Rent Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time for Wii
view large frontback

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.2

1123 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Less than expected

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy is a long lived RPG game that has many people attached to it. This Final Fantasy has something new, you can play online with other people on the Wii or the DS. Which really sounds kind of cool and a great addition to the game. However they did this task really, really weird. Just like on the DS, there is two screens. So its basically the same thing on each. But im pretty sure they couldve done this where on the Wii its just one screen and two on DS. And the two screens dont even fill up the whole screen. So unless you have a decent sized TV i wouldnt bother because you wont be able to see anything. The online does add to the game, however and can sometimes be fun. Eventhough thats pretty bad the thing i noticed the most is the graphics are just terrible. Prouble what they did was copy the DS version on the Wii, because the Wii graphics look like DS graphics. The controls are pretty good on an upside. And the story is acceptable. Not amazing, but ok. So overall this game is "ok" if you can bypass the obvious flaws. Try it out if your a fan and decent sized TV. For everybody else i suggest you try out something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

still wishing for FFCC to get it right

posted by Inagasaki (PAHRUMP, NV) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

When CC first came out for the gamecube I rushed out to buy the all the cables and whatever else I needed to play multiplayer. It was a great idea, but the multiplayer soon got old since you did the same areas over and over. Rings of fate had a story line, but the multiplayer had nothing to do with your storyline characters so it was also disappointing.

I was so excited to find that Echoes of Time allowed for multiplayer through the storyline.

However things turned sour after that. I could handle them just putting the ds version onto the wii with the odd double screen and scrolling background. I could handle that ds graphics were what you had to settle for on the wii. Every time I go to pick something up or cast a spell I have to think about the controls they aren't intuitive to say the least. On top of that there are parts that are almost impossible (I felt like throwing my wii out a window) without a 2nd player to help. The AI is laughable your party will often run into spikes/ pits/ lava and they're not terribly helpful when fighting monsters. I often find my party standing around one monster while I am the only one beating the tar out of it.

I have 3 friends with DS-s who would gladly play with me, but each of them have to have the DS version of the game! I should have seen that comming since Rings of Fate also made each player have their own game. It just seems like it's a tactic to make more money off the same title. The only thing you needed for the gamecube CC was the gameboy connection cable which could be used for other games as well.

I'm just crossing my fingers hoping that next time CC finally gets it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had potential but is seriously flawed

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love cute looking games. I love final fantasy games. I love RPGs. So I figured this game would be amazing for me and my family. Unfortunately that is not the case.

Square Enix took a DS port and placed it on the wii. You have 2 tiny screens that look just like nintendo ds screens. The screens are so small that your playing screen is less than 1/8th of your tv screen- even when fully enlarged. If you do not have a high def tv- you will have a lot of trouble reading the text.

On top of the small screen issue- Square Enix has a tan background image. The problem is that background image is not stationary. It is moving the whole time. Gamers are forced to strain to see these small screens and are then getting motion sick from this moving background image. There is no way to make it stationary. Everyone here who tried the game complained of headaches and motion sickness due to the straining and the moving background.

Some other flaws in the game are the controls. They just don't feel natural. They are fine for a DS game, but they put jump and grab and attack in awkward places. The controls aren't very responsive either. The game camera can not be moved. Many times you are fighting in places that you can't see. Many times you will have to jump to solve a puzzle when you can't fully see where or what you need to do. The puzzles are overly annoying and just not necessary. Plus you will have a hard time playing solo in the later parts of the game. There are too many places where they made it thinking of co-op and not solo player. This is quite true with some of the puzzles and switches.

The online part is a nice addition- but the game is quite laggy. Hopefully nintendo will fix the server issues.

I really wanted to like the game. We stuck it out to nearly 3/4th of the game. But the headaches and the motion sickness took its toll.

Only rent if you are a huge fan of FF and have a huge tv. Even then, don't expect much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Crystal Chronicles fails again

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was no big fan of the original Crystal Chronicles on the Gamecube, as it became a basic hack-n-slash with a jar to escort and a ludicrous multi-player setup. However, it looks like Diablo 2 compared to it's sequel.
Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time is another basic hack-n-slasher with a famous name brand. You character can jump, slash and cast spells. Over time, you can buy new equipment or make some. If you want cohorts, you can have them.
The thing that really sinks this game is the screen. For some reason, the developers decides to show the play area in a box, next to another box for your stats. Around all of this is empty space on your TV screen. Basically, they took the DS game, put the screens side-by-side and released it on the Wii. Apparently they couldn't be bothered to calibrate it for a system, so I could see what I'm playing.
Not that there's much to look at. The graphics and sound feel like they were ripped from the DS as well. Most of the dialogue is done in text blocks, which you can barely read anyway.
Even though half the screen is used up by your stats, finding important information (like which armor and weapons work best) seem to be nowhere in sight. Just figuring out what's going on or what you're supposed to do next is a chore.
So what works? You can jump, slash and cast spells effectively. Then again, almost every game gets that part right.
Since this was on the same level as Baroque and I played this less, I have to give it the same score. And as a personal note to Square Enix: please stop making Crystal Chronicle games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for a small tv

posted by pinkorbit (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've played FF games mostly on my DS; this was the first time trying one on my recently purchased Wii.

Pros
Beautiful graphics and music (as always); interesting story

Cons
Two screen format. There are always two screens up, one with your location, and the other with stats and such. You can change the size of the selected screen some, but there are always two screens side by side. I studied the manual to see if this could be changed, but that's how the game is set up. i have an average-sized tv (not hd or anything special), and the two screens are just too small distracting and annoying to enjoy the game fully. This is my first RPG game to play on the Wii; i hope this isn't the norm! two screens on the ds is different than two screens jammed beside each other on one tv display.

oh well, this is why i like gamefly so much; i didn't have to blow 40 bucks to find this out, lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too hopeful

posted by castarr24 (SEMINOLE, FL) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the Final Fantasy Chronicles and was a little upset when I played this game. The graphics were quite rigid and I felt trapped in each area like I couldn't move on. The dialogue and plot were sensible to the game but I just couldn't get into it. I ended up stop playing about 3 hours into it and mailed it back. If you can endure this game I truly give you kudos because I wasn't woMAN enough to do it. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Concept good, but small screens!

posted by Ranbart (WATERTOWN, NY) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The concept of the game was good, but the small screens and hard to read text made playing the game a nightmare. Hard to figure out the controls unless you have the manual. Didn't play this only a few minutes because I became frustrated with not being able to read the text and the small screen sizes, even at the largest setting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bleh...

posted by whitetrash (CERES, CA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game has the title "Final Fantasy" yet it's nothing like the final fantasy games. Also the Wii version doesn't appear to have been formated for the system and left as if you were going to play on a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My number one complaint about FFCC: EoT

posted by MatoOkunon (NEWTON, IA) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Sure the graphics are low key, but hey you can't expect that of Nintendo any more when you compare to the other systems. The game had great controls, and was simple enough that I let my 5 year old farm items for me. I digress the bad thing about this game is you never know when you can save it. In almost all FF games you could save at any crystal or other type of save point, but this time it is random. After playing for 6 hours you would think you could go and save your game, or stop what you are doing and turn it off for a break from the game, but you can't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to see....

posted by Debbiedeb (READING, PA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics were very disappointing. I had to sit very close to my TV to even be able to read the dialoge. The game was good but the problem with the graphic discouraged me from playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boooo

posted by Crysco (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

For a Final Fantasy game this title is quite disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could have been very good (had potential)

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has a solid story line and good control scheme. and the idea of multiplayer with the ds and wi-fi was great. but the two main things preventing this game from being a major rpg hit. was they way the executed the wii version. they could have made it full screen and a bit better graphics on the wii so you can read the screen items. they way the game is now. it gives the impression that this game was designed for the ds and the wii version was an afterthought. square should not have gotten lazy and put an exact duplicate of the ds version on the wii. which was a pain to see and read text even on a 32 inch hi def lcd tv!

i'd buy this game defiantly for the ds but not the wii.

essentially they took a good game and poorly or through laziness released it on the wii as an after thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyed it!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Apr 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Nice game - interesting puzzles, fun combat & a storyline you can actually follow without going comatose. No FF X mind you - but I would recommend this to any RPG fan. Deca

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Its very easy to controlle. Its the best game for any Final Fantasy players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Did not like

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

I have played a lot of final fantasy games clear back when I had a Super Nintendo. So I would consider myself fairly seasoned with the whole final fantasy game sagas. I started playing this game and not sure what was up with it, but there was a small play screen about 12 inches by 12 inches to the left and a small status screen to the right of it about the same size and then all the rest of my tv just had some kind of light brown background around it. It's like the creators made it on a 20" tv and called it good that it didn't need to fill up the whole tv screen.
I also didn't like the fight sequences. In almost all final fantasy games you walk up and get attacked and enter a battle mode. This one was more like a free for all where if you were fighting one thing and another enemy showed up it could attack you also. Typically I give games a one hour play to give them a fair chance to see if they get better since sometimes the startout and learning basic controls takes awhile. After that time with the same small screen on screen it just wasn't getting any better. So did not like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

The game would not play in my system. Had to restart three times. I would suggest cleaning it before sending to any other customer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Mixed bag..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jan 8, 2011

Member since May 2010

This was not an easy decision to make.. at first I saw that the two screens
to be a lazy gimmick for which I would have sent it back, but then I found that I could read the text, mainly, because I have a 48" plasma wide screen TV! This is apparently an issue for most people as many could not read the text on screen even with the screen size extended to full. I didn't have that problem, so this game requires you to have a large plasma wide screen to veiw the text. That's a tall order for some people...I figure that this game must have come out long before the classic controller made its debut, because the classic controller for the Wii IS NOT SUPPORTED. The AI on your companions is also suprisingly OUT-TO-LUNCH or it must be dreaming of playing mario games because your party can leap tall buildings, and they love jumping off into bottomless pits, water, and I heard they also love to take a dive into lava pools and spiked pits! I think that the issues of the jumping and apparent "suicide" dives is tied directly into character spacing, so your party doesn't clog the path way preventing your progress. Maybe the programers were rushed?? Or maybe they just got out of programming school???

Anyway the game has equipment rendering so you CAN change the way your characters look by getting new armor. You CAN outfit your party with new weapons and are not restricted by the usual class restrictions when it comes to weapons. I haven't gone that far into the quest as of yet, but still in the end I chose to keep it anyway(it was only around $17 dollars with tax!) So, yes it is cheap! I personally, like games that give me the options of choosing my characters, this game has that feature, but still I wish I had a decent camera control which this game is sorely missing. Nothing worst then not being able to see what it is you are fighting, because an occasional fence or platform blocks the veiw! Does Square-Enix even care about the games they produce?? Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal

posted by DeeGurl757 (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Thought I was really going to enjoy the game but was very disappointed on the screen size and mode. If the screen size was different then I probably would of rated this game a 10....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste Your Time

posted by Brands (EUGENE, OR) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I really enjoy the FF franchise, but this game is a stinky moose knuckle stuck into an otherwise entertaining series. I gave an honest effort into this game and played it for about 2 hours. It is completely boring and the split screen and controls and for the birds. I sent this game back the day after i got it, don't waste your time with this lemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the best

posted by magiceyes0 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Just for the graphics of this game we are sending it back. The graphics look like they did ten years ago for games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not great.

posted by RoscoeLaw (APPLETON, WI) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This game was not meant for the Wii and it shows. The game play was tedious at best. The split screen design isn't user-friendly and honestly I didn't have the patience to try to figure out. I sent it back after three plays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DS to Wii Port? What?

posted by Icebane (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

So this game perplexes me more than a little. The biggest problem I have with it is that I want to hate it, but can't bring myself to. Allow me to elaborate. Terrible graphics. Voice acting that could kill an infant. And terrible RPG cliches all over the place. Basically, imagine playing a game that someone produced for free, on their spare time, whithout any prior programming knowledge.

But, somehow, at the same time, it manages to be fun. The linearity of the game, while disgusting on some level, allows for continuous intense play. The style of movement, while glitchy at times, also manages to create its own strange puzzles that the creators don't seem to have intended upon. Basically, I liked the game. And I really, really wish I didn't.

If you care about graphics, you can burn this game for heat. Or sound for that matter. Or a story line that can't be digested by a two year old. Or any of the things one normally looks for in an RPG. But if you want a semi-mindless game that's more fun than it ought to be? Give it a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time

posted by kmart628 (YATES CITY, IL) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I'm sure this game deserves a higher rating than 1, however, the disk was broken in half on arrival, and would not load, so I can not give it any higher rating. If this is an example of how the games will arrive, I believe I shall cancel my account. This was my first game, I'm willing to give anyone a second chance, we shall see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

aweful

posted by moojoo (CABOOL, MO) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

very horrible game.doesn't follow the final fantasy fun at all.horrid game play style horrible story line just don't even waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by heather21 (HARRISON, MI) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this look's gest like FF1 and 2 i bet it will be awsome to play wooohooo!! FF is awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse