Rent Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time for DS
view large frontback

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.7

430 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent replay value

posted by DrunkLink (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game Play: 7
The overall playing style of this is simple yet fun, you start out with a basic weapon, specific to your race and 6 types of magic, which you can mix and stack to create new, more powerful spells and affects, and each weapon carries its own flavor making it fun to experiment.

Graphics: 10
I was overall impressed with the graphics, the environments were traditional (a volcano, ruins, ice caverns, etc), and well made. The animated cut scenes were generally well made, and helped push the general themes of the game.

Replay Value: 10
Excellent replay value, with multiple levels of difficulty, and the crafting/stat maxing involved to get the best character, I found myself getting a solid 40 hours on this game.

Storyline:7
The overall storyline was pretty good, nothing special, but nothing done wrong. The story became somewhat predictable for seasoned RPG player, but it was still overall good, and had cut scenes to help tell it.

Online play: 6
While the online play is fun, like most online DS titles, the lag is pretty bad unless your the host. I did eventually find a game without lag, and tackled some of the optional bosses and PvP. The game is more fun with 4 players, and the language interface allows you to speak to players of all different languages. The system also allows you to make friends, allowing you to group up with the same players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Look, it's Final Fantasy! Only... not.

posted by AngryMob (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While not a rabid fanboy, I've enjoyed the Final Fantasy franchise ever since its first release. Given my past experiences, I was naturally eager to try Crystal Chronicles on the DS. Unfortunately for me, it turned out to be a sizable departure from the usual formula. Crystal Chronicles plays more like a mediocre Zelda clone than Final Fantasy, mixing a somewhat complex RPG engine with an action element that is better suited for games far less complex.

Instead of trading blows with a specialized battle screen containing various offensive and defensive commands, you'll be running around in circles, jumping to and fro. While doing so, you'll be mashing the A button in the hopes that perhaps THIS time you're finally facing the right direction to make contact with your foe.

The challenges beyond battle are far less compelling. You'll be faced with a myriad of tiresome and uninspired puzzles that generally involve tedious jumps from one platform to the next, casting spells on certain objects, and pushing large blocks around. Many, if not most of these puzzles involve some form of time imposition; the lazy man's way of adding additional challenge to dull game elements that would otherwise offer little of it.

The rest of the game is essentially what you would expect from Final Fantasy; pleasant graphics and music; stories of shattered crystals, etc. Otherwise, there is little in Crystal Chronicles to suggest a connection with its roots. I think that's too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Play with a friend

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The best Crystal Chronical game, that has co-op. Sadly, like the other Crystal Chronicle games, it lacks any real story development, or difficulty compared to the main Final Fantasy Franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game!

posted by linda123 (SAYRE, PA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Very challenging. but fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i just don't know about this game.

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This Final Fantacy just didn't cut it for me. I liked it but it got old fast. I didnt like how the character setup worked, you just go to a place in town and pick who you want on your team (I like the regular FF way of unlocking characters by unraveling the story). The fighting system was ok but your partners will get anoying at times. The main resone I gave this a 6 was because of the puzzles in the game, they were chalenging and it took some thought to get threw them (I do NOT recomend this game for children because they will not understand, I'm 16 and it was even a little hard for me.) But in the end I would NOT recomend this to anybody, Its a good story though with ok graghics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »