Rent Fighters Uncaged for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Fighters Uncaged

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
4.4

1476 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Twitchy and Lame

posted by gaminglife (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

39 out of 40 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

When you think of fighting you think of scrapping on the play yard, full blown swings and wild antics. Well this game delivers wild antics and no full blown swinging. Kinect is suppose to give you the range of motion and have your on-screen persona mimic what is going on. This is not what happens and rarely do your movements get translated on-screen.

First of all your punches and kicks may as well be like pressing a button because you are only triggering a predetermined animation from the on-screen character. It does not move with you or perform the moves in an animation that flows through you like Dance Central or any of the other Kinect Games. The best way I can say is that this game moves as if you were playing a clumsy robot on screen.

So we all know that you are not going to do kick flips and space is limited, but a Kinect fighting game should feel like you are fighting. If you moved your arm up in any fashion you would still throw a punch. Can't get your leg off the ground? Twitching your muscle will cause the fighter to kick. This is just a controller fighting game without movement.

Where and when will we get a game where the fighter and the player are one. The moves you perform outside the game are the ones your fighter performs in the game? Training in this game should feel like you are taking some form of Martial Arts.

If you are looking for a fun experience that only kinda uses the Kinect technology then pick this up. It's fun for a bit and it is super short. If you want some hard core fighting I would suggest waiting for a real fighting game or head on down to your local YMCA and pick up a few Taekwondo classes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game should be worth five dollars..

posted by Strawxberr (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, the game is known to have a story line but in reality the story line is barely even used! Second off, this guy in the game has a mind of his own and barely does what I do, and not to mention he doesn't react fast enough. I'm doing rapid punching and he's standing there getting beat up. Honestly - the character corresponds to my movements like five minutes later. This game is NOT a keeper, I mean it would be alright to rent for FREE and play for 20 minutes but that's it. The only reason I got a good workout is because I kicked so many times to see if he would react to atleast one kick, guess what.. He did! I kicked like seven times and he only kicked twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fighters Uncaged

posted by Hentownsel (HEBRON, NE) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bad game, PERIOD! I thought maybe i would give this game a chance; even though all of the reviews said not to. They were so right!! I would kick, the game would punch. I would punch, the game would fall down or kick... WOW!! If you seriously cant do better than this then why even try? I would not even buy this game if it was on the 99 cent rack... Thank you Gamefly! You saved me alot of money!! I even invited a friend over to try it and see if it was just me, but nope he couldnt even get the game to follow him. It was actually kinda funny when he sat down and the game just kept kicking. We won a match by not even playing.. DO NOT EVEN RENT THIS GAME! You will be sorry if you do..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Talk about missing the mark

posted by reynolds (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I purchased this game. It is the biggest disappointment. you throw blows and your character just stands there. You will be just standing there and your character will throw blows.

Also you throw blows by making certain movements, not by throwing the actual punch or kick like you actually would in real life.

One player only? Yup! Why on earth would I want to play against other people in the room on a system set up for socializing.

I cannot wait till an accurate fighting game comes out for Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh.....

posted by Jedislayer (ESCONDIDO, CA) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I don't really play my kinect, but when i heard about this game i was psyched needless to say because it was the first fighting title for kinect. Just imagine coming home from a bad day at work and just swinging your fist and kicking your legs at the air looking like your beating the pudding out of someone on the tv without having to push button combination's like in street fighter or tekken. On top of that lets get to the review. There a problems with the development with this game, but dont get me wrong this is the first actual fighter for kinect so you have to give the developers some props. its just the fighting feels choppy, and there is a delay when i want to punch or kick. sometimes I would throw a punch and end up doing a sweep kick or something. I would definitely say to try this game out. But your not going to be blown away like I thought I would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for a work out...not much else

posted by lymanized (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this in the hopes of playing a game that used the fun of the Kinect with the desire to have levels and upgrades. First of all, there are no upgrades. You just fight people. Which wouldn't be bad except for all of the negatives.

The voice acting is terrible and the same lines are repeated constantly "You talk too much and punch too little". Training is absolutely unplayable because the trainer says the same three lines over and over. Once you get into the actual fighting it isn't that difficult to win -- just to advance. You have to gain a certain number of "points" which cause you to fight the same guys over and over (see the voice acting and lines problem). Even though I only got knocked down once (done in the Mortal Combat best-of-3 format) I had nothing but trouble with the fighting motions. Only about 25% of my movements were tracked, and most of the time it read something I did as a different move. Example: you dodge by leaning back. Each time I did this the game moved differently. Sometimes I headbutted, sometimes I elbowed him (what?!). This made it unplayable after one night of play.

The positive was one thing: the work out. You use every part of your body -- much like kickboxing. Three days later I was still feeling it in my abs.

The negatives far outweigh the positives. I am glad I just rented and didn't think of buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fighters uncaged

posted by mrmilk23 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was okay the sensor was way off it didnt do the moves i was doing it had its own mind thanks to game fly i was able to try it out before i wasted my money and buying this game... thanks game fly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok for the first fight game

posted by strikers (WOODSTOCK, GA) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was ok considering it is the first fighting game for kinect but there are some major flaws. It might be because i actually take martial arts that it annoys me so much. Like the fact that to do some of the kicks i feel like im dancing and you have to stay with your feet next to each other and if you try to get into any kind of fighting stance even the one the guy on the screen has it tells you to put your feet back. then there is the fact that the guy you are is a freaking south paw I mean come on how many fighters are like that seriously. It follows movement ok but still have to do some stupid moves to actually make a counter. not worth buying in my opinion but some may like it cause you can work up a sweat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great Idea, bad execution

posted by Briarmst82 (MORGANTOWN, WV) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to see a game that looked much like arcade fighters of the past, with the new kinect control system. Unfortunately Fighters Uncaged left much to be desired. There is no story line at all and actual game play is awkward at best. Compared to kinect adventures movements were delayed and at times unresponsive. I just hope this isn't a sign of things to come for other kinect games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It flopped

posted by domino2339 (LAINGSBURG, MI) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok Thank god for gamfly!! Im sooo glad I tried it before I bought it. The games idea was a great thought be who fights with there feet parellel. Evertime I would drop my one foot back to put me in a normal fighting stances it would pop up telling at you that your feet have to be straight. If you don't correct you stances the game can't pick you up right as if you throw a right it thinks your headbutting....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The best part about this game, is the back pain

posted by GamePro48 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like stated in the title, the best part of playing this game is the back pain you get. When I read the back, it mentions a guy fighting for his dad or something, like that. I took it that this game would have a storyline. You know, scenes in between fights, real purposes of playing it. WRONG. Now, I'll go ahead and judge the game on the following criteria:
Controls- The most annoying controls of a game for kinect that I have ever incountered. Actually the only bad things of the controls is the dodging part. To dodge a hook, or jab, you have to lean back. I can practially smell the lawsuits. After my first time playing, my back ached as if jigsaw was trying to snap me in half. Now considering that I'm only 12, It shouldn't be to difficult for someone say 10+ years older to throw their back out. Everything else is fine except that the kinect is delayed in reading your actions.
Plot: Hard to tell because there really is none. Basically all you do is compete against the same opponents until you get enough points to advance to the next level of competition, where you will get two more opponents that are nearly impossible to defeat, plus add that the former people that you have beaten are twice as tough.
If you don't believe me, just ask G4 who voted it the worst fighter, giving it 2 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow... send strait back

posted by cdarcey10 (CHICO, CA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would like to start off by saying I have a unusually unbiased opinion about games. If the concept is good I will usually order it and try it out. But this game... I HIGH URGE YOU NOT TO ORDER. The concept of this game is great, the mechanics are off though. Things don't work right and if they did this game would easily be a 7-9 out of ten but they don't. You have very little control over your character, the reaction times are way off and the controls are a bit off. Motions you make naturally will set off the controls and make you do something crazy...

So basically this

Improve the controls and reaction time and you got yourself a winner, but until then I give you a failing grade. Improve your game and text it better before you release it.

I would like to add I have a very clear kinect space and have no problems with other kinect games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Game Stinks

posted by sdxboxnewbie (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It starts out pretty cool. However, when you actually fight, it just sits there half the time. I kick and kick. Slow, fast, doesn't matter. My character just stands there like an idiot. THen, several seconds later, he MIGHT kick. I try a leg sweep and it translates as a roundhouse kick to the head. Cool show, but totally not the desired result. I'm hot and sweaty, which is good, but I'm really glad I didn't spend $50 on this game. I'm a programmer and I KNOW they can do a better job than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So-So

posted by Rcoach (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did not really enjoy this game like I thought I would. The fight action was not full action and i felt it was hard to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fighters Unfun

posted by MylesKeith (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dont waste your time with this game! You must complete a long and tedious tutorial first, than play a game that doesn't register your movement very well so if you are like me, you will return the game in the mail after a couple hours of frusteration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Uncaged needs to be caged...then put to sleep

posted by WBoots (TULSA, OK) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

They took a great idea - a fighting game designed for core gamers with good graphics and messed it up horribly in controls and plot! There literally IS no plot, you just start fighting random people after training. And I'm fairly sure the best motion tracking is in the trainer itself. The controls are clunky and the tracking of your body nonexistant! If you punch too low, your character will start kicking. Try to lift your knee to block the oncoming kick, and you character does a roundhouse (which is funny watching him get then kicked out of the roundhouse.) I played the game 20 minutes and then put it back in my mailbox, thankful that I didnt waste my money buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only rent this to confirm the negatives...

posted by Tularious (PUYALLUP, WA) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The game is nothing more than Kinect button mashing. And even then, it doesn't respond well. The ducking combos are near impossible to pull off, the lower moves respond next to never and the regular moves have adequate response at BEST. I am a tall guy and to perform the ducking moves I had to nearly be on the floor...and forget trying to work the combos that went with the duck moves. They give you combos and tactics that you can use, but they never work together. I looked forward after playing the trainer to dodging and counter punching/kicking but it hardly worked out. The trainer responses were decent, but when it came to the actual game play, they failed to deliver. Sending the game back an hour after playing it. Another bad game that Gamefly has saved me from buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring....

posted by TheGameML (KENAI, AK) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game doesn't have a good way of tracking movement that well. When I try to throw kicks, it does knee strikes. You have to be at certain distances durring game play to do certain moves, making it akward and restrictive. I try to do more then 2 kicks in a row and they make me jumble around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Get ready to be accosted and thoroughly frisked

posted by kinecticut (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Where to start, lets jump right in on the reason the score is so low.

The kinect controls are not good, just not good at all. The response is delayed and choppy. Most of the lower foot moves are awkward and difficult. The game quickly becomes the kinect equivalent of a button-masher and because the gameplay itself ends up being centered around dodging attacks to build a energy for 'super' moves, it just gets lame.

Okay, but I did give it three stars, three stars for the crazy hilarious voice over work. The characters voices will surprise and amaze you. Especially the main character who's voice falls somewhere between George Takei and the Fonz, it makes already bad fighting game dialogue sound like bizarre soap-opera, that I think may be about a theater director and unrequited love.

I actually would have given it an even higher rating, but when I clicked on a locked character it froze the xbox completely to the point of having to shut down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I am sore but still living to talk about it!

posted by ICUPLAYN (CENTRALIA, IL) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This is one review that I could not wait to write. This game is total all out fun with the combination of a little excercise. I am ashamed of the former ratings of this game. I have had so much enjoyment out of this game. Tell me where can you find better graphics? Better game play for fighting? Better controls? Please don't say Dave and Busters because they don't have it but Uncaged Fighters do! I mean this game recognized "headbutts", "elbows", "jabs", "hooks", "kicks", and more. The game is responsive and no lag time is noticed. Matter of fact, to speak off the record, I am not worried about lag time on any of the games... "nothing is perfect...nothing". The human race will find "error" in everything...if there is a problem with lag then go to computer physics and engineering school and fix it yourself! Anyway, back to the review, this game definitely kicked my butt, not with the challenges but the overall exercise. Great, great, game for the fighter fan. The first night I slept with ice packs on my knees and ankles!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Game

posted by tcartist06 (GREENVILLE, TX) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Certainly not the best fighting game out their but the mechanics work and its a very enjoyable (albeit short) game. Their is an occasional delay in Kinect and your movement but it is rare and hard to notice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too physically hard

posted by pluckgrit (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I did not even make it through the tutorial and I was tired of this game. Mentally and physically. It is too hard just to get into it and fight. Most of the Kinect games are cool, but this one I would not recommend unless you are in pretty good shape and like less than stellar fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by micone (BREMERTON, WA) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is entertaining for about 30 min and then it gets old. It is a great workout though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance..you will love it!!!

posted by ooCKoo (LAKE PARK, GA) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I started to not rent this game because of its negative reviews...but after trying I really do like it.Yes some times you kick and the game throws a punch..but 99% of the time it is dead on.If you play the game like a fighter it works great,but if you stand there and swing wildly like a 9 year old then it doesn't.Remember this is a game and this is very new area they are testing...so nothing will be perfect.

BOTTOM LINE
I you want realism go tot the gym and hit the bag if you want something close to it play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game!

posted by tonid71 (MULLICA HILL, NJ) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All I can say is the game rocks! my whole family enjoyed playing it. I'm actually thinking about buying it and using it along with my biggest loser game for excercise. You really work up a sweat and the moves aren't that hard to do. The game is very engaging and worth the money, there was an issuse at first when we tried to set up the moition sensor but we finally realized that we needed more light in the room as soon as we turned on a brighter light the game recognized my son and he was ready to play! I give this game 8stars it's just that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse