Rent Fight Night Round 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Fight Night Round 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

4193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by Frodo423 (NEWBURGH, NY) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with little expectations (the last boxing game I had was for PS2 a few years ago). To me, previous boxing games have been one dimensional and shallow. My first impression was that the game was slow, i.e. the loading screen, the menu, even the boxing itself. You would throw punches with the stick and have to wait for the boxer to catch up, sometimes throwing an extra 3 or 4 punches you didn't want to throw. The punch stick wasn't too hard to learn, but I'm sure you'd have to play it for hours in order to master it. I can throw body punches at will, and sometimes flub the left straight (when fighting with a southpaw). Legacy mode is interesting and fun, and the story is good, but I'd like to see them take it a step further. The only options you really have in the Legacy menu is to change outfits, fight, or train. Although the training is fairly simple, there's little freedom with allocating skill points, or training more than once between fights. If you are more of a stay at home gamer who doesn't venture online much, this game will hold your interest for a few days. If you like the online gameplay, then you will like this A LOT. You can fight online with your created fighter, as well as download other user's created fighters (I downloaded all the Rocky characters, a few old boxers like James Buster Douglas, and, of course, CHUCK NORRIS). All in all, I was entertained with this game, and hope that they continue to give the legacy mode more personality and options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tyson factor built this game up, EA knocks it down

posted by Combatvetg (LAKE MARY, FL) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

30 out of 38 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I remember having Mike Tyson punch out when I was a kid and what a great game it was for the times. Fast forward 20+ years and it stands the test of time, Too bad FNR4 will not.

A lot of hype was put out about this game and why not, we have been asking for Tyson for years. But does that give EA the right to ignore the rest of this game?

Here is a list of what I have noticed so far

1. Ring walk, fight into and post fight are very short

2.The audio is horrible! Think it is time we get some first name audio for created fighters. MLB the show has first and last name audio, guess EA can't afford it?

3. While boxing the AI, if you want to call it that! The AI really just wait's to counter everything.

4. Counter punching does the most damage

5. Some of the boxers are in the wrong weight class

6. And here is a real big issue! I have a fighter who has power at 97 on both arms, speed is at 100 and everything else is at 95-100. So you would think I have a knockout puncher? Not really! All I have is a guy who has to throw 200+ punches every round to even wear down the AI. You can get lucky and maybe get a fluke knockout, but for the most part you have to counter or wear the AI out with 200+ punches. It has gotten to the point that now I will just cut the AI and the fight is stopped that way. But who wants a TKO? Not me!

7. DLC is what EA is really focused on. Making more money for something that should be in the game already. I can see it now, New arenas, new boxers, sounds and controls! All for a nice price

I can keep going, but I think most will get the hint. Use your Gamefly membership and rent this game only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

non total punch control Users beware!

posted by Suspect (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

29 out of 41 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Fight Night round 4 delivers the goods with an awsome presentation but fails to deliever on user friendly controls for the casual gamer. Fight Night 4 is not for the gamer who has not mastered the use of playing with the right analog stick. It's sad to say but fight night 4 no longer supports the use of face buttons. All punches must be made using the New Total punch control system via the right Analog stick. However if you have mastered the sweet science then fight night 4 is a fantastic game and a must buy for boxing fans! I myself am terrible at using the the right analog and although it can be extremely frustrating, anyone willing to finally give in and take the time to learn will still get much pleasure out the experience.

With all new features such as the abillty to finally put your own face on your boxer and upload and download created boxers, the game is sure to keep boxing fans entertained for quite some time. there are tons of new training mini games and a new corner system that in my opinion is much easier and much faster, getting you back in the action quicker. The fighting system has been revamped and parying is no longer in effect, blocking and successfully doging are essential to staying off the canvas. haymakers are no longer punches that can be seen coming a mile a way, players can now successfully blend a haymaker into there combo by simply holding the right shoulder button while throwing hooks and uppercuts to land that one hitter quiter.

Fight night 3 fans will either love or hate the new control scheme with a passion but there is no denying that Fight Night 4 is still the best boxing game out there and is still a blast to play with friends.

Graphics/presentation: 95 out of 100
Gameplay: 85 out of 100
Controls: 70 out of 100, "Due to lack of control options for new usrs"
Sound:95 out of 100
replay Value: extremly High!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than FNR 3

posted by funkdr (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Most boxing purists will tell you that Tyson was overrated, but having idolized him BEFORE Cus died, I have waited to play as the Tyson that owned the bob n' weave. EA killed that dream, because FNR 3 is better.

Gameplay: 3
- The realism is gone from FNR 3. Every punch hits like a jab. In FNR 3 you FELT when you got hit with a haymaker. In FNR 4, it seems like, jab or haymaker, all punches hit the same

- I would not mind the Total Punch Control ( TPC ) if IT WAS ACCURATE! The analog joystick is just not precise enough to be used in this manner. It's like trying to snipe with a handgun. I throw an uppercut and the game registers a hook. I throw a hook to the face and it registers an uppercut to the body. Lets not even get started on combos. I throw a R-jab, L-cross, R-body hook, L-uppercut and the game registers a jab, L- body hook and nothing else.

- In FNR 3, if you threw too many punches you would tire your boxer out by the 4th round. In FNR 4, every match is a spamfest. I was playing online and lost to a guy who threw something like 500 body hooks in 3 rounds. His stamina had not gone down at all

- Gone is the ability to easily line up a counterpunch if your opponent is throwing too much in one area. While FNR 3's counter system left a lot to be desired, FNR 4's requires pinpoint precision, which, when coupled with the unlimited stamina spamfest, is almost pointless.

- The corner has been revamped for worse. Instead of having to learn how to heal your man and actually feeling like your a part of the cut crew, you now get points for how well you do in a round, that you can dispense to either heal your stamina, health or reduce your damage taken.

Graphics: 9

The graphics look great, the physics is great, the punching motion and how punches sometimes go through defense is great and bobing and weaving is fun. If EA had done nothing more than take FNR 3 and update the graphics, this would have been a classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Boxing Game

posted by obatron1 (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I was really eager to check this game out after having some of the early titles on xbox and ps2. Wow...what an improvement. The graphics are incredible. Great list of fighters new and old and the game play and online play are definitely top notch. The one interesting part that everyone seems to keep crying about is the new controls. I think the new controls are the best thing to happen to the game. "That's right I said it." Before being able to use the buttons made the earlier titles a bit cheesy after a while. Especially if you were one of those "judge jab" fighters. Now everyone is on a level plain in which you have to build your stick game up on and this is really going to divide the online playing field between the fighters that wish they can cheese their way out by being able to push the buttons and the more boxing minded fighters who want to get in there and box. Not only that but you can choose between the classic total punch control and the new total punch control. Nice touch. Almost takes me back to my earlier gaming days when Karate Champ was the best no button fighting arcade game out. Also the new block, duck and weave system makes to game very realistic. You can really get caught and in some cases knocked flat out if you don't take care with your punches. Inside rough fighting outside fighting this game has it all. Overall with the new aspects of this near perfect title I believe this is the very best game in this series. I'm actually glad Mike Tyson wasn't in the new Wii version of Punch Out...because this is the real deal advancement in boxing games and Tyson deserved to be represented in the game (although punch out is still fun no doubt). 9.7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another series ruined

posted by rmalys (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First off I was a huge fan of the total punch control used in round 3, but the new use even with the classic control system is just not very well done. It works ok in straight fighting but for fans of career mode they are far too sensitive for the training games that you are required to play. I am constantly throwing punches I didn't want to throw. It really puts you in a bad spot when you want to throw a certain punch and something else gets thrown and blocked or dodged.

The new block/parry system and punch animations aren't very good and takes a lot of the fun out of the game. Even the best boxers throw shoddy looking punches. The speed of the fighters is far too slow and seems like you are fighting in quick sand.

It might be a great game if you like super power punchers, but the quick footed counter punchers just don't feel like they should.

I love boxing games but have never been a fan of fighting games and they've basically turned it into a fighting game with the controls. Maybe if you have a brand new controller the right analog stick might be accurate enough, but if like me you played fight night 3 a lot you're right stick is probably worn down from doing the between round then you might have some problems.

The game is setup perfectly and if they would have kept a similar fighting style to Round 3 this game would have been perfect, but as it is I just don't enjoy it at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Controls.. Really?

posted by ksshane (WICHITA, KS) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The controls are really easy to get use to if you played Fight Night Round 3 at all.

More minigames, more fighters, better graphics, and faster frame rates (twice as fast as FNR3).

The only thing I found to complain about is you dont see as much damage on the fighters. I like the blood, the swelling, and the broken noses myself.

Other than that its a superior game to FNR3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fight night 4

posted by wrecker69 (MAYVILLE, WI) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

They managed to ruin the series with this disaster, the graphics looked cartoon like, the aspect of "no button mashing allowed" is looooong gone. Swing like an idiot and eventually they fall. Blocking and leaning is beyond clumsy. Thanks to gamefly for saving me 60bucks, about all its good for is a beer coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Game

posted by Flyersfan3 (CLARKSBORO, NJ) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would not waste my money on this game at all. the control system sucked and 2 hard for me to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Moat disappointing game of the year...

posted by 1bluedre (DALLAS, TX) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

why the most disappointing game of the year? Because my expectations for this game were very high; considering that the last series I had played (fight night round 2) was for the playstation 2 console. Yeah, yeah the graphics were a whole lot better in round four, blah blah, blah. The thing that makes this game an awful game to play is the "total punch control feature," with the right analoge stick. There is no total control what-so-ever, Timing his stamina a 6 year-old, could rattle the stick and whoalla his an expert. Unlike round 2 where you had the choice of whether to keep this infantile feature, or use the additional 6 buttons to develop complex combos and eventually have absolute control of your punches....

gave it a three cause im a generous guy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disappointment in a way

posted by buddaz1g (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well to start off the game is a great looking game but the new counter punch system is hard to master it took my a day before i actually had fun with it but if u are willing to take your time to learn and master the new system it should be fun i dint really like the game but that is my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No face buttons

posted by Jonlag (WARWICK, RI) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible if you dont like using the analog punch controls. I am a huge fan of the fight night series but I also like using the face buttons to control my punches this fight night does not allow you to change the controls to use the face buttons. So if your like me and like face buttons for punches dont waste your time with this version of fight night

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fight night round 4

posted by bosshogg (CHANDLER, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

i have been waiting for this game to come out for so long and can only say that i am dissapointed in ea....for some reason they decided to take the face buttons (x, square, o, and triangle) until ea makes that available this game is only for the gamer who has hours on end to spend getting to know that stupid TPC (right thumb stick) which is impossible in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A good game ruined by the terrible controls

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

The graphics rock, the voice overs are well done, and there are plenty of options when building your own boxer, but there are far too many short comings for me to enjoy this title.

First off, when building your own boxer it takes far too long for everything to load, you end up spending most of your time waiting for the next hair style or feature to pull up then you do actually making the choice that you want.

The thing that I do not like the most though is the controls. I HATE having to use the analog sticks for everything. It is very very sluggish and non-responsive when you need it the most. Sure the jab and straight punch are fine and fast but the other punches are very difficult for me to pull off on a consistent basis.

There needs to be an option to use the buttons like in Round 3. I know some will say I suck, but using the sticks is just bad game design in my opinion. This turns it into a hard core gamers game and leaves us casuals in the dust.

Also, when you get knocked down the new method of getting up leaves a lot to be desired. It kinda makes me wonder if the Devs even tested this feature, it just seems rather odd and broken to me.

My last complaint is the lack of fighters, no Evander Holyfield? Really? Drop a true champ for that chump Tyson? Come on guys...........

Anyway, I wont be playing this game any further, I do not have the time to invest to master the controls. I would rate this game lower but I know it's a bit on me for not being good at these awkward controls.

Oh well........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perhaps the Best Boxing Game of All Time

posted by DrGman (THOMASVILLE, NC) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Are you ready to rumble!? This game is one of the best sports games of all time and far and away the best boxing game. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is the EA Trax feature (can't import as far as I can tell). I would have gone with a more ecclectic mix of songs from different eras to match the boxers. The production values otherwise are excellent. Buy this any way you can, you will be playing this for years to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CONTROLS ARE WACK!!

posted by MrWillz (CLAYSBURG, PA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Graphics great.......
New boxers great
online mode great
Controls ............Wack >>>>BOOOOOOOOOO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected.

posted by muddfoot22 (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game sucked!!!! they say they made it more realistic but in my opinion they made it lame. The reaction time of the fighter is very slow, the defense was much better on the last one. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS ONE. UFC IS MUCH BETTER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by MCONOoOo (VALDOSTA, GA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Some people are complaining that this game is no longer a button masher where anyone could win at any time. But I like this just for that reason. Like the UFC game, no one can just jump on and expect to be better than everyone they play. It takes practice and some kind of fighting knowledge to succeed at this game.

However, there arer some parts of the game I dont like. For instance, what happend to the characters......No De La Hoya!..No Hollyfield!!.
Tyson and Pacquiao are kool but come on. You are supposed to expand on the fighter available not just change them. IDK. Maybe EA will have downloadable characters of something.

Overall, I think that this game is pretty sweet. I give it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game..

posted by Velli26 (ANTIOCH, TN) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The Graphics are great, The whole game by itself is great.. yea the control confinguration are different.. But eh.. You have to learn to change and adapt as well. Everything not going to be easy as pressing buttons the fastest anymore. Is based on skills and stratergy.. So, the game is awesome...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but not controller friendly

posted by jlc1978 (NORFORK, AR) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

the graphics and new things you get to do compared to fight night round 3 are awesome but the one thing i am disapointed in is that the punches have to nothing but analog besides that it is a great game i would suggest renting it before buying it to see if you like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ring king anyone?

posted by azreal (SMYRNA, GA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since May 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Long, long ago in the before time, before analog, motion capture, and yes even online gameplay. There was a game called Ring King for the nes, not snes but the original nintendo entertainment system. If you can remember it, this is the best comparison to fnr4. It's basically a button mashers paradise minus the buttons. I had a huge problem with parrying and it's overuse in fnr3, but I have to admit it is greatly missed. Parrying forced players to pick their punches, especially against more skilled fighters. Although, stun punches and movement along with timing blocks can help, it usually comes down to who has the faster fighter. The game definitly has it's quailties (the career mode is much better then before) and I'm sure there are those who would strongly disagree with my rating, but if you're like me and long for a true boxing sim then like me you'll still be waiting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Boxing Game out there!!!!!!!

posted by sammy1997 (LAKELAND, FL) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the best boxing game out in stores. If you're looking for a boxing game that has great graphics and awesome gameplay, then Fight Night Round 4 is you're perfect boxing game. And the best part is that it has Mike Tyson and Wladimir Klitschko. This is the best boxing game I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fight Night Round 4 Review

posted by mightypup (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fight Night Round Round 4 is a exceptional game to be added to the Fight Night library.
There is a legand mode were you can create a boxer or continue another boxers legand.In the legand you start in rank fifty and work you're way up you can either sceduel fights or you will be challenged by other boxers saying yes to this move you up higher than scedueling a fight you're self.
The create a boxer mode lets you if you have a web cam you can take a picture of you're self and the system will try to compare and make it look like you're face. If you do not,like me do not have a web cam there is a place were you can pick a head already made. In the create a boxer you could pick a nickname and have fight entry music. Another thing in it is the gear you could pick brand name gear like Everlast. You can pick shoes,robes,mouth guards,and boxing gloves.Another thing is the attributes you have 500 attribute points to add to many different attributes. The last thing that you can do is fighter style either orthdadox (right) or southpaw (left). Also a singniture punch (a very powerful punch) and you're best punch which is the most effictive.
The gameplay is is better with the new total control punch system which you use the right anolog stick. The graphic are amazing you can see every spit and blood particle also before trying to getting back up you see a slow-mo of the face and you could see his face jiggle. Also getting back up from a knock is left anolog stick in the middle and then go up with the right anolog also with licenced boxers like Muhammad ALi and Mike Tyson.
Fight Night Round 4 is an exceptional game and I would give it an 10 perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worste Boxing game ever!!! Tyson is so weak!!!

posted by Churchfest (CABOT, AR) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible and Mike Tyson should never have agreed to a game that they make him out to be terrible in. They have Lennox Lewis in God mode like he was the best ever with stamina that never drops. I have hit Lennox with 4-5 haymakers in a row on Mike Tyson and Lennox doesn't even get stunned............ how stupid is that??? Mike Tyson has terrible stamina and this game is just horrible the controls are awful. I can't believe they finally get Tyson in Fight Night and then make him out to be a total chump in the ring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks a lot

posted by nebnorton (PEMBROKE, MA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Could have been way better - Controls suck

Fight night 3 is way better

I would rather play The orginal Tyson game for Nintendo

what a waste

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse