problem.
When the clock in town rings most people lose their memories. In order to get them back, Chocobo has to venture into dungeons, battle monsters and beat the big boss at the end of said dungeons.
This is a typical RPG where inventory management is needed. Also, the player has to choose what job to be (regular, knight, Black Mage, and so on) with each job having their advantages and disadvantages.
Getting the right items can be a hassle; I couldn't find a store outside of the dungeons to buy these items, and it's pure luck to find that store inside the dungeon.
Also, there are many, many random encounters with powerful enemies. (Who thought a flan can be so tough to beat?) I ended up going through the same dungeon a dozen times over.
And the dungeons look all the same except for changes in the background.
But for those who can meet up with the challenge and get through the dungeons will be rewarded with a great story with likable characters. Plus, there's the sheer joy of finding new items and beating the big boss at the end of each dungeon.
Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon isn't for everyone; rent it first to see if you're into this RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a roguelike game (response to hippyvock)

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 28, 2008

Member since May 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a simple context, much like all roguelike games. you go into different dungeons that are basically the same and you either climb or descend levels until you reach your goal. much like other rogulike games if you die you lose your items. however you can buy bigger bags and you can make your storage larger if you do certain things (i wont spoil it for you). i thought this game did a much better job than Baraque which was also a roguelike game. what i consider to be a good bonus is being able to play a card game online against other people, it is quite fun and has me searching the dungeons to find each card. i say rent it give it a try and if the online part makes it worth keeping then buy it but dont listen to hippyvock

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good fun RPG

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love RPGs. The Wii is starving for Rpgs. I played the original Chocobo's dungeon on the playstation a long time ago. I enjoyed it. So I had to give this game a try.

I had a great time with it. Yes it could be a bit repetitive at times, but RPGs normally are at some points. I loved all the different jobs/classes. It helped break up the game and add a bit more strategy to it. I didn't like the camera in the game at times. But it wasn't too overly problematic.
The game isn't very long, but if you want to do every dungeon and level every job type/class, you will have a lot of gameplay.
I did enjoy the online card playing with this too.
Some of the dungeons are very easy. Some are rather annoying.

Over all, I give it a 7.5 I would score higher if it wasn't for the camera and some of the unbalanced dungeon difficulty.

Good fun, Good game. I hope they do another one for the series. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hooray for the bird!

posted by Buddha01 (LADSON, SC) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm having a blast playing this game! Its the type of RPG where the dungeons change every time you go in and new items await. Most of the time those items are unidentified so it adds a thrill similar to opening presents at christmas.

Beyond that the storyline is interesting and appealing. The bird enters into the minds of the townspeople and fights creatures within their nightmares. Probably the cutest and most lovable hero I've ever seen in an RPG.

I highly recommend this game to anyone =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than I expected

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game, like all finall fanticys, was fun. At first I thought it would be too childish, but as I began to unravel the story I couldn't put this game down. BUT the only down-turn is that, like all final fanticys, you have to level up to get through the levels or else you DIE all the time. The up-side is if you die you get to keep your experience, but after a while being in the same dungion for an hour gets anoying. Thats my only complaint. Good story, and the game is VERY enjoyable and the people read so you dont have to (the voice acting isnt the best but its better than other games i've herd), thats a plus. Like I said, it looks childish but if your a fan of final fanticy than its a MUST play, the only reason I didn't beat it was because I got a PS3 and wanted to get a game for it, the game would have taken too long to beat, and I REALY wanted to play my PS3. So I give it an 8 out of 10, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I would give it a 11 out of 10 if i could. I am hoping to buy this game soon if i can. You are a chicken in the game, which is chocobo, and it is just fun when you fight a boss. Your heart starts racing and your brain goes 1,000 miles per hour thinking of what to do to win the fight. I highly recomend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dark god defeated by cute yellow bird. News at 11.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy Fables Chocobo's Dungeon takes the franchise in a different direction. While it still has elements of the classic Final Fantasy turn-based gameplay, this game features top-down views that give it a game board feel.
You play Chocobo (duh), a cute little yellow bird who packs a big punch. Your levels take place in the memories of the townsfolk and in four main elemental dungeons. Along the way, you'll fight toads, bats, birds, skeletons, etc. and run into a whole bunch of traps. You'll also pick up tons of items. The main items you'll want to pick up are saddles and talons, which, along with collars, are the sole equipment in the game. Through a system of honing and fusing, you can improve and combine these to make something truly fierce. It's a great case of simplicity gaining depth.
You also get a job system, which unlocks over the course of the game. Each class has advantages and purpose, which makes variety a high point.
It's pretty addictive gameplay and has the touch of presentation value you'd expect from Square Enix. The biggest problem I had was with control. Holds the Wiimote sideways isn't a big deal, but moving around with the D-Pad seems stilted and counter-intuitive by today's standard. Worse yet, there is no option to use the nunchuk, which would have given players analog control. The other gripe many will have is in the Diablo-style randomized dungeon design. Running through a few floors isn't bad, but toward the end you'll be navigating through dungeons 100 levels deep. Even with level jumpers, the hack-n-slash slog will leave some disinterested.
But don't let it's flaws keep you from trying out this engaging RPG adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Played this game 10 years ago

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) Jul 13, 2008

Member since May 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

There is a game for the Playstation called "Azure Dreams" that did this exact format ten years ago. You, a loner, must venture into an ever changing yet exactly the same dungeon enclosed within a town's constraints that thinly masks an item hunt game to unlock the secrets of the tower.

Now, I played Chocobo's Dungeon for almost ten hours (and accomplished things) and this is the exact same thing: even to the point where when you die you lose everything you have except your experience points and what you had equipped. This doesn't sound too bad except that death comes quickly at times and it becomes impossible to prep for a dungeon crawl when you have very few items to spare and dying means losing some very important, very expensive things.

Item space is at a major premium in this game (even storage has a low limit) and you'll spend much of it always clearing out one spot on your list to make room for the item on the floor to see if it's one measly point better than the item you have equipped, which it almost never is. You have only one character to control so really you're playing Diablo in cutesy form which is very deceiving because the plot is about a dark evil sucking out people's memories and most of the before mentioned memories involve pain, war, and death. Not something that fits the image of the blue eyed golden bird that is the main character.

If you haven't played any of the other Final Fantasy iterations of late and need something (and are refusing to play before said other versions of FF's) to keep you busy, this won't kill you, but the low score is due to lack of originality of an overall blahness that totally sucks the life out of the game. I was depressed wondering the halls with my chocobo and I should have a Final Fantasy sense of wonder instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rockin!

posted by pokeblue (LAWRENCEBURG, TN) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game is fun if you like FF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CHOCOBO DUNGEON

posted by Gemini_her62 (LINCOLN CITY, OR) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

More child friendly than the Final Fantasy games have been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More than I was expecting.

posted by Darkslowbro2000 (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Chocobos Dungeon was, in my imagination, going to be an OK game, but THIS, this is amazing. From Raphaello's realistic life cycle to the incredibly versatile job/class system, This game is great. I love the graphics and the storyline is great. The only problems are that it's a little too obvious that Irma is Shirma's sister, and Raphaello's life cycle seemed to go a bit too fast. Overall, I loved this game, even though bits of the plotwere slightly rough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Chocobo's Dungeon

posted by SaiyaFm5 (DES MOINES, IA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Well, I am returning another game without completing it. I have only done that one other time since getting Gamefly and since starting up my account again.

To be honest this game isn't half bad. I enjoyed playing a FF game as I have never really had the opportunity to play one before. However the dungeons got old really fast. With the exception of the main dungeons the other ones looked pretty much the same. Finally finding people's memories did help, they were interesting and added some depth to the game. There are some dungeons that one only beats based on luck, in fact there's more than one. I usually don't have a huge problem with this, as an adventure gamer a lot of the games I play rely on luck and a specific sequences. Both are an exercise in frustration. But I have refused to play a certain dungeon because it is just too hard to get through it. There are others that make you think they require a strategy...but they too are based on luck! You get sent back to the beginning with nothing many many times which made me want to scream.

There are some good things. The characters while nothing new plot wise were interesting and engaging to me. At first I was kind of disappointed that I was playing a small fluffy yellow bird but as the game went on I found myself enjoying fishing with my tail, planting flowers, finding 'secret' words and having people understand my character even though all I did was chirp. The moogles were especially entertaining and provided a nice break from the game play. I think the main reason I am returning this game without finishing it is that there is nothing to draw me back in.

Overall I enjoyed this game, but repetitive dungeons, dungeons that I felt like were only completable with luck and little strategy (I think it ought to be the other way around) and unimaginative graphics kept me from liking it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by Plastatio (MARTINSBURG, WV) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

but not good enough. I finished the game entirely too quickly and had no problems doing so. I didn't die at all, not even once. I didn't use phoenix down either....

too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Final Fantasy Greatest Letdown

posted by kylster (COLUMBUS, GA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Great game as far as the graphics; definitly a 10. Dissapointing was the whole concept of it but it somewhow reminded me of the ds version and that alone threw me off. Final Fantasy should stick with the basic that it was 1st built upon. Definitly if you have kids into the whole FF series this is a great just not my cup of tea :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yet another 'mystery dungeon' game

posted by Merlitaru (FORT EDWARD, NY) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

When this got home, I picked it up and started playing. It's very cutesy, you get to play as a chocobo (why else would it be called Chocobo's dungeon?). The first thing that really caught my interest was the music. I don't know about a lot of you, but I became /very/ nostalgic listening to the music. It has music from nearly every Final Fantasy 8, 9, 10...even some from 11 (the main music in the town is the Tarutaru creation music), I even heard "Awakening" at one point, which put me in a very good mood :3.

Music aside, the gameplay is fun, but it does get repetitive after a while. While the dungeons change every time you go in, it doesn't change so much that it makes it impossible to navigate. Some dungeons are dark, some have lots of traps that are deceiving. The first few dungeons are easy, but then by the time you go into the first elemental dungeon, you're hit with a /harsh/ curve, and it gets really hard, I ended up dying a lot. And dying is not a very fun thing, not only do you lose whatever money you managed to gain, but all your items as well except the ones you had equipped. However, you do keep whatever experience you get. I found it better to go into a dungeon without any items and kill things until I leveled up some.

I found the voice acting to be rather grating at times, especially when I had to listen to the characters remembering things. Some games, you're just better off without voice acting, in my opinion.

So, all in all, I found the game enjoyable, while slightly annoying on some aspects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Couldn't get into it

posted by Moonraker (ANTIOCH, IL) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Call me crazy, but I enjoy games that

1. Have good graphics

2. Don't make me feel like I should be letting a 7 year old play

3. Don't remind me of Pokemon.

I guess I own the wrong system.

The storyline was decent but I still couldn't get into the game. I played maybe an hour or 2 in and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Annoying, stupid, worthless, ect ect...

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

Ugh...that stupid bird! I hated controling that wacky bird! I thought I would control I don't know....maybe...A HUMAN! That lame guy dressed like Indiana Jones was pretty lame. The controls were very stupid and cheep not to mention annoying!!! The only two things that was decent was the graphics and the fact that I only rented the game so I'm not stuck with it at home! Ugh...I will never ever ever rent a Final Fantasy game with that bird and the Indiana Jones look alike EVER AGAIN!!! This game was back in the mail as soon as POSSIBLE! I couldn't take the first six seconds!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo's Dungeon

posted by SQUIRTFL5 (AURORA, CO) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game is cute. I would reccomend it to younger gamers (5-10 yrs), but if you are looking for a game more along the lines of an actual Final Fantasy RPG, I'd suggest Final Fantasy X or XII; much more action-packed. In fact, I'd also suggest Kingdom Hearts; despite the cartoon characters it contains, it is very violent and a terrible influence to young children. This game however, is more of a cute game you'd pick up for a young niece or nephew/cousin for it's Chibi-ish design and it's non-violent way of approaching fighting.

Bottom line: Not great. Cute, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Play This Game PLZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by FABLE123 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

If you are looking for a good Final Fantasy game.Just dont get this one,if you are looking for a cool Final Fantasy game were you have to be fast on it.Well dont get this one,on this one.You have to play as a pet.First you mite think its cool but ist not.Its a slow game and you mite think you can play as a person.But your not you play as a Chocobo!!!Ya thers classic players.But still.I rathern play the old Final Fantasy's.So to get to the main point..Dont you der play this game!!!!It sucks.and if you dont trust me!!!you rent itfor you self!!!!Waset your time playing this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Trust me,dont you ever ever ever ever play this game!!!So PLZ!!!!!!!!!!!If you think u r going to play as a person!!well think agen your playing as a pet,and nobody likes to be a pet.Its like being a animal slave!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for what it is

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

It wasn't a bad game better than some rpg's Ive played on the wii. I liked the grid play just wish the boards were a little different. Over all I did like it but I got board with it due to the same level design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A final fantasy spin-off title that doesnt suck!

posted by Warpedmind (HATTIESBURG, MS) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I am very pleased with this title. It's far better then my last experience with the final fantasy spin-off called my life as king. This game is alot like azure dreams from ps1. Its a turn based dungeon crawler complete with final fantasy quality cinematics and music. This title is worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horrible game

posted by fireemblem (BRIGHTON, MA) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This game is just a cheap version of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon. although the voice acting is good, everything else is horrible. Good storyline. Chocobo is a bird!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not worth it ( go to camseyeview.blogspot)

posted by moonstone (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

It has happened yet again. I am doing a review on another Final Fantasy spin-off. Now, this one is aimed towards a younger audience. It’s called, Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo’s Dungeon. It tells the story of a treasure hunter named Cid, and his companion Chocobo as they are finding the jewel of timeless power. Sadly, once they do, another treasure hunter finds it and, on an even worse note, they all get warped, and Cid and Chocobo land in a city called Memoria. Now, the first thing you find that is weird is that people keep losing memories. A small egg falls from the sky and a little boy appears inside the egg. A young girl with pink hair who is a white mage greets you. Once you find the little boy, you see he has the ability to go into a person’s thoughts and find his memories. It’s up to Chocobo to find the young boy, and fight off the monsters inside the “thought dungeons”.
The game play is much like an adventure role-playing game since you play not as Cid but as his companion Chocobo. You walk through the dungeon floors and fight off monsters so you can get to the young boy who has a hold of the memory fragment. The style of fighting is like turn-based role-playing, but the turns revolve around attacks and movements, which bugs the heck out of me since when I play a Final Fantasy game, I want to go into random battles and fight turn-based and not attack-based. Another thing that bugs me is how many floors there are inside the dungeons, but the one thing that will bug players the most is the meters and item-wielding. One meter is for your special abilities, and you can only use it three times until you need it recharges back up again. You can only hold a certain amount of items. Another thing you need to watch out for is how much energy Chocobo has. It starts at 100% but it will go down the longer you walk around. When it runs out, Chocobo will start running out of hit points which is rather bothersome if you’re in a very large dungeon and you didn’t pack item

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awkward dungeon crawler

posted by LindyP0P (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

the story decent i guess but its just a dungeon crawler. I found the controls with the stock wii remote to be awkward and tedious if you like wandering around mindlessly killing stuff than this is the game for you if you want a fantastic square enix game that lives up to expectations LOOK ELSE WHERE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse