Rent Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates for DS
view large frontback

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

759 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really loving it

posted by Primal (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first FF game and I must say I love it so far. The controls are simple and the characters are great. The graphics for a DS are awesome. But if you enjoy a good RPG them I would recommend getting this game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVING IT

posted by Elemental (SALEM, VA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am so loving this game. I am glad to be making this game a purchase. This game is full of color and adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crystal Chronicles, Great game

posted by Warmshade (BRIDGEWATER, MA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game alot. Really one of the only problems I've had with it is the directional interface. The D-pad yes is easy to use, but sometimes it can get a little stuck on the screen just because of view points and angles.
The Visuals are wonderful and I enjoyed the "films". Plus the single player mode is nice too. I highly recommend this game for anyone looking to delve into the Crystal Chronicles games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent

posted by Jake18 (BUFFALO, NY) May 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fantastic game. Great battle system, but i would have liked to see more enemies than just the same ones in different colors. I loved how the players outfit changed when you changed your armor. It never got boring, but it was a little on the easy side. I thought the uses of tribe abilities was pretty cool, even though I never really used them unless I had to. For it being a Square game, the character graphics weren't so great. I've seen better graphics on the ds so far. Overall it was a great game. Definitely try this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, just not enough of it.

posted by avenger254 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a step in the right direction for the Crystal Chronicles segment of the FF franchise. Fun battle system, great equipment that changes your characters look, no carrying around a chalice to avoid a slow and painful death (epically if your friend always ran in the opposite direction when he/she was holding it, that jerk), in other words, a real improvement. Each tribe has unique abilities that makes them important members of the group. The story is better (I.E. existent) and the voice acting is great.

Now the bad stuff. If you want to play w/ buddies, be within 30 feet of them. Thats right, no WiFi co-op. Come on, it's '08, there's no excuse Square-Enix. The only WiFi feature allows you to trade your cute little painted Moogles(.......'sigh). I only wish they used that data space to make story mode longer. It's too short. Way too shot. You get into it and BAM!, it's over. Sure, you can play he Classic "New Game +" which has harder enemies and even more items(which does raise the replay value), but you're really just playing the same dungeons again and again. Also, the character customizing to gone. In story mode, you play as the characters given to you, and in multiplay, they pull the characters from story mode. You pick you tribe and gender, and your on your way. I bond w/ my custo-characters and I miss that from the GCN title. I should note that the great CGs, but very little of it. Not counting the opening CG, there is maybe 2 minutes total CG. That's it.

So to recap, gone are character customizing, moogle mail, and the constant poison fog. Great solo mode, but too short. Still no WiFi multiplay(..... 'another sigh), but fun wireless multiplay, if you have local FF fans, who are DS owners..., and everyone has the game. If you liked the original CC for the GCN, pick up this worthy and portable cousin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Square Enix trying, but not succeding

posted by z3r0f14m3 (KENOSHA, WI) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first i really kinda liked the game, but the lack of a pause or slow down feature to help 'place' spells made me never use them. Not only that but when i got more than halfway through the game i hit a bug and couldnt get any further, all in all good try, but not good enough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Play with a friend

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is really only worth playing with a friend, the bad thing is that in co-op mode, there is no story at all :( It is still fun gameplay wise though, just wish it had a story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short and sweet

posted by Gamer2012 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This is an ok game. I say this because although the story line isn't bad it is a very short game. I beat it in 17 hours worth of gameplay. There are very few dungeons to go through so although it is cute it is also repetative. You level up much to fast there is just not a long enough timeline for this game for me to give it more than a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

??

posted by patrick2 (OXFORD, ME) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

ok you go throw a good game but it is to hard and you can not bet the last bose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A bow to the classic with some of the new

posted by Nakarti (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Like the Star Ocean series did(is doing) so well, FFCC Ring of Fates returns a deep story reminiscent of the original Final Fantasy. Adding the rather unique equipment building system I first saw in Star Ocean 2, putting that together with open field battle and weapon specialization, makes this an excellent RPG to burn many many hours.

Biggest downside: 2.5" screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would be good.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Feb 21, 2009

Member since May 2007

This game seemed like the game play was fine, however the characters where so full of cheese I would not stand to play it. This game is great if you can get past this huge flaw more power to you.

If you like playing games where the characters are tiny kids and everything is learning new things and isn't this exciting then this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by treyman287 (FRANKLIN, TN) Feb 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

doesn't even deserve a 7 bad game and boring a copy of rune factory play that instead a final fantasy disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well, I'm Pleased... Mostly

posted by AutumnWind (MADISON, AL) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This was a very fun game. Everything from the plot to the (majority of the) gameplay was quite enjoyable. I did, however, have a problem with the camera. There was no way to control the camera angles, so sometimes it was impossible to see where I was trying to jump, and I would fall to my doom over and over again.

Second, I didn't like that there was absolutely no way to pause the game, ever. So, if you get a call or a knock on the door during a boss fight, you're most likely going to die.

Third, I've come to expect plenty of gameplay from Final Fantasy games, but this Ring Of Fates didn't quite deliver. I finished the game with just over 21 hours of gameplay, and several hours of that was spent leveling up my characters and building up their armor. There is the New Game+ option available, where you begin the game again at the same level/stats/equipment that you ended the first round with, but honestly, there is little replay value due to how linear the game was. The only reason to go through the New Game+ option would be for better equipment, but I was content enough with the first round.

Finally, the player characters that you are not controlling act like complete idiots, seldom attack, and don't hesitate to jump off of any cliff they might come to.

Overall, though, I greatly enjoyed the game. As mentioned, the plot and the overall feel of the game were awesome. I would recommend it. =]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent but not what I was looking for

posted by Kalinsan (Los Angeles, CA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I can't say there's anything especially wrong with the game. But the truth is I need some sort of hook within the first couple hours of an RPG that makes me want to know some answers to things. After a couple hours of FFCC:ROF I had seen almost no compelling story or dialog and only a moderately entertaining game mechanic.

Incidentally I have to say that the interface that requires an almost constant holding of 2 directional buttons at once (there is no stylus support for moving) made my fingers sore after awhile. 3/4 isometric perspective games on DS really need to have Stylus support.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

rent worthy, too short to buy

posted by TandD99 (HAYWARD, CA) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Never played any other Crystal Chronicles, but if you know the Square staples (what moogles, or white mage hats) then you wont be surprised.

The Good stuff.
-Nice graphics. Throwback to old Final Fantasy Sprite style.
-Some voice acting, which was a surprise.
-When you upgrade your equipment, it shows on your characters (eventually a party of 4)
-Collecting items after battles to use in item creation, like FFXII and other of its ilk.

The Bad stuff.
-Short. Took me about 12 hours, and theres not much replay value to start quest over, no Wifi.
-Odd story. It start cutesy with two fraternal twins and their dad and silly friends, then the bad guys decide to start killing people ... then leave you alone for years. Um ... ok. Normally I like the cut scenes in these games but I found myself skipping most of the dragging later ones.
-Little use of DS interface.
-Strangely you never play as the boy's sister even though she's in the whole game(I would have traded Al for her - his weapon takes getting used to and his special is quite limited in use)
-item creation doesnt tell you if the item you will make will be an upgrade until after you've wasted the material to make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crystal Chronicles returns on your DS!

posted by Disruption (TALLAHASSEE, FL) May 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

In my opinion, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles-Ring of Fates(rolls off the tongue, no?) is sort of an apology to those of us who were annoyed with the G-cube version of Crystal Chronicles.

You first play as Yuri, twin of Chelinka, in his younger years. And gradually work your way up until you form a party of four, consisting of the four races; Selkie, Liltie, Yuke, and Clavat which players of the original CC should recognize.

The game play is similar to the G-cube version, in which you fight monsters to collect materials to make stronger weapons and armor, MINUS lugging around a stupid chalice.

The characters are love able and pretty well balanced. Each of their talents are used pretty equally throughout the game, although sometimes, they aren't of any use and continue to die during battles, but what do you expect from a computer program?

Good-
One of the pleasant surprises was that, when you equip your character, the graphics actually change!(And the characters are in FF III-chibi style.)

Another was the voice acting which just added to the already dramatic storyline.

Yet another were the boss battles. Some games, you just want to get the heck away due to the length of the battle,( sometimes, I suspect that the match might be rigged >.>)despite great graphics. In FFCC Ring of Fates, you'll actually want to face them again because the boss battles are... fun!

Bad-
I didn't want to head this "Too short" but, in truth, it is. This game took me a total of 13 hours and 26 minutes(three days) to complete. Unfortunately, it doesn't have WIFI and I have yet to find someone who owns it. A great game, but I'm glad I rented it instead of buying it O.o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Slow..

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) May 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

The game is way to slow and the voices are annoying. I will give the developers credit on making the graphics nice, but thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Portable Final Fantasy Action Goodness

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 18, 2008

Member since May 2006

I am very picky about my games as I only have so much time for all that is out there and Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles really hits the right notes in balancing action, platforming, and rpg elements. If you don't like the overblown dialogue that goes with story mode and prefer a strict dungeon hack n' slash then simply choose what kind of character you want (you have four basic/different choices that will change appearance based on your armor and weapon selections in-game) and off you can go with all the "puzzles" of the story mode solved ahead of time in "solo multiplayer mode." I know it sounds odd, but you can actually play the multiplayer by yourself or hook up with friends in the same room and split the loot.

The structure of the levels are fun and while the DS definately has some texture limitations the color and look of the levels is nice and distuinguished. The levels are full with enemies that will respawn with time (sometimes short at others long) with a big boss fight at the end. The bosses are large and fun to hop around and beat on. The single player has some real problems with your party's A.I., but the game can be managed with one character as the rest of your party will reunite with you once you cross to another room. Single player will often make you use a specific character for awhile, as each of the four classes has a different ability, but you can usually switch back fairly quickly.

I wish they would have added a save and quit anywhere function as this IS a portable game...so expect to put a little extra time into this one between saves and that will save you a headache or two as you won't have to redo a eureka moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay but not great

posted by uIsIuIcIkI (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

The game was at times very easy to play. Then sometimes it felt like you would be ganged up on. there was no middle ground. either it was easy or hard. your characters also did not really help unless you were that character.

RPG wise it was a okay game. The game was an okay concept. I would suggest renting the game but not buying it. Renting is good because if you buy it you may feel like you did not get your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I liked it

posted by sixtysix (MIAMI, FL) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Ive never played A final fantasy crystal chronical game but this is probably one of the best games on the DS ive played. The only problems I've had is:
1. a class with the bows...... u cant hit ANYTHING
2. the first 3 hours of gameplay u play as children which is ok and all except they look and sound really really annoying and they ALWAYS BLUSH but all in all u shuold at least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Did not do much for me

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

I wasn't all that impressed personally. IT seems like they could have done alot more with the on-line gameplay. The thing I enjoyed about the first one on Gamecube is the multiplayer. With this game unless you are right beside of something with a DS and this game you can't play it co-op on-line.

I don't understand why they are scared to let anybody do anything on-line with Nintendo consoles. I guess they are scared to death a kid might get in trouble or something.

Game seems to be rather linear unlike the original. The game controls alot like a 2d Zelda game, in fact that is what this game basically is only with leveling. Not a bad game to rent, but I personally wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »