Rent Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles for GC
view large frontback

Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.6

1107 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gamecube's best

posted by Chiefpacma (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really do not understand why this game is getting such a bad rap. I thought this game was one of the Gamecube's best games.

It is 2010, and I still play this game occasionally. The graphics are amazing for the GC, the storyline is amazing by any standards. No square enix game deserves less than a 9, including this one.

The multiplayer was extremely fun, although it was annoying to have to hook up the gameboys I will admit. But the gameboy controller did help a lot. There was no stopping when someone had to switch some spells around, because they could just do it on their gameboy.
The leveling up was fun as well. When playing with a group there is a lot of strategy that goes into it. One person may train defence, while another trains magic, and so on in order to defeat a boss or a level.

The world seems endless, and each time I re do a level to train I find caves and monsters I did not notice before. There are hundreds of levels, dozens of towns, and several regions to keep you attention.

You do not have to be a FF fan to enjoy this! if you have a gamecube try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun to Me

posted by mackygirl (KENNESAW, GA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know a lot of people aren't big on the whole Crytal series, but when Crystal Chronicles came out, I thought it was pretty darn good. It was the game that got me into the Final Fantasy series. I rented it recently since I haven't played it in a good 4 years or so. In my opinion its still fun and pretty easy to control with a gamecube controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm really surprised.

posted by NinjaZee (ANTIOCH, CA) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"I was actually quite surprised with these reviews. Lots of HxC FF fans bustin' a FF game.
Well, anyway, lets get to it.
For starters I knew this game wasn't going to be like a normal FF game at all, you could tell by the cover.
I was really glad to get away from the endless turn-based they've been pumping out.
I wouldn't necessarily compare this to what is now FF12, but it's pretty close.
The more-or-less free movement is pretty fun.
Single player mode, I do admit, is a little saddening.
The -tiring- moogle and easy bosses makes single player almost a COMPLETE let down.
But, on the off chance that you and some buds have GBA's and cables, it's outstanding fun.
The difficulty of the enemies increase quite a bit with the increase of players, along with the years of the levels.
I was seeing some complaints about going back to levels, but I' really don't understand the complaint because most (if not all) games make you return to levels.
As you enter a level you or a friend (if multi-mode) holds the -chalice- which protects you from Miasma, which is the pollutant of the world.
You acquire magic throughout the level to use, which is kind of tedious if the boss is affected by one you can't find.
There are certain rewards where you can acquire magic rings during certain years.
The bosses are almost to easy in single player, you almost just run around dodging a large, but ridiculously slow monster, nipping at it's ankles until it's dead.
In single player you can color your moogle, so it can use spells, which can be combined with your focus attack or spell to create a more powerful blow.
4 outfits for 4 species in the character select, a little limited.
Overall it's quite enjoyable with friends.
If yer a solo-gamer stay clear, but for a fan, you kinda have to try it.
I'm positive this was set for the younger audience to get ready for the more HxC FF games, so, I see nothing wrong with the chibi-fied characters.
Stunning field graphics for the GC.
And catchy tunes."
[[Zee]]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for the lonely

posted by baehrfam (KINGSTON, WA) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game was highly recommended from family members. I knew it was geared more toward multi-player but since it did have the option for single-player mode, I decided to give it a shot. The game is quite beautiful. The story is a little weird but hey, it's a Final Fantasy game. Single player mode is not the best part of the game. I never got a chance to play multi-player before returning it. But for single player, it was confusing, it's kind of a pain to fight and being limited as to what kind of armor you could wear really sucked. If you will have the opportunity to play this game with a few other people, then give it a shot. But if you are mainly a solo gamer....I'd pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Final Fantasy:Crystal Chronicles

posted by koraken (VALPARAISO, IN) May 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I felt this game was great in both playability and
graphics. Anyone who is a fan of this series will
enjoy this one. It is also a good beginner game for newcomers to Final Fantasy. The bosses are right in the middle range of difficulty, and the tutorials are most informative. I highly recommend this game to all who are either novices or veterans to this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not quite up to snuff

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I was hesitant to try the game, seeing as it's so... cute, but once I was playing the cuteness was bareable. What did bother me, though was the fact that it didn't really have a begining and an end as far as I can tell.

Pros:
Fun, action rpg battle system.
Numerous classes in which to play.
Fun multiplayer.

Cons:
Story? What story?
Forced to adventure in the same place multiple times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Final Fantasy Game ever....!!! :(

posted by qharper (ORANGEBURG, SC) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first I tried to ignore most of the reviews and I decided to give this game a try.....bad idea and a waste of time.
I just got this game today, played it for two hours, and now I'm ready to send it back. To bad tomorrow is Sunday. The game play is just boring...you do the same thing over and over again.....Beat a few easy monsters then beat a big easy boss which will just be a rip off of an easy enemy from other FF games, and then you get a drop of water from a tree...thats it!. The characters suck too. The only way to cause any real damage to an enemy you have to use magic and Charge attacks. The bad thing is you have to charge up magic and attacks just to use them, if an enemy hits you then you'll have to start over again...this can get very frustrating later in the game while being attacked by 5,6, or even 7 enemies at the same time. This is a bad thing since One enemy can take one heart away, thats right you dont get HP you just get little hearts....and you get four hearts at the beginning of the game. So you do the math...you have four hearts and your attacking 6 enemies that can take one away if they hit you even once. They say you can make your own character, but this is both misleading and false the game just ask you if you want a girl/boy and what race you want to be. They then give you a stupid looking character that looks very kiddy....like the teletubbies. Like I said...the game play is really bad and boring since you do the same thing over and over again. The multiplayer is not worth it ether.
You need 2 GBA's just to play multiplayer, which is stupid since the GBA has nothing to do with the game. getting four people with GBAs and cables together to play this game is daunting, unlikely, and expensive. You also have to stay in the perimeter of a crystal that a moggle carries around. This can be very annoying since the moogle will get tired and he will slow down. This will cause you to run out of the perimeter then youll loose more life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is no Final Fantasy

posted by Revan67 (RED OAK, TX) May 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is on so many levels undeserving of having Final Fantasy in the title. Its far too simple, its far too 'cute' and there is very little in way of any real story telling. If you really must play it then by all means play it, but for Final Fantasy fans stick with the true Final Fantasy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Woderful Game <A MUST PLAY>

posted by ProphetOfGaming (ELBERFELD, IN) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game has kept my family, friends, and I entertained for many months. Whether it was exploring every inch of the world or collecting as much money or meat as possible, HAHA! This is a game you, and everyone else is sure to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nintendo's gotcha covered, Sony fans!

posted by Backwardskey (RINGGOLD, GA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Overall this was a really well-developed game by Nintendo. A Final Fantasy comeback on the Gamecube is a rarity, and that makes this game a jewel. What makes it interesting is that you're no longer chained to the turn-based battles, and are now set up with the ability to fully move around a battlefield in real time, dodge attacks on your own volition, and smack around enemies with your wide array of useful spells, weapons, and armor.

Pros: Elements from the Final Fantasy Series have not suffered any from the platform crossover; the many useful magics and items are still at your expense, such as the powerful "aga" level spells, and the ability to combine other spells to form even more intricate ones such as Holy or Gravity, which, like in other games, has the same effects on undead or flying foes. You won't be dissapointed in the graphics and audio, either!

Cons: It seems that multiplayer is the obvious way to get the full gaming experience. Since training multiple characters can be a hassle without an extra hand or two, this requires the use of some rather primitive gaming equipment, which may be impossible to find in some of your local gaming stores.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WARNING! THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE!

posted by johnnie173 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Oh, the life of an RPG player who only owns a wii...
So little games, so little availibility...
Unfortunatley for me, this game was in my GameQ, and with every other decent RPG game for the Wii and Gamecube (all three of them) at "low" or "very low" availability, I got stuck with this Crapfest.

1. Don't bother if you're playing by yourself.
2. As stated previously... "Story? What story?"
3. Battle system that reminded me of "The Legend of Zelda"... The original one on the first NES.
4. PS2 quality graphics at best.
5. Painfully slow attack mode.
6. Did I mention no story whatsoever?

If you want to play a great, old school Final Fantasy game, dust off your PS2 and track down Final Fantasy X... It's still my favorite game of all time...

As for me? Time to trade in the wii and it's never ending assortment of Mario and kiddie games and upgrade to the XBox, or PS3....

One of the worst games I ever played...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Multiplayer Game!

posted by Aquatech00 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is an awesome Final Fantasy game, keep in mind though that this is not the classic time based turn RPG and more of a action RPG game where you must be paying attention all time to the whole screen.

The Bad: the things that most people have a complaint about is the fact that you have to be inside the circle which is the chalice safe spot, this limits you to be able to let you move independently from the group and i feel this is best since it lets be a party multiplayer game.

This is a GREAT multiplayer game, but keep in mind you MUST have the cables for each gameboy advance/SP.

I love this game but it hard to play unless everyone in my party brings a SP. IMO must have game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

50/50

posted by BTank64 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

This game had its goods and bad i got it today and like some people said its not fun unless u play multiplayer but the tribes, graphics, and sort of story is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let me make this "crystal" clear...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

The Final Fantasy series has enjoyed a lofty status, especially with their track record over the last decade. However, Square's only FF offering on the Gamecube proves to be less stimulating. The overall problem is that this is not true to the series.
The story is certainly less interesting than most FF games. You play a young... creature, who must collect myrrh for some reason. You'll accomplish this by defeating bosses in dungeons. Collect three drops of myrrh and you'll advance a day in the story. The reasons for most of this seem arbitrary. Honestly, the whole purpose of your quest seems kind of pointless. There is a ton of narrative, but it wasn't engaging. But, let's move on...
This is no turn-based RPG. Battles play out more like Diablo, but with less depth. You wield a weapon, equip a few pieces of armor and get four basic elements to use spells. Combining these elements allows you to perform better or specialized spells, but continually fusing and splitting your spells isn't particularly fun. The hacking and slashing works well enough, but it's so limited. (Press the A button, repeat).
The chalice you carry around to collect myrrh is really annoying. You can have this little, annoying flying thing carry it, but it tends to get tired and slow. You'll need the chalice to pass through miasma streams, but you'll need to make it the correct element to do so. Again, this is annoying.
Single-player is one thing, but the multi-player is more gimmick than fun. You will need four GBAs with Gamecube connectors to play four-player. Why Square couldn't have just made multi-player compatible with the Gamecube controller is beyond me.
Crystal Chronicles takes the FF series in a new direction. While it's playable and has elements that are fun, the overall experience is lacking. There are some really great RPGs and action titles on the Gamecube, but this is not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst ff title ever

posted by Artef1224 (BROOKLYN, MD) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

As a hardcore FF fan ( how hardcore? i still own the original ff on the regular nintendo and play it) this is by far the worst next to tactics. The graphics are good and the story are good however the game play is what kills it, cmon now a ff12 style battle ground yet limited moves magic skills and movement around a cup......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good, only a few flaws

posted by UltiGamer (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Pro's:
Nice gameplay
Excellent storyline
Good controls
Not very limited

Con's:
Have to use GameBoy Advance for multiplayer
Hard to get some equipment
Can't use moogle if you use one GameBoy Advance

Overall: A must-have for Final Fantasy fans, but it can still do better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so bad...

posted by Gamerfrom3 (SHEBOYGAN, WI) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1. BADS When you first start this game you get to make your own character but don't be fooled...all you can really change is the clothes, which are pre set, and the helmet/hair. I for one recommend grabbing a friend who has a game boy advance and a Gamecube link and setting up a multiplayer game or your going to get sick of this game pretty fast. In single player mode well, lets just say don't. In multiplayer mode, if you don't mind "setting" your person up so that your a healer that heals your friend or the other way around...you might get somewhere. Another bad thing about this game is simple to point out, hearts=not many=death=restart=annoya- nce=recklessness=getting hurt=loosing hearts=death and then repeat...

2. GOODS Now all of these supposed bad things about this game are mostly true but when you can heal and bring the dead people [which can wave] back to life as many times as wanted, there is good also. Lets say your lucky enough to be able to play multiplayer mode with someone, AND your able to find cure and life orbs in each level, your in for a good time. If you and your friend don't loose patience with this game you will find yourself entertained for those long days that never seem to pass...but other than that there is not a whole lot more good, some, but not a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No GBA connection?...Don't bother...

posted by Lunarhippy (FLUSHING, NY) Nov 24, 2006

Member since May 2006

I'm a big final fantasy fan and when i saw this i was excited to see this game on the gamecube...this game is obviously meant for multi-player gba game play but the developers decided to throw single player in there...the game graphically looks beautiful and the story is decent but not impressive...the gameplay is where this game completely sucks in multiplayer mode... it gets VERY repetitive VERY quickly seeing how all you're doing is collecting this weird water from this freaky looking tree...the side quests don't make this game any better and the fighting mechanincs are unique but it gets worse as time passes (like jimmy fallon's career)...if you just gotta have your final fantasy fix on the gamecube then get this game but if you can live without final fantasy then skip this like how you would skip a queen latifah movie...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Year after year this game gets slower and slower.

posted by Shikamaru (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Like other people I was drawn into this game because of the name "Final Fantasy" on the cover. Looking at screen shots of this game made me want to play it because it wasn't like any other FF game made.

-=Game play=-

The game play was fun at first. You can get new weapons, I think 10 or 12 weapons total for each race. The looks of the weapons for some races were just plain lame. (Can't use profanity). 2 out of the four races were extremely lame. One looks like a red teletubby, and the other looks like a lame giraffe like human thing with wings.

Year after year you cleanse the world of miasma, once you enter dungeons you have to stay in the Crystal chalice's radius or you will start to lose health. In one player mode this gets quite annoying by the fact that the Moogle helping you carry it gets tired and slows down, making you slow down.

The boss fights are really fun, but no strategy is needed. Until you get a little to the end where you'll need to hit a switch with a fire or cast holy on a dark mob.

The famiy job system in this game is another let down. I thought I would be able to craft things or create explosive potions and such. D mn was I wrong. When your family sends you letters you have to be kind and give them gifts everytime a letter arrives, THEN they start to get happy and THEN they give you stuff over the years. I mean seriously, as a fisherman all you get is fish every year? What the LOVE is the point of that? I'd expect you to be able to FISH!! And like get bigger fish, rare types of fish, and sell them for big bucks! That's a job!

All in all this game has alot of let downs. But if you like MMO's or have ALOT of GBA's and Link cables and three friends including yourself, then this game is for you. Multiplayer brings a whole new level of fun and teamwork to this game.

Outtie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is worst of the series

posted by angryflow (WALLACE, ID) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

Even thought it's on GC... It sucks pretty bad! It's like babysitting an inanimate object instead of putting it in a pocket, I really don't like it at all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Curse the Game boy connector.

posted by MarCry (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

Not TOO bad or not TOO good. The scenery and the graphics are very cute and beautiful in the field but the idea of having to get used to so many little frustrating mechanism is so unappealing.

Also, the lone single player game is flat out rated 1-2 out of 10 because of it's lack of challenge and having to repeat several actions you've done already. Multiplayer is quite enjoyable except the fact that it needs gameboyAV or SP WITH the linking cord for EACH player. I myself had to buy another link that I don't need in order to fully enjoy the game. It's kinda frustrating.

It's a game that needs extra money in your purse in order for you to fully enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mutli-player game

posted by Peachy (TUJUNGA, CA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I bought a gamecube just to play this game. Final Fantasy games usually has a strong role-playing storyline, but this game is far from it. This game is cute as you choose character's race and background, but i'll recommend this game if ONLY you play with others.. since it tends to become repetitive.. Other than that, i never touched my gamecube for a year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Word For how bad this is........

posted by Drizzy (CRANSTON, RI) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game sucked very bad, how they could stick the name Final Fantasy on that sad excuse for a game, i don't think i could find one positive thing to say about this game. The only thing i can safely say it that playing this game is a complete waste of time and your better off staring at walls for hours than playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »