Rent Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers for Wii
view large frontback

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

1262 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Uneven but entertaining adventure game.

posted by JTurner82 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

27 out of 28 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

THE CRYSTAL BEARERS has been a long time in the making since the Wii was first announced, and now it has finally arrived. While it is uneven in places, it was nonetheless worth the wait.

That said, THE CRYSTAL BEARERS may not be for everyone. Unlike any FINAL FANTASY games, this one is an action-adventure game; that is, you don't spend a lot of time grinding for experience. What it does offer is an intriguing story complete with crisply created cutscenes and a somewhat schizophrenic style of gameplay: one minute you're falling through thin air, shooting at badguys, the next you're steering a runaway airship, and at still others, you find yourself using "gravitational" powers to elevate objects and/or enemies.

There are a couple of glitches that do hold the game back from classic status--glitchy camera and imperfect controls; however, the variety of different activities, absolutely stunning graphics and music, and captivating storyline with interesting characters cancel those faults out by far. The English voice work isn't anything special but it's pretty good overall, with only a few odd lines here and there.

In short, CRYSTAL BEARERS' appeal may be limited to people who aren't used to anything this unconventional. But it still deserves credit for attempting something new and featuring some of the most breathtaking visuals on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mixed bag, but a great rental

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

FF:Crystal Bearers is definitely an interesting title. It's probably half a great wii game, and half a frustrating one, although it's a gorgeous game all around.

What's great about it is it's unique gameplay mechanic, revolving around the main character's telekinetic abilities. It's a great use of the wii remote - just point at an object or person and hold 'B' to grab them, then once they're yours, just flick the wii remote to send 'em flying in that direction. The depth comes in seeing how different enemies react; for example, there's a fireball guy who'll explode if you throw him 3 times. Experimenting with everything is very fun, and adds depth to the combat, while also making the worlds seem more alive. If only the game kept a laid back pace.

You see, the game has a horrible camera. There's no way to lock-on to enemies, and the only way to move it is to use the dpad, which is clunky. Actually it's horrible, I was just being nice. While this isn't a problem while exploring - you're just leisurely going around and playing around with stuff in the world - it's a massive problem in combat. Not only is it incredibly difficult to keep a bead on your enemies, but frequently the objects you're holding above your head will block your view. To compound things further, battles are usually timed. There's no on-screen indicator however; your only warning that a battle will end is an obnoxious chiming that kicks in 4-5 seconds before all the enemies disappear. It's very aggravating; both having a random battle start up when you're exploring, and also when the enemies run away before you can vanquish them - it's just rude to break the pace of the game so badly, and serves no real purpose.

FF:CC Crystal Bearers is an interesting game, to be sure. There's lots of variety in the missions, a likeable story and some gorgeous production values. Also, the core gameplay is very fun. But there's too much that goes wrong to consider it a purchase. A great rental though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Totally (Crystal) Bearable Game

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 4, 2010

Member since May 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The controls, which have you play like a rail-shooter/action-RPG hybrid, aren't very good, but short of that, it's a great game. It's a well-paced ten-hour adventure if you go straight through, with enough shifts in the gameplay to really make the most of the protagonist's telekinesis. In other words, a terrific rental.

The problem is that the main focus of the game--locking onto an enemy, or part of an enemy, and then manipulating it (either up, down, left, or right)--grows repetitive, due to the necessary trial-and-error being coupled with a less-than-responsive control. And unless you're a completionist, wanting to unlock the 340+ "medals" for finding all the different ways to interact with the enemies, there's little room for replay let alone side-questing or exploration. It's the sort of game you want to play for the story but which you simultaneously want to finish ASAP; to put it another way, the FMV is the best part of the game.

That said, the world design is nice, the few characters that do interact with you are vivid, and the "bad" guys are nicely done: bearable, indeed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is highly underrated!!!

posted by leonheart (RENO, NV) Sep 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most people here gave this game a 5 or 6 or even lower.
I gave his game a 9!
Okay first off, I love the standard RPGs out there, the regular sword and shield and standard leveling up.
This game though was way different, and although there is one mini-game part of the way through that made me want to throw the Wii remote through my tv, after that incredibly difficult mini-game though, it got a lot better. One thing I loved right off the bat was the ability to move pretty much ANY object or person in the game.

Anyway I loved this game, this game certainly opened my eyes to how powerful the Wii actually is, incredibly beautiful graphics that rival some of the best PS3 games and some PS3 games can't measure up to the beauty of this game. That aside the gameplay could have been done a bit better, but I liked that it was something different, it took more strategy than most games I've played.
I think that with a little more polishing this game could be amazing.
Layle unlike a lot of main characters in the Final Fantasy series these days, is way cool, I caught myself squealing in fandom over how coolness and gentle kindness as well as sheer power can work out perfectly. I can definitely count him as one of my favorite overlooked Final Fantasy characters. Unlike Vaan and Tidus, Layle is a hero force to be reckoned with. He has great power to the point where he doesn't even have any party members at anytime during the game, but never lets that power get the best of him. On top of that he never wines except when appropriate like when Belle annoys him but even then it isn't really wining. Darrel Guilbeau does a great job at voicing this complex character and makes Layle cool and kind, very rare.

I would love to see this game get a sequel, maybe one where you can telekinetic-ally control a sword or gun as well as throw stuff around, or maybe more scenes where you can control a cool Gatling gun. Also maybe adding one more main character for the second player to control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Crystal Chronicles need a rewrite

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

After playing the last Crystal Chronicles game, I begged Square Enix to stop making titles for this series. For some odd reason, they manage to take the tedium and over-indulgent cutscenes from the regular Final Fantasy series, nerf the quality and take out any of the enjoyable elements you'd be expecting. So, the next statement is a bit of a mixed message: Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers is the best entry in the series (and has the most unnecessarily long title). It's still mediocre at best and mostly broken, but it's still better than the last two.
For example, it's better than the first because you don't have to carry a jar all over the place. It's far superior to the second because it doesn't look or sound like a Game Boy port. In fact, it looks respectable, although not spectacular. The fanfare and grandeur (at least some of it) you'd expect from Final Fantasy is seen in this title. However, the game does everything it can to distance itself from the seminal RPG series so it's accessible and (let's face it) simple.
Square wanted to make a game that everyone, even grandma, could play. Sure, because my grandmother can't wait to play a Final Fantasy game. And I'm sure that she'd love the light-gun sections, or the action sequences where you try to force throw bombs with faces. And she'd be super psyched to sit through endless cutscenes featuring futuristic manga rejects who need an acting coach.
And as for the game? Spend some time beating up generic enemies and close a nexus, jump around platforms collecting treasure, engage in some impromptu mini-games featuring the Wiimote controls, etc. It's not very enjoyable and not as fleshed out as you'd hope for.
Crystal Bearers at least has the productions value the other Crystal Chronicle games lacked. However, the gameplay, story and game world are just as disappointing. Here's hoping for a real Final Fantasy game on the Wii because this ain't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but could have been great

posted by shinransho (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

FFCC:CB turns out be a pretty good game but very short lived. I was able to pass the game in under 10 hrs, so typically you can get through the game in 9-13 hrs. With very little game play and too many cutscenes, FFCC:CB turns out at the end of the game wanting more.

Visuals: Stunning graphics & best I've seen on the Wii. Unfortunate downfall is with great graphics on the Wii comes short gameplay. Too many cut scenes which are the most epic battles.

Storyline: It pulls you in but after you get through the game half through. The beginning starts off really slow and boring at first. They don't do a good explanation of what a "crystal bearer" is or the background story, as with most typical FF games. They just sort of throw you into the game which feels like it would be mid-story.

Gameplay: Found the gameplay too easy. I only died maybe once or twice tops w/no memorable battles. There are no experience points, which make upgrading your character a pain. The only way to "upgrade" is to equip accessories & collecting Myrhh hearts that increase your HP by 1 point by closing Misma streams. Found the streams annoying, since they open & close every 5 mins, so if you don't defeat the enemies in time, you'll find yourself waiting around for another 5 mins until it reopens so you can get the Myrhh heart.

Controls: What I found most annoying, relies on the Wiimote movement too much, hurting my wrist in the end. Camera angles were also a pain to deal with. Main character uses nothing but magic and no melee attacks.

Music/Voiceover: A lot of twangy western music in the game, which I found annoying. The voice actors were horrible, especially Belle's voice who sounds like a 13 yr old valley girl from the OC.

It could have been a great game, if more effort was put into gameplay rather than cutscenes. Too many useless minigames that give you nothing except pts. Lets you play newgame+ after beating, w/little change in gameplay except lets you carry over items/"exp". 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Time Consuming, But Worth Renting... and Buying!

posted by AprilDawn (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I LOVE the FF games! And the thought of getting to play one on Wii had me joining Gamefly! Yep! This is the reason I joined. I wanted to make sure it was worth buying, it is really expensive, like all the FF games seem to turn out. After keeping the game for almost 2 weeks, I reluctantly sent it back. I had a blast playing this, the only draw back is that it takes a lot of time, like the others, before you can get on to the next thing. I don't like using cheats, but everything seems to be costly. So each time you need something, you have to go out and defeat a ton of monsters. I don't remember the other games taking so long, but I haven't played them in awhile either. There were several big bosses that there was NO WAY I could defeat until I got some special ring or something, but in order to get that, I didn't need just money, but I needed to get certain items with that money to equip the ring. You can't buy the ring on the off chance you will get the material later, which also is a draw back, so when you finally get that one rare item, you end up having to run back all over the map trying to find the one shop that had that ring. Other then that, it's well worth the time, as the story within the game is fun to watch too! I plan to buy this, later, when the used price comes down a bit, it's defiantly one that you want to own so that you can take your time with it. Now I'm off onto my next game... Little King's Story... another good one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fresh and exuberant action game

posted by Rolander (ALBERTVILLE, MN) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Crystal Bearers takes the Crystal Chronicles series in a fresh new direction; this is an action game, with little or no RPG elements.

The Good:
• The story is fast-paced interesting, with great overall presentation.
• This is a beautiful Wii game. Certain backgrounds can appear blurry, but your focus will be on the great looking characters.
• The world of Crystal Bearers is rich and full of life; there's always something to interact with, or some small detail to discover and admire.

The Bad:
• The controls are sometimes less than stellar, especially when controlling your Crystal Bearer powers; you are never quite sure if you will drag a target near you, push is away, knock it down or lift it over your head.

You will be too busy running from point to point or discovering new surprises to worry about the sloppy battle controls. Gamers with open minds should definitely give this title a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not What I Was Expecting, But Fun Nonetheless

posted by laffman (SUFFOLK, VA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off, this is not a good game if you're not into the ff series. If so, the loooooong cutscenes and endless walking will turn you off. However, the storyline is interesting if you are are a fan and those long walks allow gamers to explore and discover the different landscapes in the game which are pretty darn impressive. Fight sequences can be fun, but often times get repetitive. Just remember, this game is completely different than earlier titles, but it has enough elements and twists to keep you entertained- at least for a little while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FF Crystal Chron.: Crystal Bearers - Absolute fail

posted by Kuraiummei (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Rating: 2/10

-Characters- 2/10
The main character is a jerk, who acts like a high school jock, and shows off constantly. The back-up female role is filled by a Selkie who makes Paris Hilton look like a little angel. I didn't far enough to meet more of them, I really didn't want to. The only one who was mildly interesting, just mildly, was the female Yuke antagonist.

-Game play- 1/10
The game uses the Wii-mote to act as a lazer-pointer focus for your psychic 'crystal bearer powers'. Entertaining for the first 5 minutes... after that, not so much. It gets -really- old doing absolutely everything with your powers, and keeps you feeling distanced from the game. You can't even control jumping, it's automatic. There are a few interspersed mini games, where movement control is taken away and you.. well.. play variations of Wack-A-Mole. Wack that guy off his horse! Knock that guard away! Yeah...

-Controls- 2/10
Movement: You can't jump your self up a wall. You can't leap to the other side of a hole. You either do it automatically, or press the A button while pointing at the other side. They only things that you can do ok, involving walking in a straight line, and rolling.

Camera: Fail. Fail. Fail. Fail. Fail. FAIL. The game's camera is controlled via the D-pad. This does not work. It's like trying to use the analog pad and the D-pad at the same time on a PSP.

-Battle- 3/10
The creators made the game so you could use your powers in unique and interesting ways. They also made it so that enemies are about as difficult as giving your 3 year old sister a wedgie.

-Length- 2/10
Game is amazingly short. About 15 hours, IF you get lost a lot, and stare at your side-kick often.

-Misc-
Comparing this sequel to the original, is like holding up a small candle to the sun. The original was a treasure of solo-play, and a multiplayer blast. (Always great fun making 'that one kid' be the party's bucket bit... I mean 'keeper'.) However, this one... is just a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pros of crystal bariars

posted by SalmonBoy (HILLIARD, OH) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game and I think everybody should try this game some time in their life. I espicaly like how their are multiple ways to destroy an enemy like pulling an iron giants helmet down before he shoots his lasers to blow him up. And throwing things around with telekenieses is very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FF - not so much a fantasy

posted by gothdoll (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game was very outdated in graphics and way to much story, not really any fighting and just not real good. Not sure how its ranked 5... but I guess there are not many good games for the Wii.

Have not been impressed yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Storyline!!!

posted by AnimeandRPG (KIRKLAND, WA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I have read other reviews about how the game was SOOO horrible but i loved it, it's wonderful. I think this was the third final fantasy game i have played and this is the only one i liked! The other two were final fantasy 3 and 4. I LOOOOOVVVVVEEEEEEDDDDD the long cutscreens. I LOVE STORYLINE. I think that if a game doesn't have storyline you are just wasting your time. (for most games) I thought the voice actors were wonderful WAY better than some other games. I agree that at the beginning belle was a mean person. I held it againest her for most of the game and now i feel bad for it. She didn't even know him yet so you are meanier to people you don't know sometimes. The controls were...okay. I got lost A LOT, and i say a lot i mean A LOT. It took me 20 hours to finish the games without taking out miasma streams. It's a wonderful game i reallly enjoyed it. I think it's worth buying or at least trying, because everyone is different and has different opinions. Gameplay doesn't make up everything in a game the storyline is MUCH more important in my opinion. Gameplay is important though i thought the gameplay was fine but the walking was a bit confusing. I always went the wrong way. It's fun how u can pick people up with your powers. When i first got the game i did that for like an hour! Whether u like or dislike this game is different but i think u should give it a chance it is a wonderful game. (I would have put nine but that's my highest because i think no games are perfect)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Controll system ruins it

posted by SeaFang (DELTA, CO) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This game has a solid story line and if fun to play but the controll system ruins the game. Sony over thought the controll system for this game and it would have been fun with a normal controller style play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good story + bad gameplay = game of mixed feelings

posted by heroofhyrule11 (BILLINGS, MT) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is one of the few FF games in the series that bombed, and it's easy to see why.

Positive elements: this is the first game to turn away from the standard RPG formula common to the series and introduce action/adventure gameplay to the series, and I like the fact the makers tried to do something different (more on that later). The thing I really liked about the game was it's long, complicated (if somewhat disjointed) storyline. Square Enix does not shy away from starting the story one way and having it go in different directions. The story and voice acting could've stood a little polishing, but they were overall quite good and entertaining.

Negative elements: Like I said, I like the fact SE tried to do something different with the game formula, but I got to say that the combat and general gameplay sucked. Here's what you do throughout the entire game: run from point A to point B trying to find the next cutscene. Here's combat: you pick something up, throw it at enemy, repeat until it dies. Really. No fun.

Trying to rate this game was a challenge because I didn't want to say that it is terrible, but it's not the best either; I give the story an 8 and the gameplay a 2, so I guess the game deserves a 6. If you like games with stories that are long, complex and entertaining with some character development and don't mind that some plot points are weak, buy this game; if you like games with tight gameplay and amazing combat... don't look back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by jenivad1 (ARCADIA, FL) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

this game has alot of play time. the graphics were very good and it was well narrated with short video clips to give you a visual to follow along with the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alright

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Oct 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

Fun 4 a while but way over hated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool Game

posted by Royon (BRENTWOOD, CA) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I beat it last night it was so cool i mean whole battle system was kinda hard to remember. But the FMV the music, and character voice was perfect it was funny and Enterment. The conrtol was kinda hard but once you get use to it it really fun. It got good Twist and plot to the story.. The Game was kinda short. overall it was fun 10 out of 10. I am big Final fantasy fan i hope they make more for the Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste Your Time!!

posted by designgod8931 (WEST SENECA, NY) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Don't waist your time renting this game, it sucks. Very boring and it didn't make me want to keep playing. I returned it after 6 hours. I thought it was going to be like Zelda but it wasn't even close. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bear

posted by kldkld2005 (FORT STEWART, GA) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Never had an opportunity to play, disk was in such bad shape, Wii would not play, continuely gave error message. Wii machine is working properly, plays all of my other disks just fine.There is no where on this site that I could find a place to inform GameFly of the problem. Also, now have waited 3 days for the game to get here, a day to try it and send it back, 3 or 4 more days to wait to get another game. Does GameFly compensate for a problem of this nature? I would like to add that this is the first time I have had a problem with a game, but it would be nice if a subsciber could inform of the above situation so that someone else doesn't have to go through the same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gran theft troublemaker for BRAIN-DEAD KIDS!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Mar 11, 2011

Member since May 2010

A Father asks his son,"What do you want to be when you grow-up?"
To which the child replies with,"Daddy, I want to be a mischevious-imp, and push little old ladies down the stairs, bully helpless old men and rob them of their pocket money, abuse moogles by throwning them into walls, and pick up little girls, and young ladies to look up their skirts!" This must have been what Layle said to his parents when he was a child, growing up because that is the kind of person Layle is!!! You have no other means to interact with the people in this game except to talk to only a few who has little white bubbles over their heads which aren't that many... Early income is had by running behind store counters to find chests of gil. What's worst is that you can throw any one and everyone around with your crystal powers, and rob and also loot a city of its contents without penalty! You can't murder anyone though because it is supposed to be "kid friendly"!!
PARENTS- Please don't rent this for your kids as it might give them the wrong idea!!!!! This game treats throwning people down a flight of stairs as harmless!! I can't recommend this!! Square-enix, you should be black-listed for making this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for FF Fans, Not for Gamers

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

It's just a point-and-waggle game with Final Fantasy art, and doesn't fit with the rest of the Final Fantasy brand. Also it's incredibly easy and simple - better for very young kids or new gamers than for experienced gamers looking for a challenge.

Any Wii game which expects you to aim accurately with the Wiimote is a game designed for frustration, and this one has you aiming at moving targets. To make matters worse, you have to keep your pointer on those moving targets while holding your B button - ugh. Oh, and the camera is manual-only, so you have to actually rotate it yourself when you change directions.

All you have to do to finish this game is following this simple rule: If something looks interesting, for example a bad guy coming at you or a bright blue glowing thing on the wall, just point at it, hold B, and wiggle your Wiimote. Repeat this incredibly mundane task for several hours, and you win the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Decent story, but really annoying.

posted by Utaurora (YPSILANTI, MI) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game has an okay story, pretty bad graphics, and a REALLY really annoying tool. This apple sized white ring is used to select what you want with the wii remote. This thing pulsates, and is really annoying. I made it an hour before i decided that i could not take it anymore. If there was an option to turn it off that would be great. The wii remote is horrible at selecting things, such as to jump or grab monsters.
Skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very great game!

posted by DarkTwilia (BRYCEVILLE, FL) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I believed it was a very great game, but (Spoilers)Jegron was to hard of a last boss!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Was Dissapointed!

posted by RTMGame (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Playing and watching this game, you never would have expected them to create a game like this. First of all, all the other final fantasy games included at least one character of each race to make up a team of four, but the fact that this game was a solo was a big downer.
Secondly, there was no weapons, armor, or items. all you did was point at the screen with your wii remote and fling the enemy against a wall.
Third, the fact that this game was a FF game made people think what this game was all about, but ended up being the opposite of what we were thinking. I really expected this game to be more like FFCC Ring of Fates. They did such a good job with that game and made each character have a story instead of some other FF games where you just add a person to your party like a mindless idiot.
Lastly, the game was short. I beat this game in less than 13 hours, and I took my time. One of the things that they should improve is the estimated time of play for the game. I have always been able to beat these games easy. No challenge. I hope the creators will read my reveiw and make a FFCC game that everyone will be able to give a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse