Rent Fighter Within for Xbox One
view large frontback

Fighter Within

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

159 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even worth a rent

posted by coolduderedux (EL PASO, TX) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this out of curiosity, and it was nothing but a waste of time. Sure, it was fun to see my family members flail their arms like a fish out of water, but the fun fizzled faster than it takes to send this game back. It takes forever to load a versus match, which is dumb considering you have to install every Xbox One game.

Using Kinect to navigate through the menus is a chore. When you select 'rematch,' for example, you have to push your hand forward then pull back. When you pull back, if you move slightly off the plane, it will deselect it.

The jabs, ducking, kicking are all super responsive, hooks are hit or miss, and the combos happen too often (hit the same punch three times = instacombo). There are these other finisher combos I never bothered to learn. They happen when your character is about to die, but it doesn't really matter.

You could spend hours learning and mastering the moves, combos and whatnot, but all it takes is an energetic opponent to rain down high and low punches that you'll never be able to counter.

This is a terrible game and not worth the time it'll take for you to get another game in the mail.

#trashbin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't stand to play the first fight

posted by Prgatoryssaint (DELTONA, FL) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Started to play the first fight which is done through a tutorial. The dialogue between the characters is probably the worst I've heard in a long time. I wish the only thing bad with this game was the dialogue but unfortunately the mechanics of this game are terrible. The kinect will pick up your movement but the actions are slow and can easily be blocked. After a minute it gets incredibly boring because there is no actual combos or fancy moves. It's just round kick, straight punch, hook punch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just don't

posted by RedHeels0809 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I can't begin to describe how terrible the controls work in game. I am relatively pleased with the new Kinect in controlling my X1, however, as soon as I placed this game in, I was immediately reminded of how much I had began to hate my original kinect on 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by fangarai (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 27, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Generally i am not much of a critic, but this game is honestly not fun.

I expected more out of this game. I mean yeah it does register the punches, but you have no idea about the moves needed for a combo. So, you are just flapping around with no idea on what to do.

So, do yourself a favor, and dont bother. Wait for a better fighting game cause is this one is not good enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Interesting game

posted by Theohhdude (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

The game is fun to play for about 10 minutes...once you get into the countering and advanced level moves, the kinect decides not to pick up all of the movements made. Punching kicking all registers, but counters and combos are hard to do. Otherwise, a cool game worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a workout

posted by SuckItNow (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

I don't know what peoples problem with this one is, it's not a best seller, but as far as Kinnect games go.. it's a winner!

Seriously will make you sweat, play it for a few hours and you will definitely be feeling it the next day. Graphics are excellent and if you have your Kinnect setup properly is quite responsive and intuitive.

Definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

frustratingly fun

posted by creaper_j (TACOMA, WA) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2013

has great potential to be fun. however, frustrations with the game heavily out-weigh the fun factor of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BEST GAME EVER MADE!

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I love this game! Great graphics gameplay and the kinect works like a champ better than any other game made! Not really

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »